输入搜索

健康/ SCI / TECH

美国地图计划制定人工智能指南

人工智能(图片由中国提供)
人工智能(图片由中国提供)

“参与AI标准制定的人必须了解并遵守美国政府的政策和原则,包括那些涉及社会和道德问题,治理和隐私的政策和原则。”

根据美国商务部国家标准与技术研究所(NIST)的数据,人工智能(AI)标准应具有刺激创新的灵活性,同时具有防止技术造成伤害的结构。 为了确保这一点,在8月9th,NIST公布了“一项优先考虑联邦机构参与制定人工智能标准的计划”。

该计划在题为“美国人工智能领导:联邦参与制定技术标准和相关工具的计划”的文件中提出,希望能够创造这种平衡。 没有适当的工具和更好的指导方针,调节AI标准可能会是一项艰巨的任务。

制定人工智能的行政命令

“美国在人工智能领域的持续领导对于维护美国的经济和国家安全以及以符合我们国家的价值观,政策和优先事项的方式塑造人工智能的全球演变至关重要,”特朗普总统说。 行政命令13859 去年2月发布。

该行政命令启动了 美国AI倡议。 该倡议的目的是利用政府资源进一步发展人工智能,“以增加我们国家的繁荣,增强我们的国家和经济安全,并改善美国人民的生活质量”,正如行政命令所宣布的那样。

在NIST发布的一份声明中,该声明宣布了新的联邦计划,以帮助建立AI标准, 美国首席技术官Michael Kratsios说,“公共信任,安全和隐私考虑因素仍然是我们制定AI技术标准的关键组成部分。 正如NIST提出的,联邦人工智能标准制定指南将支持可靠,稳健和值得信赖的系统,并确保人工智能的创建和应用为美国人民带来利益。“

上周发布的NIST计划是在2月份的行政命令中产生的。

“政府有意义的参与......对于国家在这个竞争领域保持领导地位是必要的,但还不够,” NIST官员说。 “需要私营部门和学术界的积极参与和领导。”

NIST计划中有什么?

据该机构称,人工智能指南的未来发展应具有适应新兴技术的灵活性,同时“尽量减少偏见”并保护隐私。

“特定人工智能技术和系统带来的潜在风险程度将有助于推动有关特定人工智能标准和标准相关工具需求的决策,” NIST官员说.

NIST的计划表明,其他技术的一些现有标准适用于AI,并指出“与数据格式,测试方法,传输协议,网络安全和隐私相关的标准就是例子。”然而,与可信赖性相关的标准是一个新的和发展中的领域。

“可信赖标准包括指导和要求:准确性,可解释性,弹性,安全性,可靠性,客观性和安全性,”NIST计划表示。

NIST计划的关键组成部分之一是建立一套指导AI标准化和开发的原则。

NIST计划写道:“标准源于原则,迈向标准化的第一步将就核心AI原则达成广泛共识。”

NIST计划还要求一组“法律和道德方面受过专门训练的专家”来考虑人工智能标准化的法律,社会和道德考虑。

NIST建议政府官员合作协调和制定AI标准

NIST官员强调了制定AI法规的必要性。 过早的标准可能会阻碍创新。 然而,如果这些标准为时已晚,那么让行业参与这些指导方针可能是一项挑战。

“参与AI标准制定的人必须了解并遵守美国政府的政策和原则,包括那些涉及社会和道德问题,治理和隐私的政策和原则,”NIST领导人在 计划。 “虽然人们普遍认为这些问题必须纳入人工智能标准,但尚不清楚应该如何做,以及是否还有足够的科学和技术基础来制定这些标准规定。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Leighanna Shirey

Leighanna毕业于彭萨科拉基督教学院,获得英语学位。 在教授高中英语五年后,她决定追求写作和编辑的梦想。 不工作时,她喜欢和丈夫一起旅行,与狗共度时光,喝太多咖啡。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里N斯托特 八月19,2019

    军队和犯罪主谋立即加入每项技术进步。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

HEALTH/SCI/TECH

US Maps Plan for Developing Artificial Intelligence Guidelines

Artificial Intelligence (Photo courtesy of Pixabay)
Artificial Intelligence (Photo courtesy of Pixabay)

“It is important for those participating in AI standards development to be aware of, and to act consistently with, U.S. government policies and principles, including those that address societal and ethical issues, governance and privacy.”

