اكتب للبحث

الرأي

ترشيد الاستغلال الجنسي للأطفال: زواج الأطفال في شبه الجزيرة العربية

(الصورة: لقطة شاشة YouTube)
(الآراء والآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلفين ولا تعكس آراء Citizen Truth.)

في جميع أنحاء العالم الإسلامي ، تتزوج واحدة من كل سبع فتيات قبل سن 18.

ولكن ماذا لو كان هذا الوضع الراهن هو الاختباء تحت طبقات من التدين الخادع وتقليد ما زال ينظر إلى النساء ، ولغرض هذا المقال ، الفتيات ، كسلع يتم التخلص منها واستغلالها في متعة الرجال ووقت فراغهم؟ كيف يمكننا تعطيل قرون من الإيذاء المؤسسي عندما تتم معاقبة مرتكبي هذا الإيذاء بشكل ملائم ، إن لم تشجع من قبل مجموعة من رجال الدين المجانين وهم يصرخون أن الله أمر جميع النساء بأن يطيعوا ويخضعوا لإرادة ولي أمرهم الذكر؟

ربما أكثر ما يكمن في الأمر هو كيف يمكننا تعطيل النظام الذي من خلال التلاعب واللصوصية زعم أن الكتب الإسلامية تتناسب مع نظرتهم العالمية البائسة ، وندين الفتيات اللاتي يعانين من إساءة المعاملة التي لا توصف على أيدي الرجال ثلاثة أو أربعة أو خمسة أو ستة أو سبعة أضعاف عمر؟

أثار شريط فيديو لحفل زفاف يمني الكثير من الجدل هذا الأسبوع على موقع تويتر حيث عرض ثمانيني من العمر يتزوج من تلميذة تبلغ من العمر 12 ... لإرضاء عائلتيهما.

في حين أننا قد نشعر بالرعب ، وأتخبط ، وأنا أتعجب من الغضب الشديد قبل مثل هذا المشهد الهمجي ، فإن هذا الواقع حقيقي للغاية وشائع جدًا للغاية بالنسبة لأي منا لنعزف أنفسنا في فكرة أن مثل هذه الحالات ليست سوى انحراف ثقافي نادر.

هم ليسوا! وعلى الرغم من أنه من الأكاذيب القول إن العرائس من الأطفال هي القاعدة في اليمن ، إلا أن الممارسة نفسها ما زالت ترشيد وتروج باعتبارها قانونية. اليمن هنا ليست سوى واحدة من العديد من البلدان في جميع أنحاء شبه الجزيرة العربية ، وإلى حد كبير في العالم الإسلامي ، الذي لا يزال يبرر الاعتداء الجنسي على الأطفال عن طريق مناقشة قوانين الله.

إذا كان الإسلام ، الإيمان ، لا يجب أن يتحمل المسؤولية عن التفسيرات التي ادعى الرجال بإسمها ، فمن المؤكد أن مسؤوليتنا هي دفع هذه الممارسة إلى الانقراض ، على الرغم من حقيقة أنه لن يكون هناك أي تحسن ديمقراطي يستحق كل هذا العناء في حقيقة الأمر. المنطقة دون مراجعة كاملة لوضع المرأة وحقوق المرأة.

بعبارة أخرى: يجب ألا نتخويف في السكوت على فرصة الخروج بأن نزعج ديموغرافيًا دينيًا معينًا ؛ للقيام بذلك لن يؤدي إلا إلى تمكين المجرمين.

وفقا لأحدث الدراسات 32% من الفتيات في اليمن متزوجات قبل عيد ميلادهم 18th و 9% متزوجين قبل سن 15.

الآن ، في حين زواج الأطفال إن السبب الرئيسي وراء عدم المساواة بين الجنسين والاعتقاد بأن البنات أدنى إلى حد ما من الأولاد ، وهو ناتج ثانوي للتقاليد الدينية ذات الجذور الموجودة في المملكة العربية السعودية ، وهناك عوامل أخرى أدت إلى تفاقم المشكلة. المعلومات التالية من الموقع ، https://www.girlsnotbrides.org/child-marriage/yemen/.

