输入搜索

公司文化

大学的招聘要求'志愿者'教授

杜兰大学
杜兰大学。 (图片:杜兰公关)

“如果是指导职位,我会认为100%会参与其中,这是有道理的。 但是要求你的校友篡夺你的兼职教师并教授实际的课程而不付费,因为回馈,就像是高等教育的SNL短剧。“

本周早些时候,杜兰大学(路易斯安那州新奥尔良市)发布的工作机会引起了人们的关注。 大学发布他们正在寻找兼职教师,但他们确实希望在志愿者的基础上雇用某人。 该 原版的 招聘信息见下文。

经过几天的强烈反对,杜兰从他们的网站上删除了上市,并关闭了工作板上的申请流程。

在兼职教师的角色里面

来自Concordia University - Portland的2015博客文章 详情 兼职教师在大学环境中的工作职责。 “辅助课程可以在一个学期的面对面设置课程,然后在下一学期,他们可以使用学习管理系统(LMS)在远程教育环境中教授相同的课程。 如果您已经参加过在线研究生课程或已经在该环境中工作,那么您将获得额外的知识和经验。“

“在讨论兼职教师职位时,重要的是要清楚地了解职位的责任,因为职位可能会有所不同。 附属品不要求任期轨道教授的许多职责。 特遣队教员不必进行研究,发表论文或参加员工会议和活动,“解释仍在继续。

根据法学院透明度,法学院学生必须 $ 56,572参加杜兰计划的一年。 此外,新奥尔良的年度生活费用是 估计 每年$ 23,196。

虽然杜兰大学是一所私立大学,但大学教师通常会为自己的工作付费,特别是在学费是中产阶级和工薪阶层学生的负担时。 Zip Recruiter详细介绍了 薪酬结构 路易斯安那州路易斯安那州的兼职教师。

虽然ZipRecruiter的年薪高达$ 105,504且低至$ 11,828,但大多数兼职教师的薪水目前介于路易斯安那州的39,268(25th百分位数)和$ 80,429(75th百分位数)之间。 兼职教师的平均薪资范围略有不同(最高达$ 41,161),这表明基于技能水平的晋升机会可能较少,但仍有可能根据地点和多年经验增加薪酬。

根据ZipRecruiter最近的招聘信息,路易斯安那州及周边地区的兼职教职工市场非常活跃。 路易斯安那州在全国25州的辅助教师工资中排名第50。

杜兰对就业清单的评论

“对于这些职位,法学院寻求成熟或退休的律师,法官和行业领导者,他们通过教授志愿者所展示的专业法律领域的小组学生,长期的专业知识和领导能力来担任指导角色。” Tulane发言人Michael Strecker 说过 通过电子邮件到Inside Higher Ed。 “......这些志愿者都是校友,他们将服务视为回馈学校和现有学生的一种方式。”

对于网站上的读者而言,这种解释并不合适,这是最高票数的读者之一。

帕克兰德的学生们教会了我一个重要的教训 - 当我看到它时,就会哭泣! 杜兰的合理化是bs。 您可以为研讨会或讲座引入无偿专家,而不是教授课程的教员。 对杜兰的剥削行为感到羞耻。

Betsy Smith博士/ ESL /科德角社区学院退休兼职教授

高等教育内部似乎没有提出跟进问题,关于这样一个系统如何能够冻结许多有资格的人才能够填补这些高技能的志愿者职位。 他们也没有要求Strecker提供其他大学的例子,这些大学要求兼职教师在志愿者的基础上工作。

该文章的其他几位评论者也提出了类似的问题。

“如果是指导职位,我会认为100%会参与其中,这是有道理的。 但是要求你的校友篡夺你的兼职教师并教授实际的课程而不付费,因为回馈,就像是高等教育的SNL短剧。“

“对于杜兰来说,让校友和受尊敬的专业人士提供免费教学作为慈善工作的一种形式仍然是不可接受的,因为它破坏了所有兼职教授的市场并树立了不好的先例。”

“正如profroguerouge [先前评论者的用户名]所指出的,附属品正在提供慈善工作。 慈善机构的受益者是收入丰厚的管理人员,如果没有辅助人员提供的免费劳动,他们将无法获得工作和福利。 所有附属品都为少数特权阶层提供慈善机构。 许多机构依赖于附属品的自由劳动。 即使得到补偿,补偿金额也远远低于提供的劳动力。 辅助人员的自由劳动是慈善事业。 管理员是慈善机构的收件人。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
沃尔特耶茨

沃尔特·耶茨(Walter Yeates)是一名记者,小说家和编剧,他在12月的2016中与军队退伍军人和第一人民一起登上了Standing Rock。 他介绍了Citizen Truth的一系列主题,并提供建议和建议。 Twitter:www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall或www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack:https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

1评论

  1. 史蒂文J Toce July 10, 2019

    在我看来,允许合格的教师作为志愿者教学将符合学生,家长和纳税人的最佳利益。 看到学生“获得”多变量微积分空间的魔力对我来说是足够的回报。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

University’s Job Posting Requests ‘Volunteer’ Professors

Tulane University
Tulane University. (Photo: Tulane Public Relations)

“I would 100% be on board if it was a mentoring position, that makes sense. But asking your alumni to usurp your adjunct faculty and teach actual classes for no pay, Because Giving Back, is like an SNL skit of higher ed.”

