输入搜索

健康/ SCI / TECH

特朗普政府正在努力削减奥巴马时代的学校午餐营养标准

第一夫人米歇尔奥巴马和农业部长汤姆维尔萨克访问弗吉尼亚州亚历山大市的Parklawn小学,1月25,2012。 他们和儿童一起在自助餐厅吃午餐,学校的食品服务员工和名人厨师Rachael Ray为美国农业部(USDA)提供健康膳食,以满足学校午餐的新营养标准。 (照片:Chuck Kennedy官方白宫摄影)
第一夫人米歇尔奥巴马和农业部长汤姆维尔萨克访问弗吉尼亚州亚历山大市的Parklawn小学,1月25,2012。 他们和儿童一起在自助餐厅吃午餐,学校的食品服务员工和名人厨师Rachael Ray为美国农业部(USDA)提供健康膳食,以满足学校午餐的新营养标准。 (照片:Chuck Kennedy官方白宫摄影)

“根据目前生效的2015指南,不良饮食和缺乏运动可能与近120百万美国成年人中可预防的慢性疾病有关,包括2型糖尿病,心脏病,高血压和癌症。”

特朗普政府周一向联邦法院提起诉讼称,州政府不能起诉削减国家学校午餐计划的健康标准,批评者担心会增加儿童的健康风险并增加美国的医疗费用。

“这条规则承认一个国家没有合法利益保护其公民免受联邦政府的侵害,只有美国而不是国家可以代表其公民并确保他们在联邦法律下受联邦法律的保护,”美国检察官杰弗里据曼哈顿报道,曼哈顿伯曼在周一提交的文件中表示 路透社.

回滚学校午餐健康指南

伊利诺伊州,纽约州,加利福尼亚州,明尼苏达州,新墨西哥州和佛蒙特州和DC 起诉 农业部长 索尼Perdue 在4月份,一项改变削减了2012的营养规定,作为前第一夫人米歇尔奥巴马抗击儿童肥胖的努力的一部分。

回滚包括将所需的全谷物量减半,使学校能够提供大部分精制谷物的食物,如面条和玉米饼。 他们还包括延迟和取消限制学生钠摄入量的新规定。

虽然伯曼认为各州没有提供证据表明以前豁免全谷物标准的学校的儿童遭受不良健康影响,但过量的精制谷物摄入与2型糖尿病,心脏病和肥胖有关。 高钠消耗也与心脏病,高血压和中风风险增加有关。

普渡大学为这一变化辩护 争辩说,“孩子们不吃食物,而且它最终落入垃圾桶。”与普渡大学的说法相反,美国农业部的研究人员制作了一个 今年的报告显示 更有营养的餐点更受学生欢迎。

美国不良营养的后果

美国展望的德里克约翰逊 写道,美国的营养法律深受百事,火星,雀巢,孟山都,杜邦等公司行为者的影响。 其他几十个人 在财务指导咨询方面做出了贡献 委员会。

约翰逊写道,这些利益冲突的后果是巨大的,三分之二的美国成年人和三分之一的美国儿童超重或肥胖:

“根据目前生效的2015指南,不良饮食和缺乏运动可能与近120百万美国成年人中可预防的慢性疾病有关,包括2型糖尿病,心脏病,高血压和癌症。 直接和间接的成本,医疗保健和失去工作时间,更不用说纯粹的痛苦,运行数千亿美元。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

2评论

  1. 拉里N斯托特 1-2019-XNUMX

    失控的资本主义。 很短的时间内非常适合极少数人。 贪婪无法看到它的鼻子结束。 也不能自恋。

    回复
  2. 拉里N斯托特 1-2019-XNUMX

    当亿万富翁寄生虫最终成功杀死宿主生物时,他们会发现很难用金条买一条面包。 那一天到来时,它们不适合生存。 太专业了。 (达尔文曾经并且仍然是正确的。)

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

HEALTH/SCI/TECH

Trump Administration Fights to Cut Obama-Era School Lunch Nutrition Standards

First Lady Michelle Obama and Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack visit Parklawn Elementary School in Alexandria, Virginia, Jan. 25, 2012. They join children for lunch in the cafeteria where the school's food service employees and celebrity cook Rachael Ray serve a healthy meal that meets the United States Department of AgricultureÕs (USDA) new and improved nutrition standards for school lunches. (Photo: Official White House Photo by Chuck Kennedy)
First Lady Michelle Obama and Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack visit Parklawn Elementary School in Alexandria, Virginia, Jan. 25, 2012. They join children for lunch in the cafeteria where the school's food service employees and celebrity cook Rachael Ray serve a healthy meal that meets the United States Department of AgricultureÕs (USDA) new and improved nutrition standards for school lunches. (Photo: Official White House Photo by Chuck Kennedy)

“According to the 2015 guidelines that are currently in force, poor diet and lack of exercise are likely related to preventable chronic disease in nearly 120 million American adults, including Type 2 diabetes, heart disease, high blood pressure, and cancer.”

The Trump administration argued to a federal court on Monday that state governments could not sue over cuts to health standards for the National School Lunch Program that critics are concerned would increase health risks for children and increase U.S. medical costs.

“This rule recognizes that a state has no legal interest in protecting its citizens from the federal government, and that only the United States, not the states, may represent its citizens and ensure their protection under federal law in federal matters,” U.S. Attorney Geoffrey Berman in Manhattan said in the filing on Monday, according to Reuters.

Rollbacks To School Lunch Health Guidelines

Illinois, New York, California, Minnesota, New Mexico and Vermont and D.C. sued Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue in April over a change that slashed nutrition rules set in 2012 as part of former first lady Michelle Obama’s efforts to fight childhood obesity.

The rollbacks included halving the amount of required whole grains to be served, allowing schools to offer meals with mostly refined grains, such as noodles and tortillas. They also included the delay and elimination of new rules that would limit students’ sodium intake.

While Berman argued the states provided no evidence that children from schools previously exempted from the whole grain standards suffered adverse health effects, excessive refined grain intake has been linked to type 2 diabetes, heart disease and obesity. High sodium consumption has also been linked to heart disease, high blood pressure and increased risk of stroke.

Purdue justified the change by arguing that, “Kids aren’t eating the food, and it’s ending up in the trash.” Contrary to Purdue’s claim, USDA researchers produced a report this year that showed more nutritious meals were more popular with students.

Consequences Of Bad Nutrition In The United States

Derrick Johnson of the American Prospect writes that the United States’ nutrition laws are deeply influenced by corporate actors like Pepsi, Mars, Nestle, Monsanto, DuPont and dozens of others that financially contribute to the Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee.

Johnson writes that the consequences of these conflicts-of-interest are massive, with two-thirds of American adults and one-third of American children overweight or obese:

“According to the 2015 guidelines that are currently in force, poor diet and lack of exercise are likely related to preventable chronic disease in nearly 120 million American adults, including Type 2 diabetes, heart disease, high blood pressure, and cancer. The direct and indirect costs, in medical care and lost work time, not to mention sheer suffering, run hundreds of billions of dollars.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

2 Comments

  1. Larry N Stout September 1, 2019

    Runaway capitalism. Very good for the very few, for a very short while. Greed can’t see past the end of its nose. Nor can narcissism.

    Reply
  2. Larry N Stout September 1, 2019

    When the billionaire parasites finally succeed in killing the host organism, they will find it hard to buy a loaf of bread with gold bullion. They will not be the fittest for survival when that day comes. Too specialized. (Darwin was, and remains, correct.)

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.