  • النزاع المسلح: اليمن هي أفقر بلد في الشرق الأوسط. الفتيات يجري بشكل متزايد تزوجت كمصدر للدخل كما الصراع المستمر يدفعهم أعمق في الفقر واليأس. يعتبر زواج الأطفال للحد من تكلفة رعاية الفتيات وتقديمهن حماية أفضل من خلال الأزواج.
  • مستوى التعليم: يجبر العديد من الآباء الفتيات على ترك المدرسة عندما يصلن إلى سن البلوغ للمساعدة في الأعمال المنزلية والعائلية إعدادهم للزواج. ال متوسط ​​سن الزواج هو أقل بين النساء مع عدم وجود تعليم رسمي ويعيشون في المناطق الريفية.
  • شرف العائلة: يتزوج بعض الآباء من بناتهم للحفاظ على شرف العائلة وحمايتهم من الانخراط في سلوك مخجل.
  • القوة: أعربت لجنة حقوق الطفل التابعة للأمم المتحدة عن قلقها من ذلك الفتيات في المجتمعات المتأثرة بالنزاع يتزوجن قسراً لأفراد جماعة أنصار الشريعة المسلحة ، وكذلك من خلال الزيجات "السياحية" بغرض الاستغلال الجنسي.
  • معايير النوع الاجتماعي: تعيش الفتيات في اليمن في مجتمع أبوي يهيمن عليه الذكور ، ولا يملكن إلا القليل من القوة للتفاوض بشأن خياراتهن الخاصة. المادة 40 من قانون الأحوال الشخصية يتطلب طاعة الزوجة لزوجها وموافقته على مغادرة المنزل.

اليمن ليس وحده! في جميع أنحاء العالم الإسلامي واحد من سبعة الفتيات يتزوجن قبل سن 18.

في 2017 ، على سبيل المثال ، جعلت تركيا من القانوني لأطفال 12 الزواج إذا وافق والديهم.

في المملكة العربية السعودية ، أصبح زواج الأطفال نموذجًا للتطرف الديني ، حيث تواصل النخبة الدينية في المملكة بيعها إلى قطيعها الأخلاقي.

في 2011 علي الأحمد ، الناقد القوي للنظام السعودي ، كتب ما يلي في الجارديان: "كما هو الحال في العديد من الممارسات الضارة ، لن يكون زواج الأطفال موجودًا بدون دعم ضمني وموافقة قيادة البلاد. بعيدا عن إدانة زواج الأطفال ، فإن الملكية السعودية نفسها لها تاريخ طويل في الزواج من الفتيات الصغيرات جدا ".

و: "ربما تمتلك المملكة العربية السعودية أكبر عدد من زواج الأطفال في الشرق الأوسط ، ومع ذلك لم يكن هناك أي غضب دولي أو اعتراض دولي على الممارسة".

على المدى الطويل من القضايا والأزمات التي تواجهها منطقة الشرق الأوسط الكبير ، ومن بينها الإرهاب ، يجب إعطاء الأولوية لإنهاء زواج الأطفال. بعد كل شيء ، فإن بيع الأطفال للأهواء الجنسية للرجال الفاسدين من كبار السن من أعراض التطرف الديني الذي يغذي الإرهاب.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
كاترين شقدام

كاثرين هي محللة ومحللة جيوسياسية للشرق الأوسط مع تركيز خاص على اليمن ودول الخليج. وقد نشرت في العديد من وسائل الإعلام البارزة بما في ذلك: هافينغتون بوست ، سبوتنيك ، سيتيزن تروث ، برس تي في ، نيو ذي إيست آوتلوك ، آر تي ، مينتريس ، موقع آية الله خامنئي ، الديمقراطية المفتوحة ، مجلة السياسة الخارجية ، ذا دوران ، أمريكان هيرالد تريبيون ، Katehon ، وغيرها الكثير. تم تعليمه في كل من المملكة المتحدة وفرنسا ، وقد نقل مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة عن خبرات كاثرين وبحوثها في اليمن في العديد من المناسبات منذ 2011.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

2 تعليقات

  1. سعد الملوك سبتمبر 3، 2019

    أي ثقافة هي نتاج الإعداد الاقتصادي لدينا والثقافات لم تكن أبدا خالية من أو متفوقة على النظام الاقتصادي السائد في بلد ما. هو تماما مثل في نظام العبودية البشر هم السلع التي يتم بيعها وشرائها في السوق المفتوحة من حيث الزواج أو علاقات الصداقة. ليس للدين دور أكبر وأكثر أهمية من المال / رأس المال. رأس المال هو العامل الحاسم في تسوية جميع الشؤون الثقافية.

