输入搜索

同行新闻

所以我没有站起来,也没有问为什么

尼默勒纪念馆
尼默勒纪念馆(照片:约翰·博斯)
(所有同行新闻文章均由公民真相的读者提交,并未反映CT的观点。同行新闻是意见,评论和新闻的混合。文章经过审查,必须符合基本准则,但CT不保证陈述的准确性提出或提出论点。我们很自豪地分享你的故事, 在这里分享你的.)

“所以我没有站起来。 我没有问为什么。”这些话,是Mike Stern歌曲中的歌词 起立在过去的八月里,我像重重的砖头一样击中了我。他们是由那位古老的民谣二人组安妮·帕特森(Annie Patterson)和查理·金(Charlie King)演唱的,这是他们另一场出色的表演,这次是在马萨诸塞州特纳瀑布的大瀑布发现中心。

金和帕特森经常录制并一起表演。 他们的2019中西部巡演庆祝了他们的新CD的发行, 一步步,其中包括庆祝Pete Seeger诞辰一百周年的歌曲。 金因其政治讽刺和发现歌曲来探索斗争和人类经验的能力而闻名。 Seeger称他为“我们这个时代最出色的歌手和词曲作者之一。”

安妮·帕特森(Annie Patterson)和查理·金(Charlie King)

安妮·帕特森(Annie Patterson)和查理·金(Charlie King)(照片:约翰·博斯(John Bos))

Patterson与丈夫Peter Blood创作了歌集“ Rise Up Singing”和“ Rise Again”,并在美国和国外演出。 斯特恩的歌曲灵感来自德国神学家马丁·尼默勒(MartinNiemöller)和路德教会的牧师。 他以1930时期对纳粹政权的反对,以及他被广泛引用的诗《首先他们来了……》而闻名。这首诗有许多不同的版本。 波士顿新英格兰大屠杀博物馆的花岗岩纪念馆上刻有这首诗的流行版本。 受一群在波士顿地区找到新生命的大屠杀幸存者的启发,新英格兰大屠杀纪念馆的建立是为了唤起人们对二战期间和今天的偏见和邪恶后果的反思。 这是Niemöller诗题词: 首先,他们是为社会主义者而来的,而我并没有说出来-

因为我不是社会主义者。

然后他们来参加工会会员活动,而我没有说出来-因为我不是工会会员。

然后他们来找犹太人,我没有大声说出来,因为我不是犹太人。

然后他们来找我,没有人可以为我说话。

作为“民族保守派”,尼迈勒(Neemöller)坚持维护民族和文化特征。 最初,他是宣扬雅利安(Aryan)文化优势的阿道夫·希特勒(Adolf Hitler)的支持者,后来他成为ess悔教会的创始人之一。 认罪教会是纳粹德国在德国新教运动中发起的运动,与政府资助的将所有新教教会统一为一个亲纳粹新教帝国的努力背道而驰。

在2017波士顿,政界人士和宗教领袖齐聚一堂,哀悼和谴责波士顿新英格兰大屠杀纪念馆的故意破坏行为,这是该地区第二次在夏季受到袭击。 庄严的聚会隐约可见,在那个周末,当新纳粹分子和其他白人至上主义者在弗吉尼亚州的夏洛茨维尔行军时,the亵的反犹太人的诽谤和圣歌回荡了数百英里。如此靠近为这个地方争取自由和自由而战的爱国者的坟墓?”大波士顿联合犹太慈善基金会前主席巴里·谢拉格(Barry Shrage)说,指的是破坏公物。

“我们周末在夏洛茨维尔看到了什么? 我们对此有何想法? 当我们看到那些穿着纳粹制服的愚蠢人物假装是人,比其他人假装比其他人假装重要。 记住代表的含义很重要。”拉格斯问,“领导我们的国家反对纳粹主义的富兰克林·罗斯福在哪里。 总统在哪 邪恶的谴责在哪里? 让美国再次大 令人不寒而栗。 斯特恩在1985中写了《站起来》。

我认为King和Patterson已经更新了Stern的歌词,以与特朗普目前对非白人的迫害产生共鸣,除了一些著名的例外,例如参议员约翰·麦凯恩,罗伯特·穆勒,希拉里·克林顿等。 这是我在探索中心听到的斯特恩,金和帕特森的歌词。

首先,他们是为共产党而来的

接着他们追杀犹太人

但是我不是共产党员,也不是犹太人

所以我没有站起来,也没有问为什么。

然后他们来参加工会,他们来参加祭司

但是我不是工会主义者,也不是牧师……

所以我没有站起来,也没有问为什么。

然后他们来争取和平主义者

他们来找同性恋者

但是我不是和平主义者,不是同性恋...

所以我没有站起来,也没有问为什么。

当他们来找我的时候

没有人可以尝试了

现在他们来为穆斯林

对于穷人和难民

虽然我不是穆斯林

我不穷,我不是难民

现在我站起来,我问为什么!

有一天他们来找我

我希望有人站在我身边

我们会站起来

我们要问为什么

如果有一天他们来找你

会有很多人站在你身边

一个人站在你身边的世界!

