输入搜索

意见

白人民族主义和裙带资本主义是在亚马逊开火的火花

上图显示了Terra和Aqua MODIS在8月15-22,2019之间观察到的巴西主动火灾探测。 火灾的位置以橙色显示,已被VIIRS获得的夜间图像覆盖。
上图显示了Terra和Aqua MODIS在8月15-22,2019之间观察到的巴西主动火灾探测。 火灾的位置以橙色显示,已被VIIRS获得的夜间图像覆盖。 (图片:美国宇航局地球观测台图片来自约书亚史蒂文斯)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

右翼否认全球变暖,因为它的气候“科学”已经向资本家投降了。

人造亚马逊火灾是为了清除其森林和土着人民的土地。 这些好处是Jair Bolsonaro的亲信,同时也为世界带来了气候灾难。

亚马逊在巴西的火灾已成为全球新闻。 美国宇航局戈达德太空飞行中心生物圈科学实验室负责人道格拉斯莫顿说,最近解释了大火,他说 “八月2019脱颖而出“作为一个月,火灾人数远高于2010以来的任何一年。

这类似于巴西国家空间研究所(INPE) 之前有报道。 在此 INPE负责人,Ricardo Galvao, 被解雇 在今年8月2发布之后,INPE公布了基于卫星图像的数据,该数据显示巴西亚马逊地区的森林砍伐在去年同期的两个月内增加了40%。

通过观察巴西火灾发生的地方,可以看出它主要是人造的 主要公路 并蔓延到森林里。 显然,这是一个企图清除森林的经济开采 - 采伐,养牛,商业农业和采矿 - 这是Bolsonaro总统政策的核心。

8月最后一周对记者说, Bolsonaro说“对于这么少的印度人来说,土地太多了。”虽然他已宣布因火灾而临时暂停清理土地,但他的政策主旨仍然是要解除将亚马逊移交给大公司和降落的所有障碍。在巴西的利益。

亚马逊森林是世界上最大的碳储存地,也是全球最大的碳汇。 如果它冒烟,它会 在规模上产生气候变化 以前没见过。 而这种变化很快就会变得不可逆转,因为一旦森林开始死亡,经过一个点,几乎不可能阻止其向下暴跌。

亚马逊森林除了采取行动修复大气碳外,还有助于产生降雨的水文循环。 亚马逊森林覆盖率的丧失不仅会影响世界气候,还会影响巴西及邻国的当地气候,导致降雨减少,对农业产生不利影响。

虽然巴西率先对亚马逊进行了直接攻击,而Bolsonaro在他对土着人民的袭击中增加了种族因素,但将亚马逊森林开辟为农业,伐木和采矿的压力并不仅限于巴西。 显然,为什么其他已完成森林的国家认为拥有森林的国家永久保留它们以获得全球利益? 谁付钱和谁获利 是特朗普和美国走出去的气候变化谈判 - 巴黎协议 - 的一部分。

这个支付和收益的球员确实可以成为巴西的民族主义者。 但这不是Bolsonaro的论点。 对他而言,唯一的问题是为了清理亚马逊而点燃的火灾不应该在没有控制的情况下燃烧:他必须流下所有那些本来可以出售以换取金钱的原木。

他正在询问特朗普总统,他是气候变化不和的人,也是另一位白人民族主义者,他帮助扑灭火灾。 他对巴西土着人民 - “印第安人”没有同情,他称他们为巴西骑兵在“清除”土着人民方面的失败而哀叹,不像 美国骑兵,效率更高 在其“消灭印第安人”。

在我们解决气候正义,土着权利和经济发展这一复杂问题之前,我们需要解决对亚马逊森林作用的一种误解。 亚马逊森林不会产生20百分比的氧气 正如通常所说,世界需要。 它是陆地上最大的氧气生产国,产量约为 6-9总氧的百分比 这是全球产生的,包括来自海洋的。 尽管如此,我们还不能谈论生产氧气,而不会问亚马逊消耗多少氧气。 所以我们必须看到亚马逊产生的净氧气,意味着减去它产生的氧气。 一旦我们这样做,我们发现亚马逊的氧气净输出几乎为零,因为它也是氧气的最大消费者。 亚马逊的价值在于固定大气中的碳,其损失将意味着储存的碳释放到大气中并带来毁灭性后果。

