输入搜索

中东

特朗普否决了两党立法,以结束美国在也门的沙特阿拉伯支持

唐纳德特朗普总统会见沙特阿拉伯副王储穆罕默德·本·萨勒曼·本·阿卜杜拉齐兹·沙特及其代表团成员,星期二,3月14,2017,华盛顿特区白宫椭圆形办公室(白宫官方照片)作者:Shealah Craighead)
唐纳德特朗普总统会见沙特阿拉伯副王储穆罕默德·本·萨勒曼·本·阿卜杜拉齐兹·沙特及其代表团成员,星期二,3月14,2017,华盛顿特区白宫椭圆形办公室(白宫官方照片)作者:Shealah Craighead)

“特朗普耻辱地否决了我们两党的努力,以结束在也门违反宪法的美沙战争,这场战争造成了世界上最严重的人道主义危机。”

特朗普总统星期二发表了他的总统职位的第二次否决,破坏了两党立法,以结束美国对也门内战中沙特联盟的支持。 国会从未授权美国支持沙特阿拉伯在也门的竞选活动,该决议代表了恢复国会批准外国军事行动的努力。

人权观察称也门是“世界上最大的人道主义危机”,而联合国估计也是其中的一半 国家的人口 面临饥荒的风险。 联合国儿童基金会的一位官员将这场冲突描述为“对儿童的战争” 85,000孩子 在过去三年中,五岁以下的营养不良死亡。

美国制造的炸弹 被用过 针对也门的学校,医院和婚礼。 美国情报部门确定后 沙特王子穆罕默德·本·萨勒曼(Mohammad bin Salman)因订购记者贾马尔·卡尔佐吉(Jamal Khashoggi)的罪名而受到谴责,公众对沙特与美国关系的密切关注导致美国支持人道主义危机。 特朗普总统此后拒绝了,理由是利润丰厚的武器交易,并将伊朗作为继续与沙特王国合作的理由。

总统还表示,该决议将是“削弱我的宪法权威的危险企图。”宪法 授予国会 宣布战争和授权军事交战的权力,而不是总统。

众议院议员回应特朗普也门否决权

在众议院领导也门决议的众议员罗·卡纳(D-CA)拒绝了特朗普总统的论点, 啁啾:

“战争权力决议结束美国在也门的参与与削弱特朗普的宪法权威毫无关系。 这是关于国会两院收回宪法第一条第8条所述的权力来决定战争与和平的问题。“

众议员罗·卡纳(Ro Khanna)表示失望,“总统选举结束了我们无休止的战争的承诺”,并决定继续被广泛认为是人道主义暴行。 在2016的竞选中,特朗普寻求 区分自己 来自希拉里克林顿和共和党成员,谴责伊拉克和利比亚的战争失败,称他的外交政策将避免昂贵和破坏性的外国交战。

国会进步核心小组联合主席Mark Pocan表示,该法案的提案国表达了反对否决否决权的决心:

“特朗普羞辱地否决了我们两党的努力,以结束也门的违宪美沙战争,这场战争造成了世界上最严重的人道主义危机。 国会对战争拥有唯一的权力。 尽管遭遇这次挫折,我们仍将结束这场冲突。“

2020总统候选人Tulsi Gabbard(D-HI)在总统任期开始时会见了特朗普总统,希望能够对即将上任的总司令所谓的反战议程表示声援。 这位进步的女议员明显与民主党全国委员会分道扬to,支持伯纳德桑德斯在2020,并报道她“认真考虑“特朗普政府内阁职位令人惊讶。

加巴德随后表示,尽管存在诸多分歧,但她希望与总统就外交政策进行合作,但此后一直谴责他的决定。 否决权后,众议员加巴德 啾啾 :

“通过否决”战争权力法案“,特朗普再次证明他是沙特阿拉伯的仆人 - 神权独裁政府花费数十亿美元在世界各地传播最极端和最不容忍的伊斯兰教形式,支持基地组织和其他圣战分子,并在也门发动种族灭绝战争/美国的帮助。“

特朗普是沙特阿拉伯的口袋吗?

据Intercept报道,沙特王子穆罕默德·本·萨勒曼说,特朗普的女婿兼顾问贾里德·库什纳“在他的口袋里”,众议院监督委员会透露,库什纳和其他特朗普高级官员秘密寻求帮助沙特阿拉伯发展核技术。 批评 争辩说特朗普总统驳回了王子谋杀一名记者的命令,这使得沙特阿拉伯更加大胆地侵犯了人权。 对沙特监狱中妇女权利活动家的酷刑.

