输入搜索

美洲

特朗普以增加的墨西哥关税赌博美国经济

左图:唐纳德·J·特朗普总统在观看华盛顿特区1月20,2017白宫审查台的就职游行时致敬。 (照片:国防部,海军军官2nd级别多米尼克·皮内罗)右:AndrésManuelLópezObrador,墨西哥总统,12月2018。 (照片:墨西哥政府)
左图:唐纳德·J·特朗普总统在观看华盛顿特区1月20,2017白宫审查台的就职游行时致敬。 (照片:国防部,海军军官2nd级别多米尼克·皮内罗)右:AndrésManuelLópezObrador,墨西哥总统,12月2018。 (照片:墨西哥政府)

墨西哥是美国最大的贸易伙伴之一,新的墨西哥关税使总统在美国,加拿大和墨西哥之间建立经修订的贸易协定的目标复杂化。

特朗普总统周四在一系列推文中宣布了对墨西哥商品的新关税,希望向美国南部邻国施压,要求投入更多资源来限制跨境移民。 虽然白宫发布了一份声明,解释关税与移民纯粹有关,但特朗普总统周五在推特上说,他们也是对贩毒和美国贸易逆差的回应。

“墨西哥已经利用美国几十年了,”总统发推文说。 “由于这些民主党,我们的移民法很糟糕。 墨西哥做了一个 财富 来自美国,几十年来,他们可以很容易地 固定 这个问题。 是时候让他们最终做必须做的事!“

特朗普总统对墨西哥的要求具体细节尚不清楚。 周日,国土安全部负责人凯文麦卡伦南 说过 美国希望看到墨西哥加大努力确保墨西哥 - 危地马拉边境,打击向旅行移民提供帮助的组织,并正式将墨西哥称为“安全的地方”,这将取消寻求庇护者在美国听证会的权利。状态。 由于暴力犯罪和毒品贩运困扰着该国,墨西哥一直犹豫是否要求制定第三项要求。

墨西哥关税将增加

该计划将于6月10开始,对所有墨西哥货物征收5%的关税。 如果特朗普对墨西哥遏制移民的努力不满意,税收将在7月10上增加到1%。 如果总统仍然不满意,它将在8月15上达到1百分比。 在1 9月份,关税将达到20%,而在10月1,它将达到25百分比,并且在两国之间没有双边协议的情况下仍然保持不变。

尽管特朗普政府采取了强硬的移民政策,但在12年代,梅的边境口岸数量最多。 但是作为 Vox的Matthew Yglesias 指出,春季通常是边境口岸的高点,而夏季的迁徙传统上很低。 由于移民的季节性差异,即使没有从墨西哥出现重大政策转变,特朗普也可能宣布关税取得胜利。

墨西哥总统安德烈斯·曼努埃尔·洛佩斯·奥夫拉多尔对特朗普的关税威胁采取了和解的态度,并表示他预计外交部长马塞洛·埃布拉德即将于周三访问华盛顿会有“好结果”。

“主要的是告知我们在移民问题上已经做了什么,如果有必要在不侵犯人权的情况下加强这些措施,我们就可以准备达成这项协议,”Lopez Obrador 说过并补充说,如果采用全额关税,他还有另一个“计划”来保护他的国家的经济稳定。

墨西哥关税的经济影响

许多经济学家担心,总统的激进贸易战略可能会导致全球经济放缓。 三周前,特朗普政府对200亿美元的中国商品征收关税,总统威胁要对欧洲和日本征收汽车关税。

俄勒冈大学经济学家蒂莫西·杜伊(Timothy Duy)说:“我们不知道什么样的稻草会打破这里的骆驼,但特朗普看起来似乎想要找出来。” 上周五。

墨西哥是美国最大的贸易伙伴之一,关税使总统在美国,加拿大和墨西哥之间建立经修订的贸易协定的目标复杂化。 福特和通用汽车等公司的大部分供应链都位于墨西哥,而关税将对其运营产生负面影响。

“汽车零件特别是在它们到达最终产品之前来回走动几次,如果每次必须增加税收,它就会压缩利润,甚至可能让一些小公司倒闭,”梅根投资公司宏利(Manulife)全球首席经济学家格林(Greene)表示 政治.

像设备制造商协会和商业圆桌会议等商业团体对特朗普政府的贸易战略进行了尖锐的批评。

“商业圆桌会议强烈敦促政府不要推行这些关税,这将造成严重的经济混乱,并对美国工人,农民,消费者和企业征税,”该组织称 声明.

