اكتب للبحث

POLICE / PRISON

الوكالة الدولية للطاقة تفاصيل تفاصيل الصدمة واسعة النطاق في الأطفال بعد الانفصال الأسري

احتجاجا على سياسات هجرة ترامب في السفارة الأمريكية
احتجاجا على سياسات هجرة ترامب في السفارة الأمريكية (تصوير: بياتريس مورتش)

"لقد رُعب كل طفل منفصل. نحن [ينظر إليها على أنها العدو].

الأطفال المهاجرون الذين انفصلوا عن آبائهم خلال سياسة "عدم التسامح" التي تتبعها إدارة ترامب في العام الماضي ، عانوا من صدمة شديدة ، حيث ثبت أن مرافق الاحتجاز غير مجهزة بشكل جيد لتوفير الرعاية الصحية العقلية وفقًا لما ينص عليه اتفاق فلوريس ، وفقًا لاتفاقية تقرير جديد من المفتش العام للخدمات الإنسانية والصحية.

"وفقًا لمديري البرامج وأطباء الصحة العقلية ، أظهر الأطفال المنفصلون عن ذويهم مزيدًا من الخوف ومشاعر الهجر والإجهاد بعد الصدمة أكثر من الأطفال الذين لم يتم فصلهم" يقول التقرير. "لقد عانى الأطفال المنفصلون عن ذويهم من مشاعر القلق والخسارة المتزايدة نتيجة انفصالهم غير المتوقع عن آبائهم بعد وصولهم إلى الولايات المتحدة. على سبيل المثال ، أعرب بعض الأطفال المنفصلين عن حزنهم الحاد الذي تسبب لهم في البكاء بشكل غير معقول ".

بحلول الوقت الذي انتهت فيه سياسة الفصل العائلي "عدم التسامح مطلقًا" التي فرضها النائب العام السابق جيف سيشنز في يونيو 2018 ، كانت هناك عدة آلاف من العائلات قد انفصلت بالفعل. يوضح التقرير كيف أدت عملية سيئة التنظيم وقلة الموظفين إلى تفاقم معاناة الأطفال الذين تم نقلهم بالفعل من والديهم. يعتمد ذلك على زيارات إلى مراكز احتجاز مختلفة لـ 45 خلال شهري أغسطس وسبتمبر ، بعد أشهر من انتهاء السياسة وسط احتجاجات عامة.

"كان مقدمو الرعاية في المنشآت يتعاملون مع عدد أصغر من الشباب غير المتوقع - كتب عدد الأطفال الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 12 من 14 بالمائة في أبريل 2018 إلى 24 بالمائة في مايو 2018 عند ظهور سياسة التسامح الصفراء التي يطلق عليها Trump." أحلام مشتركة، مع ملاحظة أن العديد من الأطفال كانوا صغارًا جدًا لفهم ما كان يحدث ، مما زاد من ضغوطهم العاطفية.

"لقد أصبت بالكثير من" صدري مؤلم "، على الرغم من أن كل شيء على ما يرام" ، أخبر الطبيب محققي التقرير. وصف الأطفال الأعراض العاطفية ، قائلين ، "كل نبضة مؤلمة" ، أو "لا أستطيع أن أشعر بقلبي". "بعض الأطفال المنفصلين عن حزنهم الشديد الذي تسبب لهم في البكاء بشكل غير معقول" ، اقرأ تقرير.

بموجب اتفاق فلوريس 1997 ، سيتم احتجاز الأطفال المهاجرين فقط في مرافق الاحتجاز لمدة 20 يوم قبل إطلاق سراحهم. إذا لم يتم العثور على أي وصي ، فالمقصود من الأطفال أن يوضعوا في "منشأة مرخص لها من قبل الولايات وأن يلتزموا بنفس المعايير مثل دور الحضانة والمنازل الجماعية ، مما يتيح الوصول إلى التعليم والطعام الآمن والماء والفراش اللائق والممارسة في الهواء الطلق ، الملابس المناسبة ، ودروس اللغة الإنجليزية ، والرعاية الطبية ، وما إلى ذلك ، "يشرح الأمة ساشا ابرامسكي.

