输入搜索

同行新闻

美国爱国主义还是在格鲁吉亚干涉?

6月下旬,数千人走上格鲁吉亚首都第比利斯的街道,呼吁结束俄罗斯的占领,并要求内政部长下台。 (图片:YouTube截图,Euronews)
(所有同行新闻文章均由公民真相的读者提交,并未反映CT的观点。同行新闻是意见,评论和新闻的混合。文章经过审查,必须符合基本准则,但CT不保证陈述的准确性提出或提出论点。我们很自豪地分享你的故事, 在这里分享你的.)

一波反俄抗议活动已经接管了格鲁吉亚的夏天,但它们是外国演员干涉该国事务的结果吗?

自秋季2018,格鲁吉亚社交网络和网上商店充斥着T恤的广告,称“我国的20%被俄罗斯占领。”足球俱乐部的球员Torpedo Kutaisi和第比利斯机车 穿着 他们在今年6月的比赛开始之前。 这些T恤成为整个夏季2019发生的第比利斯抗议活动的一个特征。 反俄情绪的爱国主义浪潮标志着格鲁吉亚政府与反对派之间竞选活动的开始。

抗议活动几乎没有开始,格鲁吉亚梦想党领导人已经指责前总统米哈伊尔·萨卡什维利的联合民族运动党“挑衅”。还有关于外国干涉的谈判。 让我们回顾最近的过去,看看这些说法是否属实。

自由俄罗斯基金会

2月2019,美国非政府组织自由俄罗斯基金会(FRF) 打开 格鲁吉亚首都第比利斯的办事处。 该组织由居住在国外的俄罗斯人在2014成立。 董事会由前美国民主事务助理助理David J. Kramer和前美国驻格鲁吉亚大使Ian Kelly等组成。 两者都是民主人士。 有趣的是,在2015,委员会听证会上,凯利 说过 这句话 - 俄罗斯占据了格鲁吉亚领土的20% - 这将成为四年后第比利斯抗议活动的口号。

格鲁吉亚的自由俄罗斯基金会由俄罗斯记者Egor Kuroptev领导 一个名为“边境区”的脱口秀节目 以其反俄言论而闻名。 他以此身份定期与西方高级政治家举行会谈和访谈。 就在去年,Kuroptev与北约盟军海军司令部指挥官,海军上将克莱夫约翰斯通,负责军备控制和国际安全事务的副国务卿安德里亚汤普森,以及乔治亚州北约联络处负责人Rosaria Puglisi进行了交谈。
Kuroptev也与Saakashvili建立的联合国运动反对党有密切关系。 第比利斯自由俄罗斯基金会的负责人被对格鲁吉亚权力转移感兴趣的主要反对派人士所包围。

6月2019,抗议活动开始前几天,前副国防部长助理,现任宾夕法尼亚大学拜登外交和全球参与中心高级主任 迈克尔·卡彭特 抵达格鲁吉亚。 在访问期间,民主党人对Kuroptev进行了专访, 强调 美国“帮助格鲁吉亚”并“将政府指向欧洲大西洋一体化的方向”非常重要。

在与Carpenter的采访前几天,Kuroptev会见了基辅联合民族运动成员Ramin Bairamov。 拜拉莫夫刚刚从波兰回来,在那里他访问了赫尔辛基人权基金会的办公室,部分由索罗斯的开放社会基金会资助。 “从新的想法和观点中获取灵感,”Bairamov 称赞 赫尔辛基基金会在格鲁吉亚的活动。

与拜拉莫夫一起,萨卡什维利党的其他成员或相关人员当时出现在格鲁吉亚的政治舞台上。 萨卡什维利的妻子, 桑德拉罗洛夫斯,就是其中之一。 在最近的抗议活动之前和之后,她还在6月份会见了FRF格鲁吉亚的负责人。

一旦行动得到协调,除了找到触发器之外别无他法。 众所周知,6月20将在第比利斯举行议会间议会会议,今年会议的俄罗斯代表加夫里洛夫将主持在格鲁吉亚议会全体会议上举行会议。 。 协调人以俄罗斯政治人物为借口。 他们以正确的方式呈现它,激起人群,迫使政府显示其弱点。

