输入搜索

国家

特朗普的内阁已经比奥巴马或布什拥有更多的前游说者

财政部长史蒂芬·姆努钦(Steven Mnuchin)(白宫官方照片,里奇·哈里斯摄)
财政部长史蒂芬·姆努钦(Steven Mnuchin)(照片:美国白宫,里奇·哈里斯)

“由前行业游说者组成的政府几乎肯定会比一般公众更青睐行业。”

特朗普总统的一份最新报告显示,在不到三年的时间内,特朗普总统任命的前游说者在内阁职位上超过了前总统奥巴马和布什。 美联社.

该消息与总统在2016竞选期间宣誓“排尽沼泽”的誓言形成鲜明对比。 特朗普选择后不久 前雷神公司说客Mark Esper 监督国防部总统 吹嘘 清洁联邦政府:

“我们盯着游说者,捐助者和特殊利益集团的邪恶联盟,这些联盟使我们的国家流血不断。 这就是我们所做的。”

埃斯珀(Beyond Esper)拒绝承诺在监督国防部时退出涉及雷神(Raytheon)的决定,是一群前游说主义者,他们对他们曾在特朗普政府旋转门中工作的行业进行规范。 前代国防部长帕特里克·沙纳汉(Patrick Shanahan)是波音公司的高管,而在任国防部长的詹姆士·马蒂斯(James Mattis)将军, 迅速重新加入通用动力董事会 离开特朗普政府后。

2018在11月的政府监督项目(POGO)发布了 分析 在特朗普政府的国防部门,发现645联邦雇员在20财政年度为顶级2016五角大楼承包商工作。

批评者认为,由人民做出与国防承包商密切相关的外交政策决定(取决于政府合同)会激发军国主义和地缘政治不稳定。 例如, 华尔街日报 去年9月透露,当时的助理国务卿查尔斯·福克纳(Charles Faulkner),另一位前雷神公司的游说者,说服国务卿迈克·蓬佩奥(Mike Pompeo)继续美国对沙特联盟的支持,以便与前雇主达成2亿美元的交易。 福克纳后来在受到报告审查的情况下辞职。

该示例说明了企业说客如何利用纳税人的资金支持特殊利益而毒害民主,即使他们的政策与公众意愿形成直接对比。 议员们通过了两党决议,以结束美国对也门人道主义灾难的支持,但白宫否决了该决议。

向游说者填补沼泽

另一个明显的例子是环境政策,特朗普选择了化石燃料游说者安德鲁·惠勒和大卫·伯恩哈特来领导环境保护署和内政部。 前游说者因利用自己的职位推动化石燃料公司的利益超过公众利益而受到广泛批评。 他们捣毁了自己的科学家部门,拒绝管制危险化学品,甚至说他们“让孟山都回来了草甘膦是一种在RoundUp除草剂中发现的可能致癌的化学物质。

在农业部,陶氏化学的多名前雇员负责监督农业政策,例如陶氏的前游说者 泰德麦金尼,美国农业部负责贸易的副部长, 肯伊斯利,国外农业服务局局长,和 斯科特哈钦斯,美国农业部副部长。 特朗普还任命了孟山都公司的前高管来监督鱼类和野生动物管理局。

卫生和公共服务部长亚历克斯·阿扎尔(Alex Azar)是前制药游说者,并曾在礼来公司(Eli Lilly)担任首席执行官 提高了药品价格并使胰岛素价格翻了一番.

特朗普的财政部长史蒂夫·姆努钦(Steve Mnuchin)曾在高盛(Goldman Sachs)工作, 被广泛批评 担任抵押贷款机构OneWest首席执行官期间的滥用和欺诈行为。

劳工部的代理负责人Patrick Pizzella和被提名的秘书Eugene Scalia都是公司的前游说者。 两者都已经 他们的反劳工历史受到严厉批评.

“由前行业游说者组成的政府几乎肯定会偏爱行业,而不是普通大众,因为这是他们给工作带来的前景,”新美国智库政治改革计划的资深研究员李·德鲁特曼(Lee Drutman)告诉《纽约时报》。该 “华盛顿邮报”.