من المفترض أيضًا أن تتطلب القواعد طبيبًا نفسانيًا واحدًا لكل أطفال 12 ، لكن الأطباء كانوا يعانون من نقص الموظفين حتى اضطر بعضهم إلى تناول 25 بمفردهم. "وصف الموظفون إجراء المواعيد مع الأطباء النفسيين وعلماء النفس للتواريخ التي كانت على بعد أشهر 2 أو 3 ،" اقرأ تقرير.

شعر أخصائيو الصحة العقلية الذين يعانون من نقص في الموظفين بالتحدي في توفير الراحة للأطفال ، الذين فروا بالفعل من الفقر والعنف في بلدانهم الأصلية. "لقد رُعب كل طفل منفصل. أوضح مدير البرنامج في: "نحن [العدو]" تقرير.

إدارة ترامب في محاولة لإزالة اتفاق فلوريس

أعلنت إدارة ترامب عن تغيير القاعدة في اتفاقية فلوريس في أغسطس 21 والتي من شأنها رفع الحد المسموح به في يوم 20 ، وإزالة ترخيص ترخيص الدولة للمنشآت من أجل منح هذه الصلاحية لـ ICE ، وعدم السماح للمحامين المعينين بدخول مرافق الاحتجاز. يجادل النقاد بأن المعاملة اللاإنسانية للأطفال المحتجزين لا تمنح حتى الآن أي سبب للسماح لإدارة ترامب بمزيد من السلطة على سياسة الهجرة:

"تجرأ المحامون الفيدراليون على الذهاب إلى المحكمة مؤخرًا ليقولوا إنهم لم يكونوا ملزمين بتزويدهم بالصابون ، ومعجون الأسنان ، وفرشاة الأسنان ، والفراش ، وحتى الطعام المناسب للاستهلاك البشري". الأمة ساشا ابرامسكي.

ومما زاد الطين بلة السلوك المشين ، في وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع ، تم الكشف عن أن الجمارك وحماية الحدود لن يتم تطعيم السجناء في منشآتها - على الرغم من أن ثلاثة أطفال قد ماتوا من الأنفلونزا في مراكز الاحتجاز هذا العام ، وعلى الرغم من حقيقة أنني ذكرت ل الـ دولة في وقت سابق من هذا العام ، أبلغ الأطباء والممرضون المتطوعون العاملون مع المهاجرين المفرج عنهم من هذه المراكز عن حدوث حالات مقلقة من الإصابة بالأنفلونزا وغيرها من الأمراض الرئوية والمعدية الخطيرة. "تابع أبرامسكي.

طعنت حتى الآن 19 ولاية ومقاطعة كولومبيا في تغيير القانون في المحكمة ، مما ترك مستقبل اتفاق فلوريس غير مؤكد. من المفترض أن تدخل القاعدة حيز التنفيذ بعد أيام من الإعلان عن 60.

وقالت هاردي فيو من هيومن رايتس فيرست ، وهي مجموعة دفاعية توفر التمثيل القانوني لطالبي اللجوء ، "إن النصيحة التي نقدمها لعملائنا هي أن يستعدوا لأنفسهم". المحيط الأطلسي. "سنرى الكثير من الأشخاص المحتجزين لفترات أطول من الوقت في منشآت غير مرخصة ، وتداعيات كبيرة على الصحة البدنية والعقلية للأطفال الذين نخدمهم".

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

  1. ليزلي سبتمبر 7، 2019

    ينفصل المجرمون عن أطفالهم عندما يرتكبون جرائم نعم وهو شر ضروري. هذا هو بلد القوانين إذا كنت كسرها تعاني من العواقب. يجب أن يتم اتهامهم بتهديد أطفالهم وإهمالهم أيضًا. عندما يعودون إلى بلدهم الأول الآمن للحصول على اللجوء ، يمكنهم بعد ذلك مقابلة أطفالهم هناك. ":

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

POLICE/PRISON

Federal Watchdog Details Extensive Trauma In Children After Family Separation

Protesting Trump Immigration Policies at the US Embassy
Protesting Trump Immigration Policies at the US Embassy (Photo: Beatrice Murch)

“Every single separated kid has been terrified. We’re [seen as] the enemy.”

