输入搜索

亚太

美中贸易战升级,但中国的“贸易特朗普卡”威胁美国

中华人民共和国主席习近平在会见俄罗斯总统弗拉基米尔·普京时说。 (照片:Kremlin.ru)
中华人民共和国主席习近平在会见俄罗斯总统弗拉基米尔·普京时说。 (照片:Kremlin.ru)

关于毛泽东历史性的长征,中国总统进入与美国的贸易战新的高风险阶段。

中国国家主席习近平告诉他的国家为困难时期做准备和“新长征“ 周三,随着新一轮关税和中国电信巨头华为的黑名单,美中贸易战愈演愈烈。

习近平在江西省的一次集会上说:“我们正处于长征的起点,以纪念红军开始旅程的时刻。” 总统指的是1930中的中国内战“长征”,其中共产党军队退出国民党,以便在最终在1949掌权之前恢复。

“我们现在正在着手一个新的长征,我们必须重新开始!”习近平说道 南华早报。

特朗普总统在本月早些时候履行了将200%从10%增加到25%的中国商品关税的威胁之后,中国立即以高达25%的关税对美国商品的60百分比进行了报复。 特朗普总统然后 针对 中国科技巨头华为的行政命令基本上禁止与美国公司的贸易,然后给予该公司一个 临时死缓 继续购买90天的美制电子元件。

美国对中国的“贸易特朗普卡”易受攻击

周一,习主席和首席贸易谈判代表刘和 参观 中国最着名的稀土工业设施之一,中国官方媒体称之为“不祥的威胁”交易王牌“稀土是21st经济所必需的元素,涉及炼油,军事装备,电池和iPhone等消费类电子产品的生产。 中国 耗材 约占美国稀土进口量的80%,美国只有一个稀有矿产设施,中国部分拥有。

“它将影响一切 - 汽车,可再生能源,国防和技术,”着名战略金属咨询公司的创始董事Ryan Castilloux告诉他们 对外政策.

特朗普总统的前顾问史蒂夫班农 相信 习近平对稀有矿物的威胁向美国发出“这场经济战即将走向另一个层面”的信号。

如果中国停止向美国提供稀有矿产,美国科技公司如苹果和特斯拉将受到严重打击。 高盛分析师罗德霍尔告诉记者 CNBC 苹果特别容易受到中国的报复,估计如果中国大陆禁止其产品,该公司的盈利可能会下降29%。

“如果中国以任何方式限制iPhone生产,我们认为该公司不会在短时间内将大量iPhone产品转移到中国境外。 我们认为苹果公司接近其新的iPhone生产年度快速增长,以准备在秋季推出新设备,因此即使是影响生产的短期行动也可能对公司造成长期影响,“ 霍尔说.

特朗普说他没有 “做出那个决定” 关于是否用关税再打造中国商品的另外10亿美元。 习主席说他“不急 恢复谈判,但两位领导人将于下月在日本举行的G-20峰会上见面。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

US-China Trade War Escalates, But China’s ‘Trade Trump Card’ Threatens US

President of People's Republic of China Xi Jinping at a meeting with Russia President Vladamir Putin. (Photo: Kremlin.ru)
President of People's Republic of China Xi Jinping at a meeting with Russia President Vladamir Putin. (Photo: Kremlin.ru)

With reference to Mao Zedong’s historic Long March China’s president enters a new, higher-stakes stage of the trade war with the U.S.

Chinese President Xi Jinping told his country to prepare for difficult times and a “new Long March” on Wednesday, as the U.S.-China trade war intensifies with new rounds of tariffs and the blacklisting of Chinese telecom giant Huawei.

“We are here at the starting point of the Long March to remember the time when the Red Army began its journey,” Xi said at a rally in Jiangxi province. The president was referring to the “Long March” of the Chinese Civil War in the 1930s, in which the Communist Army retreated from the Nationalist Party to recover before eventually taking power in 1949.

“We are now embarking on a new Long March, and we must start all over again!” Xi claimed, according to the South China Morning Post.

After President Trump fulfilled his threat to increase tariffs on $200 billion in Chinese goods from 10% to 25% earlier this month, China immediately retaliated with tariffs as high as 25% on $60 billion of U.S. goods. President Trump then targeted Chinese tech giant Huawei with executive orders that essentially barred its trade with U.S. firms, before giving the company a temporary reprieve to continue buying U.S.-made electronic components for 90 days.

US Vulnerable to China’s ‘Trade Trump Card’

On Monday, President Xi and chief trade negotiator Liu He toured one of China’s most prominent rare-earth industrial facilities, an ominous threat Chinese state media labeled a “trade trump card.” Rare earths are elements that are essential to the 21st economy, involved in the production of oil refining, military equipment, batteries and consumer electronics like the iPhone. China supplies around 80% of the U.S.’ rare earths imports, and America has only one rare minerals facility, which the Chinese partly own.

“It would affect everything—autos, renewable energy, defense and technology,” Ryan Castilloux, the founding director of a prominent strategic metals consultancy, told Foreign Policy.

President Trump’s former adviser Steve Bannon believes Xi’s threat on rare minerals is a signal to the U.S. that “this economic war is about to go to another level.”

If China halts rare mineral supplies to America, U.S. tech companies like Apple and Tesla would take a serious hit. Goldman Sachs analyst Rod Hall told CNBC that Apple is particularly vulnerable to Chinese retaliation, estimating the company’s earnings could drop by as much as 29% if mainland China bans its products.

“Should China restrict iPhone production in any way, we do not believe the company would be able to shift much iPhone volume outside of China on short notice. We believe that Apple is near its annual rapid ramp of new iPhone production to prepare for new device launches in the fall, so even a short-term action affecting production could have longer term consequences for the company,” Hall said.

Trump said he has not “made that decision yet” on whether to hit another $325 billion in Chinese goods with tariffs. President Xi said he is in “no rush to resume negotiations, but the two leaders will meet at the G-20 summit in Japan next month.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.