输入搜索

公司文化

“疯狂的富有亚洲人”的共同作家在支付纠纷中退出,引用好莱坞歧视

Adele Lim在加利福尼亚州圣地亚哥圣地亚哥会议中心的2013 San Diego Comic Con International演讲,演唱“Star-Crossed”。
Adele Lim在加利福尼亚州圣地亚哥圣地亚哥会议中心的2013 San Diego Comic Con International演讲,演唱“Star-Crossed”。 (照片:Gage Skidmore)

是好莱坞的性别歧视还是观众在自己的钱包中造成这种差异?

一位女性亚洲作家已经辞去了两部即将发行的续集电影的联合撰稿人 疯狂富有的亚洲人,她的白人男性合着者的收入几乎是她的十倍。

Adele Lim合作编写了原版2018重磅炸弹 疯狂富有的亚洲人 但也是一位经验丰富的电视剧作家(“王朝”,“一棵树山”),并由导演Jon M. Chu选中,以制作浪漫喜剧的续集,去年在票房上排名第一。 这部电影成为一个关键的商业粉碎,在大银幕上成为亚裔美国人代表性的突破。

Lim的原创和续集的合着者是Peter Chiarelli,他是2009的特色作家。 的议案然后继续共同编写原作的剧本 疯狂富有的亚洲人 与林. 然而,根据 IMDB.com, 他迄今只写了三个特写。

解释 在她的困境中,女性和有色人种的平凡化 - 通常被视为“酱油” - 被聘请在剧本上洒上文化上特定的细节,而不是归功于制作故事的实质性工作。

这位马来西亚出生的作家拒绝陈述她对续集的工资报价,但消息人士称,华纳兄弟公司 对于Chiarelli来说,起价为$ 110,000-plus,而$ 800,000为$ 1。

华纳兄弟表示,根据经验,Lim的销售代表被告知这些报价是行业标准的既定范围。 当谈判升级为工作室主席Toby Emmerich时,他也支持这一立场。

据消息人士称,Lim最初在一年前退出了这一提议,促使华纳兄弟今年早些时候提出了一份更接近Chiarelli的提议,他自愿与她分摊费用。 林过去了。

“皮特一直只是非常亲切,但我所做的不应该依赖于白人作家的慷慨,”林说。

她进一步解释了她所在领域标准工资率的难题:一位作家的价值取决于之前电影的引用,对于女性和少数民族等代表性不足的人来说似乎没有实际意义,因为他们一开始就没有获得过以前的机会。

过去几年好莱坞的薪酬差距问题,特别是性别问题,已经上升 - 最明显的是女演员米歇尔威廉姆斯是 支付 她的联合主演马克沃尔伯格的薪水的一小部分。 同样,在这些场景中,它可能基于演员的经验 - 或者他们作为票房抽奖的可靠状态。 如果一个明星有成功电影的重要记录,工作室似乎优先于他们在一个鲜为人知的明星经济上。

当这两位明星不是同一性别,但是好莱坞性别歧视还是观众与自己的钱包造成这种差异时会出现问题? 只有时间会告诉观众是否有更多机会让好莱坞知道他们愿意在屏幕上看到谁。

计划拍摄两部续集 疯狂富有的亚洲人 暂定为2020设定,并以Kevin Kwan的另外两本书为基础,他写了这部电影所依据的原创小说。


编辑备注:本文已更新,以更正以前的版本,错误地声称Lim不是第一个Crazy Rich Asians的共同作者。 事实上,最初的2018 Crazy Rich Asians由Lim和Chiarelli共同撰写。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

2评论

  1. 对于本文的作者,请纠正错误 - 彼得和阿黛尔CO-WROTE电影疯狂富亚洲人

    回复
    1. 劳伦冯伯纳斯 9-2019-XNUMX

      我们对错误表示歉意! 谢谢你纠正我们的错误。 这篇文章经过编辑,反映出两人都是原创电影的合着者。

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

‘Crazy Rich Asians’ Co-Writer Quits Amidst Pay Dispute, Citing Hollywood Discrimination

Adele Lim speaking at the 2013 San Diego Comic Con International, for "Star-Crossed", at the San Diego Convention Center in San Diego, California.
Adele Lim speaking at the 2013 San Diego Comic Con International, for "Star-Crossed", at the San Diego Convention Center in San Diego, California. (Photo: Gage Skidmore)

Is Hollywood sexist or are audiences creating this disparity with their own wallets?

A female Asian writer has quit as co-writer for two upcoming sequels to the blockbuster film Crazy Rich Asians, citing that her white male co-writer was set to receive nearly ten times her salary.

Adele Lim co-wrote the original 2018 blockbuster hit Crazy Rich Asians but is also a veteran TV writer (“Dynasty”, “One Tree Hill”) and was selected by director Jon M. Chu to work on the sequels to the romantic comedy, which opened at number one at the box office last year. The movie became a critical and commercial smash, celebrated as a breakthrough in representation for Asian Americans on the big screen.

Lim’s co-writer for the original and sequel was Peter Chiarelli, who broke out as a feature writer with 2009’s The Proposal, then went on to co-write the screenplay for the original Crazy Rich Asians with Lim. However, according to IMDB.com, he has only written three features to date.

Lim explained the trivialization of women and people of color in her predicament—as often being regarded as “soy sauce”—hired to sprinkle culturally specific details on a screenplay, rather than credited with the substantive work of crafting the story.

The Malaysian-born writer declined to state her salary offer for the sequels, but sources say that Warner Bros.’ starting offers were $110,000-plus for Lim—compared to $800,000 to $1 million for Chiarelli.

Warner Bros. stated that Lim’s reps were informed that these quotes are industry-standard established ranges, based on experience. When talks escalated to studio chairman Toby Emmerich, he also backed this stance.

Sources say that Lim initially walked from this offer a year ago, prompting Warner Bros. to make an offer closer to Chiarelli’s earlier this year, who had volunteered to split his fee with her. Lim passed.

“Pete has been nothing but incredibly gracious, but what I make shouldn’t be dependent on the generosity of the white-guy writer,” Lim said.

She further explained the conundrum of the standard pay rate in her field: a writer’s worth being determined by quotes from previous movies seems moot for underrepresented people such as women and minorities, who would not have obtained previous opportunities in the first place.

The issue of pay gaps, specifically between genders, has risen in Hollywood this past couple of years—most notably when actress Michelle Williams was paid a fraction of her co-star Mark Wahlberg’s salary. Again, in those scenarios, it’s presumably based on experience of the actors as well—or their proven status as box office draws. If one star has a significant track record of successful films, studios seem to prioritize them financially over a lesser known star.

Issues arise when these two stars are not the same gender, but is Hollywood sexist or are audiences creating this disparity with their own wallets? Only time will tell, if audiences are given more opportunities to let Hollywood know who they’re willing to see on screen.

Plans for shooting the two sequels to Crazy Rich Asians are tentatively set for 2020, and are based on two other books by Kevin Kwan, who wrote the original novel the film is based on.


Editors Note: This article has been updated to correct a previous version which mistakingly claimed Lim was not a co-writer on the first Crazy Rich Asians. The original 2018 Crazy Rich Asians was, in fact, co-written by both Lim and Chiarelli.  

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

2 Comments

  1. To the writer of this article, please correct the mistakes — Peter and Adele CO-WROTE the film Crazy Rich Asians

    Reply
    1. Lauren von Bernuth September 9, 2019

      Our apologies for the error! Thank you for correcting our mistake. The article has been edited to reflect that both were co-writers on the original movie.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.