输入搜索

欧洲

鲍里斯约翰逊现在负责管理英国退欧

新英国首相鲍里斯约翰逊。 (照片:Arno Mikkor EU2017EE)
新英国首相鲍里斯约翰逊。 (照片:Arno Mikkor EU2017EE)

英国新首相鲍里斯·约翰逊(Boris Johnson)鼓励英国在没有“退出协议”的情况下离开欧盟。

“美国总理鲍里斯·约翰逊周一推动英国接近欧盟的无交易退出,坚称他不会与欧盟领导人进行脱欧谈判,除非欧盟解除其拒绝重新开放现有的离婚协议,”美联社(美联社) ) 报道 几天前,关于英国新总理对英国脱欧局势动荡的看法。

然而,正如Citizen Truth在4月报道的那样 库珀比尔 根据英国法律,从技术上讲,“无交易”英国脱欧是非法的。 这意味着英国必须在10月31st截止日期前与欧盟(EU)达成正式协议,该协议是在欧盟理事会主席唐纳德·图斯克(Donald Tusk)监督第二 文章50扩展 四月为英国。

约翰逊的障碍令人生畏

尽管库珀法案存在,但美联社的报告仍在继续,“约翰逊上周赢得保守党领导力竞赛后成为首相,承诺强烈支持英国脱欧党成员,英国将在10月的预定日期离开欧盟。 31,无论有没有离婚协议,“这本身带来了许多其他问题。

目前英镑正在下跌,数百万英国公民参加第二次公投,欧盟在英国退欧情况下具有所有谈判影响力 - 由于该集团拥有巨大的经济实力。
“约翰逊坚持要求取消”不民主“的支持 - 这将使北爱尔兰保持单一的市场规则,而整个英国的关税联盟将避免在爱尔兰岛上建立一个强硬边界 - 这对于达成协议是必要的。对英国离职的条款进行了调查,“卫报”提到另一位约翰逊 需求 在与欧盟的谈判过程中,在宣布他将派遣他的欧盟高级顾问大卫弗罗斯特在即将到来的一周内与欧盟会晤时。
彼得弗拉纳根详细解释了问题 爱尔兰边境,它被称为“逆止器”:
双方都同意,北爱尔兰(英国的一部分)和仍在欧盟的爱尔兰共和国之间不存在任何实际边界。 这是因为重新引入海关管制会导致跨境贸易的延误和成本,每年的价值超过3亿欧元(3.3亿)。 此外,返回检查站和了望塔可能会危及该地区来之不易的和平。
...
在没有交易的英国脱欧的情况下,爱尔兰政府面临着一个棘手的困境。 要么它同意恢复边界,要么冒着被赶出欧洲单一市场的风险。 那是因为没有边境检查,北爱尔兰可以被用作进入欧盟的所谓后门。 例如,巴西牛肉可以运到贝尔法斯特,穿过开放的边境,并无缝地送到欧盟的其他地方。 Varadkar将某种形式的支票描述为“我们必须支付的价格”,以保护爱尔兰人继续进入欧盟单一市场。 因此,他必须说服欧盟其他国家,任何不涉及边境检查的控制系统都足以防止单一市场充斥着不合标准的货物。
如果英国没有第二次公投或与欧盟达成某种协议,那么英国在离开欧盟时通过北爱尔兰绕过欧盟的可能性的障碍将继续成为一个紧张的话题。

约翰逊会成功在哪里失败吗?

由于英国情绪开始偏向社会民主党英国工党,许多国会议员(国会议员)公开支持第二次公投,而英国退欧对现在由约翰逊领导的自由党 - 保守党保守党持续发生灾难 - 它是不太可能他会有很多政治资本来改变议会或欧盟的思想。

独立传达了 人气问题 由于他对英国退欧情况的威胁和处理,约翰逊面临:

根据一项新的民意调查显示,鲍里斯约翰逊政府在担任总理的第一周之后,在过去40年度的任何其他新政府中都比较不受欢迎。 四分之三(75%)的选民已经对新政府的表现感到不满,相比之下只有18%的人表示满意。 益普索森 调查。

在57公司的民意调查中,-40的净满意度评级是最差的,并且明显低于12月31给予John Major新政府的下一个最差的-1990评级。

这一调查结果可能部分反映了部长们在10月份没有达成协议的情况下一再威胁要将英国赶出欧盟 - 此举遭到一半选民的反对。

然而,这项调查确实为约翰逊提供了一些好消息,因为52%的人有信心他会成为更优秀的总理,而27%则表示反对党领袖杰里米科尔宾是工党。 然而,只有33%认为约翰逊能够为英国获得良好的英国脱欧协议,而64%认为不太可能。 另一个74%预计在10月31st截止日期前不会达成任何协议。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
沃尔特耶茨

沃尔特·耶茨(Walter Yeates)是一名记者,小说家和编剧,他在12月的2016中与军队退伍军人和第一人民一起登上了Standing Rock。 他介绍了Citizen Truth的一系列主题,并提供建议和建议。 Twitter:www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall或www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack:https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 八月5,2019

    政府对理论和实践,原则和行动,公共宣言和动机的巨大分离。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

EUROPE

Boris Johnson Now Responsible for Managing Brexit

New UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson. (Photo: Arno Mikkor EU2017EE)
New UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson. (Photo: Arno Mikkor EU2017EE)

Britain’s new Prime Minister Boris Johnson is encouraging the UK to leave the EU without a ‘withdrawal agreement.’

