输入搜索

国家

特朗普的共和党挑战者警告党的'错误转向',因为各州取消共和党初选

马萨诸塞州前州长威尔·威尔德在内华达州拉斯维加斯的好莱坞星球的2016 FreedomFest演讲。
马萨诸塞州前州长威尔·威尔德在内华达州拉斯维加斯的好莱坞星球的2016 FreedomFest演讲。 (照片:Gage Skidmore)

“数百万寻求保守替代现状的选民应该有机会听到在国家舞台上播出的其他观点。”

特朗普总统的三位共和党主要挑战者写了一篇文章 华盛顿邮报的联合意见专栏 上周五,批评那些取消了他们的初选和他们认为特朗普已经占领共和党的“错误转向”的国家。

“在特朗普时代,个人责任,财政理智和法治已被超越疏远我们的盟友,同时接纳恐怖分子和独裁者,攻击新闻自由,并使每天美国人彼此对抗,” 主要挑战者写道,特朗普对金正恩和弗拉基米尔普京这样的威权主义者的热情赞扬,与原则保守主义的精神背道而驰。

主要挑战者认为,亚利桑那州,堪萨斯州,内华达州和南卡罗来纳州的共和党 取消 他们的提名竞选是一个让共和党的选举制度比中国和俄罗斯更像民主党的举动,民主党在参赛者之间经常进行辩论。

特朗普称之为“三个傀儡”的三个挑战者拥有不同的背景。 该 卫报的Martin Pengelly 他认为,“目前的挑战者并没有太大的机会让特朗普感到不安甚至遭受轻微损害。”

彭杰利 他指出,在担任南卡罗来纳州州长期间,桑福德在阿根廷有婚外情,同时声称正在阿巴拉契亚徒步旅行。 Joe Walsh是来自2010-2012的茶党代表,他因过去的种族主义言论受到批评并道歉。 比尔韦尔德是马萨诸塞州州长,从1991到1997和2016 Libertarian候选人Gary Johnson的竞选伙伴。

尽管存在差异, 三写 他们“有一种共同的信念,即美国需要一个强有力的中右翼政党,以美国精神中最好的基本价值观为指导。”

在此 挑战者争辩说 特朗普经常撒谎,分裂言论,拒绝透露他的商业和经济利益,这使他成为“一个已经放弃了共和党基本原则的连环自我推动者”。

在此 专栏 注意到特朗普政府的快速赤字支出,这是一项理论上与传统保守主义相对立的政策。

“在这位总统的领导下,真理的意义一如既往地受到挑战,”挑战者写道。 “在这位总统的领导下,联邦赤字已经存在 超过$ 1万亿大关。 作为共和党人,我们接受这一切是不可避免的吗?“

“数百万寻求保守替代现状的选民应该有机会听到在国家舞台上播出的其他观点。 让我们争论最好的办法,在民主党人辩论政府干预的优点的同时,最大化我们社区中日常美国人的机会。“

挑战者认为,如果各州不允许共和党的主要竞选,竞争是传统保守主义的“典型价值”,将被压制。 “只有弱小的恐惧竞争,”他们写道。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Trump’s Republican Challengers Warn Of Party’s ‘Wrong Turn’, as States Cancel GOP Primaries

Former Governor William Weld of Massachusetts speaking at the 2016 FreedomFest at Planet Hollywood in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Former Governor William Weld of Massachusetts speaking at the 2016 FreedomFest at Planet Hollywood in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo: Gage Skidmore)

“Millions of voters looking for a conservative alternative to the status quo deserve a chance to hear alternate ideas aired on the national stage.”

President Trump’s three Republican primary challengers wrote a joint opinion column for the Washington Post on Friday, criticizing states that have canceled their primaries and the “wrong turn” in which they believe Trump has taken the Republican party.

“In the Trump era, personal responsibility, fiscal sanity and rule of law have been overtaken by a preference for alienating our allies while embracing terrorists and dictators, attacking the free press and pitting everyday Americans against one another,” the primary challengers wrote, arguing Trump’s effusive praise of authoritarians like Kim Jong-Un and Vladimir Putin is contrary to the spirit of principled conservatism.

The primary challengers argue that Arizona, Kansas, Nevada and South Carolina Republican parties’ cancelation of their nominating contests is a move that makes the Republican party’s electoral system resemble China and Russia more than the Democrat party, which is conducting frequent debates between contestants.

The three challengers, who Trump refers to as “The Three Stooges,” have diverse backgrounds. The Guardian’s Martin Pengelly argues that the “current challengers do not stand much chance of upsetting or even minorly damaging Trump.”

Pengelly notes that while serving as South Carolina’s governor, Sanford was having an extra-marital affair in Argentina while claiming to be hiking the Appalachian trail. Joe Walsh was a Tea Party House representative from 2010-2012 who has been criticized for past racist comments and apologized. Bill Weld was the governor of Massachusetts from 1991 to 1997 and 2016 Libertarian candidate Gary Johnson’s running mate.

Despite their differences, the three write that they have “a shared conviction that the United States needs a strong center-right party guided by basic values that are rooted in the best of the American spirit.”

The challengers argue that Trump’s frequent lies, divisive rhetoric, and refusal to be transparent about his business and financial interests reveal him as “a serial self-promoter who has abandoned the bedrock principles of the GOP.”

The op-ed takes note of the Trump administration’s rapid deficit spending, a policy theoretically in opposition to traditional conservative doctrine.

“Under this president, the meaning of truth has been challenged as never before,” the challengers wrote. “Under this president, the federal deficit has topped the $1 trillion mark. Do we as Republicans accept all this as inevitable?”

“Millions of voters looking for a conservative alternative to the status quo deserve a chance to hear alternate ideas aired on the national stage. Let us argue over the best way to maximize opportunities in our communities for everyday Americans while the Democrats debate the merits of government intervention.”

The challengers argue that competition, a “quintessential value” of traditional conservatism, will be squelched if states do not allow Republican primary contests. “Only the weak fear competition,” they wrote.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.