输入搜索

中东

美国能否接受中东存在新的战略平衡?

在科威特沙漠风暴行动中燃烧的油田
1991的科威特沙漠风暴行动中燃烧的油田。 (照片:乔纳斯·乔丹,美国陆军工程兵团)

对阿美公司的胡西无人机罢工表明,波斯湾的战略平衡正在发生变化。 这也表明该地区的任何升级都威胁着全球经济。

美国,沙特阿拉伯和伊朗之间因胡希袭击阿美石油设施而发生的错综复杂的战争舞蹈可能仍未导致西亚发生枪击战争。 沙特国防部发言人 Turki al-Malki说袭击 毫无疑问是伊朗“赞助”的,这与直接要求伊朗直接承担责任完全不同。 甚至美国现在也使用诸如 伊朗是“袭击的幕后黑手” 并对这些声明采取新的制裁措施。 “锁定并加载特朗普总统之前在推特上发的枪现在可能不会被开除。

胡希(Houthis)向沙特阿拉伯人表明 掌握无人机 在该地区创造了新条件。 一世 几周前写了 带有移动发射器的无人机和导弹使实力较弱的部队可能对攻击它们的强大得多的国家造成无法接受的破坏。 这改变了各种战区的战略平衡,火力更大的国家尚未登记。 这是侯希特和沙特阿拉伯之间的新战略平衡; 真主党和以色列; 以及更大范围的伊朗-真主党-侯赛斯和美国-以色列-沙特阿拉伯。 实力较弱的部队都没有必胜之举,他们只需要保持战斗的能力,同时在另一端施加不可接受的伤害。

脆弱的石油市场

胡塞人袭击对阿布卡克和库拉伊斯州的阿美石油公司设施造成的破坏已导致沙特阿拉伯石油产量每天损失5.7百万桶,或占50%。 沙特阿拉伯目前生产的石油占世界石油的12%,任何对其石油设施的长期损害都将对世界石油​​供应及其价格产生巨大影响。 尽管沙特人说他们有足够的库存来弥补供应短缺,并且美国向市场释放了其战略石油储备,但油价却立即上涨了20%。 随着美国继续对委内瑞拉和伊朗实施非法制裁,世界现在严重依赖沙特阿拉伯的石油,后者已承诺增加产量以弥补短缺。 这种供应的任何打击都会在全球范围内产生影响,并使世界陷入新的衰退。

对于像印度这样的国家来说,后果更加可怕。 印度进口了超过80%的原油,并且一直在紧追美国对伊朗和委内瑞拉制裁的“命令”。 美国对页岩油的报价无法解决印度经济问题,因为页岩油的成本更高,而且将使印度的国际收支严重陷入亏损。 在特朗普的命令之下向伊朗挺进伊朗可能对印度造成严重后果。

胡斯人已经表明,沙特人将其占领也门领空,随意轰炸胡塞部队和平民中心的日子会产生后果。 现在,胡西族无人驾驶飞机的袭击可能打击了沙特阿拉伯人的软肋,即其石油设施,发电厂和海水淡化设施。 在北约力量的武装下,沙特阿拉伯在胡希斯上空具有压倒性优势。 它的 国防支出是下一个 仅排在美国和中国之后,超过印度,排在第四位。 该 沙特阿拉伯花费了70亿美元 在防守上 与伊朗的6.3十亿美元相比,不到沙特阿拉伯支出的十分之一。 胡斯人当然不能抵御沙特的空袭,但沙特阿拉伯也无法抵御无人驾驶飞机或巡航导弹的攻击,这些攻击会拥抱地面并打败雷达的探测能力。

伊拉克战争爆发后,时任国务卿科林·鲍威尔(Colin Powell)在联合国的伊拉克大规模杀伤性武器演习中获得奥斯卡奖之后,现任秘书长庞培声称, 伊朗人不屑一顾 对世界其他地区的信念很少。 面对伊朗的海岸线拥有非常密集的雷达网络,位于巴林的美国第五舰队总部,位于美国空军中央司令部卡塔尔的阿尔·乌迪德空军基地以及众多沙特雷达设施。 他们应该已经发现了这样的罢工,袭击了波斯湾的开阔水域。 美国和沙特没有出示任何证据,这说明了自己的故事。

谁在提供武器?