    رد
  2. جون نوفاك سبتمبر 6، 2019

    الإسلام هو السبب وراء هذا السلوك المرضي ، وكان نبيهم محمد متزوجًا من فتاة عمرها 50 ومارس الجنس معها في سن 6
    إنه دين وثقافة مرضية تسمح بمثل هذه الأشياء. يجب أن يكون الإسلام مسؤولاً عن هذه الثقافة والممارسات الضارة ، وتلك التي تلتزم بمستأجريها وجميع الحكومات التي تسمح بمثل هذه الجرائم يجب أن تخضع للمحكمة الدولية في لاهاي وأن تتخذها وتُحكم عليها.
    يجب وضع القوانين الدولية وتخضع جميع الدول لهذه القوانين والغرامات والقيود الكبيرة المفروضة على هذا البلد

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

OPINION

The Rationalization of Pedophilia: Child Marriage in the Arabian Peninsula

(Photo: YouTube screenshot)

Across the Islamic World, one in seven girls marry before the age of 18.

But what if this status quo was to hide under layers of disingenuous religiosity and a tradition that still views women, and for the purpose of this article, girls, as commodities to be disposed of and exploited at men’s pleasure and leisure? How are we to disrupt centuries of institutionalized abuse when such abuse is conveniently being sanctioned, if not encouraged by a band of lunatic clerics crying out that God commanded all women to obey and submit to the will of their male guardian?

Maybe more to the point is how are we to disrupt a system that through manipulation and banditry claimed Islam scriptures to fit their ignominious world view, condemning girls to suffer unspeakable abuse by the hands of men three, four, five, six, seven times their age?

A video of a Yemeni wedding prompted much controversy this week on Twitter as it showcased an octogenarian marrying a 12-year-old schoolgirl … to the delight of both their families.

While we may gasp in horror and, I daresay, raging anger before such a barbaric spectacle, this reality is only too real and too common for any of us to comfort ourselves in the idea that such cases are but a rare cultural  aberration.

They are not! And though it would be a lie to say that child-brides are the norm in Yemen, the practice itself continues to be rationalized and promoted as religiously lawful. Yemen here is only one of the many countries across the Arabian Peninsula, and to a great extent the Islamic world, that continues to excuse pedophilia by arguing God’s laws.

If Islam, the faith, should not be held accountable for the interpretations men have claimed to its name, it is most definitely our responsibility to drive such practice to extinction, notwithstanding the fact that no democratic improvement worth its mettle will ever truly manifest in this region without a complete review of women’s status and women’s rights.

In other words: We should not be bullied into silence on the off chance that we may upset a certain religious demographic; to do so would only serve to empower criminals.

According to the latest studies 32% of girls in Yemen are married before their 18th birthday and 9% are married before the age of 15.

Now, while child marriage is mainly driven by gender inequality and the belief that girls are somehow inferior to boys, a by-product of a religious tradition with roots that lie in Saudi Arabia, other factors have exacerbated the issue. The following info is from the site, https://www.girlsnotbrides.org/child-marriage/yemen/.

  • Armed conflict: Yemen is the poorest country in the Middle East. Girls are increasingly being married off as a source of income as ongoing conflict drives them deeper into poverty and desperation. Child marriage is considered to reduce the cost of caring for girls and offer them better protection through husbands.
  • Level of education: Many parents force girls to leave school when they reach puberty to help with household chores and prepare them for marriage. The median age of marriage is lower among women with no formal education and living in rural areas.
  • Family honor: Some parents marry off their daughters to preserve family honor and to protect them from engaging in shameful behavior.
  • Force: The U.N. Child Rights Committee has expressed concern that girls in conflict-affected communities are being forcibly married to members of the Ansar-al-Sharia armed group, as well as through “tourism” marriages for the purpose of sexual exploitation.
  • Gender norms: Girls in Yemen live in a patriarchal, male-dominated society, and have little power to negotiate their own choices. Article 40 of the Personal Status Law requires a wife’s obedience to her husband and his consent to leave the home.

