输入搜索

警察/监狱

联邦监督机构详述家庭分离后儿童的广泛创伤

在美国大使馆抗议特朗普移民政策
在美国大使馆抗议特朗普移民政策(照片:Beatrice Murch)

“每个孤独的孩子都被吓坏了。 我们被视为敌人。“

特朗普政府去年“零容忍”政策期间与父母分离的流动儿童遭受了严重的创伤,因为根据弗洛雷斯协议的规定,拘留设施未能提供足够的精神保健服务。 人类和卫生服务部(HHS)监察长的新报告.

“根据项目主管和心理健康临床医生的说法,分离的孩子表现出比没有分开的孩子更多的恐​​惧,遗弃感和创伤后压力,” 报道说。 “分居的儿童在抵达美国后因与父母意外分离而感到焦虑和失落的情绪高涨。 例如,一些失散的孩子表达了严重的悲伤,导致他们无比的哭泣。“

在前总检察长杰夫塞申斯于6月2018结束时实施的“零容忍”家庭分离政策时,数千个家庭已经分裂。 该报告解释了一个组织不良和人手不足的行动如何恶化已经被剥夺父母的孩子的痛苦。 这是基于45在8月和9月2018期间访问XNUMX的不同拘留设施,在政策结束后数月,公众强烈抗议。

“这些设施的护理人员正在应对意想不到的年轻人群 - 在特朗普所谓的零容忍政策出现之际,12下的孩子数量从4月14的2018百分比增加到24的2018百分比”,写道 共同的梦想,注意到许多孩子太小,不知道发生了什么,加剧了他们的情绪困扰。

“你得到很多'我的胸部受伤',即使一切都很好”,医学上,临床医生告诉该报告的研究人员。 孩子们描述了情绪症状,说:“每次心跳都会疼,”或“我感觉不到自己的心脏。”“一些失散的孩子表达了极度的悲伤,导致他们无法忍受地哭泣,” 报告.

根据1997 Flores协议,移民儿童只有在被释放之前被关押在20天的拘留设施中。 如果找不到监护人,则应将儿童安置在“由各州许可的设施中,并按照与寄养和团体住房相同的标准,提供教育,安全的食物和水,体面的寝具,户外运动,合适的服装,英语语言课程,医疗保健等,“解释说 国家的Sasha Abramsky.

规则也应该要求每个12儿童都需要一名精神科医生,但临床医生人手不足,其中一些人不得不单独服用25。 “工作人员描述了与2或3几个月之后的日期与精神科医生和心理学家预约,” 报告.

人手不足的心理健康临床医生感到受到挑战,为孩子们提供安慰,孩子们往往已经逃离了本国的贫困和暴力。 “每个孤独的孩子都被吓坏了。 我们被视为“敌人”,“一位项目负责人解释说 报告.

特朗普政府试图取消弗洛雷斯协议

特朗普政府宣布将对8月21的弗洛雷斯协议进行规则修改,该协议将取消20天限制,取消设施的州许可授权,以便向ICE授予权力,并禁止指定的律师进入拘留设施。 批评者认为,到目前为止,对被拘留儿童的不人道待遇没有任何理由让特朗普政府对移民政策拥有更多权力:

“联邦律师最近敢于诉诸法庭,辩称他们没有义务为他们提供肥皂,牙膏,牙刷,床上用品,甚至适合人类食用的食物,” 国家的Sasha Abramsky.

“这一可耻行为更加复杂,本周早些时候发现,海关和边境保护局不会在其设施内为囚犯接种疫苗 - 尽管今年有三名儿童在拘留中心死于流感,尽管事实如此,据报道 在此 今年早些时候,从这些中心获释的从事移民工作的志愿医生和护士报告了流感和其他危险的肺部和传染病的惊人发病率,“艾布拉姆斯基继续说道。

到目前为止,已有19个州和哥伦比亚特区对法院的规则变更提出质疑,这使得弗洛雷斯协议的未来不确定。 该规则应该在宣布后的60天生效。

“我们给予客户的建议就是为自己辩护,”人权第一的哈迪维尤(Hardy Vieux),一个向寻求庇护者提供法律代理的倡导组织,被告知 大西洋组织。 “我们将会看到更多人在未获许可的设施中被长期拘留,并对我们所服务的儿童造成严重的身心健康影响。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 莱斯利 7-2019-XNUMX

    犯罪分子犯罪时确实与子女分开,这是必要的罪恶。 如果你打破他们遭受后果,这是一个法律国家。 他们应该被指控危害和忽视他们的孩子。 当他们返回他们的第一个安全的国家寻求庇护时,他们可以在那里遇到他们的孩子。“:

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

POLICE/PRISON

Federal Watchdog Details Extensive Trauma In Children After Family Separation

Protesting Trump Immigration Policies at the US Embassy
Protesting Trump Immigration Policies at the US Embassy (Photo: Beatrice Murch)

“Every single separated kid has been terrified. We’re [seen as] the enemy.”

