输入搜索

国家

解包和理解媒体偏见,第1部分

媒体偏见,假新闻

跨越政治频谱的美国人争夺媒体偏见的呐喊,但它是什么,它为什么存在?

今天听到有关主流媒体的抱怨并不罕见。 “假新闻”,“媒体偏见”和“党派新闻”已经成为公共话语词汇的一部分,并且是左右两派共同的战斗呐喊。 本文主要关注媒体偏见 - 在不久的将来会有关于假新闻和党派关系的文章。

偏见是人

偏见本身就是人类,所有人都有某种偏见。 很简单,这意味着每个人都有基本的观点和观点,构成了他们的核心信念和个人世界观。 这是一个最坚定的信念,它们主要通过培养和个人经历来发展。

偏见主要发生在潜意识层面。

即使有明显的证据反对某一特定立场,有偏见的观点也经常持续存在。 这在很大程度上是由于人们如何处理认知失调,当信念受到相互矛盾的事实或信息的挑战时会出现心理上的不适状态。

人们不喜欢认知失调,并积极努力减少它,即使这种减少 - 如偏见本身 - 有时发生在潜意识层面。 这通常会导致人们偏爱支持其世界观的证据,同时驳回对其提出异议的证据。

一个人持有的观点或世界观主要决定他们如何优先考虑或回应政治和社会问题。 个人信仰和经历不可避免地影响政治意识形态和身份,概括,陈规定型观念和其他基于偏见的信仰。 所有人都是如此,包括记者,编辑和新闻机构的领导人。

媒体偏见

在撰写和发布新闻时,记者和编辑必须决定应该编写和发布哪些故事,并根据他们对故事新闻价值的看法做出决定。 这被称为“守门”或“选择偏见”,这是将偏见引入内容创建过程的早期机会。 当以进一步特定观点的方式选择和发布故事时,您将拥有所谓的“议程设置”。

新闻媒体通过他们选择的故事,这些故事与其他作品的关系以及故事的编写方式为观众设定了议程。 记者和编辑可以通过选择讲述偏向另一方的故事 - 完全无视对立的立场 - 或者他们可以选择告诉双方,但是突出地突出一方,而对立双方被埋在他们认为更重要的故事之间。

一旦故事被选中,记者必须选择有限数量的事实来呈现。 现实情况是,没有人能够阅读与特定故事相关的每一个事实,更不用说报告所有这些故事了。 必须做出选择,记者和编辑再次根据他们认为重要或有新闻价值的内容做出这些决定。 这被称为“表现偏见”。

新闻工作人员可以尝试包含对故事进行平衡,双面描述的事实,或者他们可以将注意力放在另一方面。 选择和表现偏见都不需要党派,但他们当然可以。

美国媒体偏见

顾名思义,媒体偏见涉及个人或组织偏见对已发布新闻的溢出。 在美国媒体中,这会导致单方面报告或报告偏向一方或偏向一方。 正如将来的文章所讨论的那样,美国媒体的偏见在很大程度上归功于新闻业的过度整合及其公司所有权。

同样对美国媒体偏见造成重大影响的是该行业内所有种族,性别和宗教的少数群体代表性不足,以及思想的多样性太少。 由于期望作家,编辑和新闻领导者放弃他们的世界观是不现实的,而且几乎是不可能的,通过给更广泛的少数民族和观点发表意见来平衡规模是最合理的解决方案。

阅读第2部分

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Unpacking and Understanding Media Bias, Part 1

Media Bias, Fake News

 

Americans spanning the political spectrum share battle cries about media bias, but what is it, and why does it exist?

It’s not unusual today to hear complaints about mainstream media. “Fake news,” “media bias,” and “partisan journalism” have become part of the lexicon of public discourse, and are common battle cries from both the left and the right. This article focuses on media bias–articles addressing fake news and partisanship will follow in the near future.

Bias is Human

Bias is inherently human, and all people are biased in some way. Quite simply, this means that everyone has foundational views and perspectives that make up their core beliefs and personal world-views. These are one’s most strongly held convictions, and they are developed primarily through upbringing and personal experiences.

Bias mostly takes place on a subconscious level.

Biased perspectives often persist even in spite of glaring evidence to the contrary of a given position. This is due, in large part, to how people deal with cognitive dissonance, a state of psychological discomfort experienced when convictions are challenged by contradictory facts or information.

People dislike cognitive dissonance and actively work to reduce it, even if that reduction — like the bias itself — sometimes takes place on a subconscious level. This typically results in people favoring evidence that supports their worldview while dismissing evidence that disputes it.

The perspective or worldview a person holds largely dictates how they prioritize or respond to political and social issues. Personal beliefs and experiences inevitably affect political ideology and identity, generalizations, stereotyping and other bias-based beliefs. This is true for all people, including journalists, editors and leaders of news organizations.

Media Bias

When writing and publishing news, journalists and editors must make decisions as to which stories should be written and published, and they base these decisions on their perceptions about a story’s newsworthiness. This is known as “gatekeeping” or “selection bias,” and it is an early opportunity for the introduction of bias into the process of content creation. When stories are selected and published in ways that further a particular point of view, you have what is known as “agenda setting.”

Pssst, while you're here...

News media set the agenda for their audience with the stories they select, the placement of those stories in relation to other pieces, and how the stories are written. Journalists and editors can do this by choosing to tell stories favoring one side over the other — completely ignoring opposing positions — or they can choose to tell both sides, but feature one side prominently while opposing sides are buried between stories they deem more important.

Once a story is selected, journalists must choose a finite number of facts to present. The reality is that no one person could read every fact related to a particular story, let alone report all of them. Choices must be made, and once again, journalists and editors make these determinations based on what they consider important or newsworthy. This is known as “presentation bias.”

News staff can attempt to include facts that present a balanced, two-sided account of a story, or they can focus on one side over the other. Neither selection nor presentation bias need be partisan, but they certainly can be.

US Media Bias

Media bias, as the name implies, relates to the spill-over of personal or organizational bias into published news. Quite often in U.S. media, this results in one-sided reporting or reporting that is partial to or prejudiced against one side. As will be discussed in future articles, bias in U.S. media owes largely to over-consolidation of the news industry and its corporate ownership.

Also contributing significantly to media bias in the U.S. is the underrepresentation of minorities of all ethnicities, genders and religions within the industry, as well as too little diversity in thought. Since expecting writers, editors and news leaders to set aside their world-views is unrealistic and virtually impossible, balancing the scales by giving voice to a broader array of minorities and perspectives is the most plausible solution.

Read Part 2

 

Tags:

You Might also Like

3 Comments

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *