اكتب للبحث

حضاره

كان 2018 فوزًا قياسيًا للتنوع في هوليوود

ملصقات فيلم Black Panther في لندن ، 2018.
ملصقات فيلم Black Panther في لندن ، 2018. (الصورة عن طريق ديفيد هولت)

تجد النساء والأشخاص الملونون طريقهم إلى الأدوار الرائدة في الأفلام الأمريكية.

تضمنت أهم الأفلام في 2018 عددًا قياسيًا من الإناث والأشخاص الملونين في أدوار قيادية ، وفقًا لدراسة جديدة صادرة عن مبادرة شمولية Annenberg في جامعة كاليفورنيا الجنوبية. في تقرير وجد الباحثون ، الذي نُشر الثلاثاء ، Feb 12 ، أن النساء كن الرائدات أو اللاتي شاركن في 40 من أفلام 100 التي حققت أعلى الأرباح. هذه زيادة ثمانية أفلام من أفلام 2018 و 2017 من 20 ، عندما بدأت الدراسة السنوية.

كانت هناك أفلام 28 مع خيوط أو زملاء مشاركين من مجموعة عرقية أو إثنية ممثلة تمثيلا ناقصا في 2018. وكان هذا أيضا زيادة كبيرة عن العام السابق وأعلى علامة على الاطلاق.

خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح ولكن التقدم لا يزال مطلوبا

هذه الأرقام لا تزال تفتقر إلى التركيبة السكانية. تشكل النساء حوالي 51 من سكان الولايات المتحدة. يشكل الأشخاص ذوو اللون حوالي 39 من السكان. يمثل الأشخاص والمعوقون من ذوي الميول الجنسية المثلية والثنائية والمتحولين إلى الجنس الآخر 3.4 بالمائة و 18.7 بالمائة من سكان الولايات المتحدة على التوالي.

تعكس هذه المكاسب عائدات شباك التذاكر في العام الماضي ، بما في ذلك الأفلام الضخمة الفهد الأسود, الذي أصبح أيضًا أول فيلم خارق يتم ترشيحه لجائزة أفضل صورة في حفل توزيع جوائز الأوسكار لهذا العام. اندلاع الكوميديا ​​الرومانسية مجنون الاغنياء الاسيويه كان أيضا نجاحا حرجا وتجاريا ضخمة.

ووصفت ستاسي ل. سميث ، مديرة مبادرة أنينبرغ للإدماج ، النتائج بأنها "خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح".

وقال سميث: "توفر 2018 الأمل في أن أعضاء الصناعة قد اتخذوا إجراءات لإنشاء محتوى يعكس بشكل أفضل العالم الذي نعيش فيه ، ويبدو أن شباك التذاكر كافأهم على ذلك". "توضح لنا هذه البيانات أنه من الممكن تحقيق التغيير - يجب ألا تشعر الشركات بالرضا عن نفسها بل تواصل التقدم الذي أحرزته في 2019 وفي السنوات القادمة."

وجاءت بعض أكبر الزيادات في التركيبة السكانية الضيقة. قام أحد عشر من أفضل أفلام 100 ببطولة امرأة ملونة. في 2017 كان هناك أربعة. نفس العدد من الأفلام ، 11 ، تبرز الإناث اللواتي تتراوح أعمارهن بين 45 أو أكبر. في 2017 كان هناك خمسة.

على الرغم من أنه كانت هناك بالتأكيد أفلام ناجحة في العام الماضي تضمنت مجموعات ممثلة تمثيلا ناقصا في السابق ، إلا أنها ليست ضمانة أن هوليوود ستشعر بالثقة في المضي قدما في هذا الاتجاه.

في 2011 وصيفات الشرف أصبح نجاحًا حرجًا وتجاريًا هائلاً ، حيث ظهر فريقًا مؤلفًا بالكامل من الإناث ، والذي كان أكثر غرابة بالنسبة لفيلم كوميدي مميز. منذ ذلك الحين ، لم يكن هناك مثال مشابه حقًا لتلك العيار ، ولكن أرقام 2018 تشير إلى أن هناك رقمًا آخر قاب قوسين أو أدنى.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

CULTURE

2018 Was a Record-Breaking Win For Diversity in Hollywood

Black Panther movie posters in London, 2018.
Black Panther movie posters in London, 2018. (Photo via David Holt)

Women and people of color are finding their way to the lead roles in U.S. movies.

The top films in 2018 featured a record number of females and people of color in lead roles, according to a new study from the University of Southern California’s Annenberg Inclusion Initiative. In a report released Tuesday, Feb 12, researchers found that women were the lead or co-lead in 40 of the 100 highest-grossing films of 2018. That’s an increase of eight movies from 2017 and 20 movies from 2007, when the annual study began.

There were 28 films with leads or co-leads from an underrepresented racial or ethnic group in 2018. This was also a substantial increase from the previous year and the highest mark on record.

Step in the Right Direction but Progress Still Needed

Those numbers still fall short of reflecting demographics. Women make up about 51 percent of the U.S. population. People of color make up about 39 percent of the population. LGBTQIA people and disabled persons comprise 3.4 percent and 18.7 percent of the U.S. population, respectively.

These gains reflect last year’s record box-office returns, including the mega blockbuster Black Panther, which also became the first superhero movie to be nominated for Best Picture at this year’s Academy Awards. The breakout romantic comedy Crazy Rich Asians was also a huge critical and commercial success.

Stacy L. Smith, director of the Annenberg Inclusion Initiative, called the results “a step in the right direction.”

“2018 offers hope that industry members have taken action to create content that better reflects the world in which we live, and the box office seems to have rewarded them for it,” said Smith. “This data shows us that it is possible for change to be achieved—companies must not grow complacent but continue the progress they have made in 2019 and in the years to come.”

Some of the largest increases came in more narrow demographics. Eleven of the top 100 films starred a woman of color. In 2017 there were four. The same number of films, 11, featured female leads aged 45 years or older. In 2017 there were five.

Although there certainly were big hit films last year that featured previously underrepresented groups, it’s never a guarantee that Hollywood will feel confident moving forward with that trend.

In 2011 Bridesmaids became a massive critical and commercial hit, featuring an all-female lead cast, which was even more unusual for a feature comedy. Since then there hasn’t been a truly similar example of that caliber, but 2018’s numbers suggest another one is right around the corner.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.