输入搜索

公司文化

“富有疯狂的亚洲人”会在好莱坞点燃更多的多元化吗?

Crazy Rich Asians预告片的屏幕截图
Crazy Rich Asians是一个票房惊喜粉碎它,图像通过YouTube。

浪漫喜剧 疯狂富有的亚洲人 本周末票房超过预期 - 但是现在推测它预示着好莱坞会有更多的多样性,还为时尚早?

这部华纳兄弟浪漫喜剧在五天开幕时赚了100万新西兰元,超出行业预期,预计它将接近34万美元。

激烈的媒体嗡嗡声引发了电影的首映式 - 讨论其在屏幕上呈现的分水岭时刻:这是自第一部以来的第一部主要电影制片厂 “喜福会” 25多年前以亚洲人为主角。

这部电影以Kevin Kwan的同名2013小说为基础,讲述了一位在新加坡遇见男友富裕家庭的大学教授的故事。

强大的开放 疯狂富有的亚洲人 也是 浪漫喜剧的历史。 这是自16月2014以来rom-com首次超过票房。 这种类型曾经是好莱坞最可靠的类型之一,现在在Netflix而不是电影院中茁壮成长。

的创作者 疯狂富有的亚洲人 据报道,Netflix拒绝了一个巨大的发薪日,并选择了一个戏剧性的发行,让电影有机会被影院的观众看到。

确实,这部电影面临几个问题 挑战 在其发展过程中,往往是因为其前所未有的代表性:在出售小说的权利之前,作家Kwan被一位制片人告知,由康斯坦斯吴扮演的瑞秋朱的角色必须由白人女性扮演。

电影导演Jon M. Chu也被告知他将无法找到足够的演员来填补整体。

“你不会找到一个可以为此做准备的亚洲演员,”楚回忆说。 “我认为这太荒谬了。 我只知道我们必须更加努力,因为没有为人们建立系统来找到这样的角色。 我们只需要深入一层,然后我们找到了所有这些有才华的人,他们已经做好了准备。 他们完成了这项工作。“

仅小说的标题对于工作室也是有问题的。

“人们想改变电影的名称,”楚说。 “但这本书被称为'Crazy Rich Asians'。 这是一个挑衅性的头衔。 我认为它创造了对话,我觉得这很好。“

当然,有几个 用品 在电影取得成功之后如雨后春笋般出现,想知道好莱坞是否会翻开新的一页,为这些更多元化的项目提供资金,但历史告诉我们不是吗?

考虑一下多年前美国最后一部主要以亚洲演员为主角的主要电影首次亮相25, “喜福会”。 尽管它获得了好评和商业上的成功,但这部电影并没有引发更多屏幕代表的市场,也许是因为它当时独立,被视为例外。

康斯坦斯吴,明星 疯狂富有的亚洲人同时也是ABC的喜剧系列“Fresh Off the Boat”中的明星,该剧在2015上首次亮相 - 在第一部也是唯一一部亚洲美国主导的电视连续剧之后的二十年。 它是目前唯一一个在美国主要网络上播放亚裔美国人的电视节目。

在其他表现方面,2011的喜剧 伴娘 以女性为主导的演员阵容成为票房热门,获得好评和奥斯卡提名的写作和表演。 尽管如此,后来以女性演员为主角的电影仍然经常被视为小说或经过仔细审查,正如2016翻拍所见 捉鬼敢死队 和今年的 海洋的8.

众所周知,好莱坞是一个商业驱动的业务,因此它仍然遵守严格的规则,以最大化市场吸引力 - 以屏幕表示为代价。 凭借如此坚定的商业模式,必须取得一致的成功经验才能引出行业中的任何新趋势。

导演Antoine Fuqua是黑人电影制作人的清算路径

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 约翰尼洛克 八月25,2018

    我一直认为除了武术之外,亚洲男人被分流到角落,所以可能...... https://t.co/XDOktuCnM6

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

Will ‘Crazy Rich Asians’ Ignite More Diversity in Hollywood?

Screenshot of Crazy Rich Asians trailer
Crazy Rich Asians is a box office surprise smash it, image via YouTube.

The romantic comedy Crazy Rich Asians topped the box office this weekend, exceeding expectations—but is it too soon to speculate that it heralds more diversity to come in Hollywood?

The Warner Bros. romantic comedy made $34 million over its five day opening, exceeding industry expectations that predicted it being closer to $25 million.

Intense media buzz led up to the film’s premiere—discussing its watershed moment for on-screen representation: it was the first major studio film since The Joy Luck Club 25 years ago to feature a predominately Asian cast.

The film, which is based on the 2013 novel of the same name by Kevin Kwan, tells the story of a college professor who meets her boyfriend’s wealthy family in Singapore.

The strong opening for Crazy Rich Asians was also historic for romantic comedies. It was the first time that a rom-com has topped the box office since June of 2014. The genre, which was once one of the Hollywood’s most reliable, now thrives on Netflix rather than the cineplex.

The creators of Crazy Rich Asians reportedly turned down a big payday from Netflix and opted for a theatrical release to give the film a chance to be seen by audiences in theaters.

Indeed, the film faced several challenges in its development, often because of its unprecedented representation: before selling the novel’s rights, author Kwan was told by one producer that the role of Rachel Chu, played by Constance Wu, would have to be played by a white woman.

The film’s director, Jon M. Chu, was also told that he wouldn’t be able to find enough actors to fill the ensemble.

“‘You’re not going to find an Asian cast that can step up to the plate for this,’” Chu recalled being told. “I thought that was ridiculous. I just knew that we had to look harder because there weren’t systems built for people to find roles like these. We just had to go one layer deeper, and then we found all these talented people and they’re ready. They’ve done the work.”

The title of the novel alone was problematic to studios as well.

“People wanted to change the name of the movie,” Chu said. “But the book is called ‘Crazy Rich Asians’. It’s a provocative title. I think it creates conversation, which I think is good.”

Naturally, several articles have sprung up in the wake of the film’s success, wondering if Hollywood will turn over a new leaf and fund more diverse projects such as these, but does history tell us otherwise?

Consider that the last major U.S. film to feature a predominately Asian cast debuted 25 years ago, The Joy Luck Club. Although it earned rave reviews and commercial success, the film did not spark a market for more on-screen representation, perhaps because it stood alone then and was seen as an exception.

Constance Wu, the stars of Crazy Rich Asians, also currently stars in ABC’s comedy series “Fresh Off the Boat”, which debuted in 2015—two decades after the first and only other Asian American-led T.V. series. It is currently the only T.V. show that features an Asian American cast on a major U.S. network.

In terms of other representation, 2011’s comedy Bridesmaids with its female-driven cast became a box office hit, earning rave reviews and Oscar nominations for writing and acting. Nonetheless, subsequent films featuring predominately female casts are still often seen as novel or met with scrutiny, as seen with 2016’s remake Ghostbusters and this year’s Ocean’s 8.

It’s no secret that Hollywood is a commercially driven business, and therefore it still abides by stringent rules to maximize mass market appeal—at the cost of on-screen representation. With such a staunch business model, it must take consistent proven success to elicit any new trends in the industry.

Director Antoine Fuqua is Clearing Paths for Black Filmmakers

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

1 Comment

  1. Johnny Rocko August 25, 2018

    I always thought Asian men have been shunted to the corner, except martial art stuff, so that might… https://t.co/XDOktuCnM6

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.