输入搜索

公司文化

泰勒斯威夫特获得了自豪月的平等法案

Taylor Swift现在在Heinz Field演讲。 六月2011。 (照片:Ronald Woan)
Taylor Swift现在在Heinz Field演讲。 六月2011。 (照片:Ronald Woan)

歌手泰勒斯威夫特向她的参议员和粉丝发送了LGBTQ支持的信息。

6月1是LGBTQ骄傲月的第一天,音乐巨星泰勒斯威夫特写了一封公开信,赞成平等法案,该法案保护女同性恋,双性恋,同性恋,变性人和同性恋者(LGBTQ)的权利。

29岁的歌手此前曾表示她犹豫不决,过去曾做过政治立场,除了2018选举,她在家乡田纳西州通过Instagram支持民主党人Phil Bredesen和Jim Cooper。

斯威夫特再一次将她的政治观点引导到她的家乡,显然符合LGBTQ骄傲月。 张贴在她身上 社会媒体渠道斯威夫特向共和党田纳西州参议员拉马尔·亚历山大致敬,支持“平等法”,并拒绝唐纳德·特朗普总统对此事的立场。

“我今天写信给你,期待一场非常重要的投票。 如你所知,众议院刚刚通过了“平等法案”,该法案将保护LGBTQ人员免受工作场所,家庭和学校的歧视。 对于美国公民来说,根据他们所爱的人或他们认同的方式被剥夺了工作或住房,在我看来,这是非美国人和残忍的,“这封信读到了。

“我个人拒绝总统的立场,即他的政府,'支持所有人的平等待遇',但”平等法“,目前的形式充满了可能破坏父母和良心权利的毒丸。 不,不能采取支持社区的立场,而在下一次呼吁中谴责它反对“良心”或“父母权利”。

6月11,2017,Equality March动员了LGBTQ +社区和盟友,以确认和保护LGBTQ +权利,安全和全人类。 (摄影:Ted Eytan)

6月11,2017,Equality March动员了LGBTQ +社区和盟友,以确认和保护LGBTQ +权利,安全和全人类。 (摄影:Ted Eytan)

斯威夫特随后敦促读者也写信给他们的参议员。 作为世界上最大的明星之一,“Shake it Off”歌手肯定会收到数百万粉丝的新消息。

这位歌手还在网上创建了一份网上请愿书 change.org 支持“平等法”,并捐赠给反对诽谤的同性恋联盟(GLAAD)组织。

顺便提一下,特朗普的推特账号 啾啾 5月31前一天的消息,表达了对LGBTQ社区的支持:“当我们庆祝LGBT骄傲月并认识到LGBT人群为我们伟大的国家做出的杰出贡献时,让我们也支持生活的许多LGBT人群在全世界数十个惩罚,监禁甚至执行个人的国家......“

众议院通过了“平等法案”,236-173,5月5日星期五17。 它修订了1964的民权法案,禁止在公共和私营部门中基于性取向和性别认同的歧视。 示例包括允许人基于性别身份选择更衣室或更衣室。

该法案现在将提交共和党控制的参议院和白宫,它们采取了反对它的立场 纽约时报,引用了对“亲密空间中妇女和女孩的安全”以及“良心保护”的关注。

众议院司法委员会的成员代表道格·科林斯(R-Ga。)认为,这样一项法案将过早地鼓励跨性别男孩和女孩接受性别重新分配,从而导致“荷尔蒙[和]主要手术的处方”没有父母同意或参与的青少年。“

特朗普政府先前取消了帮助同性恋,双性恋和变性人的政策,进一步加强了对政府所述LGBTQ支持的猜测,导致禁止跨性别新兵在军队服役,并正式拒绝被禁止的跨性别学生提出的投诉来自符合其性别认同的洗手间。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

Taylor Swift Gets Behind Equality Act for Pride Month

Taylor Swift Speak Now Concert at Heinz Field. June 2011. (Photo: Ronald Woan)
Taylor Swift Speak Now Concert at Heinz Field. June 2011. (Photo: Ronald Woan)

Singer Taylor Swift sends a message of LGBTQ support to her senators and fans.

On June 1, the first day of LGBTQ Pride Month, music superstar Taylor Swift penned an open letter in favor of the Equality Act, which protects lesbian, bisexual, gay, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) rights.

The 29-year old singer has previously disclosed her hesitation to make a political stand in the past, with the exception of the 2018 election when she endorsed Democrats Phil Bredesen and Jim Cooper in her home state of Tennessee, via Instagram.

Once again, Swift is channeling her political views to her home state, in obvious accordance with LGBTQ Pride Month. Posted on her social media channels, Swift addressed Republican Tennessee Senator Lamar Alexander, in support of the Equality Act—and in rejection of President Donald Trump’s stance on the matter.

“I’m writing to you today in anticipation of a very important vote coming up. As you know, the House just passed the Equality Act, which would protect LGBTQ people from discrimination in the workplace, in their homes and in schools. For American citizens to be denied jobs or housing based on who they love or how they identify, in my opinion is un-American and cruel,” the letter read.

“I personally reject the President’s stance that his administration, ‘supports equal treatment of all,’ but that the Equality Act, ‘in its current form is filled with poison pills that threaten to undermine parental and conscience rights.’ No. One cannot take the position that one supports a community, while condemning it in the next breath as going against ‘conscience’ or ‘parental rights.’”

On June 11, 2017, the Equality March mobilized LGBTQ+ communities and allies to affirm and protect LGBTQ+ rights, safety and full humanity. (Photo: Ted Eytan)

On June 11, 2017, the Equality March mobilized LGBTQ+ communities and allies to affirm and protect LGBTQ+ rights, safety and full humanity. (Photo: Ted Eytan)

Swift then urged readers to write to their senators too. As one of the biggest stars in the world, the “Shake it Off” singer will surely reach millions of her fans with the new message.

The singer has also created an online petition at change.org in support of the Equality Act and donated to the organization Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD).

Incidentally, Trump’s Twitter account tweeted a message the day before on May 31, expressing solidarity with the LGBTQ community: “As we celebrate LGBT Pride Month and recognize the outstanding contributions LGBT people have made to our great Nation, let us also stand in solidarity with the many LGBT people who live in dozens of countries worldwide that punish, imprison, or even execute individuals….”

The House passed the Equality Act, 236-173, Friday, May 17. It amends the Civil Rights Act of 1964, prohibiting discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation and gender identity in both the public and private sectors. Examples include allowing a person to choose a locker room or dressing room based on gender identity.

The bill will now go before the Republican-controlled Senate and the White House, which have taken a stance against it, according to The New York Times, citing a concern for “the safety of women and girls in intimate spaces” and “conscience protections.”

Representative Doug Collins (R-Ga.), the ranking member on the House Judiciary Committee, opined that such a bill would prematurely encourage transgender boys and girls to undergo gender re-assignment, resulting in the prescription of “hormones [and] major surgeries on adolescents without parental consent or involvement.”

Speculation about the administration’s stated LGBTQ support is further enhanced by the Trump administration’s previous dismantling of policies that helped gay, bisexual and transgender individuals, resulting in the barring of transgender recruits from serving in the military and formally rejecting complaints filed by transgender students who are barred from restrooms that match their gender identity.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.