اكتب للبحث

حضاره

"ليتل ميرميد" الصب: التقدم أو تجول؟

هالي بيلي
هالي بيلي (الصورة: YouTube screenshot)

"أعتقد أن روح الشخصية هي ما يهم حقًا. ما تحضره إلى الطاولة في شخصية بقدر ما قلبهم وروحهم هو ما يهم حقا. "

اختيار ممثلة أميركية من أصل أفريقي كدور قيادي في الحركة الحية طبعة جديدة من ديزني الكلاسيكية ليتل ميرميد انطلقت عاصفة إعلامية في الأسبوع الماضي ، بحجج عاطفية من كلا الجانبين.

لم تكن هالي بيلي ، البالغة من العمر 19 ، معروفة لعامة الناس قبل الأسبوع الماضي ، حيث بدأت حرفيًا كنجمة على Youtube مع أختها Chloe في عمر 11 ، حيث أصبحت فيروسية وحصلت على صفقة قياسية عبر Beyonce ، ثم تم تصويرها في سلسلة ABC " نمت العش ".

الآن ، من المقرر أن تظهر في أول ميزة لها كحرف لقب Ariel ، استنادًا إلى ميزة الرسوم المتحركة 1989.

نظرًا لمدى الشخصية المميزة ، فقد تم تقسيم المشجعين في ردهم على وجود "حورية البحر السوداء" التي لا تشبه أميرة ذات شعر أحمر فاتح تحت الماء كانوا قد عرفوه وأحبوه.

الهاشتاج #NotMyAriel له اتجهت على Twitter ، مع قيام المستخدمين بتقديم حجج مثل: "هذا لا يتعلق بالعنصرية ، نريد فقط ارييل يشبه ارييل الذي نحبه. ديزني ، توقف عن الكسل وخلق قصص جديدة إذا كنت تريد المزيد من التمثيل الأسود ".

في الواقع ، يبدو من المعقول أن استوديوهات مثل ديزني يمكنها ببساطة إنشاء قصص جديدة بأحرف سوداء بدلاً من تأليفها في مواد مصدر موجودة.

رغم ذلك ، فإن سر هوليوود المفتوح هو أنه يشتهر بالمخاطرة بالمواد الجديدة التي لا تشكل سحباً مالياً مثبتاً. وهذا ما يفسر التدفق المتسع والخزي من أكلة لحوم البشر للعقابيل والمقتنيات المعاد صنعها والتي عوملت استوديوهات الأفلام على مدار العقد الماضي أو نحو ذلك.

مثال بارز على قيام هوليوود باتخاذ خطوات صغيرة باسم "التنوع" ، هي عبارة عن نماذج جديدة تقوم ببساطة بتغيير جنس الشخصيات مثل 2016's Ghostbusters، والتي قوبلت بردود مختلطة من الجماهير والنقاد.

قامت ديزني بإنشاء أول أميرة سوداء لها ، تيانا ، قبل عشر سنوات في فيلم الرسوم المتحركة الأميرة والضفدع. استقبل النقاد الفيلم بشكل جيد لكنه حقق نجاحًا معتدلًا في شباك التذاكر. في خطوة هوليوود نموذجية ، يبدو أن ديزني قد أعادت توجيه مواردها في مكان آخر — فأحدثت أميرة واحدة فقط ذات خلفية عرقية مختلفة ، مع مجموعة أفلام 2016 موانا.

كان هناك أيضا دعم صخبا جدا للالصب الجديد لل حورية البحر طبعة جديدة. الصوت الأصلي لأرييل في ميزة 1989 ، جودي بنسون ، علنًا ذكر هذا "أعتقد أن روح الشخصية هي ما يهم حقًا. ما تحضره إلى الطاولة في شخصية بقدر ما قلبهم وروحهم هو ما يهم حقا. "

كما عبرت مشاهير آخرون مثل النجمة الموسيقية ماريا كاري والممثلة زندايا الدعم جنبا إلى جنب مع عشاق السينما الذين يجادلون ببساطة بأن الحكاية الخيالية الشهيرة خيال خالص وأن حوريات البحر ليس لها خلفية عرقية. ويشير المؤيدون أيضًا إلى أهمية التمثيل للأعراق الممثلة تمثيلا ناقصا تاريخيا.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، أصدرت شبكة التلفزيون المملوكة لشركة ديزني Freeform بيان دفاعًا عن عملية الصب - إلى حد القول إنه على الرغم من أنه تم وضع حكاية خرافية أصلية في الدنمارك ، "يمكن أن تكون حوريات البحر الدنماركية سوداء لأن الشعب الدنماركي يمكن أن يكون أسود".

