输入搜索

健康/ SCI / TECH

特朗普政府敦促永久重新授权NSA监督计划

(美国空军摄影:Steve Kotecki)

“美国国家安全局一直在吸收数亿美国人的通话记录,作为一项无可救药的复杂程序的一部分,并且没有任何明显的证据证明其价值。”

特朗普政府敦促国会在周四重新授权国家安全局(NSA)的监控计划 - 该计划收集了数百万美国人的通话记录,引发了公民自由倡导者的立即反对。

“我写信是为了表达对情报界(IC)和行政当局的支持,以永久重新授权2015的美国自由法案,这些条款目前将于12月到期,”国家情报总监Dan Coats在一封信中写道。首先见到了 “纽约时报”.

这封信写于8月15,Coats的最后一天,并发给参议院司法委员会和参议院情报委员会的高级成员。

“这些规定为[情报界]提供了重要的国家安全机构,我们期待与国会合作进行永久性的重新授权,”高士补充道。

有问题的法律, 美国自由法案,是在2015中颁布的爱国者法案的修改版本。 在情报承包商和举报人爱德华·斯诺登透露国家安全局在2013的大规模数据收集实践后,一些法规被强制执行以限制州的监视权力,例如要求法院命令从电信公司获取数据。

高士承认当前计划中存在严重缺陷,例如技术限制和高成本,但敦促永久重新授权以期望未来的技术进步。

前英国情报专家菲利普·英格拉姆告诉记者 福布斯的网络安全记者Kate O'Flaherty 公民自由团体正在夸大“自由法”重新授权所带来的危险:

“收集和分析的数据是元数据而不是消息内容数据,”英格拉姆说。 “他们建议州政府正在收听每个人的电话并阅读每个人的电子邮件:这实际上是不可能的。 由于美国认为在9 / 11很可能发生之后进一步发动攻击,最初的立法和计划已经匆匆进入。“

美国公民自由联盟(ACLU)不同意英格拉姆的观点,此前他们认为,未受控制的安全国家骚扰边缘化社区的成员,如 穆斯林.

“历史上,当局利用这种过度的权力来骚扰这些社区的成员,”Free Press Action政府关系主管桑德拉富尔顿说。 在一份声明中,“特别是那些在权利受到威胁时大声疾呼的人。”

批评者指出,如果高士对技术进步的看法加上永久授权的实现,国家将无视监督能力和滥用权力而不受惩罚的能力。

ACLU国家安全项目的高级律师Patrick Toomey说:“这个监控计划一劳永逸地关闭了很久以前。” “纽约时报”。 “美国国家安全局一直在吸收数亿美国人的通话记录,作为一项无可救药的复杂计划的一部分,并且没有任何明显的证据证明其价值。 我们不应该在我们的间谍机构手中留下如此彻底,不负责任的权力。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

3评论

  1. 拉里N斯托特 八月17,2019

    你好? “世界秩序”就是“不负责任的力量”。 在美国,在英国,在犹太复国主义殖民地侵袭巴勒斯坦,在沙特阿拉伯,在中国...... 更容易列出权力负责的国家的简短列表。 对那个的任何建议?

    回复
  2. 布赖恩 八月18,2019

    1月10,2014 * 500 *多年的历史表明,大规模间谍活动总是以破坏异议为目标*永远不会保护我们免受坏人的伤害*

    无论哪个政府进行大规模监视,他们也会这样做以粉碎异议,然后为他们为什么这样做提供错误的理由。

    http://www.globalresearch.ca/500-years-of-history-shows-that-mass-spying-is-always-aimed-at-crushing-dissent/5364462

    回复
    1. 拉里N斯托特 八月18,2019

      非常好,Brian。

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

HEALTH/SCI/TECH

Trump Administration Urges Permanent Reauthorization Of NSA Surveillance Program

(U.S. Air Force photo by Steve Kotecki)

“The NSA has been vacuuming up hundreds of millions of Americans’ call records as part of a program that is hopelessly complex and lacks any discernible evidence of its value.”

The Trump administration urged Congress to reauthorize the National Security Agency’s (NSA) surveillance program on Thursday – a program that has collected millions of Americans’ call records, prompting immediate backlash from civil liberties advocates.

“I write to express the support of the Intelligence Community (IC) and Administration for the permanent reauthorization of the provisions of the USA Freedom Act of 2015 that are currently set to expire in December,” wrote director of national intelligence Dan Coats in a letter first seen by the New York Times.

The letter was written on August 15, Coats’ last day in office, and was addressed to top members of the Senate Judiciary Committee and Senate Intelligence Committee.

“These provisions provide the [intelligence community] with key national security authorities, and we look forward to working with the Congress on their permanent reauthorization,” Coats added.

The law in question, the USA Freedom Act, is a modified version of the Patriot Act that was enacted in 2015. After intelligence contractor and whistleblower Edward Snowden revealed the NSA’s mass data collection practices in 2013, some regulations were enforced to limit the state’s surveillance power, such as requiring court orders to access data from telecom companies.

Coats acknowledged serious flaws in the current program, such as technical limitations and high costs, but urged permanent reauthorization in the hope of future technological advancements.

Philip Ingram, a former British intelligence specialist, told Forbes’ cybersecurity journalist Kate O’Flaherty that civil liberties groups are inflating the dangers the Freedom Act’s reauthorization presents:

“The data collected and analyzed is metadata rather than message content data,” said Ingram. “They suggest the state is listening into everyone’s phone calls and reading everyone’s emails: This physically is not possible. The original legislation and program was rushed in as the U.S. thought further attacks after 9/11 were very likely to occur.”

The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) disagrees with Ingram’s view, previously arguing that the unchecked security state has harassed members of marginalized communities, such as Muslims.

“Historically, authorities have used such overbroad authority to harass members of these communities,” said Free Press Action government relations director Sandra Fulton in a statement, “especially those who speak out when their rights are under threat.”

Critics note that if Coats’ vision of technological advancement coupled with permanent authorization is realized, the state would have unchecked surveillance capacity and the ability to abuse their powers with impunity.

“It’s long past time that this surveillance program was shuttered once and for all,” Patrick Toomey, senior attorney for the ACLU’s National Security Project, told the New York Times. “The NSA has been vacuuming up hundreds of millions of Americans’ call records as part of a program that is hopelessly complex and lacks any discernible evidence of its value. We should not leave such a sweeping, unaccountable power in the hands of our spy agencies.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

3 Comments

  1. Larry N Stout August 17, 2019

    Hello? The “World Order” is all about “unaccountable power”. In the USA, in the UK, in the zionist colony infesting Palestine, in Saudi Arabia, in China…. Easier to make the short list of countries where power is accountable. Any suggestions for that one?

    Reply
  2. Brian August 18, 2019

    January 10, 2014 *500* Years of History Shows that Mass Spying Is Always Aimed at Crushing Dissent *It’s Never to Protect Us From Bad Guys*

    No matter which government conducts mass surveillance, they also do it to crush dissent, and then give a false rationale for why they’re doing it.

    http://www.globalresearch.ca/500-years-of-history-shows-that-mass-spying-is-always-aimed-at-crushing-dissent/5364462

    Reply
    1. Larry N Stout August 18, 2019

      Quite right, Brian.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.