输入搜索

历史

解包和理解媒体偏见,第2部分:按下Colonial America

殖民报纸

历史背景对于真正理解美国新闻媒体中的偏见和党派关系至关重要。 本文重点介绍殖民时期​​报纸的出现和早期发展,从大约17世纪中期到革命战争开始之前。

阅读第1部分

第一印刷机和早期审查

在此 美国殖民地的第一台印刷机由清教徒在马萨诸塞州的1638建立,在第一所殖民地学院(哈佛大学)成立仅几年后出现。 今天,大多数美国人将清教主义与对行为和表达的压制性限制联系起来; 然而,清教徒也是殖民地早期识字,教育和印刷的传播者。 通过1700,波士顿将成为殖民地的印刷和图书贸易中心。

当William Penn参观了1682遗留给他的土地时,一位名叫威廉布拉德福德的打印机学徒陪同他。 宾夕法尼亚州由贵格会创立宗教宽容理念,是贵格会广泛出版经历的继承人。 贵格会在英国时秘密出版了他们自己的作品。

媒体和政府伙伴关系的起源

在1685的宾夕法尼亚州定居后,布拉德福德用他的第一份出版物 - 一本年历 - 设法冒犯了贵格会,之后他收到了警告,要求发布未经他们授权的任何内容。 在1692,布拉德福德发现自己的另一个出版物引起了贵格会的愤怒。 在他从监狱获释后,布拉德福德搬到了纽约,在那里他接受了政府打印机的职位,然后避免打印任何挑战权威的东西。

关于20多年后,布拉德福德的儿子安德鲁接受了与父亲在费城相似的职位。 两位布拉德福德一起垄断了印刷,并专注于不会冒犯顾客的内容,这对公众来说也没有什么实际意义。

在整个17世纪后期,殖民邮政系统的发展极大地影响了报纸的发展 - 这种联系在当时并不十分明显。 在美国媒体的历史上,报纸出版商成为政府印刷商或邮政局的两倍,因此他们在保护统治阶级方面拥有既得利益,他们依靠这些统治阶级获得资助和赞助。

父亲在1702去世后,约翰坎贝尔担任了邮政局长的角色 - 这是他父亲自1693以来所担任的职位。 在1704中,坎贝尔开始在殖民地发表第一篇定期发表的论文 波士顿新闻 - 信. 为避免报道殖民新闻,坎贝尔主要关注重印伦敦报纸的信息。 每份出版物都获得了州长的预先批准,并印有与该出版物相同的符号 伦敦公报, “由权威机构出版。”

布拉德福德很快效仿,发布了同样没有灵感的报纸,首先是安德鲁·布拉德福德的报纸 美国周刊水星 在1719的费城,以及后来的1725,William Bradford的 纽约公报. 转向清除殖民地争议,问题或政治,这些论文就像 波士顿新闻 - 信, 主要关注欧洲的事件。

审查减弱

在17世纪的过程中,官方审查开始转变。 对“基地和贬低”言论的起诉大幅下降,与审查言论相关的严厉的身体惩罚和逐出教育也是如此。 有关诽谤和诽谤的诉讼,以前是法律制度的大企业,已经落后了。 起诉主要是针对被视为对政府造成损害的言论。

虽然这不是言论自由或言论自由的坚实胜利,但这些变化无疑意味着朝这个方向迈进。 他们允许就真正公众关注的话题开始对话和辩论。 对于未经授权的言论进行审查和处罚的缓和在逻辑上促使了殖民报纸上印刷内容的转变开始。

殖民地报纸开始挑战权威

由清教徒批评家詹姆斯富兰克林在1721创立 新英格兰的Courant 是第一个有争议的殖民报纸。 虽然这是一份短暂的出版物,在富兰克林的弟弟本杰明离开两年后,已经在1725中折叠 - 它为通过报纸增加公众辩论和政府审查铺平了道路。

与此同时,在宾夕法尼亚州,Bradfords的竞争对手开始为那些批评权威的人提供出路。 在1729中,他们加入了熟练的本杰明富兰克林,他购买了一份失败的报纸,最初专注于重印百科全书。 年轻的富兰克林对报纸进行了改造,后来被称为“报纸” 宾夕法尼亚州公报。 这篇论文很快与流行党及其领导人 - 如律师安德鲁·汉密尔顿 - 成为布拉德福德的敌人联系在一起。

在1732,一群政治家 - 被称为 Morrisites - 试图揭露皇家州长威廉·考斯比在纽约滥用权力。 科斯比已经取消了纽约首席大法官刘易斯莫里斯的立场,因为他拒绝支持他对前任州长一半薪水的支持。 Morrisites写了一篇文章,并征集了一个名不见经传的打印机 约翰彼得曾格然后,他因煽动诽谤罪被判入狱等待审判八个月。

