输入搜索

亚太

俄罗斯,中国和中亚国家举行首次联合军事演习

俄罗斯武装部队总司令弗拉基米尔·普京在奥伦堡地区的Donguzsky试验场观察了Tsentr-2015战略总部军事演习的最后阶段。
俄罗斯武装部队总司令弗拉基米尔·普京在奥伦堡地区的Donguzsky试验场观察了Tsentr-2015战略总部军事演习的最后阶段。 (照片:Kremlin.ru)

“俄罗斯传统上认为包括塔吉克斯坦在内的中亚是其政治军事影响力的领域。”

尽管正在为中亚地区的影响力进行持续的斗争,但俄罗斯在周一开始了一系列大型军事演习,并与中国和少数其他亚洲国家(哈萨克斯坦,吉尔吉斯斯坦,塔吉克斯坦,乌兹别克斯坦和印度和巴基斯坦的对手)一起开展了一系列大型军事演习。 。

这次演习被称为“Tsentr-2019”,起源于位于俄罗斯乌拉尔南部的奥伦堡,位于哈萨克斯坦附近。 根据UPI来自几个中亚国家,印度和巴基斯坦(已经卷入争议的克什米尔地区的紧张局势)的部队将在俄罗斯达吉斯坦共和国北部高加索地区,车里雅宾斯克州,西伯利亚阿尔泰和克麦罗沃进行训练。 。

俄罗斯国防部报告称,为期六天的演习将涉及 15战舰,600军用飞机和130,000士兵携带20,000军事装备。

只有哈萨克斯坦参加了此前与俄罗斯的联合多边演习; Tsentr 2015涉及95,000部队和少于10,000的军事装备单位。 今年的演习对于巴基斯坦和印度的共同参与也是值得注意的,巴基斯坦和印度传统上是激烈的竞争对手,他们目前正在加剧紧张局势。 长期存在的克什米尔争端. 莫斯科说,这项联合演习旨在加强合作,以应对国际恐怖主义,防止伊斯兰极端分子通过中亚进入俄罗斯。

演习将分为两个阶段:第一阶段将侧重于升级部队的控制和指挥,并采取措施打击空袭和防御行动,而第二阶段将看到参与国将如何对一个想象中的恐怖分子发起攻击,如 Moneycontrol报道。

俄中关系

俄罗斯与中国的合作在过去几年中得到了加强,因为两国最近在与美国打交道时已经找到了对方。然而,他们仍然认为对方是对手,因为他们正在努力提高他们的主导地位。亚太地区。

在Tsentr演习之前,中国和塔吉克斯坦在8月初举行了为期8天的联合军事演习, 正如南华早报(SCMP)报道的那样。 培训在戈尔诺 - 巴达赫尚自治区进行,与中国不稳定的新疆和阿富汗接壤。

这样的演习暗示了中国在中亚后院日益增长的影响力,曾被视为冷战期间俄罗斯的影响(当时俄罗斯被称为苏联)。 一些观察人士表示,莫斯科对于观察北京在塔吉克斯坦的重要力量并不满意。

“俄罗斯传统上认为包括塔吉克斯坦在内的中亚是其政治军事影响力的领域,”符拉迪沃斯托克远东联邦大学国际政治教授Artyom Lukin, 告诉SCMP.

塔吉克斯坦在政治和地理上对中国至关重要。 首先,中亚国家与新疆接壤,新疆是北京受到猛烈抨击的穆斯林占主导地位的地区 对Ughiur穆斯林的侵犯人权行为。 其次,塔吉克斯坦沿着关键贸易路线的战略位置被视为北京通过其雄心勃勃的一带一路(OBOR)计划下的基础设施开发,投资和贸易扩大影响力的机会。

一个独立的研究机构,国际危机组织报告称,由于担心驻扎在阿富汗的激进组织可能会侵犯中国西部,中国军方通过部署军队加强了在塔吉克斯坦的军事存在。 DAWN在3月份报道了2018。

中国也一再警告说,离开家乡西部的Ughiur武装分子可能会加入像土耳其伊斯兰党这样的激进组织。 由Ughiur主导的政党,在叙利亚和阿富汗设有基地,并隶属于塔利班和基地组织。

中国是塔吉克斯坦在俄罗斯以外的最大投资国。 在2016中,中国对塔吉克斯坦的投资占后者总投资的30百分比, SCMP引自新华社。

中国中亚军事工业的发展

当苏联解体时,中国严重依赖现在被称为中亚的前苏联国家的技术。 例如,在1998,中国从哈萨克斯坦购买了40单位的Shkval鱼雷。

然而,事情从那时起迅速发生了变化。 中国在建立自己的军事技术方面的创新吸引了中亚国家的利益和美元,而俄罗斯现在却不得不赶上并推动其国防部门的创新。

正如Yau Tsz Yan为The Diplomat写的那样,“ 俄罗斯军事部门几乎不存在制造业 继续使中国在生产传统部件以及新的军用电信部件方面占据上风。 在2015中, 186类型的俄罗斯军事装备需要乌克兰制造商提供的部件。 除此之外, 俄罗斯军事工业的巨额债务 只会让更便宜的中国替代品变得越来越有吸引力。“

正如Yau Tsz Yan指出的那样,中国的军事技术有意识地开发了适合已经掌握在中亚国家手中的现有苏联武器的军备,使得这种技术特别具有吸引力。

中国不断增长的军事存在以及雄心勃勃的“一带一路”倡议表明,中国在中亚的势力范围将继续以令人印象深刻的速度增长。

问题是中俄之间是否有合作 Tsentr-2019表明俄罗斯将欢迎并致力于中国在中亚日益增长的影响力。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

Russia, China and Central Asian Nations Hold First Ever Joint Military Exercise

Commander-in-Chief of the Russian Armed Forces Vladimir Putin observed the final stage of the Tsentr-2015 strategic headquarters military exercises at the Donguzsky Test Ground in Orenburg Region.
Commander-in-Chief of the Russian Armed Forces Vladimir Putin observed the final stage of the Tsentr-2015 strategic headquarters military exercises at the Donguzsky Test Ground in Orenburg Region. (Photo: Kremlin.ru)

“Russia has traditionally considered Central Asia, including Tajikistan, as its sphere of political-military influence.”

