输入搜索

同行新闻

残酷的教育闹剧:美国民主与替代品

钟钩
引用美国作家和活动家贝尔钩子。
(所有同行新闻文章均由公民真相的读者提交,并未反映CT的观点。同行新闻是意见,评论和新闻的混合。文章经过审查,必须符合基本准则,但CT不保证陈述的准确性提出或提出论点。我们很自豪地分享你的故事, 在这里分享你的.)

简介:图书馆消防

最近全国学生债务 5月1.5达到了2018万亿美元比十年前的600亿增加了一倍多。 很难掌握这些数字的规模。 如果千秒大约是17分钟,

一百万是12天,

600十亿年是19,000年,

和1.5万亿是48,000年。

很简单,这表明一个社会至多无动于衷,最糟糕的是,对其教育功能不屑一顾。 教育在民主中起着至关重要的作用。 除了媒体之外,它还负责传播信息和培养好奇的公民,这种公民适用于社会中的各种经济,政治和社会问题。 正如上周所讨论的,媒体有 彻底失败了 由于结构原因履行其职责,教育也不例外。

教育:两个展望

“文明是教育与灾难之间的竞赛。”这种HG威尔斯格言的准确性取决于“教育”的定义方式以及教育对象的开发方式。 托马斯·杰斐逊 本杰明·富兰克林 我们经常被引用,以表达受过教育的公众如何强化美国共和国,以及只有文化的思想能够抵抗压迫性的意识形态。 闪光的东西永远不会被令人讨厌的事实所淡化 美国共和国本身的压迫性设计关于教育在这种设计中的真正作用,甚至更令人烦恼的问题。

从广义上讲,在所有的理论被搅动,所有的研讨会灯都被关闭后,我们对教育提出了两种看法,如下所述。 今天,盲目提升教育而不考虑这些相互矛盾的意见,为灾难赢得竞选奠定了基础。

柏拉图与西塞罗

文化评论家和作家尼尔波斯曼总结了反对教育的观点 捍卫反对不可原谅的人 通过指出“学校教育应该让年轻人顺从并容易接受社会偏见的想法是一个古老而古老的传统。 我们的两位最早和最伟大的课程专家孔子和柏拉图明确提倡这种教育功能。 他们的着作创造了一种传统,要求教育工作者以他们被告知的方式让年轻人相信他们被告知的方式。“

邮递员继续注意到这种观点的知识分子对立,“但问题不在于此。 我们很幸运有一种替代传统,使我们有权教育我们的学生 怀疑 或者至少对他们的长辈的偏见持怀疑态度。 我们可以从西塞罗的一些片段中找到这一传统的起源,西塞罗认为教育的目的是让学生摆脱现在的暴政。“

最纯粹的宣传是自学成才

教育过程不仅限于父母与子女,教师与学生的关系。 最重要的是,该过程主要在精英和外部多数人之间运作。 正如詹姆斯麦迪逊所描述的那样,正在考虑的精英是“负责任的人”。

20世纪上半叶的主要政治评论员沃尔特·李普曼(Walter Lippmann)评论道,“公众必须放在原位,以便负责任的人可以免于被困惑的群体,无知和好心的局外人的践踏和咆哮。其作用是对行动的观众感兴趣,而不是参与者,定期向领导班级(选举)中的一个或另一个发放重量,然后回归他们的私人问题。“(501年,乔姆斯基)这些”负责任的人“影响着父母和老师对下一代有所了解。

同样,伍德罗威尔逊的国务卿罗伯特兰辛,莱因霍尔德尼布尔 阐述, “为了共同利益,必须保留大量的人口,无知和精神上的缺乏,为他们提供必要的幻想和情感上有力的过度简化。” (年501,乔姆斯基)

这种态度通过攻击当代教育直至现在表现出来。 关于失去局外人安宁的精英关注往往是针对教育机构。 作为Alternet 描述 在2012,三边委员会 - 卡特政府大部分被吸引的非政府政策小组 - 在新西兰国立大学发出了严厉的警告,认为民主太多,部分原因是由于负责“对年轻人进行灌输的机构的失败”。 ”

此外,最高法院副法官路易斯·鲍威尔(1971-1971)向美国商会提交的一份重要的1987备忘录称,激进分子正在接管所有事情 - 大学,媒体,政府等 - 并呼吁业务社区利用其经济实力来扭转对我们珍贵生活方式的攻击 - 他对此非常了解。

