输入搜索

公司文化

'小美人鱼'演员:进步还是Pan Pan?

哈莉贝利
哈莉贝利(照片:YouTube截图)

“我认为角色的精神才是真正重要的。 你把自己的内心和精神带到了一个角色的桌子上真正重要的是什么。“

铸造一位非裔美国女演员作为真人的主角 翻拍 迪斯尼的经典之作 小美人鱼 上周引发了媒体风暴,双方都充满了热情的争论。

19岁的Halle Bailey在上周之前对公众鲜为人知,在11年龄时与姐姐Chloe一起成为Youtube明星,通过Beyonce传播并获得唱片合约 - 然后被投入ABC系列剧“生长十岁上下的”。

现在,基于1989重磅炸弹动画功能,她将作为Ariel的标题角色出现在她的第一部电影中。

考虑到这个角色的标志性,粉丝们对于他们对“黑色美人鱼”的反应存在分歧,这个黑色美人鱼与他们所熟知和喜爱的白皙红头发的水下公主并不相似。

标签#NotMyAriel有 趋势 在Twitter上,用户提出的论据如下:“这不是种族主义,我们只想要一个看起来像我们喜爱的Ariel的Ariel。 迪士尼,如果你想要更多的黑色表现,就不要懒惰并创造新的故事。“

事实上,像迪士尼这样的工作室可以简单地用黑色字符制作新故事,而不是将它们用作现有的源材料,这听起来是合理的。

然而,好莱坞的公开秘密是,对于新材料而言,这是一种臭名昭着的风险规避,而这种新材料并非经过证实的财务吸引力。 这解释了在过去十年左右的电影制片厂被催眠的续集,无耻,自相残杀的续集,前传和重拍。

好莱坞以“多样性”的名义采取婴儿步骤的一个典型例子是改造,只需改变人物的性别,如2016的 捉鬼敢死队受到了观众和评论家的不同反应。

十年前,迪士尼在动画片中创作了他们的第一位黑人公主Tiana 公主与青蛙。 这部电影受到评论家的好评,但在票房上取得了一定的成功。 在一个典型的好莱坞行动中,迪士尼似乎将他们的资源重新定向到其他地方 - 仅使用2016重磅炸弹创造了另一个不同种族背景的公主 莫阿纳.

对于新的铸造也有非常强烈的支持 美人鱼 重拍。 Ariel在1989中的原始声音,Jodi Benson,公开表达 “我认为角色的精神才是真正重要的。 你把自己的内心和精神带到了一个角色的桌子上真正重要的是什么。“

其他名人如音乐巨星玛丽亚凯莉和女演员Zendaya也表达了 支持 与电影迷一起,只是认为着名的童话是纯粹的幻想,美人鱼没有种族背景。 支持者还宣称代表历史上代表性不足的种族的重要性。

最近,迪斯尼拥有的电视网络Freeform发布了一份 声明 尽管最初的童​​话故事是在丹麦设定的,但是为了保护演员,“丹麦美人鱼可能是黑人,因为丹麦人可能是黑人”。

也许是即将到来的翻拍的影响 小美人鱼即将在2020早期投入生产,将不会像电影观众那样重要 - 如果最近大量的迪士尼动画经典重拍真人照片有任何迹象。 虽然是2017的 美女与野兽 翻拍是一次财务上的成功,它并非即时经典。 今年的真人改编 小飞 阿拉丁 被淘汰并分别得到了混合评论。

争论任何一方的粉丝都可以感受到现场翻拍与原始动画经典之间几乎没有关系,或者陶醉其作为分支或替代品的地位。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. voiceofreason 八月11,2019

    只需进行反向测试,看看你是否感觉舒服。 使黑色字符变白=不舒服,使白色字符变黑=不舒服。 如果你对天娜(公主和青蛙)的辩论不够黑(破坏它ralph 2)但是看不到黑色Ariel的虚伪那么你需要自我评价。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

‘The Little Mermaid’ Casting: Progress or Pandering?

Halle Bailey
Halle Bailey (Photo: YouTube screenshot)

“I think the spirit of a character is what really matters. What you bring to the table in a character as far as their heart and their spirit is what really counts.”

The casting of an African-American actress as the lead role in the live-action remake of Disney’s classic The Little Mermaid set off a media firestorm this past week, with passionate arguments on both sides.

19-year old Halle Bailey was little known to the general public before last week, literally starting out as a Youtube star with her sister Chloe at age 11, going viral and getting a record deal via Beyonce—then being cast on the ABC series “Grown-ish”.

Now, she’s set to appear in her first feature as the title character of Ariel, based on the 1989 blockbuster animated feature.

Given how iconic the character is, fans were divided in their response to having a “black mermaid” that doesn’t resemble the fair-skinned redheaded underwater princess they’ve known and loved.

The hashtag #NotMyAriel has trended on Twitter, with users making arguments such as: “This is NOT about racism, we just want an Ariel that looks like the Ariel we love. Disney, stop being lazy and create new stories if you want more black representation.”

Indeed, it sounds reasonable that studios such as Disney could simply create new stories with black characters, rather than shoehorning them into existing source material.

Hollywood’s open secret though, is that it’s notoriously risk-averse to new material that isn’t a proven financial draw. This explains the rampant, shameless, cannibalistic outpouring of sequels, prequels, and remakes that has hypnotized movie studios for the past decade or so.

A prime example of Hollywood taking baby steps in the name of “diversity”, are remakes that simply switch the gender of characters such as 2016’s Ghostbusters, which was met with mixed responses from audiences and critics.

Disney did create their first black princess, Tiana, ten years ago in the animated feature The Princess and the Frog. The film was well-received by critics but a moderate success at the box office. In a typical Hollywood move, Disney seemingly redirected their resources elsewhere—creating only one more princess of a different ethnic background, with the 2016 blockbuster Moana.

There has also been very vocal support for the new casting of the Mermaid remake. The original voice of Ariel in the 1989 feature, Jodi Benson, publicly stated that “I think the spirit of a character is what really matters. What you bring to the table in a character as far as their heart and their spirit is what really counts.”

Other celebrities such as music superstar Mariah Carey and actress Zendaya have also voiced support along with movie fans who simply argue that the famous fairy tale is pure fantasy and that mermaids have no ethnic background. Supporters also tout the importance of representation for historically underrepresented ethnicities.

Most recently, the Disney-owned television network Freeform issued a statement in defense of the casting—going so far as to say that although the original fairy tale was set in Denmark, “Danish mermaids can be black because Danish people can be black”.

Perhaps the repercussions of the upcoming remake of The Little Mermaid, set to go into production in early 2020, won’t be as significant as moviegoers think—if the recent slew of live action remakes of Disney animated classics are any indication. Although 2017’s Beauty and the Beast remake was a financial success, it was no instant classic. This year’s live-action remakes Dumbo and Aladdin were panned and met with mixed reviews, respectively.

Fans on either side of the argument can take heart that a live remake has little bearing on the original animated classic, or revel in its status as an offshoot or alternative.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. voiceofreason August 11, 2019

    just take the reverse test and see if you are comfortable. make a black character white = not comfortable with, make white character black = not comfortable with. If you make a debate against Tiana (princess and the frog) not being black enough (wreck it ralph 2) but can’t see the hypocrisy of a black Ariel then you need to self evaluate.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.