与华盛顿和Kuroptev有关的记者和媒体机构已做好充分准备来报道抗议活动。 其中有两名记者, Ekaterina Kotrikadze Nikolai Levchits。 Kotrikadze,Kuroptev的前妻,是纽约私人拥有的俄语新闻频道RTVI的副总编辑。 她还被选中领导格鲁吉亚国家资助的俄语宣传新闻出版社PIK(第一次高加索新闻),由萨卡什维利同意并在2012议会选举后关闭。 在2013,Kotrikadze在美国国务院的外国新闻中心获得了证书。

另一位自由俄罗斯基金会活动家Nicolai Levchits在2018前往格鲁吉亚之前一直站在俄罗斯反对派的最前线。 他的Facebook页面包含有关第比利斯抗议活动的非常详细的报告,以及在抗议活动之前与大卫克莱默和桑德拉罗洛夫斯会面的信息。

在党派媒体和新闻记者看来,与格鲁吉亚西方智库有关的行动为反政府情绪奠定了基础。

此外,与美国国务院关系密切的国际共和党研究所(IRI)也开展了此项工作 格鲁吉亚的民意调查 在抗议活动之前。 在国家媒体上发表的调查结果表明,格鲁吉亚人担心与俄罗斯的关系状况持续不佳。 众所周知,这种调查可以成为舆论操纵的有力工具。 IRI的研究旨在传播俄罗斯日益增长的威胁以及格鲁吉亚代理政府失败的政治观念。

显然,第比利斯抗议活动的爱国口号相当于美国的起源而不是格鲁吉亚的口号。 这些示威游行也是由美国非政府组织自由俄罗斯基金会精心策划的。 虽然格鲁吉亚爱国者在大政治结构的手中受到剥削和操纵,但只对加强其影响力和促进其利益感兴趣。

很难说接下来会发生什么。 第比利斯的抗议活动打开了潘多拉的盒子,并揭露了许多问题,例如缺乏阻止另一个国家干涉内政的法律背景。 到目前为止,盟友的援助与通过游说和强加外国利益影响格鲁吉亚政治进程的非法企图之间没有区别。 我们的战略合作伙伴美国和欧洲已经采取法律措施来防止干预。 也许,格鲁吉亚在其欧洲 - 大西洋一体化道路上应该考虑效仿。

1评论

  1. 拉里N斯托特 12-2019-XNUMX

    几乎是自主的,无法解释的CIA和附属机构无处可见。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

PEER NEWS

American Patriotism or Meddling in Georgia?

Thousands took the streets of the Georgian capital Tbilisi in late June to call for an end to Russian occupation and for the interior minister to step down. (Photo: YouTube screenshot, Euronews)
(All Peer News articles are submitted by readers of Citizen Truth and do not reflect the views of CT. Peer News is a mixture of opinion, commentary and news. Articles are reviewed and must meet basic guidelines but CT does not guarantee the accuracy of statements made or arguments presented. We are proud to share your stories, share yours here.)

A wave of anti-Russian protests have taken over Georgia’s summer, but are they are the result of foreign actors interfering in the country’s affairs?

Since autumn 2018, Georgian social networks and online-stores have been flooded with ads of T-shirts saying “20% of my country is occupied by Russia.” Players in the football clubs Torpedo Kutaisi and Locomotive Tbilisi wore them before the start of games in June this year. These T-shirts became a feature of the Tbilisi protests that have occurred throughout the summer of 2019. A wave of patriotism over anti-Russian sentiment marked the beginning of the election campaign between Georgia’s government and opposition forces.

The protests have hardly started and already the leading Georgian Dream party accused former President Mikheil Saakashvili’s United National Movement party of “provocations.” There have also been talks about foreign interference. Let’s look back to the recent past to find out whether such claims could be true.

Free Russia Foundation

In February 2019, U.S.-based NGO Free Russia Foundation (FRF) opened an office in Georgia’s capital city of Tbilisi. The organization was founded in 2014 by Russians living abroad. The Board of Directors consists of former Assistant U.S. Secretary of State for Democracy, David J. Kramer, and former U.S. Ambassador to Georgia, Ian Kelly, among others. Both are democrats. Interestingly, in 2015, at Committee hearings, Kelly said the phrase – Russia occupied 20% of Georgian territories – that would become a slogan of Tbilisi protests four years later.

