输入搜索

中东

沙特石油袭击引发了对美伊冲突的恐惧

唐纳德特朗普在亚利桑那州梅萨梅萨门户机场的一个机库与媒体对话。 (照片:Gage Skidmore)。 伊朗总统哈桑·鲁哈尼在2017总统大选中获胜后举行新闻发布会。 (照片:Mahmoud Hosseini)
唐纳德特朗普在亚利桑那州梅萨梅萨门户机场的一个机库与媒体对话。 (照片:Gage Skidmore)。 伊朗总统哈桑·鲁哈尼在2017总统大选中获胜后举行新闻发布会。 (照片:Mahmoud Hosseini)

沙特阿拉伯石油设施的袭击再次引发了人们对美伊冲突迫在眉睫的担忧,尽管胡希叛乱分子在也门提出了责任。

星期六沙特阿拉伯国营石油设施发生毁灭性的无人机袭击,加剧了全球石油价格,加剧了美国和伊朗之间的紧张关系,前者指责后者攻击伊朗,伊朗伊斯兰共和国坚决否认这一指控。

伊朗支持的也门胡塞叛乱分子因无人机袭击而受到称赞,称这是对美国支持的沙特联盟袭击饥荒困扰国家造成的平民屠杀的报复。

美国谴责伊朗

美国国务卿迈克庞培,他正前往沙特阿拉伯讨论美国的回应, 很快就被责备了 伊朗罢工说,“没有证据表明袭击来自也门”。 美国官员发布了他们声称必须从伊朗和伊拉克发动袭击的受损设施的卫星照片,并辩称Houthis缺乏足够的武器来进行如此具有破坏性的攻击。 “伊朗现在对世界能源供应发动了前所未有的攻击,”庞培说。

特朗普总统 说过 美国被“锁定和装载”以报复罪魁祸首,并“等待听取王国关于他们认为是这次袭击事件的原因以及我们将采取何种条件的行动”,这引起了批评者对总统的尊重的谴责极权主义国家。

“沙特阿拉伯的石油供应遭到袭击,”特朗普说 周日发推文。 “我们有理由相信我们知道罪魁祸首,根据验证情况锁定和装载,但是正在等待从王国那里听到他们认为是这次袭击的原因,以及我们将以何种条件继续进行!”

星期二副总统迈克彭斯警告说,“美利坚合众国将采取一切必要行动来保卫我们的国家,我们的部队和我们在海湾的盟友。 你可以指望它。”

特朗普批评沙特阿拉伯效忠

像众议员Tulsi Gabbard,众议员Ruben Gallego和参议员Bernie Sanders这样的立法者嘲笑特朗普的推文以及对石油设施袭击的回应。

“你不要问沙特阿拉伯如何继续,” 推特上校Gallego。 “你问国会。 未经国会批准,您无权代表沙特阿拉伯攻击任何其他国家。 (仅供参考,答案是否定的)“

“先生。 特朗普,美国宪法非常明确,“推文 参议员桑德斯。 “只有国会 - 而不是总统 - 才能宣战。 国会不会让你有权在中东开始另一场灾难性的战争,因为沙特的独裁统治告诉你。“

“特朗普在等待沙特大师的指示,” 推文Rep.Tulsi Gabbard。 “让我们的国家扮演沙特阿拉伯的婊子不是'美国第一'。”

去年,华盛顿邮报记者Jamal Khashoggi的野蛮处决破坏了沙特阿拉伯的声誉。 美国支持特拉普否决的也门沙特联盟的两党决议反映了避免另一场中东战争的广泛愿望,特别是在沙特阿拉伯的竞选中。

有“老鹰”谁想要美伊冲突

尽管如此,美国对以色列对黎巴嫩,伊拉克和叙利亚境内伊朗支援部队的空袭在上个月已经升级,这为伊朗支持袭击沙特石油设施提供了可能的动机。 中东眼睛 引述一名未透露姓名的伊拉克高级情报官员称,这起袭击事件是伊朗从伊拉克发射的无人驾驶飞机,是对沙特资助的以色列无人机袭击的报复。

“最近的袭击有两个原因:伊朗向美国及其盟国发出的另一个消息是,只要对伊朗实施围攻,任何人都不会在该地区实现稳定。 然而,第二个更直接的原因是伊朗对以色列最近以叙利亚自卫队控制地区发动的无人机对亲伊朗哈希德基地的攻击进行了强烈报复,“该消息人士称 中东眼睛.