沙特人现在声称伊朗是“袭击的幕后黑手”,并已从直接指责伊朗中爬下来。 他们的发言人Turki al-Malki在新闻发布会上辩称,胡希人不能发射无人机和巡航导弹,因为它不是来自也门的方向。 这是非常薄弱的​​证据,因为我们知道,无人驾驶飞机不需要直线飞行,并且可以从任何方向击中目标,而不管其起源。 也没有证据表明,如果它像他所说的那样来自北方,那可能只能来自伊朗。 甚至英国广播公司 被迫说这些说法掩盖了中心问题:袭击伊朗的沙特石油设施中使用的武器实际上是从伊朗土壤发射的吗?

尽管沙特人展示了导弹和无人机的残骸,展示了导弹的机翼并称其为伊朗人或称其为“计算机”中的数据为伊朗人,但充其量只能证明伊朗确实将无人机技术转让给了胡希。 将这种无人机技术的转让以某种方式呈现为在阿美石油公司袭击中针对伊朗的吸烟枪,只是忽略了不是美国,法国和英国转让给沙特阿拉伯的技术,而是破坏了也门的真实飞机,炸弹和导弹。 去年,这样的 美国制造的炸弹杀死了40名学童。 但是,我们不认为这些国家应对沙特对也门的袭击负责。

胡赛无人机中使用的大多数组件,包括发动机和制导系统,都可以从全球市场轻松采购。 也可以在也门的技能范围内将所有内容放在一起。 胡西斯(Houthis)对阿美的攻击并非孤立。 过去一年,他们一直在对沙特阿拉伯进行一系列无人机攻击,测试其能力并探索沙特防御。 开源信息 关于雷达,防空系统的类型 而且受沙特人保护的中心表明,尽管沙特人有一定能力抵御轰炸机和其他攻击机等常规手段的空袭,他们的防守很少 对抗无人机或巡航攻击。 他们的大部分防空都是基于这样一个假设,即他们所面临的唯一严重威胁​​来自伊朗,也使用飞机和常规导弹。 Houthis所表明的是,在非对称战争时代,使用无人机的攻击选择更便宜。

许多人撰写了有关开源无人机,其制导系统以及可商购的小型活塞或喷气发动机的文章。 所有这些都可以用来创建可行的无人机,该无人机可以完成Houthis声称的工作,而所有这些仅需$ 20,000陀螺。 当然,这并没有消除伊朗本可以通过设计和组件帮助胡希的可能性。

观察沙特阿拉伯先前显示的无人机残骸,唯一能看到的证据是它是伊朗设计的复制品。 制造这种无人机可能需要将伊朗的知识或技术转移到胡希特。 但是,为什么在美国扼杀经济的非法制裁下,伊朗到底不应该武装胡希反对沙特阿拉伯呢? 特别是,由于美国,法国和英国出售的飞机和导弹已被反复用于打击也门,包括其平民中心。

西方危害人类罪

西方媒体广泛报道了 联合国报告 谈到伊朗参与胡蒂无人机计划的问题。 没有发现类似的报道是同一份报告也 显示激光制导导弹系统 来自美国和英国 被用于袭击平民 违反国际人道主义法。 它们是从只有沙特阿拉伯在该地区拥有的飞机发射的。 正是北约国家武装沙特空军在也门进行了20,000次轰炸,并提供了其70亿美元武器采购的大部分,仅美国就向沙特阿拉伯提供了其80%以上进口武器的供应。 报道的不对称性质表明,西方媒体在全球范围内对其军工联合体“制造同意”。

沙特阿拉伯对美国及其盟国的重要性在于,沙特阿拉伯承保美元,并使美国和西方金融机构有可能控制全球金融体系。 但是,美国在西亚的战略统治时代已经结束。 战略与国际研究中心, 美国的智囊团写道,“展望未来,对沙特阿拉伯的罢工提供了明确的战略警告,即美国在海湾地区的空中优势时代以及美国对精确打击能力的垄断地位正在迅速消失。”除非美国决定撤军对伊朗发动战争。

是的,美国可以摧毁伊朗及其基础设施。 但是,如果伊朗被摧毁,该地区盟国的石油基础设施也将无法生存。 这是新的战略平衡,美国及其北约伙伴越早接受它,我们就能更快地在该地区寻求和平。


本文是由合作伙伴制作的 Newsclick 周游世界,独立媒体研究所的一个项目。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Prabir Purkayastha

Prabir Purkayastha是该杂志的创始人和主编 Newsclick。 他是印度自由软件运动的主席,并且是工程师和科学活动家。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

MIDDLE EAST

Can the US Accept That There Is a New Strategic Balance in the Middle East?

Burning oilfield during Operation Desert Storm, Kuwait
Burning oilfield during Operation Desert Storm, Kuwait in 1991. (Photo: Jonas Jordan, United States Army Corps of Engineers)

The Houthi drone strike on Aramco shows the shifting strategic balance in the Persian Gulf. It also shows that any escalation in this region threatens the global economy.

The intricate war dance among the U.S., the Saudis and Iran on the Houthi attack on Aramco oil installations may still not lead to a shooting war in West Asia. The Saudi defense ministry spokesman Turki al-Malki said the attack was unquestionably “sponsored” by Iran—quite different from outrightly holding Iran directly responsible. Even the U.S. is now using language such as Iran was “behind the attack,” and following up such statements with fresh sanctions on Iran. It is possible that the “locked and loaded” gun that President Trump had tweeted earlier may not now be fired.

Houthis have shown to the Saudis that their mastery over drones has created new conditions in the region. I wrote a few weeks back that drones and missiles with mobile launchers make it possible for weaker forces to inflict unacceptable damage on much stronger countries attacking them. This has shifted the strategic balance in various theaters of war, which countries with much greater firepower have yet to register. This is the new strategic balance between Houthis and Saudis; Hezbollah and Israel; and, on a wider scale, Iran-Hezbollah-Houthis and the U.S.-Israel-Saudis. None of the weaker forces have to win—they only need the ability to keep fighting while imposing unacceptable damage on the other side.

A Vulnerable Oil Market

The damage done to the Aramco facilities in Abqaiq and Khurais by the Houthi attack has taken out 5.7 million barrels per day—or 50 percent—of the Saudi oil production. The Saudis currently produce 12 percent of the world’s oil, and any long-term damage to their oil installations has huge consequences for the world’s oil supply as well its price. In spite of the Saudis saying that they have enough stocks to meet the shortfall of supply and the U.S. releasing its strategic reserves of oil to the market, the oil price immediately jumped up 20 percent. With continuing U.S. illegal sanctions on Venezuela and Iran, the world is now critically dependent on oil from the Saudis, who have promised to increase production to meet the shortfall. Any hit on this supply will have global repercussions and drive the world into a new recession.

For countries like India, the consequences are even more dire. India imports more than 80 percent of its crude oil and has cravenly followed the U.S. “orders” on Iran and Venezuela sanctions. The U.S. offer for shale oil is no solution to the Indian economy, as shale oil is much more costly and will drive India’s balance of payments deep into the red. Jettisoning Iran under Trump’s diktat could have serious consequences for India.

The Houthis have shown that the days when Saudis lorded it over Yemen’s airspace, bombing Houthi forces and civilian centers at will, have consequences. The Houthi drone strikes can now hit the soft the Saudi underbelly—its oil installations, power plants and desalination facilities. Armed by the NATO powers, Saudi Arabia has overwhelming air dominance over the Houthis. Its defense spending is next only to the U.S. and China, and more than India’s, which is in fourth place. The Saudis spent $70 billion on their defense, compared to Iran’s $6.3 billion, which is less than a tenth of the Saudi expenditure. Certainly the Houthis cannot defend themselves from Saudi air attacks, but neither can Saudi Arabia against drone or cruise missile attacks that hug the ground and defeat easy detection by radar.

After the Iraq war and the then-Secretary of State Colin Powell’s Oscar-winning performance on Iraq’s Weapons of Mass Destruction in the UN, the bible-thumping, current Secretary Pompeo’s claim that it was Iran who dunnit will carry very little conviction with the rest of the world. The coastline facing Iran has a very dense set of radar networks, the U.S. Fifth Fleet headquarters in Bahrain, the al Udeid Air Base in Qatar of the U.S. Air Force Central Command, as well as numerous Saudi radar installations. They should have detected such a strike coming over the open waters of the Persian Gulf. That the U.S. and the Saudis have produced no such evidence tells its own tale.

Who’s Supplying the Weapons?