Migrant children seperated from their parents during the Trump administration’s “zero tolerance” policy last year suffered intense trauma, as detention facilities proved inadequately equipped to provide mental health care as mandated by the Flores agreement, according to a new report from the Human and Health Services’ (HHS) Inspector General.

“According to program directors and mental health clinicians, separated children exhibited more fear, feelings of abandonment, and post-traumatic stress than did children who were not separated,” the report says. “Separated children experienced heightened feelings of anxiety and loss as a result of their unexpected separation from their parents after their arrival in the United States. For example, some separated children expressed acute grief that caused them to cry inconsolably.”

By the time the “zero tolerance” family separation policy imposed under former Attorney General Jeff Sessions ended in June 2018, several thousand families had already been split apart. The report explains how a poorly organized and understaffed operation worsened the suffering of children who were already being taken away from their parents. It is based on visits to 45 different detention facilities during August and September 2018, months after the policy was ended amid public outcry.

“Care providers at the facilities were dealing with an unexpected younger population—the number of kids under 12 increased from 14 percent in April 2018 to 24 percent in May 2018 at the advent of the Trump’s so-called zero tolerance policy,” wrote Common Dreams, noting that many of the children were too young to understand what was happening, intensifying their emotional distress.

“You get a lot of ‘my chest hurts,’ even though everything is fine” medically, a clinician told the report’s investigators. The children described emotional symptoms, saying, “Every heartbeat hurts,” or “I can’t feel my heart.” “Some separated children expressed acute grief that caused them to cry inconsolably,” read the report.

Under the 1997 Flores agreement, migrant children are only to be held in detainment facilities for 20 days before being released. If no guardian can be found, children are meant to be put in a “facility licensed by the states and held to the same standards as foster care and group homes, providing access to education, safe food and water, decent bedding, outdoor exercise, suitable clothing, English language classes, medical care, and so on,” explains the Nation’s Sasha Abramsky.

The rules are also supposed to require one staff psychiatrist for every 12 children, but clinicians were so understaffed some of them had to take on 25 alone. “Staff described making appointments with psychiatrists and psychologists for dates that were 2 or 3 months away,” read the report.

The understaffed mental health clinicians felt challenged in providing comfort to the children, who had often already fled poverty and violence in their home countries. “Every single separated kid has been terrified. We’re [seen as] the enemy,” one program director explained in the report.

Trump Administration Trying To Remove Flores Agreement

The Trump administration announced a rule change to the Flores agreement on August 21 that would lift the 20-day limit, remove state licensing authorization of facilities in order to give that power to ICE, and disallow designated lawyers to enter detainment facilities. Critics argue the inhumane treatment of detained children so far lends zero reason to allow the Trump administration more power over immigration policy:

“Federal attorneys dared to go to court recently to argue that they weren’t obligated to provide them with soap, toothpaste, toothbrushes, bedding, and even food fit for human consumption,” writes the Nation’s Sasha Abramsky.

“Compounding the shameful behavior, earlier this week it was revealed that Customs and Border Protection will not be vaccinating inmates in its facilities—despite the fact that three children have died of flu in detention centers this year, and despite the fact that, as I reported for The Nation earlier this year, volunteer doctors and nurses working with immigrants released from these centers report an alarming incidence of flu and other dangerous pulmonary and infectious diseases,” Abramsky continued.

Nineteen states and the District of Columbia have so far challenged the rule change in court, leaving the Flores agreement’s future uncertain. The rule is supposed to go into effect 60 days after its announcement.

“The advice that we’re giving our clients is to brace themselves,” Hardy Vieux of Human Rights First, an advocacy group that provides legal representation to asylum seekers, told the Atlantic. “We’re going to see a lot more people detained for longer periods of time in facilities that are not licensed, and significant physical- and mental-health ramifications for the children that we serve.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Lesley September 7, 2019

    Criminals do get separated from their children when they commit crimes yes and it’s a necessary evil. This is a country of laws if you break them suffer the consequences. They should be charged with endangering and neglect of their children too . When they return to their first safe country for asylum then they can meet their kids there.”:

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.