直线下降 公立学校资助,学生债务不能违约, 取消有利于视频游戏的大学学位课程 和一位教育部长 保有 最好的象征是她漂浮在海上的游艇; 这些都不是意外和不连贯的后果。 这些是受强烈意识形态束缚并受到令人发指的目的背负的行动的结果。

这种意识形态要求:

  1. 教育必须被视为一个产生专业人员的系统,仅此而已。 正如托马斯·弗兰克所描述 听,自由党, 资本阶层利用知识阶层的服务,通过开发或私有化知识产权,金融工程,运营各种服务和其他寻求利润的冒险来创造更多财富。 为此目的,培养一支乖乖,毫无疑问和勤奋的劳动力至关重要,这些劳动力擅长遵循指示,并尽职尽责地浏览其他顺从,毫无疑问和勤奋的专业人士所开发的行业。 提到每年成千上万渴望在劳动力市场占有一席之地的学生的日常生活,有时梦想成为资本阶层, 教育 是滥用这个词。 这是专业化。 4年工程学位,2年工商管理硕士学位或装配线操作职业课程几乎不受教育; 相反,创造有用的劳动力是专业化的。 对这种意识形态有限的“教育”的共同反应是完全放弃学校教育,并用更多针对性的培训计划取而代之,例如 编码训练营。 这些计划的支持者经常批评更高的“教育”,因为它的想象力狭窄,范围不足。 是真的。 他们的解决方案也是如此,使其更窄,更缺乏。
  2. 另一个要求是,学生将我们当前全球资本市场的个人主义学说内化,或者像亚当史密斯所描述的那样 国富,“人类主人的卑鄙格言。”这句格言要求社会不懈地抓挠并抓住在知识阶级或资本阶层中找到一席之地,获得财富,忘记除了自我之外的所有人。 这一格言的结果是,没有内在的人格,而社会中唯一可以获得的外在价值是通过专业化和在劳动力市场中找到一席之地。 如果不这样做,就会把一个人丢弃在人格的黑洞中。
  3. 这样的观点也需要有良好的外人,在他们接受教育的程度上 正确的方法,推动精英政治和经济议程 - 利润最大化,权力整合等。 除此之外的活动被视为停机时间,或更糟糕的是,激进和不听话足以导致终止。
  4. 最后,所有后果中最广泛和最阴险的是,这种教育方法导致年轻人转变为顺从的社会成员,甚至没有可能在民主社会中考虑更广泛的政治,经济和社会问题。 快速滚动浏览LinkedIn主页就足够了。 拉尔夫沃尔多爱默生 讨论 他那个时代的政治领导人正在呼吁大众教育这一事实,这种呼吁的动机就是恐惧。 “他们说这个国家正在填补成千上万的选民,你必须教育他们让他们远离我们的喉咙。”

需要保持这些意识形态的“负责任的人”拥有一个有缺陷的想法的壮观记录 - 包括设计一种技术 不加思索地以破坏性的方式使用我们的技术实力,让我们走上一条路 未来50年的全球生态破坏或者实际上,设计一个在结构上创造奇怪的财富不平等的共和国 与镀金时代相媲美.

更糟糕的是,当面对巨大规模的挑战时,“聪明的少数人”的自满表现出无限的灵活性,可以挤过任何精神椒盐脆饼。 聪明的少数群体不仅旨在指导学校系统的知识垄断,而且也是经济垄断。

特许学校和各种学校课程的快速私有化导致了 结果较差,增加了学校的成本因此有助于上述财富单极性。 然而,这些真理对责任人没有影响。

替代方案:构建新库

在开始重新配置教育之旅之前,重要的是要注意,赋予学生深刻知识的专业化解决物理,数学,语言学,哲学,工程学,社会科学和无数其他研究领域的问题是一项关键的追求,是否应该对学生产生兴趣,以及更广泛教育的关键组成部分。

在当今的教学法和学费中可以预见的缺失的组件是公民激活和创造性探索,它们挑战当今的意识形态,偏见和知识限制。 这种教育形式并不要求肆无忌惮地反抗积累的知识体系; 相反,它质疑我们经济,社会和政治生活的基本属性和制度,其核心目标是挑战权威以改善我们的制度。

免学费 老师罢工 是强有力的原因,支持顽固控制的目的,从私人和国家集中力量,希望强加智力和经济破产教育。 此外, 校园合作社 和工业工人合作社拒绝私营公司的等级结构,让学生和劳动力从事探索和协作练习。

