输入搜索

美洲 国家

边境巡逻人员找到被遗弃在玉米地里的3岁男孩

边境墙,布朗斯维尔,德克萨斯州,移民,穿越。 7月2009(照片:Nofx221984,公共领域)
边境墙,布朗斯维尔,德克萨斯州,移民,穿越。 7月2009(照片:Nofx221984,公共领域)

“今天凌晨,#USBP特工独自发现了一名3岁男孩,并在德克萨斯州的玉米地里哭泣。 他的鞋子上写着他的名字和电话号码。“

上周二上午,美国海关和边境保护局的特工在美国 - 墨西哥边境附近的德克萨斯州一个玉米地里发现了一名被遗弃的3岁男孩。

据官员说这个男孩可能和一群移民一起旅行,当他们看到边境巡逻人员时,他们将他留在了野外。 官员看到孩子的名字和电话号码写在他的鞋子上,并试图联系他的家人。

官员继续试图找到男孩的父母

代理人在德克萨斯州布朗斯维尔附近找到了3岁的孩子后,他们带他到边境站,让他在试图与家人联系时看电影。 到目前为止,官员一直无法找到该男孩的父母,并且正在将他交由卫生与公众服务部(HHS)保管, NBC新闻报道.

CBP发推文 星期二:“今天早上,#USBP特工独自找到了一名3岁的男孩,并在德克萨斯州的玉米地里哭泣。 他的鞋子上写着他的名字和电话号码。 #CBP正试图联系他的家人。 我们相信这个男孩在遇到特工时会遇到一个较大的团体。“

Rio Grande Valley的边境巡逻队首席执行官Rodolfo Karisch, 告诉NBC新闻 Karisch说,这个男孩似乎“精神状态良好。”3岁可能被走私者抛弃了。

边境安全'处于突破点'

据一些官员说,跨越美国边境的家庭数量正在增加。 在3月初的一个晚上,700移民被关押在埃尔帕索。 其中一名被拘留者是无人陪伴的2岁。

官员们担心越来越多的无人看管儿童被拘留在狭窄的地方。 随着数字的增加,HHS很难找到放置未成年人的地方, 根据华盛顿邮报。 3月份,1,350儿童被关押在没有监护人的牢房中,其中20的百分比是12岁或更小。

虽然未成年人可以合法地被拘留在边境巡逻队的监禁期间,最长可达72小时,但由于HHS通常无法放置,因此有时会被关押较长时间。 3月,美国海关与边境保护局 专员Kevin K. McAleenan宣布 边境安全“处于一个突破点”。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Leighanna Shirey

Leighanna毕业于彭萨科拉基督教学院,获得英语学位。 在教授高中英语五年后,她决定追求写作和编辑的梦想。 不工作时,她喜欢和丈夫一起旅行,与狗共度时光,喝太多咖啡。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AMERICAS NATIONAL

Border Patrol Agents Find 3-Year-Old Boy Abandoned in Cornfield

Border Wall, Brownsville, Texas, Immigrant, Crossing. July 2009 (Photo: Nofx221984, Public domain)
Border Wall, Brownsville, Texas, Immigrant, Crossing. July 2009 (Photo: Nofx221984, Public domain)

“Early this morning, #USBP Agents found a 3-year-old boy alone and crying in a cornfield in TX. He had his name & phone numbers written on his shoes.”

Last Tuesday morning, US Customs and Border Protection agents found an abandoned 3-year-old boy crying in a cornfield in Texas near the U.S.-Mexico border.

According to officials, the boy may have been traveling with a group of migrants who left him in the field when they saw Border Patrol agents. Officials saw that the child had his name and phone number written on his shoes, and have been attempting to contact his family.

Officials Continue to Try to Locate Boy’s Parents

After the agents found the 3-year-old near Brownsville, Texas, they took him to a border station and let him watch movies while they attempted to reach his family. So far, officials have been unable to find the boy’s parents, and are in the process of putting him in the custody of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), NBC News reported.

CBP tweeted on Tuesday: “Early this morning, #USBP Agents found a 3-year-old boy alone and crying in a cornfield in TX. He had his name & phone numbers written on his shoes. #CBP is attempting to reach his family. We believe the boy was with a larger group that ran when they encountered Agents.”

The chief Border Patrol agent in the Rio Grande Valley, Rodolfo Karisch, told NBC News that the boy seemed to be “in good spirits.” It is likely that the 3-year-old was abandoned by smugglers, Karisch said.

Border Security ‘At a Breaking Point’

According to some officials, the number of families who cross the U.S. border is growing. In just one night in early March, 700 migrants were taken into custody in El Paso. One of the detainees was an unaccompanied 2-year-old.

Officials are concerned about the increasing number of unattended children detained in cramped quarters. As the numbers rise, HHS is having trouble finding places to put the minors, according to The Washington Post. In March, 1,350 children were held in cells without a guardian, 20 percent of whom were 12 years old or younger.

Although the minors can legally be detained in Border Patrol’s custody for up to 72 hours, they are sometimes held for longer periods of time since HHS often has no place to put them. In March, U.S. Customs and Border Protection Commissioner Kevin K. McAleenan announced that border security was “at a breaking point.”

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Leighanna Shirey

Leighanna graduated with a degree in English from Pensacola Christian College. After teaching high school English for five years, she decided to pursue her dream of writing and editing. When not working, she enjoys traveling with her husband, spending time with her dogs, and drinking way too much coffee.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.