Despite being engaged in an ongoing struggle for influence in Central Asia, Russia joined China and a handful of other Asian nations (Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and archrivals India and Pakistan) in kicking off a series of large-scale military drills on Monday.

The drill, known as “Tsentr-2019,” began in Orenburg, south of the Urals in Russia which is near Kazakhstan. According to UPI, troops from several Central Asian states, India and Pakistan (which have been involved in tensions over the disputed Kashmir region), will train in Astrakhan Oblast, the North Caucasus region of the Russian republic of Dagestan, Chelyabinsk Oblast, the Siberian Altai and Kemerovo.

Russia’s Ministry of Defense reported the six-day exercise will involve 15 warships, 600 military aircraft and around 130,000 soldiers with 20,000 military devices.

Only Kazakhstan has participated in a previous joint multilateral exercise with Russia; Tsentr 2015 involved 95,000 troops and fewer than 10,000 units of the military equipment. This years drill is also noteworthy for the joint participation of Pakistan and India, traditionally bitter rivals who are currently engaged in heightened tensions over the long-standing Kashmir dispute. The joint-exercise aims to boost cooperation to tackle international terrorism and prevent Islamic extremists from entering Russia through Central Asia, Moscow said.

The drill will consist of two stages: phase one will focus on upgrading the control and command of troops and taking measures to counter airstrikes and defensive operations, while the second stage will see how the participating countries will launch an attack against an imaginary terrorist, as Moneycontrol reported.

The Russian-Chinese Relationship

Russia-China cooperation has strengthened in the past few years as both countries have found each other on the same side recently when it comes to dealing with the U.S. However, they still see each other as rivals, given they are trying to boost their dominance in the Asia Pacific region.

Before the Tsentr drill, China and Tajikistan held a joint military exercise in early August for eight days, as South China Morning Post (SCMP) reported. The training took place in the Gorno-Badakhshan autonomous region, bordering China’s volatile Xinjiang province and Afghanistan.

Such a drill hinted at China’s growing influence in Central Asia’s backyard, once viewed as under Russia’s influence during the Cold War (when Russia was known as the Soviet Union). Some observers have said that Moscow is not comfortable watching Beijing’s more significant power in Tajikistan.

“Russia has traditionally considered Central Asia, including Tajikistan, as its sphere of political-military influence,” Artyom Lukin, an international politics professor at Vladivostok’s Far Eastern Federal University, told SCMP.

Tajikistan is politically and geographically vital to China. First, the Central Asia nation borders with Xinjiang, the predominantly-Muslim region where Beijing has been slammed for human rights violation against Ughiur Muslims. Second, Tajikistan’s strategic location along a key trade route is seen as an opportunity for Beijing to widen its influence through infrastructure development, investment and trade under its ambitious One Belt One Road (OBOR) scheme.

An independent research body, the International Crisis Group, reported China’s military intensified its military presence in Tajikistan by deploying troops amid concern that militant groups based in Afghanistan could infilitrate West China, as DAWN reported in March of 2018.

China has also repeatedly warned that Ughiur militants leaving their hometowns in West China might be joining militant groups such as the Turkistan Islamic Party, a Ughiur-dominated party with bases in Syria and Afghanistan and affiliated with the Taliban and Al-Qaeda.

China has been Tajikistan’s largest investor, outside of Russia. In 2016, China’s investment in Tajikistan contributed to 30 percent of the latter’s total investment, as SCMP quoted from Xinhua.  

China’s Growing Military Industry in Central Asia

When the Soviet Union collapsed, China relied heavily on the technology of former Soviet states now known as Central Asia. As an example, in 1998, China bought 40 units of Shkval torpedoes from Kazakhstan.

However, things have changed rapidly since then. China’s innovation in building its own military technology has lured the interest and dollars of Central Asian nations, while Russia is now left to catch up and boost innovation in its defense sector.

As Yau Tsz Yan wrote for The Diplomat, “The close to nonexistent manufacturing sector for military parts in Russia continues to give China an upper hand in producing traditional components as well as new military-use telecommunication components. In 2015, 186 types of Russian military equipment needed components from manufacturers in Ukraine. On top of all this, huge debt in the Russian military industry will only make cheaper Chinese alternatives more and more attractive.”

Cleverly, as Yau Tsz Yan points out, China’s military tech has purposefully developed armaments that fit existing Soviet weaponry already in the hands of Central Asian countries, making such technology especially attractive.

China’s growing military presence coupled with its ambitious Belt and Road Initiative suggests China’s sphere of influence in Central Asia will continue to grow at impressive rates.

The question is whether the cooperation seen between China and Russia at Tsentr-2019 is a sign that Russia will welcome and work with China’s growing influence in Central Asia.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.