Yemen is not alone! Across the Islamic World one in seven girls marry before the age of 18.

In 2017, for example, Turkey made it legal for 12-year-olds to marry if their parents agree.

In Saudi Arabia child marriage has come to exemplify the brand of religious extremism the kingdom’s religious elite continues to sell to its morally catatonic flock.

In 2011 Ali Al Ahmed, a strong critic of the Saudi regime, wrote the following in the Guardian: “As with many pernicious practices, child marriage would not exist without tacit support and approval from the country’s leadership. Far from condemning child marriage, the Saudi monarchy itself has a long history of marrying very young girls.”

And: “Saudi Arabia has probably the highest number of child marriages in the Middle East and yet there has been almost no international outrage or objection directed at the practice.”

To the long litany of issues and crises the Greater Middle Eastern region faces, among them terrorism, priority should be given to ending child marriage. After all, the selling of children to the sexual whims of old depraved men is symptomatic of the very religious extremism that feeds terrorism.

Tags:
Catherine Shakdam

Catherine is a geopolitical analyst and commentator for the Middle East with a special focus on Yemen and the Gulf countries. She has been published across several prominent media outlets including: The Huffington Post, Sputnik, Citizen Truth, Press TV, The New Eastern Outlook, RT, MintPress, Ayatollah Khameini’s website, Open Democracy, the Foreign Policy Journal, The Duran, The American Herald Tribune, Katehon, and many more. Educated in both the UK and France, Catherine’s expertise and research on Yemen have been quoted by the UN Security Council on several occasions since 2011.

You Might also Like

3 Comments

  1. Saad Ul Malook September 3, 2019

    Any culture is the output of our economic setup and cultures have never been free from or superior to the economic system prevailed in a country. It is just like in a slavery system human beings are commodities they are sold and bought in the open market in terms of marriages or friendship relations. Religion has not a bigger and a more important role than money/capital. Capital is the deciding factor to settle all the cultural affairs.

    Reply
  2. John Novak September 6, 2019

    Islam is the reason for this sick behavior their prophet Mohammed was 50 married a 6 year old girl and had sex with her at age 9
    This is a sicko religion and culture that allows such things. Islam must be held accountable for this perverse culture and practice and those that adhere to its tenants and all governments that allow such crimes to take should be subject to and taken and judged at the world court at The Hague
    and international laws should be put in placed and all nations be subject to these laws and large fines and restrictions against that country

    Reply
    1. Weirqueen September 5, 2020

      I really hate how you just excused a whole Religion for pedophilia…And No. Prophet Muhammad did NOT Mary a 6 year old he was her teacher until 9 year’s old and Married her when she was 12 or 13 I’m not saying that marrying before the age of consent is right I despise pedophiles they make me sick to my stomach in fact i stumbled upon this article while doing re-search about pedophiles and what the charges of pedophilia are in my country Bahrain. But I can’t help but feel disgusted by your comment because you got lot’s of your points wrong and you’re judging a region without being educated enough about it. The age were you can Marry in Islam is when you hit puberty just like Christianity although I’m not fully sure you have to hit puberty to Marry in Christianity so I’m not excusing. it’s not the religion’s fault it’s the country’s fault it;s the people’s fault not the religion’s. every religion has it’s flaw and I personally thing it’s stupid blame a region based on people’s action…i know no one asked but I just have to say this as an example…in my county Bahrain a country in the middle east who is also an Islamic country the age of marry/consent is 21 and it is known to be the only country in the world with the highest age of consent..the country takes any sexual crime very seriously and pedophiles are known to be really low in this country. Then we have Yemen for example the age of consent there in 9 years old, the country is known for multiple sexual crimes and child marriage. see both country’s follow the same religion but Bahrain’s people follow the rules and Bahrain’s parent’s keep warning their kids about the dangers of Pedos while Yemen’s people don’t give a dame…show’s to show that the religion has literally nothing to do with people’s action.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *