اكتب للبحث

حضاره

كيف تبدو المحافظة في هوليوود؟

John O'Hurley على السجادة الحمراء في Celebrity Fight Night XXV في JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa في Phoenix ، أريزونا.
John O'Hurley على السجادة الحمراء في Celebrity Fight Night XXV في JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa في Phoenix ، أريزونا. (الصورة: غيج سكيدمور)

"تشعر فقط أن أفكارك غير مرحب بها ، وأن الجميع يتحرك في خطوة مغلقة."

هوليوود هي ليبرالية سيئة السمعة ، ولكن ما الذي يجعلك من المحافظين في عالم الترفيه خلال هذه الأوقات المثيرة للانقسام السياسي؟ افتتح الممثل السابق لـ "سينفيلد" جون أوهورلي لـ Yahoo Entertainment عن كفاحه.

اشتهر O'Hurley بلعبه الماهر لجيم بيتيرمان في مسرحية 1990s الكلاسيكية. وقد انتقد مؤخرًا الممثلين ديبرا مينغ وإريك ماكورماك ، زملائه في قناة NBC من المسرحية الهزلية "Will & Grace" ، الذي دعا إلى قائمة سوداء من الأشخاص الذين حضروا جمع التبرعات القادم من بيفرلي هيلز للرئيس دونالد ترامب.

في هذا السيناريو ، لم يكن O'Hurley أخيرًا بمفرده ، في هوليوود: الممثلة الليبرالية الشهيرة ووبي جولدبرج وزميلها Joy Behar من برنامج حواري "The View" أيضًا أدان القائمة السوداء المقترحة - مستشهدة بالحقيقة التي لا جدال فيها وهي أن الولايات المتحدة بلد حيث لدينا حرية التصويت لمن نريد دون الاضطهاد. ضغط مضيفو التلفزيون على أنه منحدر زلق نبذ الأفراد بناءً على خلفياتهم السياسية ، وأنه يمكن أن يؤدي إلى نتائج سلبية بما في ذلك حتى الانتحار - كما حدث في حالات سابقة من القائمة السوداء.

على الرغم من O'Hurley وشدد أن هذا المثال عن "التنمر" السياسي من جانب مينغ وماكورميك ليس في الواقع منتشراً في هوليوود كلها ، فمن الواضح أنه يمثل تحديًا أن نكون محافظين علنًا في هذه الصناعة.

وقال أوهيرلي: "تشعر فقط أن أفكارك غير مرحب بها ، وأن الجميع يتحرك في خطوة قفل" ياهو الترفيه. "إنه يخلق جواً غير مبدع للغاية ، ولا أعتقد أنه شيء صحي لهوليوود. أعتقد أن كل الأفكار يجب أن تكون موضع ترحيب ، هذه هي طبيعة الإبداع. التعبير الفني هو فعل الاحتمال اللانهائي. ولكي تحصل على ذلك ، يجب أن يكون لديك كل الألوان المتاحة على اللوحة. يجب أن يكون لديك كل وجهات النظر حول ما تعمل معه ، ولكي يرغب الأشخاص في إلغاء بعضهم البعض بسبب الطريقة التي يشعرون بها ، هو مجرد جو خطير وغير صحي ".

ضغطت أورلي على الحاجة إلى الكياسة.

"كل الأفكار مرحب بها. ومهما كانت أفكاري السياسية ، فليس من حقًا عمل لا أحد آخر و ... لا يستحقون الاحتفال به لمجرد أنني شخص مشهور. "لا أشعر كما لو كان لدي منبر إضافي ، لقد ربحت ذلك لأنني من المشاهير المعروفين".