According to the Department of Commerce’s National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), standards for artificial intelligence (AI) should have the flexibility to stimulate innovation, yet have the structure to prevent the technology from causing harm. To ensure this, on August 9th, the NIST revealed “a plan for prioritizing federal agency engagement in the development of standards for artificial intelligence.”

The plan presented in a document titled, “U.S. LEADERSHIP IN AI: A Plan for Federal Engagement in Developing Technical Standards and Related Tools” will hopefully create that balance. Without the proper tools and better guidelines, regulating AI standards could prove to be a tough job.

Executive Order to Develop AI

“Continued American leadership in artificial intelligence is of paramount importance to maintaining the economic and national security of the United States and to shaping the global evolution of AI in a manner consistent with our nation’s values, policies and priorities,” said President Trump in executive order 13859 issued last February.

That executive order launched the American AI Initiative. The purpose of the initiative is to use government resources to further develop artificial intelligence “in order to increase our Nation’s prosperity, enhance our national and economic security, and improve quality of life for the American people,” as the executive order declared.

In a statement released by the NIST announcing the new federal plan to help establish AI standards, U.S. Chief Technology Officer Michael Kratsios said, “Public trust, security and privacy considerations remain critical components of our approach to setting AI technical standards. As put forward by NIST, federal guidance for AI standards development will support reliable, robust and trustworthy systems and ensure AI is created and applied for the benefit of the American people.”

Released last week, the plan NIST created resulted from the executive order in February.

“The government’s meaningful engagement … is necessary, but not sufficient, for the nation to maintain its leadership in this competitive realm,” said NIST officials. “Active involvement and leadership by the private sector, as well as academia, is required.”

What’s in the NIST Plan?

According to the agency, future development of AI guidelines should have the flexibility to adapt to new and emerging technology while “minimizing bias” and safeguarding privacy.

“The degree of potential risk presented by particular AI technologies and systems will help to drive decision-making about the need for specific AI standards and standards-related tools,” NIST officials said.

The NIST’s plan stated that some existing standards for other technologies are applicable to AI, stating that “standards related to data formats, testing methodology, transfer protocols, cybersecurity, and privacy are examples.” However, standards related to trustworthiness are a new and developing field.

“Trustworthiness standards include guidance and requirements for: accuracy, explainability, resiliency, safety, reliability, objectivity, and security,” stated the NIST plan.

One of the key components of the NIST’s plan is to establish a set of principles to guide AI standardization and development.

“Standards flow from principles, and a first step toward standardization will be reaching broad consensus on a core set of AI principles,” writes the NIST plan.

The NIST plan did also call for a group of “specialists trained in law and ethics” to consider legal, societal, and ethical considerations of AI standardization.

NIST Proposes That Government Officials Partner to Coordinate and Develop AI Standards

NIST officials emphasized the necessity of timing in the development of regulations for AI. Standards that are too early could prevent innovation. If these standards are too late, however, getting the industry on board with these guidelines could be a challenge.

“It is important for those participating in AI standards development to be aware of, and to act consistently with, U.S. government policies and principles, including those that address societal and ethical issues, governance and privacy,” NIST leaders outlined in the plan. “While there is broad agreement that these issues must factor into AI standards, it is not clear how that should be done and whether there is yet sufficient scientific and technical basis to develop those standards provisions.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Leighanna Shirey

Leighanna graduated with a degree in English from Pensacola Christian College. After teaching high school English for five years, she decided to pursue her dream of writing and editing. When not working, she enjoys traveling with her husband, spending time with her dogs, and drinking way too much coffee.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry N Stout August 19, 2019

    Every technological advancement is immediately co-opted by the military and by criminal masterminds.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.