输入搜索

警察/监狱

新法案将加剧仇恨犯罪轻罪定罪给枪支禁令

三月为我们的生活 - 华盛顿特区。 日期:三月24,2018。 (照片:ep_jhu Flickr)
三月为我们的生活 - 华盛顿特区。 日期:三月24,2018。 (照片:ep_jhu Flickr)

“这只是常识。 如果你被判犯有仇恨罪,你就不会买枪。 完全停止。“

众议院司法委员会预计将于周二投票通过一系列新的枪支暴力预防措施,包括禁止高容量杂志的立法,激励各州制定禁止危机中的个人获取枪支的“红旗”立法,并禁止因轻罪而被判犯有轻罪的人。

星期二的会议是在一名枪手在德克萨斯州埃尔帕索的一家沃尔玛开枪并杀死22人并一名24受伤后的一个月。 就在最近,一名男子在8月31st的德克萨斯州米德兰和敖德萨之间开车时遭遇枪击,杀死8并打伤另一名25。 两次枪击事件再次引发了对更多枪支立法的呼吁。

枪背景检查没有投票

去年2月,民主党人在众议院提出并通过了立法,扩大了联邦背景调查。 然而,参议院尚未对该立法进行投票,因为参议院领导人Mitch McConnell拒绝将该法案提交参议院投票, 自称 在这样做之前,他正在等待特朗普的反馈。

“我几个星期前曾说过,如果总统对一项法案采取立场,以便我们知道我们实际上会制定法律,而不仅仅是连续投票,我很乐意把它放在场上,”麦康奈尔 告诉 保守的脱口秀节目主持人Hugh Hewitt上周。 “如果总统赞成他公开和公开讨论过的一些事情,我知道如果我们通过它,它将成为法律,我会把它放在地板上。”

正如Peter Castagno 以前写 对于公民真相,HR8,也被称为2019的两党背景检查法案,将弥补在线或枪支购买枪支的漏洞,这些枪支允许枪支购买者逃避背景调查。 HR1112同样会为枪支购买背景调查留出漏洞。

麦康奈尔拒绝就众议院法案进行投票,尽管最近还是如此 昆尼皮亚克大学民意调查 表明93百分比的美国人支持普遍背景调查。

解除仇恨行为

现在,一项名为“解除武装仇恨法案”的法案去年5月在罗德岛的代表大卫·西西林(David Cicilline)在众议院提出,并由宾夕法尼亚州的鲍勃·凯西(Bob Casey)在参议院提出,将禁止任何被判犯有轻罪的人犯罪。

“解除武装的仇恨法案通过禁止向任何因种族,宗教,性别,性取向,性别认同或残疾而被判犯有殴打罪的人出售枪支来解决仇恨犯罪漏洞,”西西林在其办公室发表的一份声明中表示。 。

仇恨犯罪被认为是基于性别,性别,性取向,种族,种族,宗教,残疾或任何其他社会群体而故意针对个人的任何犯罪。 仇恨犯罪可以在州和联邦法院审理,并被归类为轻罪或重罪。

虽然实际上针对他人的任何犯罪都可归类为仇恨犯罪,但通常仇恨犯罪涉及殴打,殴打,闯入,跟踪和破坏财产的指控。 为了使一个人犯有仇恨罪,检察官必须证明被告的行为是基于属于受法律保护的社会团体的受害者的目标。

西米林在一份声明中声称,“轻罪或殴打可能包括威胁或攻击的轻罪,往往是更严重袭击的先兆。” 因此,“解除武装仇恨法案”希望通过防止已经被定罪的暴力易受伤害的个人拥有枪支来防止大规模枪击和进一步的枪支暴力。

“我们已经一次又一次地看到当被定罪的白人至上主义者,白人民族主义者或新纳粹分子能够购买枪支时会发生什么” 西西里说,担任众议院枪支暴力预防工作组副主席。 “这项法案结束了仇恨犯罪的漏洞,使得一个人在一连串的枪声中表达仇恨的声音变得更加困难。 这只是常识。 如果你被判犯有仇恨罪,你就不会买枪。 完全停止。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
劳伦冯伯纳斯

Lauren是Citizen Truth的联合创始人之一。 她毕业于杜兰大学,获得政治经济学学位。 接下来的几年里,她一直在世界各地背包旅行,并开始在健康和保健行业开展绿色业务。 她找到了回归政治的道路,发现了一种致力于寻找真相的新闻热情。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

POLICE/PRISON

New Bill Would Add Hate Crime Misdemeanor Convictions to Gun Bans

March For Our Lives - Washington, DC. Date: March 24, 2018. (Photo: ep_jhu Flickr)
March For Our Lives - Washington, DC. Date: March 24, 2018. (Photo: ep_jhu Flickr)

“It’s just common sense. If you’ve been convicted of a hate crime, you don’t get to buy a gun. Full stop.”

