输入搜索

欧洲

土耳其警告开放叙利亚移民到欧洲的水闸

土耳其总统雷杰普·塔伊普·埃尔多安在2015会见俄罗斯总统普京。 (照片来自Kremlin.Ru)
土耳其总统雷杰普·塔伊普·埃尔多安在2015会见俄罗斯总统普京。 (照片来自Kremlin.Ru)

“我们可能不得不让他们(难民)进入欧洲寻求支持。”

土耳其总统雷杰普·塔伊普·埃尔多安在安卡拉的讲话中表示,他的国家将致力于将至少一百万难民迁移到叙利亚 - 土耳其边境的安全区,该政府将很快建立起来。

“我们的目标是让至少一百万叙利亚兄弟回到我们将沿着450km [280-mile]边界形成的安全区。 给我们后勤支持,我们可以在叙利亚北部的30km深处建造住房,“ 埃尔多安说。 “要么发生这种情况,要么我们将被迫打开大门。”

除非叙利亚难民被遣返,埃尔多安还警告欧洲新的移民浪潮。 在过去的几年里,由于叙利亚的战争,超过3.6的百万叙利亚人逃离了他们的国家并搬到了土耳其。

有争议的安全区计划

在过去几个月里,土耳其和美国已同意在叙利亚 - 土耳其边境沿线建立一个安全区。 叙利亚反对该计划,并多次呼吁土耳其从叙利亚北部领土撤军。

土耳其总统表示,安全区的基础将在9月的最后一周奠定,土耳其将继续试图与美国就建立安全区达成妥协。

该地区的叙利亚库尔德部队反对土耳其政府,他们担心土耳其将把许多原来不是该地区的叙利亚人迁移到东北部。 土耳其认为以人民保护部队(YPG)为代表的库尔德反对派部队是恐怖组织。 库尔德人想要自己的国家,不想为该地区的土耳其军队腾出空间。

除了争议之外,支持计划安全区的美国也支持YPG和库尔德部队作为对抗伊斯兰国战士的盟友。

此外,土耳其当局一直担心,目前叙利亚北部伊德利卜省的激烈战斗将迫使更多的叙利亚难民进入土耳其领土。

由于叙利亚政府部队在俄罗斯飞机的支持下继续对伊德利卜北部地区的反叛组织和所谓的圣战分子进行持续激烈镇压,数千名叙利亚平民最近逃离家园。

火鸡'关于开放移民水闸的警告

为了遏制移民和难民流入土耳其,并根据与欧洲的2016协议,土耳其政府对移民施加了更严格的限制。 作为同一协议的一部分,欧盟(EU)承诺向土耳其提供数额为6十亿欧元(约合5.4十亿美元)的资金,用于帮助土耳其庇护叙利亚难民。

然而,土耳其总统声称他的政府只收到了3十亿欧元。 欧盟代表团发言人Natasha Betaud表示,到目前为止,安卡拉已获得5十亿欧元。

埃尔多安越来越感到沮丧的是,欧洲对于土耳其与叙利亚难民的财政和后勤承诺缺乏支持和后续行动。 因此,埃尔多安发出警告说,如果计划中的安全区没有前进,他将打开移民到欧洲的洪水门。

“我们可能不得不让他们(难民)进入欧洲寻求支持,” 埃尔多安总统星期四在安卡拉举行的一次会议上说.

“在分担我们所承载的难民的负担时,我们未能得到世界,特别是欧盟的支持。 为了获得[支持],我们可能必须这样做[打开大门],“他补充道。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Rami Almeghari

Rami Almeghari是加沙地带的自由撰稿人,记者和讲师。 拉米为全球多家媒体提供英语服务,包括印刷,广播和电视。 他可以在Facebook上作为Rami Munir Almeghari和电子邮件联系 [EMAIL PROTECTED]

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

EUROPE

Turkey Warns of Opening Floodgates of Syrian Migration to Europe

President of Turkey Recep Tayyip Erdogan as he meets with Russian President Putin in 2015. (Photo by Kremlin.Ru)
President of Turkey Recep Tayyip Erdogan as he meets with Russian President Putin in 2015. (Photo by Kremlin.Ru)

“We may have to let them [the refugees] cross into Europe to get support.”

During a speech in Ankara, Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan said his country will work on removing at least one million refugees to a safe zone along the Syrian-Turkish border that his government will establish soon.

“Our goal is for at least one million of our Syrian brothers to return to the safe zone we will form along our 450km [280-mile] border. Give us logistical support and we can go and build housing at 30km depth in northern Syria,” Erdogan said. “Either this happens, or we will be forced to open the gates.”

Erdogan also warned Europe of a new migrant wave unless the Syrian refugees are repatriated. Over the past several years more than 3.6 million Syrians have fled their country and moved to Turkey due to the Syrian war.

Controversial Safe Zone Plan

In the past few months, Turkey and the United States have agreed on erecting a safe zone along the Syrian-Turkish border. Syria has opposed the plan and has repeatedly called on Turkey to withdraw forces from northern Syrian territories.

The Turkish president said that foundations for the safe zone would be laid by the last week of September and that Turkey would continue to attempt to reach a compromise with the U.S. over establishing the safe zone.

Syrian Kurdish forces in the area, which are opposed to the Turkish government, are concerned that Turkey will move many Syrians, who are not originally from the area, into the northeast. Turkey views the Kurdish opposition forces, represented by the People’s Protection Units (YPG), as a terrorist group. The Kurds want their own country and does not want to make space for the Turkish forces in the area.

Adding to the controversy, the United States, which backs the planned safe zone, also supports the YPG and Kurdish forces as allies in the war against Islamic State fighters.

Furthermore, Turkish authorities have been concerned that current heavy fighting in the northern Syrian province of Idlib would force more Syrian refugees into Turkish territories.

Due to the continued fierce crackdown by Syrian government troops, backed by Russian aircraft, on rebel groups and so-called Jihadist fighters in the northern region of Idlib, thousands of Syrian civilians have recently fled their homes.

Turkey’s Warns of Opening Migration Floodgates 

In an effort to curb the flow of migrants and refugees to Turkey and based on a 2016 agreement with Europe, the Turkish government has imposed stricter restrictions on migration. As part of the same agreement, the European Union (E.U.) pledged to grant Turkey a sum of 6 billion Euros ($5.4 billion U.S. dollars) to help Turkey shelter Syrian refugees.

However, the Turkish president has claimed his government has received only 3 billion Euros. The spokesperson of the E.U. mission, Natasha Betaud, said that so far, Ankara has received 5 billion Euros.

Erdogan has become increasingly frustrated over the perceived lack of support and follow-thru from Europe on its financial and logistical promises to aid Turkey with the Syrian refugees. Hence, Erdogan issued the warning that he would open the flood gates of immigration to Europe if the planned safe zone did not move forward.

“We may have to let them [the refugees] cross into Europe to get support,” President Erdoğan said Thursday at a meeting in Ankara.

“We haven’t been able to receive the support from the world, particularly the E.U., when it comes to sharing the burden of the refugees that we host. To receive [support], we might have to do this [opening the gates],” he added.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Rami Almeghari

Rami Almeghari is a freelance independent writer, journalist and lecturer, based in the Gaza Strip. Rami has contributed in English to several media outlets worldwide, including print, radio and TV. He can be reached on facebook as Rami Munir Almeghari and on email as [email protected]

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.