乔纳森罗斯,在 英国工人阶级的知识分子生活, 研究19世纪英国工人的阅读习惯,并对抗无产阶级自动行为和英国贵族普遍的庸俗主义对知识的热情追求。

借助工人的回忆录,社会调查,图书馆登记等,罗斯发现了人们阅读的书籍,他们如何教育自己,以及他们知道什么。 类似的趋势在美国仍然存在。 例如,工厂工人将在下班后聚集在一起讨论文学和科学作品,而劳动报刊则很活跃。 此外,领先的数学家和科学家为群众写了书 - 比如 百万数学 一二三...无限 在“无知和好心的局外人”中非常受欢迎。

此外,学生会应该围绕潜在的教育理念组织和定期进行讨论 - 为自己的教育制定新的愿景。 正如历史所表明的,群体对话和政策变化之间的差异主要在于人数。 蔑视必须具有战术性和洞察力 - 它也将世界视为现实,而不仅仅是世界应该如何。 换句话说,根据不同的情况,制定替代方案的建议因社区而异。

在他们无限的智慧中,聪明的少数人能够使长辈相信他们的无懈可击 - 甚至将父母身份变成温顺的行为,养育顺从和勤奋的资本士兵。 除少数例外情况外,创造性和实验性追求被阻止,并被重定向到劳动力市场认为有价值的活动。

约翰·杜威(John Dewey)是19th晚期和20世纪上半叶的美国知识分子,在 美国民主,“培养儿童不是自由和聪明地工作是不自由和不道德的,但是为了获得的工作,在这种情况下他们的活动不是免费的,因为它没有自由参与。“实施一个系统的道路不承诺这些不道德的行为需要攻击新自由主义的教育模式。

“文明是教育与灾难之间的竞赛。”然而,如果教育被定义为对劳动力市场的年轻,超专业化学生的灌输系统,那么他们就能满足资本最大的梦想,强迫地球为自己无休止的贪婪,然后HG威尔斯在我们的时代被证明是不准确的。 我们的文明是教育与进步之间的竞赛。

标签:
流亡共识

问题或评论? 请到达 [EMAIL PROTECTED] 关注Twitter @ConsensusExiled。

    1

你可能还喜欢

5评论

  1. 你房子的人 9-2018-XNUMX

    钟钩不会将她的名字大写。

    回复
  2. Mary Urech Stallings 9-2018-XNUMX

    公立学校是最严重的罪犯。

    回复
  3. 冯德桑托 9-2018-XNUMX

    男人你们都会退出那个,如果你可以导航那个s ***但仍然具有af ******个性然后你有1

    回复
  4. 冯德桑托 9-2018-XNUMX

    男人你们都放弃了抱怨,如果你可以导航那个s ***并且仍然拥有自己的个性,那么你就赢了

    回复
  5. 弗雷德拉蒂默 15-2018-XNUMX

    一个基本的事实。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

(All Peer News articles are submitted by readers of Citizen Truth and do not reflect the views of CT. Peer News is a platform for regular people to share ideas and have their voice heard. Peer News is a mixture of opinion, commentary and news. Articles are reviewed and must meet basic guidelines but CT does not guarantee the accuracy of statements made or arguments presented. We are proud to share your stories, share yours here.)

Introduction: Fire in the library

The national student debt recently hit $1.5 trillion in May 2018, more than doubling from $600 billion just ten years ago. It is difficult to grasp the scale of these numbers. If a thousand seconds is about 17 minutes,

a million is 12 days,

600 billion is 19,000 years,

and 1.5 trillion is 48,000 years.

Quite simply, this indicates a society that is at best apathetic, and at worst, disdainful towards its educational functions. Education plays a critical role in a democracy. In addition to the media, it is responsible for the dissemination of information and the cultivation of an inquisitive citizenry that applies itself to various economic, political and social problems in society. As discussed last week, the media has completely failed to fulfill its responsibilities due to structural causes, and education is no exception.

Education: Two outlooks

“Civilization is a race between education and catastrophe.” The accuracy of this H.G Wells maxim depends on how ‘education’ is defined, and for whom it is developed. Thomas Jefferson and Benjamin Franklin have often been shimmeringly quoted to convey how an educated public would fortify the American republic, and how only literate minds can resist oppressive ideologies. The shimmer is never dulled by bothersome truths of the oppressive design of the American republic itself, and even more bothersome questions about the true role of education in such a design.