是否有可能在经济上使用林地,以便我们不会因地方和全球的后果而遭受森林砍伐? 争论是肯定的,这可以使用科学的方法和技术来完成,这样我们就可以获得短期的发展效益并实现长期目标。 这将不同于 殖民模特 促进单一文化和代表官方主张森林,但意味着让森林社区参与保护森林。 这将意味着剔除森林,但在其再生的范围内,并使用亚马逊环境自然的混合树木。 这意味着,如果允许其中的地雷和其他项目,最大限度地减少其影响,并留下大片区域作为未受影响的自然保护区。

当然,这需要一项尊重其身份的土着人民政策,同时允许他们选择如何融入自己; 不是作为生活博物馆的作品,而是作为与自然和巴西社会其他部分和谐相处的社区。 这些是 复杂的我问题,这些问题没有一个答案。 他们的回答将意味着一种允许对话的民主,以及一种调和发展目标和维护人民身份和文化多样性的方法。

资本逻辑不是采取这种复杂的民主道路,而是非常简单。 它优先考虑资本家的利益 - 不是资本,而是资本家 - 而不是人民的其他部分。 对于资本家来说,有一种简单的方法可以看待任何问题:如果我能让州遵循某项政策,我可以得到什么回报? 国家把土地,森林和矿产资源给予资本家是马克思所谓的初级或原始积累。 在公地的语言中,它是公地的“圈地”,在这种情况下,亚马逊森林是公地。

如果Bolsonaro可以将森林土地 - 其树木,其矿物质及其用于清理森林以进行养牛或大豆养殖 - 交给他的林地 资本主义的亲信,他们赚大钱。 这是Bolsonaro政策的关键。 这类似于总理纳伦德拉·莫迪在印度最近修改“森林权利法案”所做的事情。

巴西和印度都在大规模剥夺人民对自然资源的权利。 这就是资本和他们的理论家所说的释放资本的动物精神。

资本主义不仅让特朗普,莫迪斯和博尔索纳罗斯认定资本有利于人民,也有利于其他理论家。 其中之一,美国经济学家威廉诺德豪斯,已经建立了一种经济模型,基本上“表明”花钱是更好的,而不是今天防止气候变化,而是在未来减轻气候变化。 这种方法有两个谬误。 其中之一是,直接通过排放或消费产生碳排放的产品来实现气候变化的人将远远低于那些产生低得多的碳排放的人。

不幸的是,这种气候变化的影响将在世界上大部分贫困人口生活的热带和赤道地区变得更加不利。 他们也生产 减少碳排放量。 Nordhaus型模型的另一个缺陷是,它们将今天获得的利益视为未来的不利影响,就像资本家看待他的利润一样:本季度的利润比资本主义本身的长期可持续性更重要。

其他方法和模型是否可行? 当然是。 一个 方法的数量 这解决了这两个问题。 但今天的气候科学与科学没什么关系; 决定我们气候未来的是政治和资本利益。 美国作家厄普顿辛克莱 曾写过1930s,“当他的工资取决于他不理解的时候,很难让一个人理解某事!”

否认全球变暖不是全球权利所犯的科学错误; 只是谁在支付决定他们信仰的账单。


本文是由合作伙伴制作的 Newsclick 周游世界,独立媒体研究所的一个项目。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Prabir Purkayastha

Prabir Purkayastha是该杂志的创始人和主编 Newsclick。 他是印度自由软件运动的主席,并且是工程师和科学活动家。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 太平绅士 11-2019-XNUMX

    关于裙带资本主义的好文章。 作为自由主义者,我认为我们需要停止允许政府参与商业活动。 虽然我怀疑全球变暖背后的“科学”有多种原因,但我认为我们不应该只是烧毁森林,使使用它们的人生活困难。 我是一个顽固的环保主义者。

    话虽如此,我注意到有人在你的文章中传递评论。 特朗普不是白人民族主义者。 在他当选总统之前,他聘请了一位黑人女性担任其公司的首席执行官。 他也是为数不多的允许布莱克斯和犹太人进入佛罗里达州棕榈滩俱乐部的商人之一。

    自上任以来,他的经济政策不成比例地帮助黑人和西班牙裔人寻找工作。 他还系统地谴责KKK和其他种族主义运动,他们声称自己是他的“追随者”。

    https://www.npr.org/2017/08/14/543477490/racism-is-evil-trump-denounces-the-kkk-neo-nazis-and-white-supremacists
    https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3466713/Donald-Trump-stares-protester-wearing-KKK-shirt-endorsement-Christie-splits-GOP-establishment.html