Earlier in the week, Tulane University (New Orleans, Louisiana) posted a job offer which raised eyebrows. The University posted that they were in search of Adjunct Faculty, but were indeed looking to hire someone on a volunteer basis. The original job posting can be seen below.

After several days of backlash, Tulane removed the listing from their website and closed down the application process on job boards.

Inside The Role Of Adjunct Faculty

A 2015 blog entry from Concordia University – Portland details the job responsibilities of Adjunct Faculty in a university setting. “Adjuncts may teach a course in a face-to-face setting one term, and then the next term they may teach the same course in a distance education environment using a learning management system (LMS). If you have attended an online graduate program or have worked in that environment already, then you bring additional knowledge and experience to the table.”

“When discussing adjunct faculty positions, it’s important to have a clear understanding of the position’s responsibilities since it can vary. Many of the duties expected of tenure-track professors are not required by adjuncts. Contingent faculty do not have to conduct research, publish papers, or attend staff meetings and events,” the explanation continues.

According to Law School Transparency, law students must pay $56,572 year to attend the Tulane program. Additionally, the yearly living expenses in New Orleans are estimated to be $23,196 per year.

While Tulane is a private institution, university faculty is typically paid for their work, especially when tuition is a burden for middle and working class students.  Zip Recruiter details the pay structure in Louisiana for Adjunct Faculty in the state of Louisiana.

While ZipRecruiter is seeing annual salaries as high as $105,504 and as low as $11,828, the majority of Adjunct Faculty salaries currently range between $39,268 (25th percentile) to $80,429 (75th percentile) in Louisiana. The average pay range for an Adjunct Faculty varies modestly (up to $41,161), which suggests there may be fewer opportunities for advancement based on skill level, but increased pay based on location and years of experience is still possible.

Based on recent job postings on ZipRecruiter, the Adjunct Faculty job market in both Louisiana and the surrounding area is very active. Louisiana ranks number 25 out of 50 states nationwide for Adjunct Faculty salaries.

Tulane Comments On Job Listing

“For these positions, law schools seek well-established or retired attorneys, judges and industry leaders who assume a mentoring role by teaching small groups of students in specialized areas of law in which the volunteers have demonstrated, long-term expertise and leadership.” Michael Strecker, Tulane spokesperson said to Inside Higher Ed through email. “…these volunteers are alumni who view their services as a way of giving back to the school and current students.”

The explanation did not sit well with readers on the website, one of the highest up-voted statements reading.

The Parkland students have taught me an important lesson–to cry bullsh!t when I see it. Tulane’s rationalization is bs. You can bring in unpaid experts for a workshop or a lecture, not as faculty to teach a course. Shame on Tulane for its attempt at exploitation.

Dr. Betsy Smith/Retired Adjunct Professor of ESL/Cape Cod Community College

Inside Higher Ed didn’t seem to ask follow up questions about how such a system would freeze out numerous qualified individuals from being able to fill such highly skilled volunteer positions. Nor did they ask for Strecker to provide examples of other universities who ask Adjunct Faculty to work on a volunteer basis.

Several other commenters on the article provide similar concerns.

“I would 100% be on board if it was a mentoring position, that makes sense. But asking your alumni to usurp your adjunct faculty and teach actual classes for no pay, Because Giving Back, is like an SNL skit of higher ed.”

“It’s still not acceptable for Tulane to have alumni and respected professionals in the field provide free teaching as a form of charity work to the privileged as it undermines the market for all adjunct professors and sets bad precedents.”

“As profroguerouge [username of previous commenter] points out, adjuncts are providing charity work. The beneficiaries of the charity are the well-paid administrators, who would not have jobs and benefits without the free labor provided by adjuncts. All adjuncts provide charity to the privileged few. Many institutions are dependent on the free labor of adjuncts. Even if compensated, the amount of compensation is far less than the labor provided. The free labor of adjuncts is charity. Administrators are charity recipients.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Walter Yeates

Walter Yeates is a journalist, novelist, and screenwriter who embedded at Standing Rock with military Veterans and First People in December 2016. He covers a range of topics at Citizen Truth and is open for tips and suggestions. Twitter: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall or www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

1 Comment

  1. Steven J Toce July 10, 2019

    It seems to me that allowing qualified faculty to teach as volunteers would be in the best interest of students, parents and taxpayers. Seeing students “get” the magic of multivariable calculus spaces is reward enough for me.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.