اكتب للبحث

AMERICAS تتجه-AMERICAS

العقوبات الأمريكية على البنك المركزي الفنزويلي

جون ر. بولتون في CPAC 2017 فبراير 24th 2017 بقلم مايكل فادون
جون ر. بولتون في CPAC 2017 فبراير 24th 2017 بقلم مايكل فادون

تهدف العقوبات الأخيرة إلى تقييد وصول فنزويلا إلى الدولار الأمريكي.

(بواسطة ريكاردو فاز ، تحليل فنزويلا) فرضت وزارة الخزانة الأمريكية عقوبات على البنك المركزي الفنزويلي (BCV) في محاولة لعزل الدولة الكاريبية مالياً.

أعلن هذا الإجراء جون بولتون مستشار الأمن القومي بالبيت الأبيض خلال خطاب ألقاه في فلوريدا بمناسبة الذكرى السنوية العاشرة للغزو الأمريكي للخنازير في خليج 58 ، وهي محاولة فاشلة لإسقاط الثورة الكوبية.

"[الولايات المتحدة] تعلن عن عقوبات جديدة ضد البنك المركزي الفنزويلي لتقييد المعاملات الأمريكية مع هذا البنك وحظر وصولها إلى الدولار الأمريكي. لقد كان هذا البنك حاسماً في إبقاء مادورو في السلطة ، بما في ذلك من خلال سيطرته على تحويل الذهب مقابل العملة ".

شهدت العقوبات المالية أن الحكومة الفنزويلية تتجه بشكل متزايد نحو المعاملات في الذهب للحصول على عملة صعبة للواردات الحيوية من الغذاء والدواء ، وكذلك البحث عن الملتوية آليات لمعالجة مبيعات النفط.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تمت معاقبة مدير BCV إليانا جوزيفا روزا تيران من قبل مكتب مراقبة الأصول الأجنبية التابع لوزارة الخزانة.

A بيان أضافت وزارة الخزانة أنه على الرغم من أن هذا الإجراء "سيمنع معظم أنشطة البنك المركزي [...] ، فقد اتخذت الولايات المتحدة خطوات لضمان استمرار معاملات بطاقات الخصم والائتمان العادية واستمرار التحويلات الشخصية والمساعدات الإنسانية دون هوادة." فيما يتعلق بالخطوات المذكورة. إن الشركات التي تتعامل بالعملات الأجنبية ، بما في ذلك مكاتب الصرافة التي تتعامل مع التحويلات المالية ، مُلزمة ببيع نسبة مئوية ثابتة من أرباح عملاتها الأجنبية إلى BCV.

انتقد الرئيس مادورو العقوبات الأخيرة ، واصفا إياها بأنها "عمل يائس" وتعهد بأن البنك المركزي سوف يواجهها ويتغلب عليها.

كان رد فعل وزارة الخارجية الفنزويلية في بيان ضد التدابير "غير القانونية" لإدارة ترامب.

وأضاف البيان "هذا الهجوم المتجدد موجه ضد الشعب الفنزويلي ويهدد سلامه واستقراره".

كما فرضت إدارة ترامب تدابير أحادية الجانب ضد كوبا ونيكاراغوا يوم الأربعاء. جنبا إلى جنب مع فنزويلا ، كانت تسمى "الترويكا الطغيان"بولتون. شهدت نيكاراغوا فرض عقوبات على بنك BanCorp ، بينما شهدت كوبا ، والأهم من ذلك ، تعليق القانون الثالث من 1996 Helms-Burton Act الذي تم رفعه ابتداءً من مايو 2. سيتيح هذا للمواطنين الأمريكيين رفع دعاوى قضائية ضد الشركات الأجنبية المتورطة في أي ممتلكات تأميم من قبل الحكومة الكوبية بعد ثورة 1959.

وبالمثل يوم الأربعاء ، ذكرت رويترز أن شركة النفط الإسبانية ريبسول كان يعلق اتفاق مبادلة مع شركة النفط الحكومية الفنزويلية PDVSA ، التي كانت تملك ريبسول امدادات الوقود مقابل الخام الفنزويلي. أصبحت اتفاقيات المقايضة شائعة بشكل متزايد لشركة PDVSA في ضوء العقوبات الأمريكية. لقد حد الحظر النفطي الأمريكي من وصول فنزويلا إلى المنتجات اللازمة لتكرير النفط الخام وإنتاج الوقود.

