输入搜索

非洲

美国正在利用武装无人机打击尼日尔日益增长的恐怖主义

MQ-9收割者无人机
一架MQ-9 Reaper无人机在阿富汗南部飞行作战任务。 美国空军的照片/ Leslie Pratt中校[公共领域],来自Wikimedia Commons

美国已经开始运作 非洲国家的武装无人机。 这是为了回应该国日益增长的极端主义率和去年对美国士兵的袭击。 10月4,2017,四名美国绿色贝雷帽因在尼日尔发生的伏击而丧生,引发了对美国在该国的支持不足的担忧。 在该国飞行的武装无人机可能会让当地武装分子有所思考。

美国军方在尼日尔拥有800美国士兵,多年来一直在该国运营非武装无人机。 随着10月4伏击,美国非洲司令部(AFRICOM)首席将军Thomas Waldhauser面临越来越大的压力,要求增加无人机攻击能力。 根据他的说法,他将为AFRICOM部队增加更多装甲车辆,增加火力部队携带和更频繁地使用无人机。

武装无人机是MQ-9 Reapers。 美国军方使用MQ-9 Reaper无人机在阿富汗南部执行战斗任务,装备有GBU-12宝石路II激光制导弹药和AGM-114地狱火导弹。 尼日尔武装MQ-9 Reaper无人机的出现得到了尼日尔国防部长Kalla Mountari的热烈欢迎,他欢迎这一想法,称“他们(美国)已经接听了我们的电话。”他说在尼日尔使用武装无人机将阻止顽固恐怖分子。

“与他们(极端分子)攻击和消失之前不同,知道我们没有追求它们的手段,现在他们将被猎杀并从上面取出,” Mountari说.

AFRICOM的武装侦察任务目前正在该国首都尼亚美的军事基地开展。 但该任务后来将转移到目前正在尼日尔中部阿加德兹建造的另一个基地。 该基地将被称为Air Base 201。

非洲发言人Karl Wiest表示,各种极端主义团体正在尼日尔和整个地区开展活动,但目前它们并不构成对美国的直接威胁。 但是,他认为必须加以控制,以阻止他们在该地区变得过于强大或成为美国的关注

“尼日尔位于战略位置,三个战线位于利比亚,马里和尼日利亚的恐怖组织,”少校卡尔维斯特说。 “我们通过与盟友和合作伙伴共同努力,确保在全球范围内为恐怖分子提供安全避难所,从而确保尼日尔的国家战略利益。”

非洲:美国秘密非洲使命

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AFRICA

US is Using Armed Drones to Combat Increasing Terrorism in Niger

MQ-9 Reaper drone
An MQ-9 Reaper unmanned aerial vehicle flies a combat mission over southern Afghanistan. By U.S. Air Force Photo / Lt. Col. Leslie Pratt [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

The United States has begun to operate armed drones in the African country of Niger. This is in response to the perceived growing rate of extremism in the country and an attack on U.S. soldiers last year. On October 4, 2017, four U.S. Green Berets were killed in an ambush in Niger, raising concern U.S. operations were insufficiently supported in the country. Flying armed drones in the country may give local militants something to think about.

With up to 800 U.S. soldiers in Niger, the U.S. military had been operating unarmed drones in the country for many years. With the October 4 ambush, there was increasing pressure on U.S. Africa Command (AFRICOM) chief Gen. Thomas Waldhauser to increase drone attack capabilities. According to him, he will be adding more armored vehicles to AFRICOM forces, raising the firepower troops carry and using drones more often.

The armed drones are MQ-9 Reapers. The U.S. military has used MQ-9 Reaper drones to fly combat missions in southern Afghanistan, armed with GBU-12 Paveway II laser-guided munitions and AGM-114 Hellfire missiles. The appearance of armed MQ-9 Reaper drones in Niger was warmly received by Niger Defense Minister Kalla Mountari who welcomed the idea, saying “they (the U.S.) have answered our call.” He said the use of armed drones in Niger will deter stubborn terrorists.

“Unlike before when they (extremists) attack and disappear, knowing we don’t have the means of pursuing them, now they would be hunted and taken out from above,” Mountari said.

AFRICOM’s armed surveillance mission is currently being operated at a military base in Niamey, the country capital. But the mission will later move to another base that is currently undergoing construction in Agadez, central Niger. The base will be known as Air Base 201.

AFRICOM spokesman Maj. Karl Wiest said various extremist groups are operating in Niger and the entire region, but they don’t constitute a direct threat to the U.S. at the moment. However, he believed they must be kept in check to deter them from becoming too powerful in the region or becoming a concern to the U.S.

“Niger is in a strategic location surrounded on three fronts by terrorist organizations based in Libya, Mali, and Nigeria,” said Maj. Karl Wiest. “We secure national strategic interests in Niger by working by, with, and through allies and partners to deny safe havens to terrorists with global reach.”

 

AFRICOM: US Covert Mission in Africa

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.