Broadly, after all the theories are churned, and all the seminar lights are turned off, we are left with two opinions on education, as described below. Today, the blind exaltation of education without factoring in these conflicting opinions is setting the stage for catastrophe to win the race.

Plato vs. Cicero

Cultural critic and author Neil Postman summarized the opposing viewpoints on education in Defending Against the Indefensible by noting that “the idea that schooling should make the young compliant and easily accessible to the prejudices of their society is an old and venerable tradition. This function of education was clearly advocated by our two earliest and greatest curriculum specialists, Confucius and Plato. Their writings created the tradition that requires educators to condition the young to believe what they are told, in the way they are told it.”

Postman continues by noting the intellectual antithesis to this view, “But the matter does not rest there. We are fortunate to have available an alternative tradition that gives us the authority to educate our students to disbelieve or at least be skeptical of the prejudices of their elders. We can locate the origins of this tradition in some fragments from Cicero, who remarked that the purpose of education is to free the student from the tyranny of the present.”

Purest propaganda is self-taught

The process of education is not limited to relationships of parent and child, or teacher and pupil. Most importantly, the process primarily operates between the elites and the outside majority. The elites under consideration are the “responsible men,” as James Madison described.

Walter Lippmann, a leading political commentator in the first half of the 20th century, remarked, “The public must be put in its place, so that the responsible men may live free of the trampling and roar of a bewildered herd, ignorant and meddlesome outsiders whose function is to be interested spectators of action, not participants, lending their weight periodically to one or another of the leadership class (elections), then returning to their private concerns.” (Year 501, Chomsky) These “responsible men” influence how parents and teachers condition the next generation.

In a similar vein, Woodrow Wilson’s Secretary of State Robert Lansing, Reinhold Niebuhr elaborated, “The great mass of the population, ignorant and mentally deficient, must be kept in their place for the common good, fed with necessary illusion and emotionally potent oversimplifications.” (Year 501, Chomsky)

Such attitudes have manifested themselves by attacking education in contemporary times, till present day. Elite concerns about losing outsider tranquility are often directed at the education institutions. As Alternet described in 2012, the Trilateral Commission — a nongovernmental policy group from which the Carter Administration was largely drawn — issued stern warnings in 1975 that there is too much democracy, in part due to the failures of the institutions responsible for “the indoctrination of the young.”

In addition, an important 1971 memorandum to the U.S. Chamber of Commerce by Associate Justice of the Supreme Court Lewis Powell (1971-1987), wailed that radicals were taking over everything — universities, media, government, etc. — and called on the business community to use its economic power to reverse the attack on our prized way of life — which he knew well.

Plummeting public school funding, student debt that cannot be defaulted on, elimination of university degree programs in favor of video games and an Education Secretary whose tenure is best symbolized by her yacht adrift at sea; these are not accidental and disconnected consequences. These are outcomes of actions that are bound by strong ideology and burdened by heinous purpose.

Such ideology demands that:

  1. Education must be regarded as a system that produces professionals, nothing more, nothing less. As Thomas Frank describes in Listen, Liberal, the capital class avails of the services of the knowledge class to generate more wealth by developing or privatizing intellectual property, financial engineering, running various services and other profit-seeking adventures. For this purpose, it is paramount to cultivate an obedient, unquestioning and diligent workforce that is adept at following instructions and dutifully navigates through industries developed by other obedient, unquestioning and diligent professionals. Referring to the routine churning of thousands of students a year who yearn for a place in the labor market, sometimes with dreams of making it to the capital class, as education is an abuse of the word. This is specialization. A 4-year Engineering degree, a 2-year Masters in Business Administration degree, or a vocational program for assembly line operations is hardly education; rather, it is specialization to create useful labor. A common response to such ideologically limited ‘education’ is to discard schooling entirely, and replace it with more targetted training programs, such as coding boot-camps. Proponents of such programs often criticize higher ‘education’ for its narrow imagination and its deficient scope. It is true. It is also true that their solution is to make it even narrower and more deficient.
  2. Another demand is that students internalize the individualistic doctrine of our present-day global capital markets, or as Adam Smith described in Wealth of Nations, “the vile maxim of the masters of mankind.” The maxim commands society to relentlessly scratch and claw to find a place in the knowledge class or the capital class, gaining wealth, forgetting all but self. A consequence of this maxim is that no intrinsic personhood remains, and the only extrinsic value that can be gained in society is by specializing and finding a place in the labor markets. Failure to do so gets one discarded into the black-hole of unpersonhood.
  3. Such an outlook also requires that the meddlesome outsiders, to the extent that they are educated in the right way, boost the elite political and economic agenda — profit maximization, power consolidation and so on. Activities beyond these are considered downtime, or worse, radical and disobedient enough to be cause for termination.
  4. Finally, the most expansive and insidious of all consequences is that such an approach to education results in transforming young minds into compliant members of society, deprived of even a possibility to consider broader political, economic and social questions in a democratic society. A quick scroll through your LinkedIn homepage is sufficient evidence. Ralph Waldo Emerson discussed the fact that the political leaders of his day were calling for popular education, and that the motivation for such a call was fear. “They say this country is filling up with thousands and millions of voters, and you must educate them to keep them from our throats.”