The Free Russia Foundation in Georgia is headed by Egor Kuroptev, a Russian journalist who produces a talk-show called “Border Zone” known for its anti-Russian rhetoric. In this capacity, he regularly holds meetings and interviews with high-level Western politicians. In just the last year, Kuroptev talked to the Commander of NATO’s Allied Maritime Command, Vice Admiral Clive Johnstone, Under Secretary of State for Arms Control and International Security Affairs, Andrea Thompson, and head of NATO Liaison Office in Georgia, Rosaria Puglisi.
Kuroptev also has close ties to the United National Movement opposition party, founded by Saakashvili. The head of the Free Russia Foundation in Tbilisi is surrounded by the main opposition figures interested in a shift of power in Georgia.

In June 2019, a few days before the protests kicked off, former deputy assistant secretary of defense and now senior director of the Biden Center for Diplomacy and Global Engagement at the University of Pennsylvania Michael Carpenter arrived in Georgia. During his visit, the democrat gave an exclusive interview to Kuroptev, emphasizing that it is important for the U.S.”to help Georgia” and “point the government in the direction of the Euro Atlantic integration.”

A few days before the interview with Carpenter, Kuroptev met Ramin Bairamov, a member of the United National Movement in Kiev. Bairamov had just returned from Poland, where he visited the office of The Helsinki Foundation for Human Rights, partly financed by Soros’ Open Society Foundation. “Get inspired with new ideas and perspectives,” Bairamov praised the Helsinki Foundation’s activity in Georgia.

Along with Bairamov, other members of Saakashvili’s party or related persons emerged on Georgia’s political scene at that time. Saakashvili’s wife, Sandra Roelofs, is among them. She also met the head of FRF Georgia in June, before and after the recent protests.

Once the actions were coordinated, there was little left to do other than to find a trigger. It was well-known that a session for the Inter-Parliamentary Assembly on Orthodoxy was to be held in Tblisi on June 20 and that Russian delegate Gavrilov, who headed this year’s session, was to preside over a meeting in the plenary hall of Georgia’s Parliament. The orchestrators used the presence of a Russian politician as a pretext. They presented it in the right way, stirred up the crowd, pressed the government to show its weakness.

Journalists and media outlets, somehow related to Washington and Kuroptev, were fully prepared to cover the protests. Among them were two reporters, Ekaterina Kotrikadze and Nikolai Levchits. Kotrikadze, Kuroptev’s ex-wife, is Deputy Editor-in-Chief of the privately-owned Russian language news channel RTVI in New York. She also was chosen to lead the Georgian state-funded, Russian-language propaganda news outlet PIK (First Caucasus news), created with Saakashvili’s consent and shut down after the parliamentary elections of 2012. In 2013, Kotrikadze received credentials at the foreign press center of the U.S. state department.

Another Free Russia Foundation activist, Nicolai Levchits, was at the forefront of the Russian opposition before moving to Georgia in 2018. His Facebook page contains a very detailed report about the Tbilisi protests as well as information on his meeting with David Kramer and Sandra Roelofs before the protests.

Amid partisan media and journalists, the actions implicated Western think tanks in Georgia had prepared the ground for anti-government sentiment.

Additionally, the International Republican Institute (IRI) which has close ties to the U.S. State Department conducted a survey of public opinion in Georgia before the protests. The findings, published in national media, indicated that Georgians were concerned about the ongoing poor state of relations with Russia. It is widely known such surveys can be a powerful tool of public opinion manipulation. The IRI research was aimed at spreading the idea of a growing Russian threat and the failed politics of Georgia’s acting government.

Evidently, the patriotic slogans of the Tbilisi protests have rather American origins than Georgian ones. The demonstrations have been also orchestrated by U.S.-based NGO Free Russia Foundation. While Georgian patriots have been exploited and manipulated at the hands of big political structures only interested in strengthening their influence and promoting their interests.

It is difficult to say what will happen next. The Tbilisi protests opened a Pandora’s box and revealed many problems, such as a lack of legal background for deterring another state from meddling in internal affairs. So far, there is no distinction between allies’ assistance and illicit attempts to influence Georgia’s political process through lobbying and imposing foreign interests. Our strategic partners, the U.S. and Europe, have already introduced legal measures to prevent meddling. Perhaps, Georgia, on its Euro-Atlantic integration path, should consider following suit.

1 Comment

  1. Larry N Stout September 12, 2019

    The virtually autonomous, unaccountable CIA and affiliates meddle EVERYWHERE.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.