ومع ذلك ، ريبسول رفض يوم الخميس أنه كان هناك أي تعليق للأنشطة ، حيث صرح المتحدث كريستيان ريكس للصحافة أن "العمليات مستمرة بشكل طبيعي".

المبعوث الأمريكي الخاص لفنزويلا إليوت أبرامز زار البرتغال وإسبانيا مؤخراً ريبسول كانت العمليات في فنزويلا واحدة من الموضوعات المدرجة على جدول الأعمال. أثار المسؤولون الأمريكيون ، في مناسبات متعددة ، إمكانية فرض عقوبات ثانوية على الشركات غير الأمريكية التي تتعامل مع فنزويلا و PDVSA.

أبرامز يشتهر بالدور الرائد في سياسة إدارة ريغان في أمريكا الوسطى ، بما في ذلك فضيحة إيران كونترا ، وفي وقت لاحق لتقديم المشورة لجورج بوش في الفترة التي سبقت حرب العراق.

تأتي إعلانات الأربعاء بعد تصعيد للعقوبات في أعقاب إعلان خوان غويدو عن نفسه "كرئيس مؤقت" في يناير 23. استهدفت وزارة الخزانة المسؤولين الحكوميين وفرضت عقوبات على فنزويلا نفط, تعدين و مصرفي القطاعات. كما تم تجميد الأصول الفنزويلية ، ولا سيما Citgo التابعة لشركة PDVSA في الولايات المتحدة وبقيمة أكثر من 1.2 مليار دولار أمريكي الذهب عقدت في خزائن بنك إنجلترا. التدابير الأخيرة قد تميزت أيضا سفن "كممتلكات محظورة" لجعل شحنات النفط أكثر صعوبة.

أدت العقوبات الأمريكية إلى زيادة المعارضة الدولية ، حيث حذر العديد من الخبراء من أن هذه الإجراءات تفاقم الأزمة الحالية من خلال حرمان الدولة الفنزويلية التي تعاني من ضائقة مالية وفرض عقبات على معاملات مثل واردات الغذاء والدواء. ساهمت العقوبات في انخفاض حاد في فنزويلا انتاج النفط وتفاقمت أيضا الأخيرة أزمة الكهرباء.

المقرر الخاص للأمم المتحدة إدريس الجزائري انتقد استخدام العقوبات لتشجيع تغيير النظام في فنزويلا ، في حين شبه خبير الأمم المتحدة السابق ألفريد دي زياس العقوبات بـ "حصار القرون الوسطى، "تهدف إلى جلب البلدان" على ركبهم. "

شجبت الحكومة الفنزويلية مرارًا وتكرارًا آثار العقوبات على قدرتها على استيراد الأدوية. كل من الأمم المتحدة والاتحاد الدولي لل الصليب الأحمر (IFRC) أعلنت مؤخرا زيادة في عملياتها في فنزويلا.

يوم الثلاثاء ، وصلت شحنة صليب أحمر من طراز 24 إلى مطار مايكيتيا في كاراكاس. تألفت عملية التسليم من الأدوية والمولدات الكهربائية التي سيتم توزيعها حول مستشفيات وعيادات البلاد بالتنسيق مع وزارة الصحة في فنزويلا.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
زائر رد

تقوم Citizen Truth بإعادة نشر المقالات بإذن من مجموعة متنوعة من المواقع الإخبارية ومنظمات الدعوة ومجموعات المراقبة. نختار المقالات التي نعتقد أنها ستكون مفيدة ومفيدة لقرائنا. تحتوي المقالات المختارة أحيانًا على مزيج من الرأي والأخبار ، وأية آراء من هذا القبيل هي آراء المؤلفين ولا تعكس آراء Citizen Truth.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

AMERICAS TRENDING-AMERICAS

US Sanctions Venezuela’s Central Bank

John R. Bolton at CPAC 2017 February 24th 2017 by Michael Vadon
John R. Bolton at CPAC 2017 February 24th 2017 by Michael Vadon

The latest sanctions are meant to limit Venezuela’s access to US dollars.

(By Ricardo Vaz, Venezuela Analysis) The US Treasury Department has levied sanctions against the Central Bank of Venezuela (BCV) in a bid to further isolate the Caribbean country financially.