特朗普总统首次访问沙特阿拉伯,这个国家涉嫌非法捐赠他的2016活动。 国际救援委员会表示,特朗普否决了“绿灯“沙特阿拉伯继续犯下人道主义暴行。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

MIDDLE EAST

Trump Vetoes Bipartisan Legislation to End US Support of Saudi Arabia in Yemen

President Donald Trump meets with Mohammed bin Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud, Deputy Crown Prince of Saudi Arabia, and members of his delegation, Tuesday, March 14, 2017, in the Oval Office of the White House in Washington, D.C. (Official White House Photo by Shealah Craighead)
President Donald Trump meets with Mohammed bin Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud, Deputy Crown Prince of Saudi Arabia, and members of his delegation, Tuesday, March 14, 2017, in the Oval Office of the White House in Washington, D.C. (Official White House Photo by Shealah Craighead)

“Trump has shamefully vetoed our bipartisan effort to end the unconstitutional US-Saudi war in Yemen, which has created the world’s worst humanitarian crisis.”

President Trump issued the second veto of his presidency on Tuesday, derailing the bipartisan legislation to end U.S. support for the Saudi-coalition in Yemen’s Civil War. Congress never authorized U.S. support for Saudi Arabia’s campaign in Yemen, and the resolution represented an effort to reinstate congressional approval for foreign military engagements.

Human Rights Watch calls Yemen the “world’s largest humanitarian crisis,” and the U.N. estimates half the country’s population is at risk of famine. A UNICEF official has described the conflict as a “war on children,” with 85,000 children under the age of five dying of malnutrition in the last three years.

U.S.-made bombs have been used to target schools, hospitals and weddings in Yemen. After U.S. intelligence determined Saudi prince Mohammad bin Salman was guilty of ordering the execution of journalist Jamal Khashoggi, increased public scrutiny of the Saudi-U.S. relationship led to calls of ending U.S. support for the humanitarian crisis. President Trump has since refused, citing lucrative arms deals and containing Iran as reason for continued partnership with the Saudi kingdom.

The president also said the resolution would be a “dangerous attempt to weaken my constitutional authorities.” The constitution grants Congress the power to declare wars and authorize military engagements, not the president.

House Members Respond to Trump Yemen Veto

Rep. Ro Khanna (D-CA) who led the Yemen resolution in the House, rejected President Trump’s argument, tweeting:

“The War Powers Resolution to end U.S. involvement in Yemen has nothing to do with weakening Trump’s constitutional authorities. It’s about both houses of Congress taking back our authority outlined in Article I, Section 8 of the Constitution to decide on matters of war & peace.”

Rep. Ro Khanna expressed disappointment that “a president elected on the promise of putting an end to our endless wars,” had decided to continue what is widely considered a humanitarian outrage. In the campaign of 2016, Trump sought to distinguish himself from Hillary Clinton and establishment Republicans by chastising failed wars in Iraq and Libya, saying his foreign policy would avoid costly and destructive foreign engagements.

Sponsors of the bill expressed resolve to rally for an override of the veto, as Congressional Progressive Caucus co-chair Mark Pocan said:

“Trump has shamefully vetoed our bipartisan effort to end the unconstitutional US-Saudi war in Yemen, which has created the world’s worst humanitarian crisis. Congress has sole authority over war. Despite this setback, we will bring this conflict to an end.”

Rep. Tulsi Gabbard (D-HI), a 2020 presidential hopeful, met with President Trump at the beginning of his presidency, hoping to find solidarity with the incoming commander-in-chief’s alleged anti-war agenda. The progressive congresswoman notably split with the Democratic National Committee to support Bernie Sanders in 2020, and reports she was “under serious consideration” for a cabinet position in the Trump administration surprised progressives.

Gabbard then said she wanted to work with the president on foreign policy despite their numerous differences, but has condemned his decisions since. After the veto, Rep. Gabbard tweeted :

“By vetoing War Powers Act, Trump again proves he’s the servant of Saudi Arabia—the theocratic dictatorship spending billions spreading the most extreme & intolerant form of Islam around the world, supporting al-Qaeda & other jihadists, & waging genocidal war in Yemen w/ US help.”

Are the Trumps in Saudi Arabia’s Pocket?

According to the Intercept, Saudi prince Mohammad bin Salman said he has Trump’s son-in-law and advisor Jared Kushner “in his pocket”, and the House oversight committee revealed Kushner and other top Trump officials secretly sought to help Saudi Arabia develop nuclear technology. Critics argue President Trump’s dismissal of the prince’s order to murder a journalist has emboldened Saudi Arabia to commit human rights abuses like the torture of women’s rights activists in Saudi prisons.

President Trump’s first foreign visit was to Saudi Arabia, a country suspected of illegally donating to his 2016 campaign. The International Rescue Committee said Trump’s veto grants a “green light” to Saudi Arabia to continue committing humanitarian atrocities.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.