اكتب للبحث

تحليل الحرب ضد

الولايات المتحدة تتخلى رسمياً عن صفقة الأسلحة النووية في فترة الحرب الباردة ، ماذا بعد؟

إدارة المحفوظات والسجلات الوطنية ، ARC Identifier 198588 ، من باب المجاملة مكتبة رونالد ريجان الرئاسية: 8 December 1987
(الآراء والآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلفين ولا تعكس آراء Citizen Truth.)

لقد تحدثنا مع روسيا حول الاتفاق النووي. الصين متحمسة جدا لذلك أيضا. "- الرئيس ترامب

انسحبت الولايات المتحدة رسميًا من الاتفاق النووي الاستراتيجي في حقبة الحرب الباردة الذي تم توقيعه في 1987 ، والمعروفة باسم القوات النووية متوسطة المدى (INF) ، متهمةً روسيا مرارًا وتكرارًا بانتهاك الاتفاقية على الرغم من إنكار موسكو.

وحظر الاتفاق الذي وقعه الرئيس الأمريكي آنذاك رونالد ريغان والزعيم السوفيتي ميخائيل غورباتشوف كلا البلدين من تطوير وامتلاك ونشر واختبار صواريخ باليستية متوسطة المدى تعمل بالوسائل النووية وبمدى يتراوح بين 300 إلى أميال 3,000.

خلال المنتدى الأمني ​​لرابطة أمم جنوب شرق آسيا في بانكوك ، تايلاند ، أعلن وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبو خروج واشنطن الرسمي من معاهدة الحد من الأسلحة. كما ألقي باللوم على روسيا بعد دقائق قليلة من إعلان روسيا وفاة المشتبه فيه ، كما ذكرت شبكة سي إن إن.

وقال بومبيو: "روسيا هي وحدها المسؤولة عن زوال المعاهدة" ، مضيفًا أن موسكو قد فشلت في الامتثال الكامل للمعاهدة من قبل. باستخدام صاروخ 9M729 ذي القدرة النووية ، أو SSC-8 ، كما أطلق عليها حلف الناتو (منظمة حلف شمال الأطلسي).

في الإصدار الفوري للبنتاغون في أغسطس 2 ، تضمن وزير الدفاع الأمريكي مارك إسبير تصريح الأمين العام لحلف الناتو ينس ستولتنبرغ بأن الولايات المتحدة قد امتثلت للصفقة المنهارة.

الحقائق واضحة. يقوم الاتحاد الروسي بإنتاج إمكانات هجومية تم حظرها بموجب معاهدة الوقود النووي (INF) ونشرها. إن الخرق المادي لروسيا يؤدي إلى تآكل أساس الرقابة الفعالة على الأسلحة وأمن الولايات المتحدة وحلفائنا وشركائنا. كما ذكر الأمين العام لحلف الناتو ينس ستولتنبرغ اليوم ، موقف الناتو موحد وواضح: روسيا تنتهك معاهدة الوقود النووي المشع. الولايات المتحدة ليست كذلك " وذكر الافراج.

في فبراير ، هددت واشنطن بالانسحاب من INF ما لم تنقض موسكو عن برنامج 9M729 الذي تم تقديمه في الشهر السابق. جادلت روسيا بأن الصاروخ الجديد لم ينتهك الوقود النووي المشع لأن الحد الأقصى لمدى انتشاره هو الحد في الاتفاق.

وقال ميخائيل ماتيففسكي ، رئيس قوات المدفعية والصواريخ الروسية ، "لقد كانت روسيا في حالة امتثال ، وما زالت في حالة امتثال صارم لشروط المعاهدة ولا تسمح بأي انتهاكات". Euractiv.

تجاهلت روسيا اتهام واشنطن

نفت روسيا انتهاكها لاتفاقية الوقود النووي ، وانتقدت واشنطن للمبالغة في ادعاءات تبرير تطوير أسلحة جديدة.

أشارت موسكو إلى انسحاب واشنطن من معاهدة الصواريخ المضادة للصواريخ الباليستية في عهد جورج دبليو بوش في 2002. لقد منعت الاتفاقية التي انتهت صلاحيتها الآن واشنطن وموسكو من إقامة دفاعات وطنية ضد الصواريخ الباليستية الاستراتيجية.