ربما تداعيات طبعة جديدة القادمة من ليتل ميرميد، التي من المقرر أن تدخل مرحلة الإنتاج في أوائل 2020 ، لن تكون بنفس أهمية ما يعتقده رواد السينما ، إذا كانت المجموعة الأخيرة من العروض الحية لأفلام الرسوم المتحركة الكلاسيكية من ديزني هي أي مؤشر. على الرغم من 2017 الجميلة والوحش كان طبعة جديدة نجاحا ماليا ، لم يكن كلاسيكيا لحظة. هذا العام يعيد العمل دامبو و علاء الدين تم تحضيرها والتقى بتعليقات مختلطة ، على التوالي.

يمكن للمشجعين على جانبي الحجة أن يعيد إصدار طبعة مباشرة تأثيرًا بسيطًا على الكلاسيكية المتحركة الأصلية ، أو أن يستكشف مكانته كفرع أو بديل.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

  1. صوت المنطق أغسطس 11، 2019

    ما عليك سوى إجراء الاختبار العكسي ومعرفة ما إذا كنت مرتاحًا. جعل شخصية سوداء بيضاء = غير مريحة مع ، وجعل شخصية بيضاء سوداء = غير مريحة مع. إذا قمت بإجراء نقاش ضد تيانا (الأميرة والضفدع) لا تكون أسودًا بما فيه الكفاية (حطمه رالف 2) ولكن لا يمكنك رؤية نفاق أرييل الأسود ، فأنت بحاجة إلى تقييم ذاتي.

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

CULTURE

‘The Little Mermaid’ Casting: Progress or Pandering?

Halle Bailey
Halle Bailey (Photo: YouTube screenshot)

“I think the spirit of a character is what really matters. What you bring to the table in a character as far as their heart and their spirit is what really counts.”

The casting of an African-American actress as the lead role in the live-action remake of Disney’s classic The Little Mermaid set off a media firestorm this past week, with passionate arguments on both sides.

19-year old Halle Bailey was little known to the general public before last week, literally starting out as a Youtube star with her sister Chloe at age 11, going viral and getting a record deal via Beyonce—then being cast on the ABC series “Grown-ish”.

Now, she’s set to appear in her first feature as the title character of Ariel, based on the 1989 blockbuster animated feature.

Given how iconic the character is, fans were divided in their response to having a “black mermaid” that doesn’t resemble the fair-skinned redheaded underwater princess they’ve known and loved.

The hashtag #NotMyAriel has trended on Twitter, with users making arguments such as: “This is NOT about racism, we just want an Ariel that looks like the Ariel we love. Disney, stop being lazy and create new stories if you want more black representation.”

Indeed, it sounds reasonable that studios such as Disney could simply create new stories with black characters, rather than shoehorning them into existing source material.

Hollywood’s open secret though, is that it’s notoriously risk-averse to new material that isn’t a proven financial draw. This explains the rampant, shameless, cannibalistic outpouring of sequels, prequels, and remakes that has hypnotized movie studios for the past decade or so.

A prime example of Hollywood taking baby steps in the name of “diversity”, are remakes that simply switch the gender of characters such as 2016’s Ghostbusters, which was met with mixed responses from audiences and critics.

Disney did create their first black princess, Tiana, ten years ago in the animated feature The Princess and the Frog. The film was well-received by critics but a moderate success at the box office. In a typical Hollywood move, Disney seemingly redirected their resources elsewhere—creating only one more princess of a different ethnic background, with the 2016 blockbuster Moana.

There has also been very vocal support for the new casting of the Mermaid remake. The original voice of Ariel in the 1989 feature, Jodi Benson, publicly stated that “I think the spirit of a character is what really matters. What you bring to the table in a character as far as their heart and their spirit is what really counts.”

Other celebrities such as music superstar Mariah Carey and actress Zendaya have also voiced support along with movie fans who simply argue that the famous fairy tale is pure fantasy and that mermaids have no ethnic background. Supporters also tout the importance of representation for historically underrepresented ethnicities.

Most recently, the Disney-owned television network Freeform issued a statement in defense of the casting—going so far as to say that although the original fairy tale was set in Denmark, “Danish mermaids can be black because Danish people can be black”.

Perhaps the repercussions of the upcoming remake of The Little Mermaid, set to go into production in early 2020, won’t be as significant as moviegoers think—if the recent slew of live action remakes of Disney animated classics are any indication. Although 2017’s Beauty and the Beast remake was a financial success, it was no instant classic. This year’s live-action remakes Dumbo and Aladdin were panned and met with mixed reviews, respectively.

Fans on either side of the argument can take heart that a live remake has little bearing on the original animated classic, or revel in its status as an offshoot or alternative.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. voiceofreason August 11, 2019

    just take the reverse test and see if you are comfortable. make a black character white = not comfortable with, make white character black = not comfortable with. If you make a debate against Tiana (princess and the frog) not being black enough (wreck it ralph 2) but can’t see the hypocrisy of a black Ariel then you need to self evaluate.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.