伊拉克否认了这一说法。 沙特阿拉伯 邀请国际专家 星期一调查袭击事件。

“伊朗和美国以及该地区的鹰派人士都希望发生军事冲突,”伊朗政府高级官员因为该话题的敏感性而不愿透露姓名。 半岛电视台.

“这种攻击将使军事对抗不可避免,而这正是伊朗和其他地方的强硬派所希望的。 这种对抗不仅会伤害伊朗,也会伤害波斯湾的所有国家。“

虽然分析人士称赞最近解雇伊朗鹰派约翰博尔顿是降低美国与伊朗冲突可能性的一个重要因素,但目前尚不清楚这个动荡地区在冲突恶化之前可以采取多少冲击。

“像约翰·博尔顿这样的战争鹰派正朝着正确的方向迈出一步,但如果特朗普政府对降级感兴趣,就需要停止追求鹰派政策和压力运动,最终迫使伊朗在提交和对抗之间作出选择,”Pouya Alimagham是麻省理工学院(MIT)现代中东的历史学家 半岛电视台.

“毕竟,不难想象,在这种情况下,具有现代西方干预历史的国家会走哪条道路。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

2评论

  1. 拉里N斯托特 17-2019-XNUMX

    建议美国将服从沙特阿拉伯的竞标是荒谬的。 它将一如既往地服从以色列的竞标。

    “沙洛姆”? 只要以色列是#1在中东的不稳定力量,AIPAC就会控制国会,白宫和五角大楼。

    回复
    1. 拉里N斯托特 18-2019-XNUMX

      以色列dba美国,当然。

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

MIDDLE EAST

Saudi Oil Attack Ignites Fears Of US-Iran Conflict

Donald Trump speaking with the media at a hangar at Mesa Gateway Airport in Mesa, Arizona. (Photo: Gage Skidmore). Iranian President, Hassan Rouhani holding press conference after his victory at 2017 presidential election. (Photo: Mahmoud Hosseini)
Donald Trump speaking with the media at a hangar at Mesa Gateway Airport in Mesa, Arizona. (Photo: Gage Skidmore). Iranian President, Hassan Rouhani holding press conference after his victory at 2017 presidential election. (Photo: Mahmoud Hosseini)

An attack on Saudi Arabian oil facilities has renewed fears of a looming US-Iran conflict, despite claims of responsibility by Houthi rebels in Yemen.

Devastating drone strikes on Saudi Arabia’s state-run oil facilities on Saturday have spiked global oil prices and ramped up tensions between the United States and Iran, with the former blaming the latter for the attack, a charge the Islamic Republic steadfastly denies.

Iranian-supported Houthi rebels in Yemen took credit for the drone strikes, calling them a retaliation for civilian massacres caused by the U.S.-backed Saudi coalition’s attacks on the famine-plagued country.

US Blames Iran

U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, who is en route to Saudi Arabia to discuss the U.S. response, quickly blamed Iran for the strikes, saying there’s “no evidence the attacks came from Yemen”. U.S. officials released satellite photos of the damaged facility they claim prove the attack must have been launched from Iran and Iraq, and argue that Houthis lack sufficient weaponry to carry out such a damaging attack. “Iran has now launched an unprecedented attack on the world’s energy supply,” Pompeo said.

President Trump said the U.S. was “locked and loaded” to retaliate against the culprit and “waiting to hear from the Kingdom as to who they believe was the cause of this attack, and under what terms we would proceed,” prompting condemnation from critics at the president’s deference to the totalitarian state.

