输入搜索

亚太

日本会成为另一个中国吗? 特朗普在周末会见日本首相

日本总统唐纳德·J·特朗普和日本首相安倍晋三在周日晚上,23,2018,在纽约市特朗普大厦总统私人住宅的双边宴会上握手。 (官方白宫照片由Shealah Craighead拍摄)eagle1effi,Dr,Dreamer和19更多人发现这个7,871视图21收视0评论9月拍摄23,2018公共领域标签
总统唐纳德·J·特朗普和日本首相安倍晋三周日,9月23,2018,在特朗普总统在纽约州特朗普大厦的住所会面。 (白宫官方摄影:Shealah Craighead)

周末,美国总统唐纳德特朗普在日本会见了日本首相安倍晋三,贸易和朝鲜之间的分歧低于表层。

特朗普总统在阵亡将士纪念日周末访问日本期间,与日本首相安倍晋三的友情展示,包括高尔夫,烧烤晚餐和相扑摔跤比赛。 但是,虽然领导人表面上表现出强烈的联系,但贸易和朝鲜政策的重大差异支撑着他们的会议。

日本和美国的斗争是一致的

最重要的区别在于朝鲜最近的弹道导弹试验,日本首相称之为“非常令人遗憾”和“违反联合国安理会决议。”虽然日本要求更严格地执行联合国关于其核问题的决议。武装邻居,特朗普总统对导弹试验采取了非批评态度, 啁啾 星期六:

“朝鲜发射了一些小武器,这些武器扰乱了我的一些人和其他人,但不是我。 我相信金主席会信守我的承诺,并且当他给Swampman Joe Biden打电话时,他也会笑一笑,甚至更糟。 也许那是在给我发信号?“

在他的推文前不久,特朗普总统的国家安全顾问约翰博尔顿 告诉记者 毫无疑问,朝鲜的导弹试验违反了联合国安理会的决议,并表示美国政府将继续对金正恩政权实施严厉制裁。

总统特朗普受到广泛批评,因为赞美金正恩对美国前副总统的贬低言论,NBC主持人查克托德 质疑 新闻秘书萨拉·赫卡比·桑德斯说:“你能否解释为什么美国人不应该担心美国总统基本上会与一位前美国前总统的凶残独裁独裁者站在一起?”

“总统并没有'支持'。 但我认为他们对前副总统乔拜登的评估是一致的。 总统再次关注这一点 过程 是他的关系,并确保我们 继续 在走向无核化的道路上,“ 回应 桑德斯。

副总统拜登的助手之一 与ABC新闻采访 关于总统的推文,他说,“我会说这条推文不言而喻,但它是如此精神错乱和不稳定,以至于我不确定是否有人甚至可以直截了当地说出来。 拼写 错误 不是第一个问题的主要问题,“指的是特朗普在推文的第一个版本中拼写前副总统的名字”Bidan“。

与日本织机有贸易问题吗?

贸易是领导人之间讨论的另一个问题,特朗普总统 会见 日本企业高管谈到了他认为对日本有利的贸易动态。

“我会说日本在很多年里都有很大优势,但这没关系。 也许这就是你如此喜欢我的原因,“总统说。 特朗普总统 最近宣布 进口车辆对国家安全构成威胁,并威胁要征收会破坏日本汽车制造商的关税。

总统表示,贸易谈判将暂停,直到7月日本大选,但对未来的双边协议表示乐观。

“通过这笔交易,我们希望解决贸易不平衡问题,消除对美国出口的障碍,确保我们关系中的公平和互惠。 我们越来越近了,“特朗普总统说。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

Will Japan Be Another China? Trump Meets Japanese Prime Minister Over Weekend

President Donald J. Trump and Prime Minister Shinzo Abe of Japan shake hands during their bilateral dinner meeting Sunday evening, Sept. 23, 2018, in the President’s private residence at Trump Tower in New York City. (Official White House Photo by Shealah Craighead) eagle1effi, Dr ,Dreamer and 19 more people faved this 7,871 views 21 faves 0 comments Taken on September 23, 2018 Public domain Tags
President Donald J. Trump and Japanese Prime Minister Abe Shinzo Sunday, September 23, 2018, meet in President Trump's residence at Trump Tower in New York, NY. (Official White House Photo by Shealah Craighead)

As U.S. President Donald Trump met with Japanese Prime Minister Abe Shinzo in Japan over the weekend, differences over trade and North Korea lingered below the surface.

President Trump’s visit to Japan over memorial day weekend was marked by displays of camaraderie with Japanese Prime Minister Abe Shinzo, including golf, a barbecue dinner, and a sumo wrestling match. But while the leaders demonstrated strong ties on the surface, significant differences in trade and North Korea policy underlied their meeting.

Japan and US Struggle to See Eye to Eye

The most significant difference came in response to North Korea’s recent ballistic missile tests, which the Japanese prime minister called “extremely regrettable” and a “breach of U.N. Security Council resolutions.” While Japan has called for stricter enforcement of U.N. resolutions regarding its nuclear-armed neighbor, President Trump took a non-critical tone on the missile tests, tweeting Saturday:

“North Korea fired off some small weapons, which disturbed some of my people, and others, but not me. I have confidence that Chairman Kim will keep his promise to me, & also smiled when he called Swampman Joe Biden a low IQ individual, & worse. Perhaps that’s sending me a signal?”

Shortly before his tweet, President Trump’s national security adviser John Bolton told reporters there was “no doubt” North Korea’s missile test breached United Nations Security Council resolutions and said the administration would continue to enforce tough sanctions on Kim Jong Un’s regime.

After President’s Trump was widely criticized for lauding Kim Jong Un’s disparaging remark of America’s former vice president, NBC host Chuck Todd questioned Press Secretary Sarah Huckabee Sanders, “Can you explain why Americans should not be concerned that the President of the United States is essentially siding with a murderous, authoritarian dictator over a former vice president of the United States?”

“The president’s not ‘siding’ with that. But I think they agree in their assessment of former vice president Joe Biden. Again, the president’s focus in this process is the relationship he has, and making sure we continue on the path to denuclearization,” responded Sanders.

One of Vice President Biden’s aides spoke to ABC News about the president’s tweet, saying, “I would say the tweet speaks for itself, but it’s so unhinged and erratic that I’m not sure anyone could even say that with a straight face. The spelling error was not the main problem with the first one,” referring to Trump’s spelling the former vice president’s name “Bidan” in the first version of the tweet.

Do Trade Issues With Japan Loom?

Trade was another issue discussed between the leaders, as President Trump met with Japanese business executives and spoke of what he perceived to be a trade dynamic favorable to the Japanese.

“I would say that Japan has had a substantial edge for many, many years, but that’s okay. Maybe that’s why you like me so much,” the president said. President Trump recently declared imported vehicles a threat to national security and threatened to impose tariffs that would devastate Japanese auto manufacturers.

The president said trade negotiations would be on hold until Japanese elections in July, but expressed optimism for future bilateral agreements.

“With this deal we hope to address the trade imbalance, remove barriers to United States exports and ensure fairness and reciprocity in our relationship. And we’re getting closer,” said President Trump.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.