بالتأكيد ، في جميع أنحاء البلاد في مختلف الصناعات والمدن والولايات ، فإننا سنعبر حتماً عن مسارات مع الزملاء والأشخاص من مختلف الأيديولوجيات السياسية - حتى تلك التي قد نتفق معها على خلاف ذلك. على الرغم من أنه يمثل تحديًا واضحًا ، إلا أنه يجب علينا أن نتعلم إجراء حوار مفتوح وأن نهدف إلى اتباع نهج بناء تجاه خلافاتنا ، بدلاً من الخصومة الصريحة. إن الأشخاص الذين صوتوا ببساطة بطريقة مختلفة عنا لا يتم اختلاطهم معنا على الفور في كل قضية أخلاقية.

تعمل O'Hurley حاليًا على عرض فردي ، بعنوان "رجل ذو معايير" ، لاول مرة في لوس أنجلوس. سبتمبر 20-21 في Feinstein's في Vitello's في Studio City ، كاليفورنيا. إنه يهدف إلى إحياء نادي العشاء ، حيث يستمتع الجمهور بالعشاء والترفيه في نفس المكان.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

CULTURE

What’s It Like Being Conservative in Hollywood?

John O'Hurley on the red carpet at Celebrity Fight Night XXV at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa in Phoenix, Arizona.
John O'Hurley on the red carpet at Celebrity Fight Night XXV at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa in Phoenix, Arizona. (Photo: Gage Skidmore)

“You just feel like your ideas are not welcome, that everybody is moving in a lock-step.”

Hollywood is notoriously liberal, but what is it like to be a Conservative in the entertainment world during these politically divisive times? Former “Seinfeld” actor John O’Hurley opened up to Yahoo Entertainment about his struggles.

O’Hurley is best known for playing Elaine’s pompous boss J. Peterman in the classic 1990s sitcom. He recently criticized actors Debra Messing and Eric McCormack, fellow NBC alums from sitcom “Will & Grace”, who called for a blacklist of people attending an upcoming Beverly Hills fundraiser for President Donald Trump.

In that scenario, O’Hurley was finally not alone on his views, in Hollywood: famously liberal actress Whoopi Goldberg and her cohost Joy Behar from talk show “The View” also condemned the proposed blacklist—citing the indisputable fact that the U.S. is a country where we have the freedom to vote for whoever we want without persecution. The TV hosts pressed that it was a slippery slope to ostracize individuals based on their political backgrounds, and that it could lead to adverse results including even suicide—as it has in previous instances of blacklisting.

Although O’Hurley stressed that this example of political “bullying” by Messing and McCormick is actually not pervasive in all of Hollywood, it’s obviously a challenge to be openly Conservative in the industry.

“You just feel like your ideas are not welcome, that everybody is moving in a lock-step,” O’Hurley told Yahoo Entertainment. “It creates a very uncreative atmosphere, and I don’t think it’s something that’s healthy for Hollywood. I believe that all ideas should be welcome, that’s the nature of creativity. The artistic expression is the act of the infinite possibility. And in order to have that, you have to have all the colors available on the palette. You have to have all perspectives of what you’re working with, and for people to want to cancel each other out because of the way that they feel, is just a dangerous and unhealthy atmosphere.”

O’Hurley pressed the need for civility.

“All ideas are welcome. Whatever my political thoughts are are really nobody else’s business and… they don’t deserve to be celebrated just because I’m a celebrity,” O’Hurley said. “I don’t feel as though I have an additional pulpit, that I’ve earned that because I’m a so-called celebrity.”

Surely, across the nation in various industries, cities, and states, we are inevitably going to cross paths with colleagues and people of different political ideologies—even those we otherwise would get along with. Although it’s obviously challenging, we must learn to have an open dialogue and aim for a constructive approach to our differences, rather than outright antagonism. People who simply voted differently from us are not immediately misaligned with us on every moral issue.

O’Hurley is currently working on a one-man show, “A Man With Standards”, debuting in Los Angeles Sept. 20-21 at Feinstein’s at Vitello’s in Studio City, California. It’s aiming to be a revival of the supper club, where audiences enjoy dinner and entertainment in the same place.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.