输入搜索

分析 反战

美国正式退出冷战 - 时代的核协议,下一步是什么?

国家档案和记录管理局ARC标识符198588,礼貌罗纳德里根总统图书馆:8十二月1987
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

“我们一直在与俄罗斯谈论核协议。 中国对此也感到非常兴奋。“ - 特朗普总统

美国正式退出在1987签署的冷战时期战略核协议,称为中程核力量(INF),一再指责俄罗斯违反协议,尽管莫斯科否认。

该协议由当时的美国总统罗纳德里根和苏联领导人戈尔巴乔夫签署,禁止两国开发,拥有,部署和测试射程约为300至3,000里程的地面发射和核中程弹道导弹。

在泰国曼谷举行的东盟安全论坛期间,美国国务卿迈克庞培宣布华盛顿正式退出军控协议。 正如美国有线电视新闻网报道的那样,在俄罗斯宣布INF已经死亡几分钟后,他也将责任归咎于俄罗斯。

“俄罗斯对该条约的灭亡负全部责任,”庞培说,并指出莫斯科未能完全遵守该条约。 利用陆基核能9M729导弹, 或北约(北大西洋公约组织)称其为SSC-8。

在五角大楼8月2的立即释放中,美国国防部长马克埃斯佩尔包括北约秘书长延斯斯托尔滕贝格的声明,即美国已经遵守了这项倒闭的交易。

“事实清楚。 俄罗斯联邦正在制造和发挥INF条约所禁止的进攻能力。 俄罗斯的重大破坏侵蚀了有效军备控制的基础以及美国及其盟国和伙伴的安全。 正如北约秘书长延斯斯托尔滕贝格今天所说,北约的立场是团结一致的:俄罗斯违反了INF条约。 美国不是,“ 发布声明。

2月,华盛顿威胁要退出INF,除非莫斯科推翻了上个月推出的9M729计划。 俄罗斯认为新型导弹没有违反INF,因为它的最大射程是该协议的极限。

俄罗斯炮兵和导弹部队负责人米哈伊尔·马特维耶夫斯基说:“俄罗斯遵守了条约的规定,并且继续严格遵守条约的规定,不允许任何违法行为。” Euractiv.

俄罗斯不屑一顾华盛顿的指控

俄罗斯否认违反了INF协议,抨击华盛顿夸大声称为开发新武器辩护。

莫斯科引用华盛顿在新西兰国立大学中退出乔治·W·布什领导下的“反弹道导弹条约”。 现已解散的协议阻止华盛顿和莫斯科在全国范围内对抗战略弹道导弹。

在2014,当时的美国总统巴拉克•奥巴马(Barack Obama)在莫斯科地面发射巡航导弹之后抨击俄罗斯违反INF协议。 由于来自华盛顿欧洲盟友的压力,奥巴马决定不退出 英国广播公司报道.

新核协议的不确定未来

华盛顿正式退出INF,引发了人们对可能的军备竞赛的担忧,尽管北约表示不会期待新的军备竞赛或决定在欧洲部署核弹头。

另一个称为START的核控制协议的未来(战略武器削减条约), 美国国家安全顾问约翰博尔顿去年6月宣布白宫不会在2010到期日后延长条约,因此目前仍不清楚是否签署了2021。

START旨在限制俄罗斯和美国部署的洲际弹头数量不超过700,包括从船只发射的弹头。

唐纳德特朗普总统表示有兴趣在6月底的大阪G-20会议上将中国与俄罗斯一起纳入新的核协议。 即将举行的条约将包括所有类型的武器,因为INF没有禁止从空中和海上发射的导弹。

“我们一直在与俄罗斯谈论核协议。 中国对此也感到非常兴奋,“特朗普在白宫外对记者说,正如RT写的那样。

俄罗斯欢迎这一想法。 然而,就核弹头而言,中国似乎不愿意被纳入新协议,声称北京与俄罗斯和美国的水平不同。

“美国说中国应该成为这个裁军协议的一方,但我想大家都知道中国与美国和俄罗斯联邦不在同一水平,”中国新任驻联合国大使张军说。 ,作为 Globalnews写道。

SIPRI的数据显示,尽管弹头数量有所减少,但美国和俄罗斯仍控制着全球弹头总数(每个6,000左右),而中国仅有280左右。

无论是中国还是俄罗斯都可能对在华盛顿退出伊朗协议和INF之后与华盛顿达成新协议产生怀疑。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 八月5,2019

    Optimists about the human condition seem blinded by the increasing dazzle of technological advancements. They are wonderful indeed. But we are still the same savage beings who rampaged for blood and booty with the likes of Alexander and Timur. Then we wielded swords, now we wield warheads, which is a tremendous technological “advancement”.

