输入搜索

美洲

智利教师的罢工将持续第三周

6月11智利全国代表大会以外的众多会议。 (图片:Facebook / Colegio de Profesores de Chile)
6月11智利全国代表大会以外的众多会议。 (图片:Facebook / Colegio de Profesores de Chile)

自6月3以来,智利的中小学教师正在动员起来反对公共教育的恶化,基础设施问题,长期教师的债务和课程变化等问题。

(人民派遣)6月17,智利各地数千名教师参加了由该组织举办的全国教师咨询会 Colegio de Profesores de Chile (CPC,代表罢工教师的工会),以便对教育部的提案进行投票,并决定是否继续罢工。 超过90%的罢工教师绝大多数都拒绝了该提议。

经过两周的全国教师罢工,一系列大规模的动员以及与中国共产党代表的三次会晤,该部提出了该提案。 中国共产党召集全国各地的教师分析教育部在学校提出的建议,并在6月17投票决定是否应该接受。 投票从8上午到下午1在不同的学校和工会办公室进行。

由于决定拒绝政府的提议,教师表现出他们的意图和决心继续无限期罢工,直到政府收到他们要求的有尊严的回应。 本周计划在所有地区,省和公社举行示威和集会。 该联盟还呼吁在圣地亚哥举行的6月20全国游行。

自6月3以来,围绕80,000的智利中小学教师一直在无限期罢工,以捍卫公共教育。 公共教育的恶化,基础设施问题,长期存在的教师债务和课程变化是罢工背后的一些核心问题。 在第一周内,罢工得到了全国几乎80%教师的支持。 它被中共召集。 诸如#YoApoyoElParoDocente(#ISupportTeachersStrike),#FuerzaProfes(#StrengthtoTeachers)和#ParoDocente(#TeachersStrike)之类的标签在社交媒体上呈现趋势,敦促人们支持教师的斗争。 教师们还得到了阿根廷,巴西和乌拉圭教师工会的国际支持。

6月11在瓦尔帕莱索市发生大规模游行后,与政府的谈判开始了。 20,000教师在高速公路上游行。 68超过12公里到达智利全国代表大会。 另一组教师从ViñadelMar游行到瓦尔帕莱索的国民大会。 动员开始于6月10晚上在瓦尔帕莱索的Placilla地区举行的守夜活动,来自其他各个城市的教师来到这里进行动员。

智利的海运和港口工人也从索托马约尔广场动员到全国代表大会,与教师团结一致。 他们要求更好的工作条件,以及遵守政府与TerminalPacíficoSur(TPS)公司去年达成的协议。 动员也得到了普通公民,许多社会组织,各议会议员和瓦尔帕莱索市长的支持。

动员后,教育部与中共代表举行了第一次会晤。 工会主席Mario Aguilar宣布工会将等到6月13为该部提出具体答案,要求他们提出12点要求,并决定是否继续罢工第三周。 接下来的两次会议于6月12和13举行。

阿吉拉尔在过去两周的采访中强调,教师并没有要求加薪,而是公共教育部门的改善,而政府完全忽视了这一点。

一些主要要求包括更好的工作条件,公立学校机构的基础设施改善,长期教师债务的支付(自奥古斯托皮诺切特独裁时期以来退休教师的欠款),向特殊教育工作者支付特殊奖金以及小学教师,取消就业前教师的双重评估程序,终止雇用合同,结束对教育工作者的暴力行为,以及撤回 反学生“安全课堂”法案。

教师们也反对教育部最近宣布的课程修改,根据这些修改,历史,体育和艺术等科目将成为选修课,而不是明年三年级和四年级的必修课。

在罢工的第一天,6月3,在智利首都圣地亚哥和瓦尔帕莱索市,和平抗议的教师遭到智利国家警察部队Carabineros官员的残酷镇压。 警察使用水炮和催泪瓦斯阻止教师进行游行。 其中一些人遭到暴力殴打,许多人被捕。

塞巴斯蒂安·皮涅拉总统的政府的残酷反应受到了社会各界对几个社会网络的全国谴责和广泛支持。

智利公共教育
“Piñera杀死了公众教育”,读到了棺材上写的笔记。 (图片:Radio UChile)

因此,在6月4上,在智利各地进行了几次游行,其中50,000教师参加了国家级游行。 在圣地亚哥,在“公共教育葬礼”的旗帜下,成千上万穿着黑色衣服,背着棺材前往教育部。 在该部,向教育部长Marcela Cubillos发出了一封信,其中提出了一系列12要求。 在瓦尔帕莱索,数百人参加了埃斯梅拉达大道的游行。

教师罢工智利
历史教师在智利圣地亚哥游行。 (照片:Colegio de Profesores de Chile)

在全国教师罢工的第四天6,在政府拒绝回应之后,在首都进行了大规模的游行。 来自全国各地的75,000教师不仅抵达圣地亚哥,还加入了大动员。 根据工会的说法,至少有数千名教育工作者的127公交车到达首都。 教师,学生和支持者从意大利广场一直游到Echaurren街,途经整个阿拉米达大道。 动员是智利历史上最大的教师动员之一。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. Loocyarps 六月25,2019

    几十年来,智利市政当局用尽所有资金改善教师的生活质量。 现在智利政府不知道如何处理这个问题。 有一个巨大的历史债务,没有总统想要面对,老师不再想教。 智利的教育充满了痛苦。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AMERICAS

Chilean Teachers’ Strike Will Continue For Third Week

Multitude outside the Chilean National Congress on June 11. (Photo: Facebook/Colegio de Profesores de Chile)
Multitude outside the Chilean National Congress on June 11. (Photo: Facebook/Colegio de Profesores de Chile)

Since June 3, the primary and secondary education teachers in Chile are mobilizing against the deterioration of public education, infrastructural problems, long-standing teachers’ debts and curricular changes, among other issues.

