输入搜索

健康/ SCI / TECH

随着美国监管机构加强反垄断审查,大科技增加了游说带宽

在F8 2015上为Facebook,Instagram,WhatsApp,Messenger和Groups更新了用户号码
在F8 2015上为Facebook,Instagram,WhatsApp,Messenger和Groups更新了用户号码。 (照片:意大利米兰的Maurizio Pesce)

自330以来,Facebook,亚马逊,苹果和Alphabet已经花费了超过$ 2008万美元来影响联邦立法者。

(弗兰克巴斯, MapLight)目前正面临的全国最大的科技公司 联邦 为了确定他们是否已成为垄断企业,他们在过去十年中将近十分之一的游说努力用于制定劳工,反托拉斯和工作场所政策。

根据MapLight的一项分析,这四家公司支持大规模调查 - Facebook,亚马逊,苹果和谷歌公司,这是谷歌的母公司 - 自330以来,已经花费了超过100万美元用于影响联邦立法者。 对劳工和反托拉斯问题的游说努力是第三大政策焦点,仅追溯税收和版权。

对反托拉斯游说的关注凸显了主要科技公司的高额政治和金融风险,这些公司在过去十年的大部分时间里一直受到欧盟监管机构的严格审查,同时避免在美国实施严厉制裁。

据报道谷歌是一个主题 多州反垄断调查 将于9月9由全国超过一半的州检察长宣布。 该公司占四家公司所有游说劳工和反垄断问题的四分之三以上。 记录显示,总部位于加利福尼亚州山景城的广告巨头负责363与劳工和反托拉斯问题有关的456报告。

谷歌的游说在2012达到顶峰,当时它提交了45针对这些问题的游说报告 - 联邦贸易委员会工作人员报告的同一年 将其标记为垄断。 然而,由五人组成的贸易专家组否决了其员工,并在2013早期宣布该公司 没有违反反托拉斯法.

广告客户在海外度过了更艰难的时光。 在2017,欧盟委员会宣布 罚款XZUMX十亿美元 反对谷歌为其在线购物服务提供优惠待遇。 该公司也遭到了打击 $ 5bn反托拉斯罚款 欧洲委员会在2018中要求制造商预先安装在其Android操作系统上运行的应用程序。 它是 第三次罚款$ 1.7十亿 3月份,欧洲监管机构决定通过阻止网站所有者通过竞争对手的搜索引擎展示结果来扼杀竞争。

游说记录显示,谷歌的母公司去年聘请了九家游说公司,至少在38次上就反垄断和劳工问题提出诉讼。

根据联邦记录,亚马逊报道了57针对反托拉斯和劳工问题进行游说的事件。 与谷歌一样,总部位于西雅图的零售和网络服务公司面临着大西洋两岸监管机构的调查。 欧盟委员会在7月宣布,它已经开始调查以确定亚马逊是否是 不恰当地使用小商家的销售数据 获得不公平的销售优势。

由于亚马逊影响力日益扩大,该公司最近因反垄断活动受到更多审查。 虽然美国反托拉斯监管有 自1970早期开始关注消费者价格问题这家西雅图公司参与从网络服务到杂货的各种活动,这使得学者们认为它已经成为了 现代相当于标准石油公司洛克菲勒领导的垄断被一个人打破了 1911美国最高法院裁决 因为它使用掠夺性定价来驱逐较小的竞争对手。

尽管苹果公司(29反垄断或劳工问题游说)和Facebook(七个案例)报道的政治观点的时间和精力要少得多,但这两家硅谷巨头也处于国内和国外监管机构的十字路口。

Apple正在为此做准备 欧盟委员会调查 声称,总部位于加利福尼亚州库比蒂诺的公司利用其应用程序商店支持其Apple Music服务,这引发了音乐流媒体竞争对手Spotify的指控。 苹果还在美国最高法院遭遇失败,美国最高法院于5月裁定集体诉讼反托拉斯诉讼可以继续进行。 该诉讼声称该公司的App Store销售额为30% 导致消费者价格上涨.

