输入搜索

警察/监狱

“生病,反乌托邦的东西”:前特朗普顾问凯利加入公司董事会运行移民拘留中心

美国南方司令部指挥官约翰·凯利将军向媒体介绍了当前USSOUTHCOM事务的状况,即20,2013。 (DoD照片由大众传播专家1st Class Chad J. McNeeley / Released发布)
美国南方司令部指挥官约翰·凯利将军向媒体介绍了当前USSOUTHCOM事务的状况,即20,2013。 (DoD照片由大众传播专家1st Class Chad J. McNeeley / Released发布)

“这个特别难看。”

(朱莉娅康利, 共同的梦想在一位评论家认为强大的政治参与者经常进出私营部门的“旋转门的令人作呕的例子”中,前白宫办公厅主任约翰凯利加入了一家公司的董事会,该公司拥有一些最大的跨越美墨边境的无人陪伴儿童拘留中心。

哥伦比亚广播公司新闻 报道 周五,凯利现在是Caliburn International的董事会成员,该公司在佛罗里达州设有一个移民拘留中心,在德克萨斯州设有三个。

在加入特朗普政府之前,凯利曾在一家现在拥有Caliburn的投资公司的顾问委员会任职。 但批评人士说,鉴于至少1000万美元,该公司已收到政府合同,在222和2018之间运营拘留中心 - 因为在美国监管的儿童人数飙升 - 凯利目前与Caliburn的关系代表了公然的冲突利益。

“事实是,当他在白宫时,政府采取了行动,增加了这些设施中的人口,并使他的前雇主受益,”非营利组织法律中心的道德顾问德莱尼马斯科告诉他们 CBS新闻。

在过去的一年里,凯利在白宫担任特朗普的顶级顾问之一--Cariburn的子公司Comprehensive Health Services,从拥有1,250病床的容量到其中一个拘留中心的3,200病床。

在社交媒体上,批评人士对凯利现在正在帮助领导并从唐纳德特朗普总统的反侵略政策中获益的公司中获利表示愤慨。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

POLICE/PRISON

‘Sick, Dystopian Stuff’: Former Trump Adviser Kelly Joins Board of Company Running Immigrant Detention Centers

U.S. Southern Command, Commander Gen. John F. Kelly briefs the media on the current state of USSOUTHCOM affairs, March 20, 2013. (DoD photo by Mass Communication Specialist 1st Class Chad J. McNeeley/Released)
U.S. Southern Command, Commander Gen. John F. Kelly briefs the media on the current state of USSOUTHCOM affairs, March 20, 2013. (DoD photo by Mass Communication Specialist 1st Class Chad J. McNeeley/Released)

“This one’s particularly ugly.”

(By Julia Conley, Common Dreams) In what one critic deemed a “nauseating example of the revolving door” through which powerful political players often move in and out of the private sector, former White House Chief of Staff John Kelly joined the board of a company which owns some of the largest detention centers for unaccompanied children who cross the U.S.-Mexico border.

CBS News reported Friday that Kelly is now a member of the board of directors for Caliburn International, which runs one immigrant detention center in Florida and three in Texas.

Before joining the Trump administration, Kelly served on the board of advisers for an investment firm which now owns Caliburn. But critics said that in light of at least $222 million the company has received in government contracts to operate the detention centers between 2018 and 2019—as the number of children held in U.S. custody skyrocketed—Kelly’s current involvement with Caliburn represents a blatant conflict of interest.

“The fact is that when he was in the White House, the government took action that swelled the population of people that were in these facilities, and that benefited his former employer,” Delaney Marsco, ethics counsel at the nonprofit Campaign Legal Center, told CBS News.

Over the past year—while Kelly was serving in the White House as one of Trump’s top advisers—Caliburn’s subsidiary, Comprehensive Health Services, went from having a capacity of 1,250 beds to containing 3,200 beds in one of its detention centers.

On social media, critics expressed outrage at the news that Kelly is now helping to lead and profiting from a company that benefited from President Donald Trump’s aggressive anti-immigration policies.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.