输入搜索

国家 TRENDING国

为了“绕过”白宫阻挠,纽约通过法案让国会获得特朗普纳税申报表

美国总统唐纳德特朗普在马里兰州国家港口举行的2017保守政治行动会议(CPAC)上发表讲话。
美国总统唐纳德特朗普在马里兰州国家港口举行的2017保守政治行动会议(CPAC)上发表讲话。 (照片:Gage Skidmore)

“纽约立法者正为众议院筹款委员会提供一条新途径,以获取这些重要的财务文件。”

(杰克约翰逊, 共同的梦想随着白宫继续挑战国会民主党人 要求 对于唐纳德特朗普总统的联邦纳税申报表,纽约州议会周三通过的立法将使特朗普的州税收记录可以提供给美国国会六年。

纽约州参议院 通过立法本月早些时候,它被称为“信托法”。 该法案现在向民主党州长Andrew Cuomo的办公桌前进。

在一份声明中,倡导组织Stand Up America敦促Cuomo尽快签署“信托法”。

“唐纳德特朗普及其政府正竭尽所能,通过非法阻止国会获得纳税申报表,隐瞒其财务状况和大规模利益冲突的真相,”Stand Up America说。

“为了规避这种阻挠,纽约立法者正在为众议院筹款委员会提供一条新途径,以获取这些重要的财务文件,”该组织说。 “我们恳请Cuomo州长立即将这项法案签署成为法律。”

根据 雅康 “纽约时报”,“信托法”将允许纽约税务和财政部的专员向“众议院筹款委员会,参议院财政委员会和税务联合委员会主席”发布特朗普的纳税申报表。合法的立法目的。'“

特朗普在纽约的纳税申报表,总统的家乡以及他的公司所在地,“可能包含与有争议的联邦回报相同的信息”, 报告。

该法案通过纽约议会作为财政部长史蒂夫姆努钦(Steve Mnuchin) - 他上周拒绝遵守国会传票,要求特朗普的纳税申报表 - 在国会山作证。

As 共同的梦想 报道 周二晚些时候,泄露的美国国税局备忘录似乎完全破坏了Mnuchin扣留总统税务文件的理由。

纽约州议员大卫布赫瓦尔德是纳税申报法案的提案国 发言权 周三,该立法旨在克服白宫的阻挠。

“透明度至关重要,”布赫瓦尔德说,“尤其是涉及制定公共政策的人的冲突或潜在冲突时。”

美国税务公平执行董事弗兰克•克莱门特(Frank Clemente)称赞纽约州立法者通过加强国会的监督职责和维护公众的知情权来做“正确的事”。

“信托法案的目标是一位对选民不公开或透明的总统,他们继续藐视法律,并打破40多年的先例,成为唯一一位保密税务信息的总统,”克莱门特说。 声明。 “国会和公众应该知道他们当选的官员,包括总统,是否存在财务冲突,这些冲突会以任何方式影响他们的决策和政策。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL TRENDING-NATIONAL

To ‘Circumvent’ White House Obstruction, NY Passes Bill to Give Congress Access to Trump Tax Returns

President of the United States Donald Trump speaking at the 2017 Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in National Harbor, Maryland.
President of the United States Donald Trump speaking at the 2017 Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in National Harbor, Maryland. (Photo: Gage Skidmore)

“New York lawmakers are providing a new avenue for the House Ways and Means Committee to obtain these crucial financial documents.”

(By Jake Johnson, Common Dreams) As the White House continues to defy congressional Democrats’ requests for President Donald Trump’s federal tax returns, the New York state Assembly on Wednesday passed legislation that would make six years of Trump’s state tax records available to the U.S. Congress.

The New York state Senate passed the legislation, titled the TRUST Act, earlier this month. The bill now heads to Democratic Gov. Andrew Cuomo’s desk.

In a statement, the advocacy group Stand Up America urged Cuomo to sign the TRUST Act as soon as possible.

“Donald Trump and his administration are doing everything they can to conceal the truth about his finances and massive conflicts of interest by illegally blocking Congress from obtaining his tax returns,” said Stand Up America.

“In order to circumvent this stonewalling, New York lawmakers are providing a new avenue for the House Ways and Means Committee to obtain these crucial financial documents,” the group said. “We implore Governor Cuomo to immediately sign this bill into law.”

According to the New York Times, the TRUST Act would allow the commissioner of the New York Department of Taxation and Finance to release Trump’s tax returns “to the chairmen of the House Ways and Means Committee, the Senate Finance Committee, and the Joint Committee on Taxation for any ‘specified and legitimate legislative purpose.'”

Trump’s tax returns in New York, the president’s home state and the site of his business heaquarters, “would likely contain much of the same information as the contested federal returns,” the Times reported.

The legislation passed New York’s Assembly as Treasury Secretary Steve Mnuchin—who last week refused to comply with a congressional subpoena for Trump’s tax returns—testified on Capitol Hill.

As Common Dreams reported late Tuesday, a leaked IRS memo appeared to completely undermine Mnuchin’s justifications for withholding the president’s tax documents.

New York state Assemblyman David Buchwald, the sponsor of the tax return bill, said during a floor speech Wednesday that the legislation is designed to overcome White House obstruction.

“Transparency is essential,” said Buchwald, “especially when it comes to the conflicts or potential conflicts of those who craft public policy.”

Frank Clemente, executive director of Americans for Tax Fairness, applauded New York state lawmakers for doing “the right thing by strengthening the oversight responsibilities of Congress and standing up for the public’s right to know.”

“The TRUST Act is aimed at a president who is not open or transparent with voters, who continues to flout the law, and broke 40 years of precedent by becoming the only president to keep his tax information secret,” Clemente said in a statement. “Congress and the public deserve to know if their elected officials, including the president, have financial conflicts that that in any way affects their decisions and policies.”

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.