输入搜索

欧洲 健康/ SCI / TECH

俄罗斯化学混合物用于英国间谍攻击杀死英国妇女

Dawn Sturgess

两个英国人走在他们家附近的街道上,然后拿起一个 好奇的小瓶。 两周后,其中一人死了,另一人为他的生命而战。

44的Dawn Sturgess和她的男友Charlie Rowley,45没有意识到这个小瓶与一个据称是阴险的俄罗斯情节有明显的联系。 Sturgess在7月8去世,而Rowley仍在为他的生命而战。 这两名受害者都来自英国南部威尔特郡地区沉睡的小镇埃姆斯伯里。 上个月,这对夫妇因接触俄罗斯而中毒 神经因素称为Novichok.

两人在六月30病倒了。 Rowley在昏迷中仍然病得很严重,但是三个孩子的母亲Sturgess死了。 调查人员在Rowley的家中找到了这个小瓶子,现在正试图确定它是如何到达那里的。 他们认为这对夫妇在街上捡起它。 一旦他能够帮助调查,他们就会问Rowley。

谢尔盖Skripal和女儿尤莉娅

Sturgess距离餐厅仅有300码,Sheri Skripal和他的女儿Yulia在回家之前共进晚餐,三月份他们被Novichok毒害。

Skripal是前俄罗斯间谍,和他的女儿Yulia住在一起。 Rowley在同一个Salisbury区医院,Sergei和Yulia Skripal在中毒后数月。 警方怀疑该小瓶在第一次袭击中受到污染,并被袭击者不小心丢弃。 Skripal和他的女儿都已经从袭击中恢复过来,已经从医院获释。

Sergei Skripal是一个冷战时代的间谍,被俄罗斯人指控为英国MI6情报机构进行间谍活动。 在被Novichok毒害后,Skripal和他的女儿Yulia被发现在紧张状态下的公园长椅上。 特工在Skripal的门前发现了大量的毒药; 在家里和周围的其他地方也发现了痕迹。

Sergei的妻子Liudmila在2012因癌症去世,他的儿子Alexandr和他的哥哥在2017的圣彼得堡去世。 亚历山大死于肝衰竭,这是对诺维奇的常见反应。 英国没有在Skripal案中逮捕任何人。

Novichok,致命的俄罗斯神经特工

Novichok是一种特别险恶且毒性极强的神经毒剂。 它是由苏联的俄罗斯化学家在冷战时期作为化学战剂在1970和1990之间秘密开发的,其目的是迅速而无声地杀死。

今天没有人知道这种化学物质,例如它保持活化多久并且可能造成损害,但是 最近的BBC文章 推测化学混合物可以保持50年。 科学家确实知道Novichok,在俄语中意为“新人”,不仅仅是一种化学物质,而是一组旨在杀死的相关化学物质。

Novichok旨在干扰神经肌肉信号; 它破坏了肌肉和大脑之间正常的神经交流,在几分钟内就会导致癫痫发作并使心脏和呼吸肌麻痹,从而阻止心脏停止呼吸。

当给予剂量不足时,如Rowley和Sturgess所述,尽管受害者继续患有严重的癫痫发作,肌肉问题和肝功能衰竭,但死亡往往被推迟甚至有时甚至被阻止。

关于神经毒剂知之甚少。 两位俄罗斯化学家提供的信息有限。 一位化学家叛逃并提供他所知道的东西。 另一位化学家不小心用Novichok毒死了自己并且延迟了死亡。 关于他的案件的笔记有助于解决英国的罪行。

虽然Novichok的化学结构仍然未知,但科学家们确实知道它与其他毒物如沙林相似,通过与一种叫做乙酰胆碱酯酶的酶结合,后者存在于肌肉和神经中。 Novichok-acetylcholinesterase键使正常的神经和肌肉功能不可能,并且当给予大剂量时,死亡通常在几分钟内发生。

英国指责俄罗斯中毒,俄罗斯否认参与

英国情报官员将他们国家的毒药归咎于一名流氓俄罗斯情报人员,他的得分与前间谍Skripal达成和解。 俄罗斯总统弗拉基米尔普京不仅否认中毒,而且还否认苏联甚至开发了诺维克化学品。