في 2014 ، انتقد الرئيس الأمريكي آنذاك باراك أوباما روسيا لخرقها اتفاق الوقود النووي المشع في أعقاب صاروخ كروز أطلقته موسكو من الأرض. قرر أوباما عدم الانسحاب بسبب ضغط من حلفاء واشنطن الأوروبيين ، كذلك وذكرت هيئة الإذاعة البريطانية.

المستقبل غير المؤكد لاتفاق نووي جديد

أثار الخروج الرسمي لواشنطن من الوقود النووي المشكل قلقًا بشأن سباق التسلح المحتمل ، رغم أن الناتو صرح بأنه لا يتوقع سباق تسلح جديدًا أو قرارًا بنشر رأس حربي نووي في أوروبا.

مستقبل معاهدة أخرى للتحكم النووي تعرف باسم START (معاهدة تخفيض الأسلحة الاستراتيجية) ، الموقع في 2010 ، لا يزال غير واضح ، حيث أعلن مستشار الأمن القومي الأمريكي جون بولتون في يونيو الماضي أن البيت الأبيض لن يمدد المعاهدة بعد تاريخ انتهاء الصلاحية في 2021.

تهدف START إلى تقييد عدد الرؤوس الحربية بين القارات التي تم نشرها بين روسيا والولايات المتحدة بما لا يزيد عن 700 ، بما في ذلك تلك التي تم إطلاقها من السفن.

أعرب الرئيس دونالد ترامب عن اهتمامه بإدراج الصين في معاهدة نووية جديدة مع روسيا في اجتماع G-20 في أوساكا في نهاية يونيو. ستتألف المعاهدة القادمة من جميع أنواع الأسلحة لأن INF لم يمنع الصواريخ التي تطلق من الجو والبحر.

لقد تحدثنا مع روسيا حول الاتفاق النووي. تحدث ترامب إلى الصحفيين خارج البيت الأبيض كما كتب RT.

ترحب روسيا بهذه الفكرة. ومع ذلك ، يبدو أن الصين تحجم عن إدراجها في الصفقة الجديدة ، مدعية أن بكين ليست بنفس مستوى روسيا والولايات المتحدة ، من حيث الرؤوس الحربية النووية.

وقال سفير الصين الجديد لدى الأمم المتحدة ، تشانغ جون ، "إن الولايات المتحدة تقول إن الصين يجب أن تكون طرفًا في اتفاقية نزع السلاح هذه ، لكنني أعتقد أن الجميع يعلم أن الصين ليست على نفس المستوى مع الولايات المتحدة والاتحاد الروسي". ، مثل كتب Globalnews.

على الرغم من انخفاض عدد الرؤوس الحربية ، لا تزال الولايات المتحدة وروسيا تسيطران على إجمالي عدد الرؤوس الحربية في العالم (حوالي 6,000 لكل منهما) ، في حين أن الصين لديها فقط حوالي 280 في المجموع ، وأظهرت بيانات SIPRI.

إما الصين أو روسيا قد يلقي ظلالا من الشك على عقد اتفاق جديد مع واشنطن في أعقاب انسحاب الأخير من صفقة إيران و INF.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
ياسمين رشيدي

ياسمين كاتبة وخريجة العلوم السياسية بالجامعة الوطنية بجاكرتا. وهي تغطي مجموعة متنوعة من المواضيع لحقيقة المواطن ، بما في ذلك منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ ، والصراعات الدولية وقضايا حرية الصحافة. عملت ياسمين في وكالة شينخوا الإندونيسية و GeoStrategist سابقًا. تكتب من جاكرتا ، اندونيسيا.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

  1. لاري ستاوت أغسطس 5، 2019

    يبدو المتفائلون حول الحالة الإنسانية أعمى بسبب انبهار التقدم التكنولوجي المتزايد. إنها رائعة بالفعل. لكننا ما زلنا نفس الكائنات الوحشية التي هزت الدماء والغنائم مع أمثال ألكساندر وتيمور. ثم استخدمنا السيوف ، والآن نستخدم الرؤوس الحربية ، وهو "تقدم تكنولوجي هائل".

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ANALYSIS ANTI WAR

US Formally Quits the Cold War-Era Nuclear Deal, What’s Next?