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

OPINION

White Nationalism and Crony Capitalism Are the Sparks That Started Fires in the Amazon

The map above shows active fire detections in Brazil as observed by Terra and Aqua MODIS between August 15-22, 2019. The locations of the fires, shown in orange, have been overlain on nighttime imagery acquired by VIIRS.
The map above shows active fire detections in Brazil as observed by Terra and Aqua MODIS between August 15-22, 2019. The locations of the fires, shown in orange, have been overlain on nighttime imagery acquired by VIIRS. (Photo: NASA Earth Observatory images by Joshua Stevens)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

The right only denies global warming because its climate ‘science’ has surrendered to capitalists.

The man-made Amazon fires are for clearing the land of its forests and indigenous people. The benefits are for Jair Bolsonaro’s cronies, while producing a climate disaster for the world.

The Amazon fires in Brazil have become worldwide news. Explaining the fires recently, Douglas Morton, chief of the Biospheric Sciences Laboratory at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center, said that “August 2019 stands out” as a month with a far higher number of fires than any preceding year since 2010.

This is similar to what Brazil’s National Institute for Space Research (INPE) had reported earlier. The head of INPE, Ricardo Galvao, was fired on August 2 this year after INPE came out with figures based on satellite imagery that showed that deforestation in the Brazilian Amazon had increased by 40 percent in two months over a similar period last year.

That it is largely man-made can be seen from looking at where the fires have started in Brazil: mostly along the major highways and spreading into the forest. Clearly, it is an attempt to clear the forests for economic exploitation—logging, cattle ranching, commercial farming and mining—that lies at the heart of President Bolsonaro’s policies.

Speaking to reporters in the last week of August, Bolsonaro said, “It is too much land for so few Indians.” While he has declared a temporary moratorium on land-clearing due to the fires, the thrust of his policies is still to dismantle all obstacles to handing over the Amazon to big corporate and landed interests in Brazil.

Amazon forests are the world’s biggest store of carbon as well as its largest global sink. If it goes up in smoke, it will produce climate change on a scale not seen before. And this change could soon become irreversible, as once a forest starts dying, after a point, it becomes almost impossible to stop its downward plunge.

Apart from acting to fix atmospheric carbon, Amazon forests also help in the hydrological cycle that produces rainfall. The loss of forest cover in the Amazon would affect not only the world’s climate, but also the local climate in Brazil and neighboring countries, leading to less rainfall, and adversely affecting its agriculture.

While Brazil has taken the lead in a direct attack on the Amazon, with Bolsonaro adding a racial element to his attack on indigenous people, the pressure to open the Amazonian forests to agriculture, logging and mining is not just limited to Brazil. Obviously, why should other countries, which have finished their forests, argue that countries with forests keep them permanently for global benefit? Who pays and who gains is very much a part of the climate change negotiations—the Paris Accord—from which Trump and the United States have walked out.

This pitch—who pays and who gains—could indeed be a nationalist pitch for Brazil. But this is not Bolsonaro’s argument. For him, the only issue is that fires lit for clearing the Amazon should not burn without control: he must be shedding tears about all those logs that could have been sold for money going up in smoke.

He is asking President Trump, a fellow climate change disbeliever and another white nationalist, for help with dousing the fires. He has no sympathy for Brazil’s indigenous people—“Indians,” he calls them—bemoaning the failure of the Brazilian cavalry in “clearing” its indigenous people, unlike the U.S. cavalry, which was so much more efficient in its “extermination of the Indians.”

Before we address the complex issue of climate justice, indigenous rights and economic development, we need to address one misunderstanding on the role of Amazon forests. Amazon forests do not produce 20 percent of the oxygen the world needs, as is commonly said. It is the largest producer of oxygen on land, producing about 6-9 percent of the total oxygen that is produced globally, including from the oceans. Still, we cannot talk of producing oxygen without also asking how much of it the Amazon consumes. So we must see the net oxygen that the Amazon produces, meaning, subtract the oxygen consumed by it from what it produces. Once we do that, we find that the Amazon’s net output of oxygen is near zero, as it is also the largest consumer of oxygen. The Amazon’s value is in fixing atmospheric carbon, and its loss will mean the release of stored carbon into the atmosphere with devastating consequences.