我无法更有效地说出这些歌词对我们每个人的要求。 人 ,那恭喜你, 开始站起来。 并问 为什么。

约翰·博斯

约翰住在马萨诸塞州的谢尔本瀑布,是《公民真相》的同行新闻作者。 他是《西县谢尔本瀑布独立报》的专栏作家,《绿野唱片》的每月专栏作家和《新英格兰绿色能源时报》的特约作家。 他的著作发表在《斯普林菲尔德共和党人》,《蒙塔古记者》,《伍斯特电报》和《汉普郡日报》上。 他邀请发表评论并进行对话 [EMAIL PROTECTED]

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

PEER NEWS

So I Didn’t Stand Up, And I Didn’t Ask Why

Niemoeller Memorial
Niemoeller Memorial (Photo: John Bos)
(All Peer News articles are submitted by readers of Citizen Truth and do not reflect the views of CT. Peer News is a mixture of opinion, commentary and news. Articles are reviewed and must meet basic guidelines but CT does not guarantee the accuracy of statements made or arguments presented. We are proud to share your stories, share yours here.)

“So I didn’t stand up. And I didn’t ask why.” These words, these lyrics by Mike Stern from his song Stand Up, hit me like a ton of bricks this past August They were sung by that venerable folk singing duo, Annie Patterson and Charlie King in another of their great performances, this time at the Great Falls Discovery Center in Turner’s Falls, MA.

King and Patterson have frequently recorded and performed together. Their 2019 Midwest tour celebrated the release of their new CD, Step By Step, which includes songs that celebrate the centennial of Pete Seeger’s birth. King is known for his political satire and ability to find songs that explore struggle and the human experience. Seeger called him “one of the finest singers and songwriters of our time.”

Annie Patterson & Charlie King

Annie Patterson & Charlie King (Photo: John Bos)

Patterson created the songbooks “Rise Up Singing” and “Rise Again” with her husband Peter Blood and has performed all over the U.S. and abroad. Stern’s song was inspired by Martin Niemöller, a German theologian and Lutheran pastor. He is best known for his opposition to the Nazi regime during the 1930s and for his widely quoted poem “First they came …” The poem has many different versions. A popular version of this poem is emblazoned on a granite memorial at the New England Holocaust Museum in Boston. Inspired by a group of Holocaust survivors who found new lives in the Boston area, the New England Holocaust Memorial was built to foster reflection on the impact of bigotry and the outcomes of evil during World War II and to this day. Here is the Niemöller poem inscription: First they came for the socialists, and I did not speak out—

     Because I was not a socialist.

Then they came for the trade unionists, and I did not speak out— Because I was not a trade unionist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out— Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me.

As a “national conservative,” Niemöller believed in upholding national and cultural identity. Initially a supporter of Adolf Hitler who preached Aryan cultural superiority, he became one of the founders of the Confessing Church. The Confessing Church was a movement within German Protestantism during Nazi Germany that arose in opposition to government-sponsored efforts to unify all Protestant churches into a single pro-Nazi Protestant Reich Church.

In 2017 Boston politicians and religious leaders gathered together to mourn and decry the vandalism at the New England Holocaust Memorial in Boston, the second time the site had been attacked that summer. Looming over the solemn gathering were the brazen anti-Semitic slurs and chants that echoed hundreds of miles away the same weekend when neo-Nazis and other white supremacists marched in Charlottesville, Virginia, “How can this be in this country, in this city, so near to the graves of patriots who fought for freedom and liberty in this place?” said Barry Shrage, former president of the Combined Jewish Philanthropies of Greater Boston, referring to the vandalism.

“What did we see over the weekend in Charlottesville? What do we have to think about this? When we see those clownish figures in their Nazi uniforms pretending to be human, pretending to be something more than they are, pretending to be important. It’s important to remember what that represents.” Where, Shrage asked, “is the Franklin Roosevelt who led our country against Nazism. Where is our president? Where is the condemnation of evil?” The parallels to Make America Great Again are chilling. Stern wrote Stand Up in 1985.

I think King and Patterson have updated Stern’s lyrics to resonate with Trump’s present persecution of anyone who is not white with a few notable exceptions such as Senator John McCain, Robert Mueller, Hillary Clinton, et al. Here are the Stern, King and Patterson lyrics I heard at the Discovery Center.

First they came for the Communists

Then they came for the Jews

But I wasn’t a Communist / And I wasn’t a Jew

So I didn’t stand up And I didn’t ask why.

 

Then they came for the unionists & they came for the priests

But I wasn’t a unionist & I wasn’t a priest…

So I didn’t stand up And I didn’t ask why.

 

Then they came for the pacifists

And they came for the gays

But I wasn’t a pacifist & I wasn’t gay…

So I didn’t stand up And I didn’t ask why.

 

By the time they came for me

There was nobody left to even try

 

Now they come for the Muslims

For the poor and the refugees

Though I am not a Muslim

I’m not poor, I’m not a refugee

Now I will stand up And I will ask why!

 

When someday they come for me 

I hope there’s someone standing by my side

 

Yes ​we will​ stand up

And we’re gonna ask why

And if someday they come for you

There’ll be lots of people standing by your side

A world of people standing by your side!​     

I can’t say more effectively what these lyrics are asking of each of us. People are beginning to stand up. And to ask why.

John Bos

John lives in Shelburne Falls, MA and is a peer news author for Citizen Truth. He is a columnist for the West County Shelburne Falls Independent, a monthly op ed contributor for the Greenfield Recorder and a contributing writer for Green Energy Times in New England. His op eds have been published in the Springfield Republican, the Montague Reporter, the Worcester Telegram and the Daily Hampshire Gazette. He invites comments and dialogue at [email protected]

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.