英国指责俄罗斯甚至开除了几名外交官,但俄罗斯继续否认这一指控。 最近, “纽约时报” 据报道,俄罗斯GRU机构可能参与了英国的袭击事件。

关于GRU的相似之处确实引起了人们的注意。 Sergei Skripal在GRU,GRU也参与了2016总统大选。 事实上,美国特别律师罗伯特·穆勒(Robert Mueller)刚刚起诉12俄罗斯情报人员参选选举 - 就在特朗普总统与普京举行历史性的赫尔辛基峰会前几天。

叛逃者化学家解释说,在苏联与美国签署的“化学武器公约”的雷达下,苏联确实将这些化学品开发为“Foliant”计划的一部分。 “华盛顿时报”报道了五角大楼的一份分类报告,该报告显示了苏联如何继续逃避武器检查员。

苏联化学家说,Novichok药剂是有史以来最有效的化学神经毒剂。 从正确的角度来看,Novichok的效力是沙林或VX的十倍,沙龙或VX是在机场杀死金正恩的同父异母兄弟的化学剂。

极低剂量是非常致命的,Novichok可以粉末或液体形式使用。

无法检测的神经特工在英国边缘

埃姆斯伯里和索尔兹伯里附近的英国人特别紧张,因为这些化学物质是专门设计为通过正常的北约化学战检测方法无法察觉的。 更糟糕的是化学剂可以通过北约的防护装备。

公众正在崛起,索尔兹伯里区医院报告说,他们已经看到几个有健康问题的人中毒。 到目前为止,没有任何病例得到确认或需要治疗。 公共卫生英格兰继续告诉公民,对公众的风险很低。

由于Novichok极难检测,因此清理起来也非常困难。 不幸的是,Dawn Sturgess和Charlie Rowley发现了困难。 据说Rowley再次吃固体食物并恢复了一些力量。

英国执法部门继续为可能受污染的物品梳理Amesbury / Salisbury地区。 超过100的官员已经降落在该地区,艰苦的搜索可能需要数月才能完成。

与此同时,英国警方在斯特吉斯去世后开始谋杀调查。 计划对Sturgess进行尸检,警方表示可能需要数月时才将尸体释放给她的家人进行埋葬。 有关官员表示,他们正在接近嫌疑人。

俄罗斯是否曾试图在英国与冷战时代的俄罗斯神经特工杀死一名前间谍?

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
杰奎琳哈维卡

杰奎琳是一名火箭科学家。 她为公民真理报道了健康,科学和科技新闻。 在她的第一职业生涯中,她管理了空间站和航天飞机的实验和数据。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

EUROPE HEALTH/SCI/TECH

Russian Chemical Concoction Used in UK Spy Attack Kills British Woman

Dawn Sturgess

Two Brits were walking in the street near their home and picked up a curious looking vial. Two weeks later, one of them was dead and the other fighting for his life.

Dawn Sturgess, 44, and her boyfriend, Charlie Rowley, 45, didn’t realize that the vial had an apparent connection to an alleged sinister Russian plot. Sturgess died July 8 and Rowley is still fighting for his life. Both victims are from the sleepy little town of Amesbury in the southern United Kingdom area of Wiltshire. Last month, the pair was poisoned by exposure to the Russian nerve agent known as Novichok.

The two became ill on June 30. Rowley is still seriously ill in the hospital, out of his coma, but Sturgess, a mother of three, died. Investigators found the small vial in Rowley’s home, and are now trying to determine exactly how it got there. They think the couple picked it up off the street. They’ll ask Rowley about it as soon as he is able to help with the investigation.

Sergei Skripal and Daughter Yulia

Sturgess lives just 300 yards from the restaurant where Sergei Skripal and his daughter Yulia had dinner before returning home, where they were poisoned with Novichok in March.

Skripal is a former Russian spy and lives with his daughter, Yulia. Rowley is in the same Salisbury District Hospital, where Sergei and Yulia Skripal spent months after being poisoned. Police suspect that the vial was contaminated in the first attack and carelessly discarded by the attackers. Skripal and his daughter have both recovered enough from the attack to have been released from the hospital.

Sergei Skripal is a Cold War era spy accused by the Russians of also spying for the British MI6 intelligence agency. Skripal and his daughter Yulia were found on a park bench in a catatonic state after being poisoned by Novichok. Agents found a large concentration of the poison on Skripal’s front doorstep; traces were also found at other locations in and around the home.

Sergei’s wife Liudmila died in 2012 from cancer, and his son Alexandr and his older brother died in St. Petersburg in 2017. Alexandr died of liver failure, a common reaction to Novichok. The U.K. has not arrested anyone in the Skripal case.