(Peoples Dispatch) On June 17, thousands of teachers across Chile took part in the national teachers’ consultation organized by  the Colegio de Profesores de Chile (CPC, the union representing the striking teachers) in order to vote on the proposal made by the Ministry of Education and decide whether to continue their strike. An overwhelming majority of more than 90% of the striking teachers rejected the proposal.

The proposal was issued by the Ministry after two weeks of a national teachers’ strike, a series of massive mobilizations, and three meetings with the representatives of the CPC. The CPC called teachers across the country to analyze the proposal made by the ministry in their schools and vote on June 17 to decide whether it should be accepted or not. The voting took place from 8 am to 1 pm in different schools and union offices.

With the decision to reject the government’s proposal, the teachers manifested their intention and determination to continue the indefinite strike until a dignified response is received from the government on their demands. Demonstrations and assemblies in all regions, provinces and communes are planned for this week. The union has also given the call for a national march on June 20 in Santiago.

Since June 3, around 80,000 Chilean primary and secondary education teachers have been on an indefinite strike in defense of public education. The deterioration of public education, infrastructural problems, the long-standing teachers’ debt, and curricular changes are some of the central issues behind the strike. Within the first week itself, the strike received the support of almost 80% of the teachers at the national level. It was called by the CPC. Hashtags such as #YoApoyoElParoDocente (#ISupportTeachersStrike), #FuerzaProfes (#StrengthtoTeachers) and #ParoDocente (#TeachersStrike) trended on social media, urging people to support the teachers in their struggle. The teachers also received international support from the teachers’ unions in Argentina, Brazil and Uruguay.

Negotiations with the government began after a massive march occurred in the city of Valparaíso on June 11. Over 20,000 teachers marched on the highway no. 68 for more than 12 kilometers to reach the Chilean National Congress. Another group of teachers marched from Viña del Mar to the National Congress in Valparaiso. The mobilization began with a vigil in the Placilla locality of Valparaíso on the night of June 10, where teachers from various other cities arrived to join the mobilization.

The Chilean maritime and port workers also mobilized from Plaza Sotomayor to the National Congress in solidarity with the teachers. They demanded better working conditions, as well as compliance with the agreements reached last year between the government and the Terminal Pacífico Sur (TPS) Company. The mobilization also received the support of common citizens, many social organizations, various members of parliament, and the mayor of Valparaíso.

After the mobilization, the Ministry of Education held the first meeting with the representatives of the CPC. The president of the union, Mario Aguilar, announced that the union would wait until June 13 for the ministry to give concrete answers to their 12-point charter of demands and to decide whether or not to continue the strike for the third week. The next two meetings were held on June 12 and 13.

Aguilar, in interviews over the last two weeks, stressed that the teachers were not demanding salary hikes but the improvement of public education sector, which had been completely neglected by the government.

Some of the primary demands include better working conditions, infrastructural improvement of public school establishments, payment of the long-standing teachers’ debt (the payment owed to retired teachers since the time of Augusto Pinochet’s dictatorship), payment of special bonus to special educators and primary teachers, elimination of the double assessment process of teachers before employment, employment with permanent contracts, end to violence against educational workers, and withdrawal of the anti-student “safe-classroom” bill.

The teachers are also opposing the curricular modifications recently announced by the education ministry, according to which subjects like History, Physical Education and Arts would become optional instead of compulsory for the third and fourth grade from next year onward.

On the first day of the strike, June 3, in the Chilean capital of Santiago and the city of Valparaíso, peacefully protesting teachers were brutally repressed by the officials of Carabineros, the national police force in Chile. The police used water cannons and tear gas to stop the teachers from marching. Several of them were violently beaten and many were arrested.

The brutal response of the government of President Sebastián Piñera received national condemnation and widespread support from different sectors of society on several social networks.

chile public education
“Piñera killed public education”, reads the note written on the coffin. (Photo: Radio UChile)

As a result, on June 4, several marches were carried out across Chile in which over 50,000 teachers participated at national level. In Santiago, under the banner of “Funeral of public education”, thousands wearing black clothes and carrying a coffin marched to the Ministry of Education. At the ministry, a letter addressed to the education minister Marcela Cubillos was delivered with a set of 12 demands. In Valparaíso, hundreds joined the march at the Esmeralda Avenue.

teachers' strike chile
The historical teachers march in Santiago, Chile. (Photo: Colegio de Profesores de Chile)

On June 6, the fourth day of the national teachers’ strike, a massive march was carried out in the capital after the government refused to respond. More than 75,000 teachers from different parts of the country arrived at Santiago to join the great mobilization. According to the union, at least 127 buses with thousands of educational workers reached the capital. Teachers, students and supporters marched from Plaza Italia till the Echaurren street, passing through the whole of the Alameda Avenue. The mobilization was one of the biggest teachers’ mobilizations in Chile’s history.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Loocyarps June 25, 2019

    For decades, Chilean municipalities spent all the money intended to improve the quality of life of teachers. Now the Chilean government doesn’t know how to deal with the problem. There is a monumental historical debt that no President has wanted to face, and the teachers no longer want to teach. Education in Chile is in agony.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.