“Prime Minister Boris Johnson pushed Britain closer to a no-deal exit from the European Union on Monday, insisting he will not hold Brexit talks with EU leaders unless the bloc lifts its refusal to reopen the existing divorce deal,” the Associated Press (AP) reported several days ago regarding the new Prime Minister of the United Kingdom’s bullish approach towards the tumultuous Brexit situation.

However, as reported by Citizen Truth in April, the Cooper Bill technically makes a ‘no-deal’ Brexit illegal under U.K. law. This means that the U.K. must come to a formal agreement with the European Union (EU) before the October 31st deadline, which came about after EU Council President Donald Tusk oversaw a second article 50 extension for the U.K. in April.

Johnson’s Hurdles Are Daunting

Despite the existence of the Cooper Bill, the AP report continues, “Johnson became prime minister last week after winning a Conservative Party leadership contest by promising the strongly pro-Brexit party membership that the U.K. will leave the EU on the scheduled date of Oct. 31, with or without a divorce deal,” which in itself brings a host of other issues along with it.

The British pound is currently dropping, along with millions of U.K. citizens for a Second Referendum, and the EU having all the negotiating leverage when it comes to the Brexit situation – due to the massive economic power attached to the bloc.
“Johnson has insisted that removal of the “undemocratic” backstop – which would keep Northern Ireland under single market regulations and the whole of the UK in a customs union to avoid a hard border on the island of Ireland – is necessary for a deal to be struck on the terms of the UK’s departure,” said The Guardian in reference to another Johnson demand during the negotiating process with the EU, after announcing he was sending his senior EU advisor David Frost to meet with the bloc during the upcoming week.
Peter Flanagan explains in detail the issue with the Irish border, which has become known as the “backstop”:
Both sides agree there should be no physical border between Northern Ireland, which is part of the U.K., and the Republic of Ireland, which remains in the EU. That’s because a reintroduction of customs controls would impose delays and costs on cross-border trade that’s worth more than 3 billion euros ($3.3 billion) a year. Moreover, a return to checkpoints and watchtowers could endanger the region’s hard-won peace.
The Irish government faces a knotty dilemma in the event of a no-deal Brexit. Either it agrees to reinstate the border or runs the risk of being booted out of the European single market. That’s because without border checks, Northern Ireland could be used as a so-called back door into the EU. Brazilian beef, for example, could be shipped to Belfast, moved across an open border and sent seamlessly on to the rest of the EU. Varadkar has described some form of checks as the “price we have to pay” to protect continued Irish access to the EU’s single market. He must therefore convince the rest of the EU that any system of controls not involving border checks would be enough to prevent the single market from being flooded with sub-standard goods.
The hurdles associated with the possibility of the U.K. circumventing the EU through Northern Ireland while leaving the EU is going to remain a topic of tension if the U.K. doesn’t have a Second Referendum or come to some sort of agreement with the EU.

Will Johnson Succeed Where May Failed?

With U.K. sentiment beginning to favor the Social Democratic U.K. Labour Party, where many sitting MPs (Members of Parliament) are openly supportive of a Second Referendum, and Brexit being an ongoing disaster for the Liberal-Conservative Conservative Party, now led by Johnson – it’s unlikely he will have much political capital to change minds with Parliament or the EU.

The Independent conveys the popularity issues Johnson faces due to his threats and handling of the Brexit situation:

 

Boris Johnson’s government is more unpopular after his first week as prime minister than any other incoming administration in the last 40 years, according to a new poll. Three-quarters (75 percent) of voters are already dissatisfied with the new government’s performance, compared to just 18 percent who are satisfied, according to an Ipsos Mori survey.

The net satisfaction rating of -57 is the worst for any incoming government in 40 years of the company’s polling, and is significantly lower than the next worst rating of -31 given to John Major’s new government in December 1990.

The finding is likely to in part reflect ministers’ repeated threats to take Britain out of the EU without a deal on 31 October – a move opposed by half of voters.

 

However, the survey does detail some good news for Johnson as 52% of those asked have faith he would make a better Prime Minister, while 27% said opposition leader Jeremy Corbyn of the Labour Party. Yet, only 33% feel Johnson will be able to secure a good Brexit deal for the U.K., while 64% find it unlikely. Another 74% do not expect any deal to be in place by the October 31st deadline.

 

 

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Walter Yeates

Walter Yeates is a journalist, novelist, and screenwriter who embedded at Standing Rock with military Veterans and First People in December 2016. He covers a range of topics at Citizen Truth and is open for tips and suggestions. Twitter: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall or www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout August 5, 2019

    Such a vast disconnection of theory and practice, principle and action, public declarations and motives, in governments.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.