输入搜索

欧洲 国家

美国退出INF条约后美俄军备竞赛开始一周

唐纳德特朗普和弗拉基米尔普京在赫尔辛基会面。 七月16,2018。
唐纳德特朗普和弗拉基米尔普京在赫尔辛基会面。 七月16,2018。 (照片来自Kremlin.ru)

在美国宣布退出INF条约一周后,俄罗斯和美国之间的军备竞赛已经升温。

俄罗斯宣布,在美国退出中程核力量(INF)条约之后,2021正在竞相开发两种陆基巡航导弹发射器,该条约是在1987首次签署的冷战时代反核条约。

在华盛顿上周宣布退出条约之后,俄罗斯总统弗拉基米尔普京表示,莫斯科将在六个月后退出华盛顿的举动,引发对新军备竞赛爆发的担忧。

两个核大国都指责对方违反了条约。 不过,普京表示,在美国宣布退出该条约的计划后,俄罗斯才采取行动撤离。 莫斯科还谴责美国的指控,称华盛顿首先违反了协议。

本周早些时候,俄罗斯国防部长谢尔古·谢伊古指示开始建造新的导弹系统,该系统预计将由2021完成。

“从2月2开始,美国暂停了INF条约规定的义务,” Shoigu介绍说 防守负责人。 Shoigu补充说,尽管美国指责莫斯科违反该条约,但华盛顿正在积极开发射程超过500 km的地面导弹,这超出了条约规定的限制。

根据部长的说法,美国伪造了俄罗斯不遵守条约的借口,以证明其退出并制造新的远程导弹。

美国驻日内瓦联合国裁军谈判会议大使罗伯特伍德表示,华盛顿将重新考虑退出核计划的撤离计划,但前提是俄罗斯完全遵守该协定。 “这是俄罗斯重返合规的最后机会,” 伍德说。

INF条约的历史:曾经至关重要,现在已被遗弃

在1970中,莫斯科在莫斯科发射了一种新型导弹,称为中程军刀SS-1977,在20中期,遏制军备竞赛条约的紧迫性变得明显。 这一消息震惊了西欧,因为没有达成协议来规范导弹的存在。

美国在1983进行报复 当它的新导弹Pershing II部署在西德时(当时德国被分为两个国家,西部和东部),而其他几种巡航导弹则在比利时,意大利,荷兰和英国

经过几次摇摇欲坠的谈判后,前苏联领导人米哈伊尔·戈尔巴乔夫被称为全球核武器裁军最强烈的倡导者之一,他同意在当时的美国总统罗纳德·里根签署INF。

该协议禁止部署地面导弹,射程范围介于310里程和3,410里程之间。 因此,莫斯科和华盛顿 共销毁了2,692 6月1,1991在条约实施期限内的短程,中程和中程导弹。

随着美国护送人员的观察,苏联视察员在轰炸之前记录了潘兴II导弹一侧的数据。 根据“中程核力量条约”(INF),将销毁若干枚导弹。

随着美国护送人员的观察,苏联视察员在轰炸之前记录了潘兴II导弹一侧的数据。 根据“中程核力量条约”(INF),将销毁若干枚导弹。 1989。 (照片来自美国军方)

华盛顿和莫斯科退出INF条约是否会重振军备竞赛?

美国和俄罗斯从保护欧洲不受华盛顿 - 莫斯科军备竞赛的条约中撤出,引发了世界将进入新版冷战的担忧。

俄罗斯外交部长谢尔盖·拉夫罗夫(Sergey Lavrov)试图通过声明俄罗斯不试图发动新的军备竞赛来平息这种担忧,而是将其从INF中退出是对华盛顿退出该协议的回应。

“我们不寻求发动新的军备竞赛; 总统已经说得很清楚了。 我们一定会对美国从INF条约中撤出以及制定低产核武器计划后出现的威胁做出军事和技术上的反应,据西方,俄罗斯和其他国家的所有专家说,这些威胁将大幅降低使用核武器的门槛和增加核冲突的风险,“ 拉夫罗夫说。

来自约翰霍普金斯大学的杰弗里·普赖斯表示,由于该协议不涉及从海上和空中发射的导弹,因此INF对华盛顿有利。 “因此,INF条约剥夺了俄罗斯重要的军事能力,其规模和地理位置具有战略优势,” 这位前五角大楼官员表示 在Twitter上。

根据美国核武库关注科学家联盟的反核组织的数据 还有4,600核武器,随着1,740的部署,随时可以启动,2,922存储。 该组织表示,配备核导弹的十艘美国海军潜艇仍然在海上巡逻。

俄罗斯有相似数量的核弹头,但它的数量 海军船只状况不佳 由于过去几年的几起事故。

希望达成一项取代INF条约的协议

唐纳德·特朗普总统在国情咨文中表示,他准备考虑是否可能签署一项新条约,以取代可能包括更多国家的废弃INF。 拉夫罗夫的副手谢尔盖·雷巴科夫说克里姆林宫欢迎特朗普的新想法,并希望这个提议具体。

“我们期待这项提案具体化,并以纸上或其他方式进行,” 雷巴科说v。他补充说,到目前为止,美国还没有提出任何新条款。 此前,拉夫罗夫表示,克里姆林宫已经就新的核协议提出了一些倡议,但华盛顿尚未对俄罗斯的提议做出回应。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

EUROPE NATIONAL

US-Russia Arms Race Begins One Week After US Withdrawal From INF Treaty

Donald Trump and Vladimir Putin meet in Helsinki. July 16, 2018.
Donald Trump and Vladimir Putin meet in Helsinki. July 16, 2018. (Photo via Kremlin.ru)

Only a week after the U.S. announced it would pull out of the INF Treaty the arms race between Russia and the U.S. is already heating up.