总部位于加利福尼亚州门洛帕克的Facebook于7月份曝光 $ 5十亿罚款 美国联邦贸易委员会拒绝保护用户隐私,6月份告诉投资者,它是 两个联邦反托拉斯调查的目标由美国联邦贸易委员会和美国司法部领导。

欧洲监管机构8月份表示,他们正在考虑对潜在的反垄断违法行为进行调查 Facebook提出的Libra加密货币 及其对消费者数据的使用。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

HEALTH/SCI/TECH

As US Regulators Step Up Antitrust Scrutiny, Big Tech Has Increased Lobbying Bandwidth

Users numbers updated for Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp, Messenger, and Groups at F8 2015
Users numbers updated for Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp, Messenger, and Groups at F8 2015. (Photo: Maurizio Pesce from Milan, Italia)

Facebook, Amazon, Apple, and Alphabet have spent more than $330 million on attempts to influence federal lawmakers since 2008.

(By Frank Bass, MapLight) The nation’s largest tech companies, which are currently facing state and federal investigations to determine if they’ve become monopolies, have devoted almost 10 percent of their lobbying efforts to shaping labor, antitrust, and workplace policies during the last decade.

The four companies bracing for sweeping probes — Facebook, Amazon, Apple, and Alphabet, the parent company of Google — have spent more than $330 million on attempts to influence federal lawmakers since 2008, according to a MapLight analysis. The lobbying efforts on labor and antitrust issues were the third-largest policy focus, trailing only taxation and copyright.

The focus on antitrust lobbying underscores the high political and financial stakes for the major tech companies, who have spent much of the last decade under scrutiny by European Union regulators while avoiding serious sanctions in the U.S.

Google is reported to be the subject of a multistate antitrust investigation to be announced by more than half of the nation’s state attorneys general on Sept. 9. The company accounted for more than three-fourths of all lobbying on labor and antitrust issues by the four companies. Records show the Mountain View, Calif.-based advertising giant was responsible for 363 of 456 reports related to labor and antitrust issues.

Google’s lobbying peaked in 2012, when it filed 45 lobbying reports for the issues — the same year that a Federal Trade Commission staff report labeled it as a monopoly. The five-member trade panel, however, overruled its staff and announced in early 2013 that the company hadn’t violated antitrust laws.

The advertiser has had a more difficult time overseas. In 2017, the European Commission announced a $2.7 billion fine against Google for giving preferential treatment to its online shopping services. The company also was slapped with a $5 billion antitrust fine by the European Commission in 2018 for requiring manufacturers to pre-install applications running on its Android operating system. It was fined a third time for $1.7 billion in March after European regulators decided it was stifling competition by preventing website owners from presenting results by rival search engines.

Lobbying records show Google’s parent company hired nine lobbying firms last year to press its case on antitrust and labor issues at least 38 times.

Amazon reported 57 instances of lobbying on antitrust and labor issues, according to federal records. Like Google, the Seattle-based retail and web services corporation faces probes from regulators on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean. The European Commission announced in July that it had opened an investigation to determine if Amazon was improperly using sales data from smaller merchants to gain an unfair sales advantage.

Because of Amazon’s widening influence, the company has recently come under more scrutiny for antitrust activity. Although U.S. antitrust regulation has focused on consumer price issues since the early 1970s, the Seattle company’s involvement in everything from web services to groceries has led scholars to argue that it’s become the modern-day equivalent of the Standard Oil Co., the Rockefeller-led monopoly that was broken up by a 1911 U.S. Supreme Court ruling on the grounds that it was using predatory pricing to drive smaller competitors out of business.

Although Apple (29 instances of antitrust or labor issue lobbying) and Facebook (seven instances) reported considerably less time and effort to shaping political opinions, the two Silicon Valley giants are also in the crosshairs of domestic and foreign regulators.

Apple is bracing for a European Commission investigation into allegations by music-streaming competitor Spotify, which claims the Cupertino, Calif.-based company uses its app store to favor its Apple Music service. Apple also suffered a defeat in the U.S. Supreme Court, which ruled in May that a class action antitrust lawsuit could proceed. The lawsuit claims the company’s 30 percent commission on sales from its App Store has led to higher prices for consumers.

The Menlo Park, Calif.-based Facebook, which was hit in July with a $5 billion fine by the FTC for its refusal to protect user privacy, told investors in June that it’s the target of two federal antitrust probes, led by the FTC and the U.S. Department of Justice.

European regulators said in August that they’re considering an investigation into potential antitrust violations from Facebook’s proposed Libra cryptocurrency and its use of consumer data.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.