Novichok, Deadly Russian Nerve Agent

Novichok is an especially sinister and extremely toxic nerve agent. It was secretly developed by Russian chemists in the Soviet Union between the 1970s and 1990s during the Cold War era as a chemical warfare agent with the purpose of killing rapidly but silently.

No one today knows anything about the chemical, such as how long it stays active and can cause damage, yet a recent BBC article speculated that the chemical concoction could stay around for 50 years. Scientists do know that Novichok, which means “newcomer” in Russian, is not just a single chemical but rather a group of related chemicals designed to kill.

Novichok is designed to interfere with neuromuscular signaling; it disrupts the normal nerve communication between the muscles and the brain, working in minutes to cause seizures and paralyze the heart and respiration muscles, thereby stopping the heart and stopping breathing.

When an insufficient dose is given, as is likely the case with Rowley and Sturgess, death is often delayed and sometimes even prevented, although the victim continues to suffer from serious seizures, muscular issues and liver failure.

Not much is known about the nerve agent. Two Russian chemists have provided limited information. One chemist defected and provided what he knew. The other chemist accidentally poisoned himself with Novichok and had a delayed death. The notes regarding his case have been useful in solving the U.K. crimes.

While the chemical structures of Novichok are still unknown, scientists do know that it works similarly to other poisons like sarin, by binding to an enzyme called acetylcholinesterase, which is found in both muscles and nerves. The Novichok-acetylcholinesterase bond makes normal nerve and muscle function impossible, and death usually occurs within minutes when a substantial dose is given.

UK Blames Russia For Poisoning, Russia Denies Involvement

U.K. intelligence officials attribute the poison in their country to a rogue Russian intelligence agent who had a score to settle with ex-spy Skripal. Not only does Russian President Vladimir Putin deny the poisonings, but he also denies that the U.S.S.R. ever even developed the Novichok chemicals.

The U.K. has blamed Russia and even expelled several diplomats, however, Russia continues to deny the allegation. More recently, the New York Times reported that the Russian G.R.U. agency is possibly involved in the U.K. attacks.

The similarities regarding the G.R.U. do raise an eyebrow. Sergei Skripal was in the G.R.U., and the G.R.U. is also implicated for meddling in the 2016 presidential election. In fact, U.S. special counsel Robert Mueller just indicted 12 Russian intelligence officers for election meddling — just days before President Trump’s historic Helsinki summit with Putin.

Thee defector chemists explained that the Soviets indeed developed the chemicals as part of the “Foliant” program, under the radar of the Chemical Weapons Convention the Soviets signed with the United States. The Washington Times denoted a classified Pentagon report that showed how Soviets continued to elude weapons inspectors.

The Soviet chemist says that the Novichok agents are the most potent chemical nerve agents ever made. To put it into perspective, Novichok can be ten times more potent than either sarin or VX, the chemical agent that killed Kim Jong-Un’s half-brother in an airport.

Extremely low doses are very lethal, and Novichok can be used in either powder or liquid form.

Undetectable Nerve Agent has Britain on Edge

The British people nearby Amesbury and Salisbury are particularly nervous because the chemicals were specifically designed to be undetectable by the normal NATO chemical warfare detection methods. Even worse is that the chemical agents can get past NATO protective gear.

The public is up in arms, and the Salisbury District Hospital reports they have seen several people who have health concerns about being poisoned. None of the cases so far have been confirmed or have required treatment. Public Health England continues to tell citizens that the risk to the public is low.

Because Novichok is extremely difficult to detect, it is also extremely difficult to clean up. Unfortunately, Dawn Sturgess and Charlie Rowley found that out the hard way. Rowley is said to be once again eating solid food and regaining some strength.

U.K. law enforcement continues to comb the Amesbury/Salisbury area for possibly contaminated items. More than 100 officers have descended on the area, and the painstaking search may take months to complete.

Meanwhile, U.K. police have opened a murder investigation after Sturgess’ death. An autopsy for Sturgess is planned, and police say it could be months before they release her body to her family for burial. Officials say they are closing in on the suspects.

 

Did Russia Attempt To Kill An Ex-Spy In The UK With a Cold War Era Russian Nerve Agent?

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Jacqueline Havelka

Jacqueline is a rocket scientist turned writer. She covers health, science and tech news for Citizen Truth. In her first career, she managed experiments & data on the Space Station & Shuttle.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.