输入搜索

反战 亚太 TRENDING-ASIA

五角大楼报告预测世界各地的一系列中国军事基地

中国人民解放军1st两栖机械化步兵师的士兵准备在7月12,2011访问中国单位时,向参谋长联席会议主席Mike Mullen展示他们的能力。
中国人民解放军1st两栖机械化步兵师的士兵准备在7月12,2011访问中国单位时,向参谋长联席会议主席Mike Mullen展示他们的能力。 (DoD照片由大众传播专家1st Class Chad J. McNeeley / Released发布)

“除了常规训练之外,几乎没有公开的军事准备,中国可能会在Pratas或Itu Aba等南中国海入侵小型台湾岛屿。”

五角大楼说 公报 周四公布,中国将在世界各地建立一系列军事基地,以保护其雄心勃勃的全球基础设施项目:一带一路(一带一路)或一带一路倡议(BRI)。

目前,北京在国外只有一个军事基地,位于东非的小国吉布提。 五角大楼确信北京计划增加更多,包括巴基斯坦的一个。

“中国将寻求在与巴基斯坦有长期友好关系和类似战略利益的国家建立更多的军事基地,” 报告补充道。

五角大楼在其年度报告中解释说,中国对其一带一路倡议的投资可能会推动大陆在海外建立军事基地,为一带一路相关项目提供安全保障。 多个地区可能成为中国军事基地的所在地,包括中东,西太平洋和东南亚等国家。

卫报说 五角大楼警告说,中国在北极地区的活动有所增加,这可能为更强大的军事存在铺平道路 - 特别是对于可以防止核攻击的船只的分配。

中国在有争议的南海设立了武装哨所。 去年,一份报告显示,在阿富汗西北部的Wakhan走廊上讨论了一个中国军事基地。

此外,“华盛顿邮报”最近在塔吉克斯坦东部的瓦罕走廊,巴基斯坦和中国的战略交叉口附近发现了一个在塔吉克斯坦东部占据的职位。

五角大楼讨论中国入侵台湾的可能性

五角大楼的报告还讨论了中国称为叛离省份的台湾。 1月2, 习近平主席在讲话中说 中国有权行使其权力将台湾置于大陆控制之下,但它将努力追求“和平重新融合”。

五角大楼的报告描述了北京如果决定对台湾行使其军事权力可能会采取的一些可能的情况 - 包括一项旨在强迫台湾放弃统一对话或完全统一的全面运动。

然而,报告还警告说,如果入侵台湾,中国将承受的风险。 “试图入侵台湾可能会使中国的武装力量受到压力,并引发国际干预,” 报告详述.

中国和美国:比较军事能力

根据斯德哥尔摩国际和平研究所的报告 (SIPRI)上周公布,美国和中国合计占全球军费开支的一半​​。

五角大楼的报告解释说,北京武装部队的增长速度很快,可能对美军的统治地位构成威胁。

与美国相比,中国的防御能力有多强? 根据armedforces.eu的军事比较:

  • 陆地:美国有6,393坦克,41,760装甲战车,3,269总火炮,950自行火炮和1,197火箭炮。 中国有7,760坦克,6,000装甲战车,9,726总火炮,1,710自行火炮和1,770火箭炮。
  • 空军:美国拥有12,304总飞机,457战斗机,2,191多用途飞机,587攻击机和4,889直升机。 中国4,182总飞机,1,150战斗机,629多用途飞机,270攻击机和1,170直升机。
  • 海:美国拥有437总海军舰艇,20航空母舰,85驱逐舰和71潜艇。 中国拥有780总海军舰艇,2航母,36驱逐舰,54护卫舰,42轻型护卫舰和76潜艇。
  • 核:美国拥有7,200核弹头而中国拥有260核弹头
  • 人力资源:美国拥有1,281,900现役人员和811,000预备人员,而中国拥有2,300,000现役人员和8,000,000预备人员。

SIPRI的报告解释说,中国战争装备和防御的增加持续了20年的趋势。 在2018,大陆在防务上花费了250十亿。 地区紧张局势有助于增加军费开支。 这一增长是中国每年24连续增长的军费开支。

中国会侵入台湾吗?

五角大楼的报告称,目前中国不太可能入侵台湾。 中国可能会使其军事设备现代化,但中国的军队没有足够的能力来夺取台湾并进行全面封锁。

该报告解释说,全面的两栖入侵是一项艰难而复杂的行动,其成功依赖于一个国家的海军和空军的优势。

报告称,中国仍需要更多的轮式装甲车进行全面运营。 但是,如果采取任何军事行动,在有争议的南中国海进行小规模入侵是可能的。

“除了常规训练之外,几乎没有公开的军事准备,中国可能会在Pratas或Itu Aba等南中国海入侵小型台湾岛屿。 中国人民解放军入侵一个中等规模,防守较好的岛屿,如马祖或金门,是中国的能力所在。 这种入侵将表现出军事能力和政治决心,同时取得切实的领土收益,同时表现出一定程度的克制,“ 报告解释道.