Is it possible to use the forest lands economically such that we do not have deforestation with both local and global consequences? The argument is yes, this can be done using scientific methods and technology, such that we can get short-term developmental benefits as well as meet long-term goals. This would be different from the colonial models promoting mono-cultures and claiming forests on behalf of the Crown, but would mean involving the forest communities in protecting forests. It would mean culling forests, but within limits of its regeneration and using a mix of trees that are natural to the Amazonian environment. It would mean, if mines and other projects are allowed in them, to minimize their impact and leave large areas as untouched natural reserves.

Of course, this would require a policy for indigenous people that respects their identity while allowing them to choose how they integrate themselves; not as living museum pieces, but as communities living in harmony with nature and the rest of Brazilian society. These are complex issues and there is no one answer to these questions. Their answer would mean a democracy that allows for dialogue and a way to reconcile the goals of development and maintains peoples’ identities and cultural diversities.

Instead of taking this complex, democratic path, the logic of capital is quite simple. It prioritizes the interest of the capitalists—not capital but capitalists—over other sections of the people. For the capitalist, there is a simple way of looking at any issue: what return can I get if I can get the state to follow a certain policy? Giving away of land, forests and mineral resources to capitalists by the state is what Marx called primary—or primitive—accumulation. In the language of the commons, it is “enclosure” of the commons, and in this case, the Amazon forests are the commons.

If Bolsonaro can hand over forest lands—its trees, its minerals and their use after clearing forests for cattle-ranching or soybean-farming—to his capitalist cronies, they make big bucks. This is the crux of Bolsonaro’s policies. This is similar to what Prime Minister Narendra Modi is doing in India with the recent modification to the Forest Rights Act.

Both Brazil and India are expropriating the people’s rights over natural resources on a grand scale. This is what capital and their ideologues call releasing the animal spirits of capital.

Capitalism not only has the Trumps, Modis and Bolsonaros determine that what is good for capital is good for the people, but also other ideologues. One of them, American economist William Nordhaus, has built an economic model that essentially “shows” that it is better to spend money, not on preventing climate change today, but mitigating it in the future. There are two fallacies in this approach. One is that those producing climate change—either directly, through their emissions, or by consuming products that produce carbon emissions—are going to be impacted far less than those who produce much lower carbon emissions.

Unfortunately, the impact of such climate change is going to be far more adverse in tropical and equatorial regions of the world, where the bulk of the poor live. They also produce much less carbon emissions. The other flaw in Nordhaus-type models is that they privilege benefits received today over adverse effects in the future, the same way a capitalist looks at his profits: this quarter’s profits matter more than the long-term sustainability of capitalism itself.

Are other approaches and models possible? Yes, of course. A number of approaches that address both these issues exist. But climate science today has little to do with science; it is politics and the interests of capital that are deciding our climate future. Upton Sinclair, the American writer, had written in the 1930s, “It is difficult to get a man to understand something when his salary depends upon his not understanding it!”

Denying global warming is not a scientific mistake that the global right makes; it is simply who is paying the bill that determines their belief.


This article was produced in partnership by Newsclick and Globetrotter, a project of the Independent Media Institute.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Prabir Purkayastha

Prabir Purkayastha is the founder and editor in chief of Newsclick. He is the president of the Free Software Movement of India and is an engineer and a science activist.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. J.P. September 11, 2019

    Great article here on crony capitalism. As a libertarian i believe we need to stop allowing government to be involved with business. Though I’m skeptical of the “science” behind global warming for a variety of reasons, I don’t think we should just be burning down forests and making life difficult for people who use them. I’m a die-hard conservationist.

    That being said, I noticed one concerning passing comment in your article. Trump isn’t a white nationalist. Before he was elected president he hired a black woman to be the CEO of one of his companies. He was also one of the few businessmen to allow Blacks ans Jews into his Palm Beach Florida clubs when everyone else wasn’t.

    Since being in office, his economic policies have disproportionately helped blacks and hispanics find jobs. He has also systemically condemned the KKK and other racist movements that people who claim to be “followers” of his try to do.

    https://www.npr.org/2017/08/14/543477490/racism-is-evil-trump-denounces-the-kkk-neo-nazis-and-white-supremacists
    https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3466713/Donald-Trump-stares-protester-wearing-KKK-shirt-endorsement-Christie-splits-GOP-establishment.html

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.