The “responsible men” who require these ideologies be maintained have a spectacular record of flawed ideas — including designing a technopoly that thoughtlessly uses our technical prowess in destructive ways, setting us on a path to global ecological destruction in the next 50 years, or indeed, designing a republic that structurally creates grotesque wealth inequality that rivals the Gilded Age.

Worse, when faced with such challenges of prodigious magnitude, the complacency of the “intelligent minority” exhibits boundless flexibility to squeeze through any mental pretzel. The intelligent minority aims to not only command an intellectual monopoly on the school system, but also an economic one.

Charter schools and the rapid privatization of various school programs have resulted in increasing the cost of school with poorer outcomes, hence contributing to the aforementioned wealth mono-polarity. However, such truths hold no sway over the responsible men.

Alternatives: Building a new library

Before embarking on a journey to reconfigure education, it is important to note that specialization that endows students with the deep knowledge to solve problems in physics, mathematics, linguistics, philosophy, engineering, social sciences and countless other fields of study is a critical pursuit, should the interest in the student arise, and a key component of a broader education.

The components that are predictably missing from present-day pedagogy and tuition are those of civic activation and creative exploration that challenge present-day ideologies, biases and intellectual limitations. Such a version of education does not demand recklessly rebelling against the accumulated body of knowledge; rather, it questions fundamental properties and institutions of our economic, social and political lives with the central goal of challenging authority to improve our systems.

Tuition-free college and teacher strikes are strong causes to support for the purposes of wrestling control back from private and state concentrations of power that wish to impose intellectually and economically bankrupt education. In addition, campus cooperatives and industry worker-cooperatives reject the hierarchical structures of privately-owned companies, freeing students and labor to pursue explorative and collaborative exercises.

Jonathan Rose, in Intellectual Life of the British Working Class, studies the reading habits of 19th-century British workers and contrasts the passionate pursuit of knowledge by the proletariat auto-didacts and the pervasive philistinism of the British aristocracy.

Drawing on workers’ memoirs, social surveys, library registers, and more, Rose discovers which books people read, how they educated themselves, and what they knew. Similar trends were alive in the US. For example, factory workers would gather after work to discuss literary and scientific works, and the labor press was lively. In addition, leading mathematicians and scientists wrote books for the masses — such as Mathematics for the Million and One Two Three…Infinity were extremely popular amongst the “ignorant and meddlesome outsiders.”

In addition, student unions should organize and operate periodic discussions around the underlying philosophies of education — to formulate a new vision for their own education. As history has shown, the difference between a group conversation and policy changes primarily lies in the number of people. Defiance must be tactical and insightful — that also considers the world as is, and not just how the world should be. In other words, proposals to develop alternatives will vary across communities, given varying circumstances.

In their infinite wisdom, the intelligent minority has been able to convince elders of their infallibility — even turning parenthood into a docile act of raising children that are compliant and diligent soldiers for capital. Barring rare exceptions, creative and experimental pursuits are blocked and redirected to activity considered valuable by the labor markets.

John Dewey, the leading American intellectual in the late 19th and first half of the 20th century, described in American Democracy, “It is illiberal and immoral to train children to work not freely and intelligently, but for the sake of the work earned, in which case their activity is not free, because it is not freely participated in.” The path to implementing a system that does not commit these immoral acts requires attacking the neoliberal model of education.

“Civilization is a race between education and catastrophe.” Yet, if education is defined as a system of indoctrination of the young, hyper-specializing students for the labor markets so they can satisfy the wildest dreams of capital to rape the Earth for its own interminable greed, then H.G Wells has been proven inaccurate for our times. Our civilization is a race between education and advancement.

 

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.