输入搜索

反战 亚太 欧洲 TRENDING-EUROPE

尽管存在美国威胁,土耳其仍在购买俄罗斯导弹防御系统

S-400 Triumph运载火箭
S-400 Triumph运载火箭(图片:Соколрус)

“S-400是最先进的防空系统之一,与西部最好的防御系统相提并论。”

周三,土耳其总统雷杰普·塔伊普·埃尔多安宣布土耳其购买了俄罗斯的防空导弹系统。 土耳其和美国之间就可能购买与北约系统不兼容的防御系统进行了几个月的公开争吵。

“土耳其已经购买了S-400防御系统。 这是一个完成的交易。 我希望这些系统将在下个月交付给我们的国家,“埃尔多安说,作为 半岛电视台报道。

此前,总统唐纳德特朗普谴责土耳其购买俄罗斯防空系统的计划,因为美国和土耳其都是北约的成员。 美国和其他北约成员担心俄罗斯可以通过其S-400系统监视北约飞机。

美国声称它担心俄罗斯技术人员可以使用美国最昂贵的战斗机F-35。

“我们不希望F-35在一段时间内靠近S-400,因为它能够理解F-35在该特定设备上的轮廓,” 副国防部长艾伦勋爵周三告诉记者.

如果土耳其从俄罗斯购买S-35系统,华盛顿威胁要拒绝向土耳其出售F-400。 代理美国国防部长帕特里克·沙纳汉上周警告说,土耳其不能同时拥有俄罗斯的S-400和美国的F-35。

在土耳其宣布购买S-400之后,美国表示它正在推迟土耳其飞行员对F-35战斗机的培训。 美国还对土耳其进行了进一步的,更严厉的经济制裁。

土耳其决定购买X-100的35单位,并在战斗机计划中投入了大量资金。 几家土耳其公司生产937喷气式飞机的备件。

近年来,土耳其在与美国和欧洲关系恶化之后与俄罗斯建立了更紧密的联系。 但据路透社报道,埃尔多安表示,他希望在6月底与特朗普总统会晤之前通过电话外交解决与美国的关系。

土耳其报纸 Yeni Safak报道 为了回应美国停止销售F-35,土耳其正在准备“B,C或D计划”,其中包括开发“本土”战斗机或转向中国或俄罗斯进行有关其战斗机的谈判。

“除俄罗斯SU-57外,安全官僚机构还在调查中国的J-31。 此外,与F-35相比,这些飞机的成本较低,每架飞机的价格约为100万美元。 尽管F-35已经抵达安卡拉,但考虑到它与美国直接相连,每架指挥飞机都将为土耳其带来严重的安全风险。 这就是为什么没有人对F-35的“损失”表示遗憾,“亲政府文件写道。

什么是S-400?

S-400“Triumph”(北约称之为“咆哮者”)是最先进的地对空导弹防御系统之一。 在2017中, “经济学家” S-400被描述为“目前制造的最好的防空系统之一。”它具有一系列250里程,一次触发S-400系统可以同时击落80对象。

据BBC报道,俄罗斯声称其S-400可以击中各种目标,包括低空飞行无人机到不同高度的飞机和远程导弹。

防御系统是在90中开发的,最初在2007的俄罗斯军队中使用。 它被认为是世界上最好的反弹道导弹系统之一。

“S-400是最先进的防空系统之一,与西部最好的防御系统相提并论,” 西蒙·韦兹曼说,斯德哥尔摩国际和平研究所(SIPRI)武器转让和军费开支计划的高级研究员。

“它的雷达和其他传感器,以及它的导弹覆盖了广泛的区域 - 雷达的监视范围至少为600km,其导弹射程可达400km,”Wezeman告诉Al Jazeera。

“这是精确的,它设法跟踪大量潜在目标,包括隐形目标。”

S-400由于其高移动性而具有吸引力,可在几分钟内激活,启动和移除。

除土耳其外,其他国家如中国,沙特阿拉伯,卡塔尔和印度也表示有兴趣购买S-400系统。

去年,印度签署了一项价值5.43亿美元的协议,购买S-400系统,将华盛顿对新德里的威胁嗤之以鼻。

为什么S-400会引起美国和北约的关注?

美国和北约担心土耳其对俄罗斯防空导弹系统的兴趣在政治上和技术上都有动力,因为外交关系委员会的军事分析师凯文·布兰德, 向半岛电视台解释说.

“从技术意义上说,S-400肯定会向土耳其迈进一步,但将武器系统整合到更广泛的架构中并不一定符合北约的最佳利益,”布兰德说。

“当你看到俄罗斯的S-400系统时,特别是在北约结构中,将它整合到更大的防御系统时会有一定的难度,”布兰德告诉Al Jazeera。

“如果你认为它是一个非常良性的情况,最简单的情况是它的数据可能无法纳入目前北约使用的防御架构。 这可能是最糟糕的情况。“

北约在几个在较大网络中协同工作的系统上相互依赖。

但品牌向半岛电视台解释说,美国和北约也担心俄罗斯可能会出售其S-400背后的恶意。

例如,与俄罗斯技术人员一起处理S-400会有什么样的合同,俄罗斯维护人员是否可以访问[北约]数据?

