输入搜索

国家

Butlecieg说,“没有问题”特朗普伪造残疾以避免服兵役

Pete Buttigieg在明尼苏达州明尼阿波利斯举行的筹款活动上发表讲话
Pete Buttigieg在明尼苏达州明尼阿波利斯市的筹款人2019上发表讲话。 (照片:Lorie Shaull)

“对于那些正在第七季工作的人,我没有遇到任何问题 名人学徒 当我为阿富汗收拾行李时。“

2020民主党有希望的Pete Buttigieg周日在接受采访时谴责特朗普总统考虑战争罪赦免 美国广播公司据称伪造他的残疾身份以避免在越南服役,并抨击指挥官 - Iin-Chief。

战犯的待遇将成为先例

“对于一位总统,尤其是一位从未服务过的总统,他说他将进入并推翻军事司法制度,破坏了这个国家的基础,合法和道德。 坦率地说,他被派去参加战斗的想法让你自动成为某种战争罪犯,这是对退伍军人的诽谤,只能来自那些从未服过的人,“Buttigieg说。

在此 纽约时报报道 星期六,特朗普政府“加快了对文书工作的要求”,要求向被指控谋杀手无寸铁的公民和囚犯的军人发放多项赦免。 特朗普已经 赦免 迈克尔·贝亨娜曾是军队中的前少尉,因在2009杀害一名伊拉克被拘留者而被定罪,并受到人权组织的谴责。 星期五,在访问日本之前,总统被问及有关战争赦免的问题。

“这些士兵中有些是经过艰苦奋斗的人。 我们教他们如何成为伟大的战士,然后当他们打架时,他们会受到非常不公平对待。 所以我们要看看它。 我很可能会让审判继续进行,之后我会做出决定,“总统说。

在此 每日野兽报道 特朗普对赦免的兴趣部分受到伊拉克战争退伍军人皮特·海格塞斯“长达几个月的游说活动”的影响, 福克斯和朋友 周末共同主持与总统关系密切。 但是,虽然福克斯鼓励赦免,但军方本身并没有。

“没有无罪或不公正的证据,被指控犯有战争罪的美国军人的豁免,向我们的部队和盟友发出信号,表明我们没有认真对待武装冲突法。 不好的先例。 放弃道德责任。 给我们带来风险。“担任奥巴马总统高级军事顾问的马丁·登普西上尉说 鸣叫.

Buttigieg,通常被称为“皮托市长”,他说特朗普的潜在赦免是“对良好秩序和纪律的基本理念的侮辱,以及我们把生命放在防线上的理念。”

特朗普和越南战争

印第安纳州南本德市长是一名退伍军人,曾在阿富汗服役于海军保护区。 在一个小时的采访中 “华盛顿邮报” 周四,Buttigieg批评了特朗普总统的道德品质并指责他撒谎以避免服兵役。

“我的意思是,如果他是一个尽职尽责的反对者,我会钦佩这一点,但我认为这对我们大多数人来说是相当明显的,他利用了他是千万富翁的孩子这一事实,以便假装残疾,以便有人可以在他的位置上发动战争,“Buttigieg说。

特朗普获得了越南战争的五项延期,四名学者和一名医学,因为他的脚上有骨刺。 去年, “纽约时报” 据报道,在特朗普的骨刺上写下这封信的足病医生的孩子说,他们的父亲是对特朗普总统的父亲弗雷德特朗普的帮助,他是医生办公室的主人。 其中一名足病医生的女儿告诉“泰晤士报”,在帮助儿子逃避选秀后,他获得了弗雷克特朗普的租金优惠待遇。

“我知道在一场复杂的战争中,从复杂的时间开始挖掘旧伤,但我也已经足够老了,以至于当保守派谈到角色在总统职位上的重要性时,我也应该记得,所以我认为值得谈谈。”南弯市长说。

“华盛顿邮报” 采访中,Buttigieg拒绝亲自批评他的任何23民主党竞争对手,而是选择将他的愤怒集中在总统身上,并说:“实际上越来越难以找到大多数美国人不同意的政府政策。”

“对于那些正在第七季工作的人,我没有遇到任何问题 名人学徒 当我为阿富汗打包时。 但在一天结束时,并不是关于他的,“Buttigieg说。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 罗尼 27-2019-XNUMX

    他和其他一百万年轻人。 草案系统是一种残酷的破坏方式和年轻人。 我永远不会投票给任何使用美国总统的人。为了他自己的政治前提。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

‘No Question’ Trump Faked Disability to Avoid Military Service Says Buttigieg

Pete Buttigieg speaking at a fundraiser in Minneapolis, Minnesota
Pete Buttigieg speaking at a fundraiser in Minneapolis, Minnesota, 2019. (Photo: Lorie Shaull)

“I don’t have a problem standing up to somebody who was working on season seven of Celebrity Apprentice when I was packing my bags for Afghanistan.”