National Archives and Records Administration ARC Identifier 198588, courtesy Ronald Reagan Presidential Library: 8 December 1987
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

“We’ve been speaking with Russia about the pact for nuclear. China is very excited about it too.” – President Trump

The U.S. officially withdrew from the Cold War-era strategic nuclear deal signed in 1987, known as the Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces (INF), repeatedly accusing Russia of breaching the agreement despite Moscow’s denial.

The agreement, signed by then-U.S. President Ronald Reagan and Soviet leader Mikhail Gorbachev, banned both countries from developing, possessing, deploying and testing ground-launched and nuclear medium-range ballistic missiles with ranges of approximately 300 to 3,000 miles.

During the ASEAN security forum in Bangkok, Thailand, U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo announced Washington’s formal exit from the arms control pact. He also put the blame on Russia a few minutes after Russia declared the INF had died, as CNN reported.

“Russia is solely responsible for the treaty’s demise,” Pompeo said, adding that Moscow had failed to fully comply with the treaty by utilizing the land-based nuclear-capable 9M729 missile, or the SSC-8, as NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization) called it.

In the Pentagon’s immediate release on August 2, U.S. Secretary of Defense Mark Esper included NATO Secretary-General Jens Stoltenberg’s statement that the U.S. has complied with the collapsed deal.

“The facts are clear. The Russian Federation is producing and fielding an offensive capability that was prohibited by the INF Treaty. Russia’s material breach erodes the foundation of effective arms control and the security of the United States and our allies and partners. As stated by NATO Secretary-General Jens Stoltenberg today, NATO’s position is united and clear: Russia is in violation of the INF Treaty. The United States is not,” the release stated.

In February, Washington threatened to quit the INF unless Moscow reversed its 9M729 program introduced the previous month. Russia argued that the new missile did not violate the INF as its maximum range is the limit in the accord.

“Russia was in compliance and continues to be in strict compliance with the stipulations of the treaty and does not allow any violations,” Mikhail Matveevsky, Russia’s head of artillery and missile troops, told Euractiv.

Russia Snubbed Washington’s Accusation

Russia denied violating the INF deal, slamming Washington for exaggerating claims to justify the development of new weapons.

Moscow cited Washington’s withdrawal from the Anti-Ballistic Missile Treaty under George W. Bush in 2002. The now-defunct pact prevented Washington and Moscow from stationing nationwide defenses against strategic ballistic missiles.

In 2014, then-U.S. President Barack Obama slammed Russia for breaching the INF accord following Moscow’s ground-launched cruise missile. Obama decided not to pull out due to pressure from Washington’s European allies, as BBC reported.

The Uncertain Future of a New Nuclear Accord

Washington’s formal exit from the INF has raised concern over the possible arms race, even though NATO stated it does not expect a new arms race or a decision to deploy a nuclear warhead in Europe.

The future of another nuclear control pact known as START (Strategic Arms Reduction Treaty), signed in 2010, is still unclear, as U.S. National Security Advisor John Bolton declared last June that the White House would not extend the treaty after the expiry date in 2021.

START aims to restrict the number of inter-continental warheads Russia and the U.S. deployed to no more than 700, including those launched from vessels.

President Donald Trump expressed his interest in including China in a new nuclear pact along with Russia in the G-20 meeting in Osaka at the end of June. The upcoming treaty will consist of all types of weapons since the INF did not bar missiles launched from the air and the sea.

“We’ve been speaking with Russia about the pact for nuclear. China is very excited about it too,” Trump spoke to reporters outside the White House as RT wrote.

Russia welcomes the idea. However, China seems to be reluctant to be included in the new deal, claiming that Beijing is not at the same level as Russia and the U.S., in terms of nuclear warheads.

“The United States is saying China should be a party in this disarmament agreement, but I think everybody knows that China is not at the same level with the United States and the Russian Federation,” said China’s new ambassador to the United Nations, Zhang Jun, as Globalnews wrote.

Despite the decrease in the numbers of warheads, the U.S. and Russia still control the world’s total number of warheads (around 6,000 each), while China only has about 280 in total, the SIPRI data showed.

Either China or Russia may cast doubt over making a new agreement with Washington following the latter’s withdrawal from the Iran deal and the INF.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout August 5, 2019

    Optimists about the human condition seem blinded by the increasing dazzle of technological advancements. They are wonderful indeed. But we are still the same savage beings who rampaged for blood and booty with the likes of Alexander and Timur. Then we wielded swords, now we wield warheads, which is a tremendous technological “advancement”.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.