输入搜索

公司文化

新电视纪录片探索种族,警察在维克托怀特的致命射击中的暴行

新纪录片糖镇的标志
通过YouTube截图

种族和警察的暴行再次联系在调查发现的新的两小时纪录片“糖镇”,讲述路易斯安那州新伊比利亚的一起致命事件。

3月2nd,2014,22岁的Victor White III,新伊比利亚的非洲裔美国居民,在当地便利店的一场战斗中被怀疑,他没有参与。

在他被警察拘留后,他被带到警察局的警察车后面遭到致命枪击。 警员声称,尽管在巡逻车的后座后面被戴上手铐,但怀特仍在胸前开枪。

随后的报道说,他的脸上也有擦伤 没有武器 在拍摄前被搜查时,他被发现在怀特身上。

新伊比利亚小镇建立在甘蔗生产的基础上,并且在内战之前有种族分裂的历史。 白人居民主要居住在火车轨道的北面,而黑人主要居住在火车轨道以南 - 这进一步加剧了这种社会经济差异。

“糖镇”记录了怀特家族在警察拘留期间寻求维克多可疑死亡的正义。 他们的调查最终揭示了伊比利亚教区警长路易斯阿克尔的一个更大,甚至更悲惨的权力,腐败和种族不公正的故事。 历史 在中心使用过度暴力和种族辱骂。

该纪录片采访了新伊比利亚社区的几名成员,并与民权律师Clayton Burgess和White家族的律师Carol Powell Lexing进行了评论。

“不幸的是,这些悲剧让人们变成了积极分子,”调查发现(ID),旅游频道,美国英雄频道和美国目的地的集团总裁亨利施莱夫说。 “我们希望ID播放这部纪录片有助于引发有关更大社会不公正的知情对话,以确保怀特的死不会白费。”

怀特的案子最终成了 安定 在今年3月。 司法部和州检察官排除了怀特去世的任何刑事指控。 根据当地地方检察官办公室的说法,一名法医病理学家得出结论认为,即使怀特的双手被铐在背后,也有可能使枪伤自行造成。

“Sugar Town”将于周一,8月6th,2018,8 pm ET播出。 它是由Stephen David Entertainment为Survey Discovery制作的。

调查发现 自称是电视领域的主要犯罪和司法网络,为大约100万美元的美国家庭提供最高质量的节目。 ID可在85国家和地区以及220语言中使用,每年提供超过50小时的原创节目。

关于特朗普总统的迈克尔摩尔纪录片将于9月发布

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

New TV Documentary Explores Race, Police Brutality in Fatal Shooting of Victor White

Logo for new documentary Sugar Town
Screenshot via YouTube

Race and police brutality are linked together again in Investigation Discovery’s new two-hour documentary “Sugar Town”, recounting a fatal incident in New Iberia, Louisiana.

On March 2nd, 2014, 22-year-old Victor White III, an African-American resident of New Iberia, was a suspect in a local convenience store fight in which he wasn’t involved.

After he was detained by police, he was fatally shot in the back of a police car while being taken to the station. The officers claimed that White shot himself in the chest despite being handcuffed behind his back in the rear seat of the patrol car.

Subsequent reports said there were also abrasions on his face and that no weapon had been found on White when he was searched prior to the shooting.

The small town of New Iberia was built on sugar cane production and has a history of racial division that predates the Civil War. White residents literally live predominately north of the train tracks, while blacks mostly live south of it— furthering this socioeconomic disparity.

“Sugar Town” chronicles the White family’s search for justice for Victor’s suspicious death while in police custody. Their investigation eventually reveals a larger and even more tragic story of power, corruption, and racial injustice with Iberia Parish Sheriff Louis Ackal—a man with a history of using excessive violence and racial slurs—at the center.

The documentary interviews several members of the New Iberia community, intercut with commentary from civil rights attorney Clayton Burgess and the White family’s attorney Carol Powell Lexing.

“Tragedies like these unfortunately catapult people into becoming activists,” said Henry Schleiff, Group President, Investigation Discovery (ID), Travel Channel, American Heroes Channel and Destination America.  “We hope that ID’s airing of this documentary will help spark informed dialogue about larger social injustices to ensure that White’s death was not in vain.”

White’s case was eventually settled in March of this year. The Justice Department and state prosecutors ruled out any criminal charges in White’s death. A forensic pathologist concluded it was possible for the gunshot to be self-inflicted even though White’s hands were handcuffed behind his back, according to the local district attorney’s office.

“Sugar Town” will air on Monday, August 6th, 2018 at 8 p.m. ET. It was produced for Investigation Discovery by Stephen David Entertainment.

Investigation Discovery bills itself as the leading crime and justice network on television, delivering the highest-quality programming to approximately 85 million U.S. households.  Available in 220 countries and territories and 50 languages, ID delivers over 8,000 hours of original programming each year.

 

Michael Moore Documentary About President Trump Will Be Released in September

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.