“Saudi Arabia oil supply was attacked,” Trump tweeted on Sunday. “There is reason to believe that we know the culprit, are locked and loaded depending on verification, but are waiting to hear from the Kingdom as to who they believe was the cause of this attack, and under what terms we would proceed!”

On Tuesday Vice-President Mike Pence warned, “The United States of America will take whatever action is necessary to defend our country, our troops, and our allies in the Gulf. You can count on it.”

Trump Criticized For Allegiance to Saudi Arabia

Lawmakers like Rep. Tulsi Gabbard, Rep. Ruben Gallego, and Sen. Bernie Sanders mocked Trump’s tweet and response to the oil facility attacks.

“You don’t ask Saudi Arabia about how to proceed,” tweeted Rep. Gallego. “You ask Congress. You do not have the authority to attack any other country on behalf of Saudi Arabia without getting permission first from Congress. (FYI the answer will be no)”

“Mr. Trump, the Constitution of the United States is perfectly clear,” tweeted Sen. Sanders. “Only Congress—not the president—can declare war. And Congress will not give you the authority to start another disastrous war in the Middle East just because the brutal Saudi dictatorship told you to.”

“Trump awaits instructions from his Saudi masters,” tweeted Rep.Tulsi Gabbard. “Having our country act as Saudi Arabia’s bitch is not ‘America First.'”

Saudi Arabia’s reputation was damaged by the savage execution of Washington Post journalist Jamal Khashoggi last year. The bipartisan resolution to end U.S. support for the Saudi coalition in Yemen, which was vetoed by Trump, reflects a broad desire to avoid another Middle Eastern war, especially one at the bidding of Saudi Arabia.

There are ‘Hawks’ Who Want a US-Iran Conflict

Still, U.S.-condoned Israeli airstrikes against Iranian-backed forces in Lebanon, Iraq, and Syria have escalated in the last month, providing a plausible motive for Iranian support of the attack on the Saudi oil facility. Middle East Eye quoted an unnamed senior Iraqi intelligence official claiming that the attack was done by Iranian drones launched from Iraq, retaliating against the Saudi-funded Israeli drone strikes.

“The latest attack comes for two reasons: another message from Iran to USA and its allies that as long as its siege on Iran continues no one will have stability in the region. However, the second more direct reason is a strong Iranian revenge for the recent Israeli attacks by drones launched from SDF-controlled areas in Syria against pro-Iranian Hashd bases,” the source told Middle East Eye.

Iraq denies the claim. Saudi Arabia invited international experts to investigate the attack on Monday.

“There are hawks in Iran and America and in the region who want military conflicts,” a senior Iranian government official, who asked not to be named because of the sensitivity of the topic, told Al Jazeera.

“Such attacks will make a military confrontation inevitable and that is what hardliners in Iran and elsewhere want. Such confrontation will harm not only Iran but all the countries in the Persian Gulf.”

While analysts have praised the recent firing of Iran hawk John Bolton as a significant factor lowering the likelihood of full-fledged U.S.-Iran conflict, it is unclear how many shocks the volatile region can take before conflicts worsen.

“Firing war hawks like John Bolton is a step in the right direction, but if the Trump administration is interested in de-escalation, it needs to stop pursuing hawkish policies and pressure campaigns that ultimately force Iran to choose between submission and confrontation,” Pouya Alimagham, a historian of the modern Middle East at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), told Al Jazeera.

“After all, it is not hard to imagine what path a nation with a modern history of resistance to western intervention would take under such circumstances.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

2 Comments

  1. Larry N Stout September 17, 2019

    It’s absurd to suggest that the United States will obey Saudi Arabia’s bidding. It will obey Israel’s bidding, as always.

    “Shalom”? Not as long as Israel is #1 destabilizing force in the Middle East and AIPAC controls Congress, the White House, and the Pentagon.

    Reply
    1. Larry N Stout September 18, 2019

      Israel dba USA, too, of course.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.