The Saudis are now claiming that Iran was “behind the attack,” and have climbed down from blaming Iran directly. Their spokesperson, Turki al-Malki, in his press conference argued that the Houthis could not have launched the drone and cruise missile attack, as it did not come from the direction of Yemen. This is very thin evidence, as we know that a drone does not need to fly in a straight line, and can hit a target from any direction irrespective of where it originated. Neither does it prove that if it came from the north as he claimed, it could have come only from Iran. Even the BBC was forced to say that these claims ducked the central question: Were the weapons used in the attacks against the Saudi oil installations actually fired from Iranian soil?

While the Saudis have presented the debris of the missiles and drones, showing a fallen wing of a missile and calling it Iranian or calling the data inside the “computer” as Iranian, can at best prove that Iran did transfer drone technology to Houthis. To present this transfer of drone technology as somehow a smoking gun against Iran in the Aramco attack simply overlooks that it is not technology that the U.S., France and UK have transferred to Saudis but real aircraft, bombs and missiles that have devastated Yemen. Last year, one such U.S.-made bomb killed 40 school children. Yet we do not hold these countries responsible for the Saudi attacks on Yemen.

Most of the components used in the Houthi drones including the engine and guidance system can be procured easily from the global market. And putting it all together in workshops is well within the skills of the Yemenis. The attack from the Houthis on Aramco is not an isolated one. They have been carrying out a series of drone attacks on Saudi Arabia for the past year, testing their capabilities and probing the Saudi defense. Open-source information on the type of radar, air defense systems and the centers protected by Saudis shows that while the Saudis have some capability in defending against air attack by conventional means—bombers and other attack aircraft—they have very little defense against drone or cruise attacks. Most of their air defense is based on the assumption that the only serious threat they have is from Iran, that too using aircraft and conventional missiles. What the Houthis have shown is that in the age of asymmetric war, there are cheaper attack options using drones.

A number of people have written about open-source drones, their guidance systems and the small piston or jet engines that are commercially available. All these can be used to create a viable drone that can do what Houthis claim they have done—and all of it for about $20,000 tops. Of course, this does not take away the possibility that Iran could have helped the Houthis with designs and components.

Looking at the debris of the drones shown by Saudi Arabia earlier, the only evidence on view was that it was a copy of an Iranian design. Creating such drones might have required Iranian knowledge or technology transfer to the Houthis. But why exactly should Iran, under illegal sanctions from the U.S. strangling its economy, not arm the Houthis against the Saudis? Particularly, as the aircraft and missiles sold by the U.S., France and the UK have been repeatedly used against the Yemenis including their civilian centers.

Western Crimes Against Humanity

The Western media have extensively covered the UN Report that has talked about Iran’s involvement in the Houthi drone program. What has not found similar coverage is that the same report also shows that laser guidance missile systems from the U.S. and UK have been used in attacks on civilians that breach international humanitarian law. And they were launched from aircraft that only the Saudis possessed in the region. It is the NATO countries that have armed the Saudi air force in carrying out about 20,000 bombings on the Yemenis, and supplying the bulk of its $70 billion arms acquisition, with the U.S. alone supplying Saudi Arabia with more than 80 percent of its imported arms. The asymmetric nature of the coverage shows that the Western media are “manufacturing consent” on a worldwide scale for their military-industrial complex.

The importance of Saudi Arabia to the U.S. and its allies is that Saudi Arabia underwrites the dollar, and makes it possible for the U.S. and the Western financial institutions to control the global financial system. But the days of U.S. strategic dominance over West Asia are now over. The Center for Strategic and International Studies, a U.S. think tank, writes, “Looking further into the future, the strikes on Saudi Arabia provide a clear strategic warning that the U.S. era of air supremacy in the Gulf, and the near U.S. monopoly on precision strike capability, is rapidly fading.” Unless the U.S. decides to go to war against Iran, that is.

Yes, the U.S. can destroy Iran and its infrastructure. But if Iran is destroyed, the oil infrastructure of the allies in the region will not survive either. This is the new strategic balance, and the sooner the U.S. and its NATO partners accept it, the quicker can we look for peace in the region.


This article was produced in partnership by Newsclick and Globetrotter, a project of the Independent Media Institute.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Prabir Purkayastha

Prabir Purkayastha is the founder and editor in chief of Newsclick. He is the president of the Free Software Movement of India and is an engineer and a science activist.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.