The House Judiciary Committee is expected to vote on Tuesday on a series of new gun violence prevention measures including legislation that would ban high-capacity magazines, incentivize states to set up “red flag” legislation banning individuals in a crisis from accessing guns, and prohibit individuals convicted of misdemeanor hate crimes from owning guns.

Tuesday’s meeting comes a month after a gunman shot and killed 22 people at a Walmart in El Paso, Texas and injured another 24. Even more recently, a man went on a shooting spree as he drove between Midland and Odessa, Texas on August 31st, killing 8 and injuring another 25. Both shootings, once again, revived calls for more gun legislation.

No Vote on Gun Background Checks

Last February, Democrats introduced and passed legislation in the House expanding federal background checks. However, the Senate has yet to vote on the legislation as Senate leader Mitch McConnell has refused to bring the legislation to the Senate floor for a vote, claiming he was waiting on feedback from Trump before doing so.

“I said several weeks ago that if the president took a position on a bill so that we knew we would actually be making a law and not just having serial votes, I’d be happy to put it on the floor,” McConnell told conservative talk show radio host Hugh Hewitt last week. “If the president is in favor of a number of things that he has discussed openly and publicly, and I know that if we pass it it’ll become law, I’ll put it on the floor.”

As Peter Castagno previously wrote for Citizen Truth, H.R.8, also known as the Bipartisan Background Checks Act of 2019, would close loopholes on online or gun show purchases of firearms that allow gun buyers to evade background checks. H.R.1112 would similarly close loopholes for gun purchase background checks.

McConnell’s refusal to vote on the House bills comes despite a recent Quinnipiac University poll showing that 93 percent of Americans support universal background checks.

Disarm Hate Act

Now a bill called the Disarm Hate Act introduced last May in the House by Representative David Cicilline of Rhode Island and is sponsored in the Senate by Bob Casey of Pennsylvania would ban anyone convicted of a misdemeanor hate crime from owning guns.

“The Disarm Hate Act closes the Hate Crimes Loophole by prohibiting the sale of firearms to anyone convicted of assaulting someone based on their race, religion, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, or disability,” said Cicilline in a statement released by his office.

Hate crimes are considered any crime that purposefully targets an individual based on sex, gender, sexual orientation, ethnicity, race, religion, disability or any other social grouping. Hate crimes can be tried in both state and federal courts and be classified as a misdemeanor or felony.

While virtually any crime committed against another person can be categorized as a hate crime, typically hate crimes involve charges for assault, battery, trespassing, stalking and destruction of property. To convict a person of a hate crime a prosecutor must prove the defendant acted with an intent to target their victim based on the victim belonging to a legally protected social grouping.

“A misdemeanor hate crime, which can include menacing or assault, is often a precursor for more severe attacks,” claimed Cicilline in a statement. Thus, the Disarm Hate Act hopes to prevent mass shootings and further gun violence by preventing violent prone individuals already convicted of hate crimes from owning a firearm.

“Over and over again we have seen what happens when a convicted white supremacist, white nationalist, or neo-Nazi is able to purchase a gun,” said Cicilline, who serves as Vice Chair of the House Gun Violence Prevention Task Force. “This bill closes the Hate Crimes Loophole and makes it much harder for someone to give voice to their hatred in a volley of gunfire. It’s just common sense. If you’ve been convicted of a hate crime, you don’t get to buy a gun. Full stop.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Lauren von Bernuth

Lauren is one of the co-founders of Citizen Truth. She graduated with a degree in Political Economy from Tulane University. She spent the following years backpacking around the world and starting a green business in the health and wellness industry. She found her way back to politics and discovered a passion for journalism dedicated to finding the truth.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.