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANTI WAR ASIA/PACIFIC TRENDING-ASIA

Pentagon Report Forecasts an Array of Chinese Military Bases Around the World

Soldiers of the Chinese People's Liberation Army 1st Amphibious Mechanized Infantry Division prepare to provide Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Adm. Mike Mullen with a demonstration of their capablities during a visit to the unit in China on July 12, 2011.
Soldiers of the Chinese People's Liberation Army 1st Amphibious Mechanized Infantry Division prepare to provide Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Adm. Mike Mullen with a demonstration of their capablities during a visit to the unit in China on July 12, 2011. (DoD photo by Mass Communication Specialist 1st Class Chad J. McNeeley/Released)

“With few overt military preparations beyond routine training, China could launch an invasion of small Taiwan-held islands in the South China Sea such as Pratas or Itu Aba.”

The Pentagon said in an official report released on Thursday that China would build a string of military bases around the world to protect its ambitious global infrastructure project: One Belt, One Road (OBOR) or the Belt and Road Initiative (BRI).

Currently, Bejing has only one military base abroad which is in the small Eastern African country of Djibouti. The Pentagon is convinced that Beijing is planning to add more, including one in Pakistan.

“China will seek to establish additional military bases in countries with which it has a longstanding friendly relationship and similar strategic interests, such as Pakistan,” the report added.

China’s investment in its OBOR initiative may propel the mainland to set up military bases overseas to provide a security guarantee for OBOR-related projects, explained the Pentagon in its annual report. Multiple regions could become home to Chinese military bases including countries in the Middle East, the Western Pacific and Southeast Asia.

The Guardian said the report came out as the Pentagon warned of increased Chinese activities in the Arctic region which could pave the way for a stronger military presence – specifically for the distribution of vessels that can prevent a nuclear attack.

China has set up armed posts in the disputed South China Sea. Last year, a report suggested there was a discussion of a Chinese military base in the Wakhan corridor, northwest of Afghanistan.

Additionally, the Washington Post has recently identified a post occupied by many Chinese troops in East Tajikistan, near the strategic intersection of the Wakhan Corridor, Pakistan and China.

Pentagon Discusses Possibility of Chinese Invasion of Taiwan

The Pentagon report also discussed Taiwan, a country China dubs as a renegade province. On January 2, President Xi Jinping said in his speech that China has the right to exercise its power to bring Taiwan under mainland control, but it will try to pursue “a peaceful re-integration.”

The Pentagon report described some potential scenarios Beijing could follow if it decides to exercise its military power over Taiwan – including a comprehensive campaign specially designed to coerce Taiwan to surrender to either a unification dialogue or unification altogether.

However, the report also warned of the risks China would endure if it were to invade Taiwan. “An attempt to invade Taiwan would likely strain China’s armed forces and invite international intervention,” the report detailed.

China and the US: Comparing Military’s Capabilities

According to a report from the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) released last week, the U.S. and China together accounted for half of all global military spending in 2018.

The Pentagon’s report explained that Beijing’s armed forces were growing at a fast rate and could pose a threat to U.S. military dominance.

How strong is China’s defense capability compared to that of the U.S? Military comparison according to armedforces.eu:

  • Land: The U.S. has 6,393 tanks, 41,760 armored fighting vehicles, 3,269 total artillery, 950 self-propelled artillery and 1,197 rocket artillery. China has 7,760 tanks, 6,000 armored fighting vehicles, 9,726 total artillery, 1,710 self–propelled artillery and 1,770 rocket artillery.
  • Air: The U.S. has 12,304 total aircraft, 457 fighter aircraft, 2,191 multirole aircraft, 587 attack aircraft and 4,889 helicopters. China 4,182 total aircraft, 1,150 fighter aircraft, 629 multirole aircraft, 270 attack aircraft and 1,170 helicopters.
  • Sea: The U.S. has 437 total naval vessels, 20 aircraft carriers, 85 destroyers and 71 submarines. China has 780 total naval vessels, 2 aircraft carriers, 36 destroyers, 54 frigates, 42 corvettes and 76 submarines.
  • Nuclear: The U.S. has 7,200 nuclear warheads while China has 260 nuclear warheads
  • Manpower: The U.S. has 1,281,900 active personnel and 811,000 reserve personnel, while China has 2,300,000 active personnel and 8,000,000 reserve personnel.

 

SIPRI’s report explained that China’s increase in war equipment and defense continues a two-decade trend. In 2018, the mainland spent $250 billion on defense. Regional tensions helped to boost military spending. The increase is China’s 24th consecutive annual increase in military spending.

Will China Invade Taiwan?

China invading Taiwan is unlikely at the moment, said the Pentagon report. China may modernize its military equipment, but China’s military does not have an adequate capacity to seize Taiwan and involve a full-scale blockade.

The report explained a full-scale amphibious invasion is a difficult and complex operation where success relies on the superiority of a country’s navy and air force.

China, the report said, still needs more wheeled-armored vehicles to do a full-scale operation. However, a small-sized invasion in the contested South China Sea could be a possibility should any military action take place.

“With few overt military preparations beyond routine training, China could launch an invasion of small Taiwan-held islands in the South China Sea such as Pratas or Itu Aba. A PLA invasion of a medium-sized, better-defended island such as Matsu or Jinmen is within China’s capabilities. Such an invasion would demonstrate military capability and political resolve while achieving tangible territorial gain and simultaneously showing some measure of restraint,” the report explained.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.