2020 Democratic hopeful Pete Buttigieg condemned President Trump for considering war crime pardons in an interview Sunday with ABC, and slammed the Commander-Iin-Chief for allegedly falsifying his disability status to avoid service in Vietnam.

Treatment of War Criminals Would Set Precedent

“For a president, especially a president who never served, to say he’s going to come in and overrule that system of military justice undermines the very foundations, legal and moral, of this country. Frankly, his idea that being sent to fight makes you automatically into some kind of war criminal is a slander against veterans that could only come from somebody who never served,” said Buttigieg.

The New York Times reported Saturday that the Trump administration “made expedited requests” for the paperwork needed to issue multiple pardons to servicemen accused of murdering unarmed citizens and prisoners. Trump has already pardoned Michael Behenna, a former first lieutenant in the Army convicted for killing an Iraqi detainee in 2009, drawing condemnation from human rights groups. The president was questioned about war pardons on Friday before his trip to Japan.

“Some of these soldiers are people that have fought hard and long. We teach them how to be great fighters, and then when they fight sometimes they get really treated very unfairly. So we’re going to take a look at it. It’s very possible that I’ll let the trials go on and I’ll make my decision after,” said the president.

The Daily Beast reported that Trump’s interest in the pardons is partly influenced by “a months-long lobbying campaign” by Iraq War veteran Pete Hegseth, a Fox & Friends weekend co-host with close ties to the president. But while Fox encourages the pardons, the military itself does not.

“Absent evidence of innocence or injustice, the wholesale pardon of U.S. service members accused of war crimes signals our troops and allies that we don’t take the Law of Armed Conflict seriously, Bad message. Bad precedent. Abdication of moral responsibility. Risk to us.” Gen. Martin Dempsey, who served as President Obama’s senior military adviser, said in a tweet.

Buttigieg, commonly referred to as “Mayor Pete,” said Trump’s potential pardons are an “affront to the basic idea of good order and discipline, and to the idea of the very thing we put our lives on the line to defend.”

Trump and the Vietnam War

The South Bend, Indiana, mayor is a military veteran who served in Afghanistan with the Navy Reserve. In an hour-long interview with the Washington Post on Thursday, Buttigieg criticized President Trump’s moral character and accused him of lying to avoid military service.

“I mean, if he were a conscientious objector, I’d admire that, but this is somebody who, I think it is fairly obvious to most of us, took advantage of the fact that he was a child of a multimillionaire in order to pretend to be disabled so that somebody could go to war in his place,” said Buttigieg.

Trump received five draft deferments for the Vietnam War, four academic and one medical, for having bone spurs in his foot. Last year, the New York Times reported that the children of the podiatrist who wrote the letter on Trump’s bone spurs said their father did it as a favor to Fred Trump, President Trump’s father, the owner of the doctor’s office space. One of the podiatrist’s daughters told the Times he received preferential treatment from Fred Trump on rent after helping his son evade the draft.

“I know that dredges up old wounds from a complicated time during a complicated war, but I am also old enough to remember when conservatives talked about character as something that mattered in the presidency, and so I think it deserves to be talked about,” the South Bend mayor said.

In the Washington Post interview, Buttigieg refused to personally criticize any of his 23 Democratic rivals, choosing instead to focus his ire on the president, saying, “It’s actually getting harder and harder to find a policy of this administration that most Americans don’t disagree with.”

“I don’t have a problem standing up to somebody who was working on season seven of Celebrity Apprentice when I was packing my bags for Afghanistan. But at the end of the day, it’s not about him,” said Buttigieg.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Ronnie May 27, 2019

    Him and a million other young men. The Draft system was a cruel way of destroying and young person. I will never vote for anyone that uses the President of the U S. For his own political advancment.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.