安德鲁·汉密尔顿代表Zenger,认为Zenger发表的文章并不具有诽谤性,因为其中包含的指控属实。 在藐视法院指示的情况下,陪审团宣告了Zenger的重大决定,进一步开启了政治辩论和政府审查。 虽然这一决定并不保证言论自由和言论自由,但从那时起煽动诽谤的审判显着减少,到革命战争时期几乎不存在。

尽管有这些变化,殖民地印刷商仍然在政府的大拇指之下,他们仍然需要赞助。 甚至本杰明富兰克林也要求政府提供资金。 富兰克林在1737担任邮政局长,还曾担任宾夕法尼亚州的公共打印机,有时也是特拉华州,新泽西州和马里兰州的公共打印机。 此外,为了尽可能获得最广泛的客户和广告商,打印机试图保持中立。

殖民地对新闻自由的看法是一种可以公布所有观点的观点,至少所有观点都没有与当权者发生冲突或冒犯。 这通常意味着不讨论报纸上的分歧性问题,实际上除了鼓励辩论之外,还有更多限制辩论的效果。

公共辩论和党派新闻的出现

在1720的某个时候,竞争和公众辩论开始出现在媒体上,由1765开始变成党派新闻。 本杰明富兰克林首次转载“卡托的信件托马斯·乔丹和约翰·特伦查德在英国早期的1720s中写道,他的兄弟詹姆斯·富兰克林在1722的报纸上写道,而詹姆斯因批评马萨诸塞州州长而被监禁。 波士顿公报 在1755和1780之间重印了七篇论文 - 其中涉及言论自由和言语。

在1760期间,殖民者也对自然权利支持者的着作产生了浓厚的兴趣 约翰·洛克。 随着革命开始形成,甚至在由此产生的共和国中,报纸开始呈现出明显的党派性质。

在第一个120左右的时间里,殖民地媒体经历了一些变革,这些变革为殖民地的革命和更多党派的新闻报道了。 虽然在最初的几十年里,它缺乏党派关系,但殖民新闻仍然偏向或倾向于支持精英 - 执政当局。 被认为是对政府造成分裂或损害的问题被忽视,并且未经讨论。 英国北美的新闻媒体尚未采用第四产业的形式。 无论是因为害怕被起诉还是失去赞助,新闻界都会保护当局,而不是挑战它。

本文的大部分信息以及随后的文章都是从Paul Starr的书“媒体的创造”中收集的,强烈建议读者阅读对美国新闻媒体完整历史感兴趣的人。

阅读第3部分

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Historical context is essential to a true understanding of bias and partisanship in U.S. news media. This article focuses on the advent and early development of newspapers in the colonial era, from about the mid 17th century until just before the beginning of the Revolutionary War.

Read Part 1

The First Printing Press and Early Censorship

The first printing press in colonial America, established in Massachusetts in 1638 by the Puritans, came about just a few years after the founding of the first colonial college (Harvard). Most Americans today associate Puritanism with repressive restrictions on behavior and expression; however, the Puritans were also the purveyors of early literacy, education and printing in the colonies. By 1700, Boston would become the center of printing and book trade in the colonies.

When William Penn visited the lands bequeathed to him in 1682, a printer’s apprentice by the name of William Bradford accompanied him. Founded by the Quakers on the idea of religious tolerance, Pennsylvania was the heritor of the Quakers’ extensive publishing experience. Quakers had covertly published their own works while still in Britain.

The Origins of Media and Government Partnerships

Upon settling in Pennsylvania in 1685, Bradford managed to offend the Quakers with his very first publication — an almanac — after which he received a warning against publishing anything not authorized by them. In 1692, Bradford found himself jailed when another of his publications incurred the wrath of the Quakers. Following his release from jail, Bradford relocated to New York where he accepted a position as a government printer and thereafter avoided printing anything that challenged authority.

About 20 years later, Bradford’s son Andrew accepted a position similar to his father’s in Philadelphia. Together, the two Bradfords held a monopoly on printing and focused their efforts solely on content that would not offend their patrons, which was also of little real interest to the public.

Throughout the late 17th century, the development of the colonial postal system greatly impacted the growth of newspapers — a connection that was not quite apparent at the time. At this point in the history of the American press, newspaper publishers doubled as either government printers or postmasters, thus they had a vested interest in protecting the ruling class upon which they relied for funding and patronage.

