输入搜索

环境

六艘驳船沉没,在击中肯塔基桥后在俄亥俄河中溢出煤炭

煤驳船坠入俄亥俄河
煤驳船坠入俄亥俄河圣诞节2018。 (图片来自YouTube)

圣诞节那天在俄亥俄河发生事故一周后,河底仍有六艘煤驳船。

上周,工作人员仍在努力清理俄亥俄河上的一起重大航运事故。 根据海岸警卫队官员的说法,圣诞节当天,一艘正在推动15装载的驳船的拖船坠毁在路易斯维尔俄亥俄河的第二街(克拉克纪念馆)大桥上。

当拖船撞到桥上时,驳船的所有15都挣脱了。 其中六艘驳船沉没,散落着他们所载的煤炭,其中六艘被救出,三艘被卡在原地,其中一艘停泊在一座大坝内。

最初在上周沉没的前四艘驳船向水中释放了1800吨煤。 这还不算其他两个后来沉没的事情。

星期五,大坝的水量下沉了一整步,暂时停止了恢复工作。 该 海岸警卫队说,他们正在与陆军工程兵团合作 收回驳船。 他们的恢复计划包括重型检索设备。

美国海岸警卫队中校指挥官迈克尔梅茨 告诉Wave 3新闻:“目前其中一艘驳船在大坝上倾覆,并阻止其中一个大门关闭。 显然这是一个非常大的问题,但海岸警卫队,以及责任党和陆军工程兵团正在不知疲倦地努力安全地拆除那艘驳船。“

虽然人们不停地工作以收回驳船,但由于政府关闭,他们没有得到报酬。 梅茨周五表示 恢复驳船和遏制煤炭溢出的“时间至关重要”。

截至周五晚上,俄亥俄河再次通往从十二英里岛到麦卡尔平锁和大坝的所有水上交通。 然而,海岸警卫队表示,此时只允许在白天进行交通,并且必须由辅助船陪同。

预计煤炭泄漏不会影响饮用水,因为路易斯维尔的进水设施位于驳船沉没的上游。 但当地人仍然对事故感到不安。

“老实说,我有点不高兴,”当地居民 德文托马斯对ABC-WHAS11说。 “这就像我只是想知道谁搞砸了,以及它会破坏环境有多糟糕?”

“我在这条河上长大。 我从未离开这个地区,“他补充道。 “我希望看到它的成长和发展。 我希望看到它美丽,我希望看到它繁荣。 这没有帮助。“

事件的原因仍在调查中。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Leighanna Shirey

Leighanna毕业于彭萨科拉基督教学院,获得英语学位。 在教授高中英语五年后,她决定追求写作和编辑的梦想。 不工作时,她喜欢和丈夫一起旅行,与狗共度时光,喝太多咖啡。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

A week after an accident in the Ohio River on Christmas Day, six coal barges are still at the bottom of the river.

Crews are still working to clean up from a major shipping accident on the Ohio River last week. On Christmas day, a towboat that was pushing 15 loaded coal barges crashed into the Second Street (Clark Memorial) Bridge on the Ohio River in Louisville, according to Coast Guard officials.

All 15 of the barges broke free when the towboat hit the bridge. Six of the barges sank, scattering the coal they contained, six have been rescued and three are stuck in place with one lodged into a dam.

The first four barges that initially sank last week released up to 1800 tons of coal into the water. That’s not counting the other two that sank afterward.

On Friday, the water at the dam sank a full foot, temporarily halting recovery efforts. The Coast Guard says that they are working with the Army Corps of Engineers to reclaim the barges. Their recovery plans include staging heavy-duty retrieval equipment.

U.S. Coast Guard Lt. Commander Michael Metz told Wave 3 News: “Currently one of the barges is capsized over the dam and it’s preventing one of the gates from closing. Obviously it’s a very very large concern, but the Coast Guard, along with the responsible party and the Army Corps of Engineers are working tirelessly to safely remove that barge.”

Although people are working nonstop to recover the barges, they are not being paid because of the government shutdown. Metz said on Friday that “time was of the essence” to recover the barges and contain the coal spillage.

As of late Friday evening, the Ohio River is open again to all water traffic from Twelve Mile Island to McAlpine Lock and Dam. However, the Coast Guard says that at this time, traffic is allowed only during daylight hours and must be accompanied by an assist vessel.

The coal spill is not anticipated to affect drinking water since Louisville’s intake facility is upstream from where the barges sank. But locals are still upset with the accident.

“Honestly, I’m kind of upset,” local resident Devin Thomas said to ABC-WHAS11. “It’s like I just want to know who messed up and how bad is it going to mess up the environment?”

“I grew up on this river. I never left this area,” he added. “And I want to see it grow and develop. I want to see it beautiful and I want to see it prosper. And that is not helping.”

The cause of the incident is still being investigated.

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.