Russia announced it is racing to develop two ground-based cruise missile launchers by 2021 following the United State’s withdrawal from the Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces (INF) Treaty, a Cold War era anti-nuke treaty first signed in 1987.

After Washington announced its withdrawal from the treaty last week, Russian President Vladimir Putin said Moscow will follow Washington’s move by quitting the deal in six months, raising concern a new arms race will erupt.

Both nuclear powers have accused the other side of breaking the treaty. However, Putin said that Russia only took action to withdraw after the U.S. announced its plan to leave the treaty. Moscow also snubbed U.S. allegations by saying Washington first violated the pact.

Russian Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu, Putin’s close aide, early this week instructed work to begin on building a new missile system, which is expected to be completed by 2021.

“From Feb. 2 the United States suspended its obligations under the INF treaty,” Shoigu briefed defense heads. Shoigu added that despite the U.S. accusing Moscow of breaching the treaty, Washington is actively developing ground missiles with a range of more than 500 km, which is outside the limit set by the treaty.

According to the minister, the U.S. has produced a fake pretext of Russia’s non-compliance with the treaty to justify its exit and create a new long-range missile.

The U.S. ambassador for the U.N.-sponsored Conference on Disarmament in Geneva, Robert Wood, said Washington would reconsider its withdrawal plan from the nuclear treaty, but only if Russia is entirely in compliance with the pact. “This is Russia’s final opportunity to return to compliance,” Wood stated.

History of the INF Treaty: Once Vital, Now Abandoned

The urgency of a treaty to contain the arms race became evident in the mid-1970s when, in 1977, Moscow launched a new missile to be distributed in Eastern Europe, called the intermediate-range Sabre SS-20. The news shocked Western Europe since there was no agreement regulating the presence of the missiles.

The U.S. retaliated in 1983 when its new missile, the Pershing II, was deployed in West Germany (at the time Germany was divided into two countries, West and East) while several other cruise missiles were in Belgium, Italy, the Netherlands and the U.K.

After several faltered negotiations, former Soviet leader Mikhail Gorbachev, known as one of the most vocal advocates of global nuclear weapons disarmament, agreed to sign the INF with then U.S. president Ronald Reagan in 1987.

The agreement banned the deployment of ground-based missiles with a range between 310 miles and 3,410 miles., which both parties to the agreement had. Consequently, Moscow and Washington destroyed a total of 2,692 short, medium, and intermediate-range missiles within the deadline of the treaty’s implementation by June 1, 1991.

With their American escorts watching, Soviet inspectors record data from the side of a Pershing II missile prior to its destruction. Several missiles are to be destroyed in accordance with the Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces (INF) Treaty.

With their American escorts watching, Soviet inspectors record data from the side of a Pershing II missile prior to its destruction. Several missiles are to be destroyed in accordance with the Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces (INF) Treaty. 1989. (Photo via US military)

Will Washington’s and Moscow’s Withdrawal from the INF Treaty Renew the Arms Race?

The withdrawal of the U.S. and Russia from the treaty which has protected Europe from a Washington-Moscow arms race has triggered worry that the world will enter a new version of the Cold War.

Russian Foreign Minister, Sergey Lavrov, has sought to quell such fears by stating that Russia is not trying to launch a new arms race, but rather that its withdrawal from the INF was a response to Washington’s pullout from the deal.

“We don’t seek to launch a new arms race; the president has made it quite clear. We will definitely give military and technical responses to the threats that are emerging following the U.S. pullout from the INF Treaty and its plans to create low-yield nuclear weapons, which, according to all experts in the West, Russia and other countries will dramatically lower the threshold for the use of nuclear weapons and increase the risk of a nuclear conflict,” Lavrov said.

Jeffrey Pryce from John Hopkins University said the INF benefits Washington since the agreement does not address missiles launched from the sea and the air. “Thus, the INF Treaty deprives Russia of a significant military capability, for which its size and location are strategic advantages,” the former Pentagon official stated on Twitter.

According to figures from an anti-nuclear group, Union of Concerned Scientists, the U.S. nuclear arsenal still has 4,600 nuclear weapons, with 1,740 of them deployed and ready to be launched at any time, and 2,922 in storage. Ten U.S. Navy submarines equipped with nuclear missiles are still patrolling the seas, the group stated.

Russia has a similar number of nuclear warheads, but its naval vessels are in bad condition due to several accidents in the past few years.

Hope For A Deal to Replace the INF Treaty

In his State of the Union address, President Donald Trump said he is ready to consider the possible signing of a new treaty to replace the abandoned INF, which could include more countries. Lavrov’s Deputy Sergey Rybakov said the Kremlin welcomes Trump’s new ideas and hopes the proposal is concrete.

“We look forward to this proposal being made concrete and put on paper or by other means,” said Rybakov. He added that the U.S. hadn’t suggested any new terms so far. Previously, Lavrov said the Kremlin has proposed some initiatives regarding the new nuclear deal, but Washington has yet to respond to Russia’s proposal.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *