输入搜索

环境

大规模公司贿赂丑闻审判中的大石油

如果被判有罪,两家大型石油公司的高管可能会入狱,这些公司面临巨大的处罚,包括放弃石油资源丰富的地区。

在历史上最大的公司腐败丑闻之一,壳牌和埃尼都是全球石油巨头,正在意大利米兰接受审判。 这两家公司涉嫌以欺诈手段为尼日利亚沿海的一块石油支付XZUMX亿。 这些钱都不会使尼日利亚人受益,而是贿赂官员,壳牌从一开始就知道这一点。

An 财务调查和全球见证调查 发现2011的两家公司完成了一项贿赂协议,这将有助于他们收购OPL 245,这是非洲最有前途的石油区块之一。

调查人员追查了这笔交易的文件只是为了意识到这些钱最终掌握在少数人手中,其中包括尼日利亚前石油部长Dan Etete,他也是一名被定罪的洗钱者。 尼日利亚前总统古德勒克乔纳森和其他一些高级政府官员也预计将获得至少$ 520百万的现金。

位于尼日利亚海岸外的OPL 245的位置。 资料来源:Global Witness

其中一些资金还与壳牌和埃尼的高管有关,其中50百万美元已经以现金的形式交付给当时Eni的非洲业务负责人Roberto Casula的家。

尽管有石油财富,但尼日利亚人口仍在继续努力

据联合国称尼日利亚是非洲人口最多的国家,每天生产的石油数量超过1.5百万桶。 如果管理得当,石油收入可以大大有利于生活在该国的190百万人口 - 包括生活在赤贫中无法获得水和电的三分之一人口。

在尼日利亚北部,超过5万人面临饥饿,超过450,000儿童已经患有急性营养不良。 为OPL 245支付的金额超过了该国的卫生预算; 预算和卫生部门已经因腐败而瘫痪,导致五岁以前每十个孩子中有一个孩子死亡。

壳牌知道

随着全球见证与金融的揭露 报道壳牌公司六年来一直否认有任何不法行为,但从一开始就知道该交易背后的非法动机。 这意味着该公司完全知道OPL 245的支出将最终进入私人账户,但仍然继续完成交易。

电子邮件泄漏给调查人员,他们在报告中公布,他们透露壳牌公司的高层管理人员事先得知这笔资金将流向Dan Etete和其他高级政府官员,包括当时的总统。 Etete利用部分资金购买私人飞机,装甲车和霰弹枪,当他是尼日利亚石油部长时,曾在245获得OPL 1998所有权给马拉布石油和天然气。 马拉布石油和天然气由Etete和另一个合作伙伴秘密拥有,该公司仅在获得OPL 245权利前几天成立。

流程图显示了资金到底的渠道。 资料来源:全球峰会

2月,2016荷兰和意大利警方突击搜查壳牌办事处,寻找有关1.1十亿美元交易的信息。 当时,壳牌表示正在与当局合作,因为它“严肃对待贿赂指控”并且“非常重视商业诚信。”但在突袭后,首席执行官Ben Van Beurden称当时的首席财务官西蒙亨利告诉他“不要自愿提供任何未被要求的信息。”

根据Global Witness的报告,两人还同意让股东们对Van Beurden的袭击事件一无所知,“当然,你最不想要的就是发出股票交易所的要求。 除了我们被要求提供信息外,没有什么可说的。“

在Global Witness公开曝光后,壳牌陷入困境, 承认已经知道了 这笔钱用于私人账户。 通过该公司负责全球媒体关系的副总裁安迪·诺曼说,“随着时间的推移,我们很清楚,Etete参与了马拉布,通过谈判达成解决僵局的唯一方法就是与Etete和马拉布,无论我们喜欢与否。“

这项承诺阐明了这笔交易,并为两家公司的起诉程序铺平了道路。

壳牌和埃尼面临的后果是什么?

如果被判有罪,两家公司的高层管理人员都可能入狱,公司面临巨大的处罚,包括放弃OPL 245。 它还可能引发石油部门的一波变化 - 经济合作与发展组织(OECD)将其称为地球上最腐败的部门。

随着壳牌和埃尼的审判在厄瓜多尔发生了另一场大型石油战 雪佛龙与土着社区的九年斗争 继续。 厄瓜多尔人起诉雪佛龙毒害他们的环境和水并试图掩盖它。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
亚历克斯Muiruri

Alex是一位在肯尼亚出生并长大的热情作家。 他是一名受过专业训练的公共卫生官员,但是喜欢写作更多。 不写作时,他喜欢读书,做慈善工作,与朋友和家人共度时光。 他也是一个疯狂的钢琴家!

    1

你可能还喜欢

3评论

  1. Lj Hobbie 22-2018-XNUMX

    监狱和没收所有公司资产将是一个开始。 微不足道的罚款毫无意义。 芬兰根据支付能力给予交通罚款。 我的罚款可能是五十美元,这些家伙甚至不会觉得损失五千。

    回复
  2. 芭芭拉·迪恩 22-2018-XNUMX

    监狱和没收所有公司资产将是一个开始

    回复
  3. 约翰班克斯 23-2018-XNUMX

    监狱是大公司CEO理解的唯一惩罚!

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

If found guilty, top executives in two big oil companies could go to jail and the companies risk enormous penalties, including relinquishing an oil-rich region.

In what is now one of the biggest corporate corruption scandals in history, Shell and Eni, both of which are global oil giants, are on trial in Milan, Italy. The two have been implicated for fraudulently paying $1.1 billion for a block of oil off the coast of Nigeria. None of the money would benefit the Nigerian people but instead went to bribe officials, and Shell knew it from the start.

An investigation by Finance Uncovered and Global Witness found that the two corporations in 2011 closed a bribery deal that would help them acquire OPL 245, one of Africa’s most promising oil blocks.

The investigators tracked down the documents of the deal only to realize the money ended up in the hands of a few people, including Dan Etete, a former oil minister in Nigeria, who is also a convicted money launderer. Former president of Nigeria Goodluck Jonathan and some other top government officials were also expected to receive at least $520 million in cash.

Location of OPL 245, off the coast of Nigeria. Source: Global Witness

Some of the money was also wired to executives from both Shell and Eni with $50 million having been delivered in cash to the home of Roberto Casula, Eni’s head of African Operations at the time.

Nigerian Population Struggles Despite Oil Riches

According to the United Nations, Nigeria is the most populous nation in Africa and produces more than 1.5 million barrels of oil per day. If well managed, revenue from the oil could significantly benefit the 190 million people living in the country – including the third of the population living in abject poverty with no access to water and electricity.

In northern Nigeria, more than 5 million people face starvation with more than 450,000 children already suffering from acute malnutrition. The amount paid for OPL 245 is more than the country’s health budget; a budget and health sector already crippled by corruption and resulting in the death of one child in every ten before the age of five.

Shell Knew

As Global Witness and Finance Uncovered reported, Shell has for six years denied any wrongdoing but was privy to the illegal motives behind the deal from the beginning. Meaning the company fully knew the payout for OPL 245 would end up in private accounts but still went ahead to close the deal anyway.

Emails leaked to the investigators, which they published in the report, reveal Shell’s top brass was informed beforehand that the money would flow to Dan Etete and other top government officials, including the then president. Etete, who used some of the money to acquire a private jet, armored cars and shotguns, had awarded ownership of OPL 245 to Malabu Oil and Gas in 1998 when he was Nigeria’s minister of Oil. Malabu Oil and Gas was secretly owned by Etete and one other partner, and the company was only set up days before obtaining the rights to OPL 245.

Flow chart showing the channels the money followed to the end. Source: Global Summit

In February 2016 Dutch and Italian police raided Shell offices looking for information on the $1.1 billion deal. At the time, Shell said it was cooperating with the authorities because it “takes allegations of bribery seriously” and that it “attaches the greatest importance to business integrity.” But immediately after the raid, CEO Ben Van Beurden called the then-CFO Simon Henry telling him to “not volunteer any information that is not requested.”

According to Global Witness’ report, the two also agreed to keep shareholders in the dark concerning the raid with Van Beurden saying, “The last thing you want, of course, is some sort of request to issue a stock exchange release. There’s nothing to be said other than that we are being asked to provide information.”

Following Global Witness’ expose, Shell, in a twist, admitted to having known the money went to private accounts. Through Andy Norman, the company’s vice president for global media relations, Shell said, “Over time, it became clear to us that Etete was involved in Malabu and that the only way to resolve the impasse through a negotiated settlement was to engage with Etete and Malabu, whether we liked it or not.”

This admission shed light on the deal and paved the way for prosecution proceedings against the two companies.

What Consequences Do Shell and Eni Face?

If found guilty, top executives in both companies could go to jail and the companies risk enormous penalties, including relinquishing OPL 245. It may also trigger a wave of changes in the oil sector – a sector the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) has dubbed as the most corrupt on the planet.

As Shell and Eni’s trial takes place another big oil battle takes place in Ecuador where Chevron’s nine-year battle with indigenous communities continues. Ecuadorians sued Chevron for poisoning their environment and water and trying to cover it up.

 

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.