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANALYSIS ANTI WAR

US Formally Quits the Cold War-Era Nuclear Deal, What’s Next?

National Archives and Records Administration ARC Identifier 198588, courtesy Ronald Reagan Presidential Library: 8 December 1987
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

“We’ve been speaking with Russia about the pact for nuclear. China is very excited about it too.” – President Trump

The U.S. officially withdrew from the Cold War-era strategic nuclear deal signed in 1987, known as the Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces (INF), repeatedly accusing Russia of breaching the agreement despite Moscow’s denial.

The agreement, signed by then-U.S. President Ronald Reagan and Soviet leader Mikhail Gorbachev, banned both countries from developing, possessing, deploying and testing ground-launched and nuclear medium-range ballistic missiles with ranges of approximately 300 to 3,000 miles.

During the ASEAN security forum in Bangkok, Thailand, U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo announced Washington’s formal exit from the arms control pact. He also put the blame on Russia a few minutes after Russia declared the INF had died, as CNN reported.

“Russia is solely responsible for the treaty’s demise,” Pompeo said, adding that Moscow had failed to fully comply with the treaty by utilizing the land-based nuclear-capable 9M729 missile, or the SSC-8, as NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization) called it.

In the Pentagon’s immediate release on August 2, U.S. Secretary of Defense Mark Esper included NATO Secretary-General Jens Stoltenberg’s statement that the U.S. has complied with the collapsed deal.

“The facts are clear. The Russian Federation is producing and fielding an offensive capability that was prohibited by the INF Treaty. Russia’s material breach erodes the foundation of effective arms control and the security of the United States and our allies and partners. As stated by NATO Secretary-General Jens Stoltenberg today, NATO’s position is united and clear: Russia is in violation of the INF Treaty. The United States is not,” the release stated.

In February, Washington threatened to quit the INF unless Moscow reversed its 9M729 program introduced the previous month. Russia argued that the new missile did not violate the INF as its maximum range is the limit in the accord.

“Russia was in compliance and continues to be in strict compliance with the stipulations of the treaty and does not allow any violations,” Mikhail Matveevsky, Russia’s head of artillery and missile troops, told Euractiv.

Russia Snubbed Washington’s Accusation

Russia denied violating the INF deal, slamming Washington for exaggerating claims to justify the development of new weapons.

Moscow cited Washington’s withdrawal from the Anti-Ballistic Missile Treaty under George W. Bush in 2002. The now-defunct pact prevented Washington and Moscow from stationing nationwide defenses against strategic ballistic missiles.

In 2014, then-U.S. President Barack Obama slammed Russia for breaching the INF accord following Moscow’s ground-launched cruise missile. Obama decided not to pull out due to pressure from Washington’s European allies, as BBC reported.

The Uncertain Future of a New Nuclear Accord

Washington’s formal exit from the INF has raised concern over the possible arms race, even though NATO stated it does not expect a new arms race or a decision to deploy a nuclear warhead in Europe.

The future of another nuclear control pact known as START (Strategic Arms Reduction Treaty), signed in 2010, is still unclear, as U.S. National Security Advisor John Bolton declared last June that the White House would not extend the treaty after the expiry date in 2021.

START aims to restrict the number of inter-continental warheads Russia and the U.S. deployed to no more than 700, including those launched from vessels.

President Donald Trump expressed his interest in including China in a new nuclear pact along with Russia in the G-20 meeting in Osaka at the end of June. The upcoming treaty will consist of all types of weapons since the INF did not bar missiles launched from the air and the sea.

“We’ve been speaking with Russia about the pact for nuclear. China is very excited about it too,” Trump spoke to reporters outside the White House as RT wrote.

Russia welcomes the idea. However, China seems to be reluctant to be included in the new deal, claiming that Beijing is not at the same level as Russia and the U.S., in terms of nuclear warheads.

“The United States is saying China should be a party in this disarmament agreement, but I think everybody knows that China is not at the same level with the United States and the Russian Federation,” said China’s new ambassador to the United Nations, Zhang Jun, as Globalnews wrote.

Despite the decrease in the numbers of warheads, the U.S. and Russia still control the world’s total number of warheads (around 6,000 each), while China only has about 280 in total, the SIPRI data showed.

Either China or Russia may cast doubt over making a new agreement with Washington following the latter’s withdrawal from the Iran deal and the INF.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout August 5, 2019

    Optimists about the human condition seem blinded by the increasing dazzle of technological advancements. They are wonderful indeed. But we are still the same savage beings who rampaged for blood and booty with the likes of Alexander and Timur. Then we wielded swords, now we wield warheads, which is a tremendous technological “advancement”.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.