Following the death of his father in 1702, John Campbell assumed the role of postmaster — a position his father had held since 1693. In 1704, Campbell started the first regularly published paper in the colonies, the Boston News-Letter. Avoiding coverage of colonial news, Campbell instead focused primarily on reprinting information from London newspapers. Each publication received the pre-approval of the governor and was printed with the same notation as the London Gazette, “Published by Authority.”

The Bradfords soon followed suit, publishing similarly uninspired newspapers, first Andrew Bradford’s American Weekly Mercury in Philadelphia in 1719 and later, in 1725, William Bradford’s New-York Gazette. Steering clear of colonial controversies, issues or politics, these papers, like the Boston News-Letter, mainly focused on happenings in Europe.

Censorship Wanes

Over the course of the 17th century, official censorship began to transform. Prosecutions for “base and detracting” speech declined greatly, as did the harsh physical punishments and excommunications associated with censored speech. Lawsuits pertaining to defamation and slander, formerly big business for the legal system, trailed off. Prosecutions continued primarily for speech deemed damaging to the government.

While not a solid victory for freedom of expression or speech, these changes definitely signified a move in that direction. They allowed for the beginnings of dialog and debate regarding topics of real public concern. The easing of censorship and penalties for unauthorized speech logically spurred the beginnings of a transformation in terms of the content printed in colonial newspapers.

Colonial Newspapers Begin to Challenge Authority

Founded by Puritan criticizer James Franklin in 1721, the New-England Courant was the first controversial colonial newspaper. Although a short-lived publication, having folded in 1725 — just two years after the departure of Franklin’s younger brother Benjamin — it paved the way for increasing public debate and government scrutiny via newspapers.

Meanwhile, in Pennsylvania, competitors to the Bradfords began providing an outlet for those critical of authority. In 1729 they were joined by journeyman Benjamin Franklin who purchased a failed newspaper that originally focused on the reprinting of an encyclopedia. The younger Franklin revamped the newspaper and it came to be known as the Pennsylvania Gazette. The paper quickly became associated with the popular party and its leaders — such as attorney Andrew Hamilton — who were Bradford’s enemies.

In 1732, a group of politicians — known as the Morrisites — sought to expose royal governor William Cosby’s abuse of power in New York. Cosby had removed New York’s chief justice, Lewis Morris, from his position for refusing to support his claim to half of the salary of the previous governor. The Morrisites wrote articles and enlisted a relatively unknown printer named John Peter Zenger, who then spent eight months in jail awaiting trial on charges of seditious libel.

Representing Zenger, Andrew Hamilton argued that the articles published by Zenger did not qualify as libelous because the allegations included in them were true. Defying the court’s instructions, the jury acquitted Zenger in a significant decision that further opened up political debate and government scrutiny. While the decision did not guarantee free expression and speech, from that point on trials for seditious libel decreased significantly, becoming almost nonexistent by the time of the Revolutionary War.

Despite these changes, colonial printers remained under the thumb of the government in the respect that they still required its patronage. Even Benjamin Franklin required the funding of the government. Appointed postmaster in 1737, Franklin also served as the public printer for Pennsylvania, and at times Delaware, New Jersey and Maryland. Also, in an effort to obtain the broadest base of clients and advertisers possible, printers attempted to remain neutral.

The colonial perception of a free press was one in which all points of view could be published, at least all points of view that didn’t conflict with or offend those in power. This often meant not discussing divisive issues in newspapers, and actually had the effect of throttling debate more than it encouraged it.

The Emergence of Public Debate and Partisan News

Sometime around 1720, competition and public debate began to emerge in the press, which, by 1765 began to morph into the partisan news. Benjamin Franklin first reprinted “Cato’s Letters”, written by Thomas Gordan and John Trenchard in Britain in the early 1720s, in his brother James Franklin’s newspaper in 1722 while James was imprisoned for his criticism of Massachusetts’ governor. The Boston Gazette reprinted the essays — which dealt with free expression and speech — seven times between 1755 and 1780.

During the 1760s, colonists also became keenly interested in the writings of natural rights proponent John Locke. As the Revolution began to take form, and even more so in the resulting republic, newspapers began to take on a distinctly partisan nature.

Within the first 120 or so years, the colonial press went through changes that primed the colonies for the Revolution and for a more partisan press. Although in the first several decades it lacked partisanship, colonial news was still biased or skewed in favor of the elite — the governing authorities. Issues considered divisive or damaging to the government were disregarded and went undiscussed. News media in British North America had not yet taken the form of the fourth estate. Whether for fear of prosecution or loss of patronage, the press protected authority rather than challenging it.

Much of the information for this article, and for the articles that will follow, was gleaned from Paul Starr’s book, “The Creation of the Media,” which is highly recommended reading for anyone interested in a complete history of U.S. news media.

Read Part 3

 

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.