Migrant children seperated from their parents during the Trump administration’s “zero tolerance” policy last year suffered intense trauma, as detention facilities proved inadequately equipped to provide mental health care as mandated by the Flores agreement, according to a new report from the Human and Health Services’ (HHS) Inspector General.

“According to program directors and mental health clinicians, separated children exhibited more fear, feelings of abandonment, and post-traumatic stress than did children who were not separated,” the report says. “Separated children experienced heightened feelings of anxiety and loss as a result of their unexpected separation from their parents after their arrival in the United States. For example, some separated children expressed acute grief that caused them to cry inconsolably.”

By the time the “zero tolerance” family separation policy imposed under former Attorney General Jeff Sessions ended in June 2018, several thousand families had already been split apart. The report explains how a poorly organized and understaffed operation worsened the suffering of children who were already being taken away from their parents. It is based on visits to 45 different detention facilities during August and September 2018, months after the policy was ended amid public outcry.

“Care providers at the facilities were dealing with an unexpected younger population—the number of kids under 12 increased from 14 percent in April 2018 to 24 percent in May 2018 at the advent of the Trump’s so-called zero tolerance policy,” wrote Common Dreams, noting that many of the children were too young to understand what was happening, intensifying their emotional distress.

“You get a lot of ‘my chest hurts,’ even though everything is fine” medically, a clinician told the report’s investigators. The children described emotional symptoms, saying, “Every heartbeat hurts,” or “I can’t feel my heart.” “Some separated children expressed acute grief that caused them to cry inconsolably,” read the report.

Under the 1997 Flores agreement, migrant children are only to be held in detainment facilities for 20 days before being released. If no guardian can be found, children are meant to be put in a “facility licensed by the states and held to the same standards as foster care and group homes, providing access to education, safe food and water, decent bedding, outdoor exercise, suitable clothing, English language classes, medical care, and so on,” explains the Nation’s Sasha Abramsky.

The rules are also supposed to require one staff psychiatrist for every 12 children, but clinicians were so understaffed some of them had to take on 25 alone. “Staff described making appointments with psychiatrists and psychologists for dates that were 2 or 3 months away,” read the report.

The understaffed mental health clinicians felt challenged in providing comfort to the children, who had often already fled poverty and violence in their home countries. “Every single separated kid has been terrified. We’re [seen as] the enemy,” one program director explained in the report.

Trump Administration Trying To Remove Flores Agreement

The Trump administration announced a rule change to the Flores agreement on August 21 that would lift the 20-day limit, remove state licensing authorization of facilities in order to give that power to ICE, and disallow designated lawyers to enter detainment facilities. Critics argue the inhumane treatment of detained children so far lends zero reason to allow the Trump administration more power over immigration policy:

“Federal attorneys dared to go to court recently to argue that they weren’t obligated to provide them with soap, toothpaste, toothbrushes, bedding, and even food fit for human consumption,” writes the Nation’s Sasha Abramsky.

“Compounding the shameful behavior, earlier this week it was revealed that Customs and Border Protection will not be vaccinating inmates in its facilities—despite the fact that three children have died of flu in detention centers this year, and despite the fact that, as I reported for The Nation earlier this year, volunteer doctors and nurses working with immigrants released from these centers report an alarming incidence of flu and other dangerous pulmonary and infectious diseases,” Abramsky continued.

Nineteen states and the District of Columbia have so far challenged the rule change in court, leaving the Flores agreement’s future uncertain. The rule is supposed to go into effect 60 days after its announcement.

“The advice that we’re giving our clients is to brace themselves,” Hardy Vieux of Human Rights First, an advocacy group that provides legal representation to asylum seekers, told the Atlantic. “We’re going to see a lot more people detained for longer periods of time in facilities that are not licensed, and significant physical- and mental-health ramifications for the children that we serve.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Lesley September 7, 2019

    Criminals do get separated from their children when they commit crimes yes and it’s a necessary evil. This is a country of laws if you break them suffer the consequences. They should be charged with endangering and neglect of their children too . When they return to their first safe country for asylum then they can meet their kids there.”:

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.