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

1评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 21-2019-XNUMX

    有一个词:腐败。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Trump’s Cabinet Already Has More Ex-Lobbyists Than Obama Or Bush

Secretary of the Treasury Steven Mnuchin (Official White House Photo by Ricky Harris)
Secretary of the Treasury Steven Mnuchin (Photo: U.S. White House, Ricky Harris)

“An administration staffed by former industry lobbyists will almost certainly favor industry over the general public.”

In less than three years, President Trump has assigned more former lobbyists to Cabinet-level positions than former Presidents Obama and Bush did in two full terms, according to a new report from the Associated Press.

The news comes in contrast to the president’s vows to “drain the swamp” during the 2016 campaign. Shortly after Trump picked former Raytheon lobbyist Mark Esper to oversee the Defense Department, the president boasted of cleaning the federal government:

“We stared down the unholy alliance of lobbyists and donors and special interests, who made a living bleeding our country dry. That’s what we’ve done.”

Beyond Esper, who has refused to commit to recusing himself from decisions involving Raytheon while overseeing the Defense Department, are legions of ex-lobbyists regulating the industries they used to work for in the Trump administration’s revolving door. Former acting Defense Secretary Patrick Shanahan was a Boeing executive, and the Defense Secretary before him, Gen. James Mattis, quickly rejoined the board of General Dynamics after leaving the Trump administration.

In November 2018, the Project on Government Oversight (POGO) released an analysis of the Trump administration’s defense sector, finding 645 instances of federal employees working for the top 20 Pentagon contractors in fiscal year 2016.

Critics argue that having foreign policy decisions made by people deeply tied to defense contractors, which are reliant on government contracts, incentivizes militarism and geopolitical instability. For example, The Wall Street Journal revealed last September that then-Assistant Secretary of State Charles Faulkner, another former Raytheon lobbyist, convinced Secretary of State Mike Pompeo to continue U.S. support for the Saudi coalition for the sake of a $2 billion dollar deal with his former employer. Faulkner later stepped down amid scrutiny from the report.

The example shows how corporate lobbyists can poison democracy by using taxpayer funds to support special interests even when their policies are in direct contrast to the public will. Lawmakers passed a bipartisan resolution to end US support for the humanitarian catastrophe in Yemen, but the White House vetoed it.

Filling the Swamp With Lobbyists

Another clear example is environmental policy, where Trump has picked fossil fuel lobbyists Andrew Wheeler and David Bernhardt to lead the Environmental Protection Agency and the Interior Department. The ex-lobbyists have been widely criticized for using their positions to push the interests of fossil fuel corporations over public well-being. They have gutted their departments of scientists, refused to regulate dangerous chemicals, and even said they “have Monsanto’s back” on glyphosate, a likely-carcinogenic chemical found in the RoundUp weed killer.

In the Department of Agriculture, multiple former Dow chemical employees oversee agricultural policy, such as former Dow lobbyist Ted McKinney, the USDA undersecretary for trade, Ken Isley, the head of the Foreign Agricultural Service, and Scott Hutchins, a deputy undersecretary at the USDA. Trump has also nominated a former Monsanto executive to oversee the Fish and Wildlife Service.

Health and Human Services Secretary Alex Azar is a former pharmaceutical lobbyist and was CEO of Eli Lilly when the company raised drug prices and doubled the price of its insulin.

Trump’s Treasury Secretary Steve Mnuchin formerly worked for Goldman Sachs and has been broadly criticized for abusive and fraudulent practices during his time as CEO of mortgage lender OneWest.

The acting head of the Labor Department, Patrick Pizzella, and nominated secretary Eugene Scalia, are both corporate ex-lobbyists. Both have been deeply criticized for their anti-labor history.

“An administration staffed by former industry lobbyists will almost certainly favor industry over the general public, because that’s the outlook they’re bringing to the job,” Lee Drutman, a senior fellow in the political reform program at the think tank New America, told the Washington Post.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout September 21, 2019

    There’s a word it: corruption.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.