在福克斯新闻周日,参谋长Mick Mulvaney说特朗普总统是“致命的严重“关于实施关税,说,”我完全相信这些关税至少会持续到6月5的10百分比水平。

Mulvaney还表示,他不希望看到25对墨西哥进口征收的关税。

“我们真诚地希望它不会那样,”他说。 “我们实际上对墨西哥政府能够帮助我们有一定程度的信心。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AMERICAS

Trump Gambles US Economy With Incremental Mexico Tariffs

Left: President Donald J. Trump salutes while watching the inaugural parade from the White House reviewing stand in Washington D.C., Jan. 20, 2017. (Photo: DoD, Navy Petty Officer 2nd Class Dominique A. Pineiro) Right: Andrés Manuel López Obrador, President of Mexico, December 2018. (Photo: Mexican Government)
Left: President Donald J. Trump salutes while watching the inaugural parade from the White House reviewing stand in Washington D.C., Jan. 20, 2017. (Photo: DoD, Navy Petty Officer 2nd Class Dominique A. Pineiro) Right: Andrés Manuel López Obrador, President of Mexico, December 2018. (Photo: Mexican Government)

Mexico is one of the U.S.’ biggest trading partners, and the new Mexico tariffs complicate the president’s goal of creating a revised trade pact between the U.S., Canada, and Mexico.

President Trump announced new tariffs on Mexican goods in a series of tweets Thursday, hoping to pressure the U.S.’s southern neighbor to devote more resources to restricting the flow of migrants across the border. While the White House released a statement explaining the tariffs were purely related to immigration, President Trump tweeted Friday that they were also a response to drug trafficking and the U.S. trade deficit.

“Mexico has taken advantage of the United States for decades,” the president tweeted. “Because of the Dems, our Immigration Laws are BAD. Mexico makes a FORTUNE from the U.S., have for decades, they can easily fix this problem. Time for them to finally do what must be done!”

The specifics of President Trump’s demands on Mexico are somewhat unclear. On Sunday, Department of Homeland Security head Kevin McAleenan said the United States wants to see Mexico increase efforts to secure the Mexican-Guatemalan border, crackdown on organizations that provide help to traveling migrants, and officially designate Mexico as “a safe place,” which would remove asylum seekers’ entitlement to hearings in the United States. Mexico has been hesitant to enact the third demand, as violent crime and narco-trafficking plague the country.

Mexico Tariff Would Increase

The plan would begin on June 10, imposing a five percent tariff on all Mexican goods. If Trump isn’t satisfied with Mexico’s efforts to curb migration, the tax would increase to 10 percent on July 1. If the president remains unsatisfied, it would go up to 15 percent on August 1. On September 1, the tariff would reach 20 percent, and on October 1, it would level off at 25 percent, where it would remain in the absence of a bilateral agreement between the countries.

Despite the Trump administration’s hardline immigration policies, May saw the highest amount of border crossings in 12 years. But as Vox’s Matthew Yglesias points out, spring is normally the high-point for border crossings, while migration in the summer is traditionally low. Trump would likely be able to declare the tariffs a victory even in the absence of a major policy shift from Mexico because of seasonal differences in migration.

Mexican President Andrés Manuel López Obrador struck a conciliatory tone on Trump’s tariff threats, saying he expected a “good result” from Foreign Minister Marcelo Ebrard’s upcoming visit to Washington on Wednesday.

“The main thing is to inform about what we’re already doing on the migration issue, and if it’s necessary to reinforce these measures without violating human rights, we could be prepared to reach that deal,” Lopez Obrador said, adding that he had an alternative “plan” to protect his country’s economic stability in case the full tariffs are applied.

Economic Impact of Mexico Tariff

Many economists fear the president’s aggressive trade strategy could lead to a slowdown in the global economy. Three weeks ago, the Trump administration imposed tariffs on $200 billion of Chinese goods, and the president has threatened auto tariffs on Europe and Japan.

“We don’t know what straw will break the camel’s back here, but Trump is looking like he wants to try to find out,” Timothy Duy, an economist at the University of Oregon, wrote on Friday.

Mexico is one of the U.S.’ biggest trading partners, and the tariffs complicate the president’s goal of creating a revised trade pact between the U.S., Canada, and Mexico. Companies like Ford and General Motors have large parts of their supply chains based in Mexico, and the tariffs would negatively impact their operations.

“Auto parts in particular go back and forth several times before they get to the final product, and if each time you have to add a tax to that, it’s going to compress margins and could even put some smaller firms out of business,” Megan Greene, global chief economist at investment firm Manulife, told Politico.

Business groups like the Association of Equipment Manufacturers and the Business Roundtable sharply criticized the Trump administration’s trade strategy.

“Business Roundtable strongly urges the administration not to move forward with these tariffs, which would create significant economic disruption and tax U.S. workers, farmers, consumers and businesses,” the group said in a statement.

On Fox News Sunday, Chief of Staff Mick Mulvaney said President Trump was “deadly serious” about implementing the tariffs, saying, “I fully expect these tariffs to go on to at least the 5 percent level on June 10.”

Mulvaney also said he did not want to see 25 percent tariffs imposed on Mexican imports.

“We sincerely hope it does not come to that,” he said. “We actually have some level of confidence that the Mexican government will be able to help us.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.