“最糟糕的情况是,可能存在可能被潜在对手利用的系统漏洞。

“插入它可能会主动破坏你自己的防御网络。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANTI WAR ASIA/PACIFIC EUROPE TRENDING-EUROPE

Turkey Buys Russian Missile Defense System Despite US Threats

S-400 Triumph launch vehicle
S-400 Triumph launch vehicle (Photo: Соколрус)

“The S-400 is among the most advanced air defense systems available, on par with the best the West has to offer.”

On Wednesday, Turkish president Recep Tayyip Erdogan announced Turkey bought a Russian anti-aircraft missile system. The announcement came after months of public sparring between Turkey and the U.S. over the potential purchase of the defense system which is not compatible with NATO’s systems.

“Turkey has already bought S-400 defense systems. It is a done deal. I hope these systems will be delivered to our country next month,” Erdogan said, as Al Jazeera reported.

Previously, President Donald Trump condemned Turkey’s plan to purchase Russia’s air defense system given that both the U.S and Turkey are members of NATO. The U.S. and other NATO members fear that Russia could spy on NATO aircraft through its S-400 system.

The U.S. claims it is worried about Russian technicians having access to the F-35, the U.S.’ most expensive fighter jet ever.

“We do not want to have the F-35 in close proximity to the S-400 over a period of time because of the ability to understand the profile of the F-35 on that particular piece of equipment,” Under Secretary of Defence Ellen Lord told reporters on Wednesday.

Washington has threatened to withhold the sale of F-35’s to Turkey, if Turkey bought the S-400 system from Russia. Acting U.S Secretary of Defense Patrick Shanahan last week warned that Turkey could not have Russia’s S-400 and U.S. F-35s at the same time.

After Turkey’s announcement of the S-400 purchase, the U.S. said it was postponing the training for Turkish pilots on F-35 fighter jets. The U.S. also threatened Turkey with further, harsher economic sanctions.

Turkey had decided to buy 100 units of F-35s and had invested a lot in the fighter jet program. Several Turkish companies produce 937 the jet’s spare parts.

In recent years, Turkey has forged closer ties with Russia following worsening relations with the U.S. and Europe. But Reuters reported that Erdogan said he hoped to resolve the situation with the U.S. through phone diplomacy ahead of a meeting with President Trump at the end of June.

The Turkish newspaper Yeni Safak reported that in response to the U.S. halting the sale of the F-35s, Turkey was preparing “plans B, C or D”  which involve developing a “homegrown” fighter jet or turning to China or Russia for talks regarding their fighter jets.

“In addition to the Russian SU-57s, the security bureaucracy is also investigating China’s J-31s. Moreover, these aircraft stand out with their low cost compared to the F-35s, each of which amounts to approximately $ 100 million. Even though the F-35 have already arrived in Ankara, considering this is directly connected to the United States each command aircraft will accommodate serious security risks for Turkey. That’s why no one regrets the ‘loss’ of the F-35s,” the pro-government paper wrote.

What is S-400?.

The S-400 “Triumph” (NATO calls it “Growler”) is one of the most advanced surface-to-air missile defense systems. In 2017, The Economist described the S-400 as “one of the best air-defense systems currently made.” It has a range of 250 miles, and one triggering of the S-400 system can shoot down up to 80 objects simultaneously.

According to the BBC, Russia claims its S-400 can hit a wide range of targets including low-flying drones to aircraft at various altitudes and long-range missiles.

The defense system was developed in the 90s and was first put to use in the Russian military in 2007. It is regarded as one of the best anti-ballistic missile systems worldwide.

“The S-400 is among the most advanced air defense systems available, on par with the best the West has to offer,” said Siemon Wezeman, senior researcher with Stockholm International Peace Research Institute’s (SIPRI) arms transfers and military expenditure program.

“Its radars and other sensors, as well as its missiles, cover an extensive area – the radar has a range of at least 600km for surveillance, and its missiles have ranges of up to 400km,” Wezeman told Al Jazeera.

“It’s precise and it manages to track a very large number of potential targets, including stealth targets.”

The S-400 is also attractive due to its high mobility, it can be activated, fired up and removed within minutes.

Besides Turkey, other countries such as China, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, and India have expressed interest in purchasing the S-400 system.

Last year, India inked a $5.43 billion deal to buy the S-400 system, snubbing a threat by Washington to New Delhi.

Why is S-400 Triggering Concern From the US and NATO?

The U.S. and NATO fear Turkey’s interest in Russia’s anti-aircraft missile system is politically and technically motivated as Kevin Brand, a military analyst at the Council on Foreign Relations, explained to Al Jazeera.

“In the technological sense, the S-400 would certainly be a step forward [for Turkey], but it’s not necessarily in the best interest of NATO to have that weapons system integrated within its broader architecture,” Brand said.

“When you look at the Russian S-400 system, especially in a NATO structure, there’s a scale of difficulty when integrating it into the bigger defense system,” Brand told Al Jazeera.

“If you take it as a very benign situation, the simplest scenario is that its data might not be able to be incorporated into the defensive architecture that is currently used by NATO. That’s probably the best worst-case scenario.”

NATO is heavily interdependent on several systems working together in a larger network.

But the U.S. and NATO are also worried that Russia might have ill intentions behind the sale of its S-400, Brand explained to Al Jazeera.

“What kind of contracts would be in place with Russian technicians taking care of the S-400, for example, would Russian maintenance personnel have access to [NATO] data?

“The worst-case scenario is that there might be vulnerabilities associated with that system that could be exploited by a potential adversary.

“Plugging it in could potentially actively compromise your own defensive network.”

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.