The measure was announced by White House National Security Advisor John Bolton during a speech in Florida on the 58th anniversary of the United States’ 1961 Bay of Pigs invasion of Cuba, a failed attempt to topple the Cuban Revolution.

“[The US is] announcing new sanctions against the Central Bank of Venezuela to restrict U.S. transactions with this bank and prohibit its access to U.S. dollars. This bank has been crucial to keeping Maduro in power, including through its control of the transfer of gold for currency,” Bolton tweeted after the speech.

Financial sanctions have seen the Venezuelan government increasingly turn towards transactions in gold to obtain hard currency for vital imports of food and medicine, as well as look for convoluted mechanisms to process oil sales.

In addition, BCV Director Iliana Josefa Ruzza Terán was also sanctioned by the Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC).

A statement from the Treasury Department added that while the measure “will inhibit most Central Bank activities […], the United States has taken steps to ensure that regular debit and credit card transactions can proceed and personal remittances and humanitarian assistance continue unabated.” No further details concerning said steps were offered. Companies that deal in foreign currencies, including exchange houses that handle remittances, are mandated to sell a fixed percentage of their foreign currency earnings to the BCV.

President Maduro slammed the latest sanctions, calling them a “desperate act” and vowing that the Central Bank would confront and overcome them.

The Venezuelan Foreign Ministry also reacted in a communique against the Trump administration’s “illegal” measures.

“This renewed attack is directed against the Venezuelan people, threatening their peace and stability,” the statement added.

The Trump administration also imposed unilateral measures against Cuba and Nicaragua on Wednesday. Along with Venezuela, they were called the “troika of tyranny” by Bolton. Nicaragua saw sanctions imposed on its BanCorp bank while Cuba, more significantly, saw the suspension of Act III of the 1996 Helms-Burton Act lifted beginning May 2. This will allow US citizens to bring lawsuits against foreign business involved in any properties nationalized by the Cuban government following the 1959 revolution.

Likewise on Wednesday, Reuters reported that Spanish oil company Repsol  was suspending a swap agreement with Venezuelan state oil company PDVSA, which had Repsol supply fuel in exchange for Venezuelan crude. Swap agreements have become increasingly common for PDVSA in light of US sanctions. The US oil embargo has also limited Venezuela’s access to products needed to refine its crude and produce fuel.

However, Repsol denied on Thursday that there had been any suspension of activities, with spokesman Kristian Rix telling press that “operations are continuing normally.”

US Special Envoy for Venezuela Elliott Abrams recently visited Portugal and Spain, and Repsol’s operations in Venezuela were one of the topics on the agenda. US officials have, on multiple occasions, raised the possibility of imposing secondary sanctions against non-US companies that deal with Venezuela and PDVSA.

Abrams is known for his leading role in the Reagan administration’s Central America policy, including the Iran-Contra scandal, and later for advising George W. Bush in the lead up to the Iraq War.

Wednesday’s announcements follow an escalation of sanctions in the wake of Juan Guaido’s self-proclamation as “interim president” on January 23. The Treasury Department has targeted government officials and sanctioned Venezuela’s oilmining and banking sectors. Venezuelan assets have also been frozen, notably PDVSA’s US subsidiary Citgo and over US $1.2 billion worth of gold held in the vaults of the Bank of England. Recent measures have also marked vessels as “blocked property” so as to make oil shipments more difficult.

US sanctions have led to increasing international opposition, with many experts warning that the measures are exacerbating the current crisis by depriving the cash-strapped Venezuelan state of resources and imposing hurdles on transactions such as food and medicine imports. Sanctions have contributed to a sharp decline in Venezuela’s oil output and also exacerbated the recent electricity crisis.

UN Special Rapporteur Idriss Jazairy has criticized the use of sanctions to promote regime change in Venezuela, while former UN Expert Alfred de Zayas likened sanctions to “medieval sieges,” designed to bring countries “to their knees.”

The Venezuelan government has repeatedly denounced the effects of sanctions on its ability to import medicines. Both the United Nations and the International Federation of the Red Cross (IFRC) recently announced an increase in their operations in Venezuela.

On Tuesday a 24 tonne Red Cross shipment arrived in Caracas’ Maiquetia airport. The delivery was comprised of medicines and electrical generators to be distributed around the country’s hospitals and clinics in coordination with Venezuela’s Health Ministry.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.