输入搜索

亚太 TRENDING-ASIA

更多的美国贸易战,印度报复美国商品的关税

印度总理纳伦德拉·莫迪在金砖国家国家元首和政府首脑的非正式会议上。 日期7 July 2017
印度总理纳伦德拉·莫迪在金砖国家国家元首和政府首脑的非正式会议上。 日期:7 July 2017。 (照片:Kremlin.ru)

“我们直接了解额外关税将对美国企业,农民,家庭和美国经济产生重大,负面和长期影响。 升级的贸易战不符合国家的最佳利益,双方都将失败。“

周日,印度正式对包括杏仁,苹果和核桃在内的28美国产品征收更高的关税,以报复华盛顿决定剥夺印度的贸易特权。 新德里没有提高其他国家同类产品的关税。

6月5,总统唐纳德特朗普取消了印度在普遍优惠制(GSP)下的贸易特权。 据半岛电视台报道, 印度一直是普惠制计划的最大受益者,允许该国向美国免税出口价值数十亿至十亿美元的商品。

印度是美国最大的杏仁买家,占美国杏仁出口量的一半以上(估计价值约为1亿新西兰元)。 来自美国农业部的数据显示,印度是美国苹果的第二大买家,在543中的价值为156百万美元。

当华盛顿拒绝免除印度对铝和钢的高关税时,贸易争端就开始了。 然后,印度发布了一项命令,要求在去年6月将几种美国产品的税收提高到120%。 然而,由于两国都参与了贸易谈判,印度一再推迟提高关税。

特朗普一再对印度的产品征收关税,如摩托车和威士忌。 在美国农民和健康设备制造商的投诉表明印度政府关税损害了美国出口之后,对印度产品实施了税收。

特朗普政府多次使用关税作为迫使其他国家妥协特朗普“美国优先”政策的工具。 特朗普一直在 与中国的贸易战 并且威胁要对价值数十亿美元的中国产品征收25%的关税。 最近特朗普威胁要与墨西哥发生贸易战,以迫使该国投入更多资源来阻止移民流入美国。

贸易战与美国经济

一些分析人士认为,美中之间的贸易战已经损害了美国经济。 全球投资银行 高盛表示 特朗普政府征收的关税通过迫使消费者支付更高的价格对美国企业和家庭产生了负面影响。

新闻周刊报道 评论了特朗普贸易战的负面影响,并指出:

“牛津经济研究所表示,特朗普政府决定将10的关税从25百分比提高到200百分比,上周五宣布的62亿美元中国商品将使经济产出超过XNUMX亿美元。”

超过600公司和贸易协会,包括Target,Gap,Levi Strauss和沃尔玛,都致函特朗普,敦促特朗普政府终止对中国的进口关税,并解决持续的贸易紧张局势。

“我们直接了解额外关税将对美国企业,农民,家庭和美国经济产生重大,负面和长期影响。 升级的贸易战不符合国家的最佳利益,双方都会失败,“信中说 美国有线电视新闻网周五援引。

如果特朗普对来自中国的所有剩余物品征收新的关税,许多分析师警告说,影响将是严重的。 根据 由全国零售联合会委托编写的报告美国人将为鞋子额外支付额外的2.5十亿美元,为家用电器支付额外的1.6十亿美元,以及每年支付4.4十亿美元的服装。

穆迪分析公司首席经济学家Mark Zandi表示,“美国经济将在今年晚些时候和明年初的经济衰退中调情。” 雅虎新闻。

华盛顿对墨西哥商品征收5关税的威胁被视为对美国就业的威胁,特别是在德克萨斯州。 如果两个邻国之间的贸易战开始,美国的400,000就业机会将会消失, 根据佩里曼集团的经济预测.

“对我们最大的贸易伙伴的所有商品征收关税将导致显着的成本增加和对经济的其他伤害,”Perryman集团首席执行官Ray Perryman在报告中表示。 “随着时间的推移,后果可能会更大。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

More US Trade Wars, as India Retaliates With Tariffs on US Goods

Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi at an informal meeting of heads of state and government of the BRICS countries. Date 7 July 2017
Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi at an informal meeting of heads of state and government of the BRICS countries. Date: 7 July 2017. (Photo: Kremlin.ru)

“We know firsthand that the additional tariffs will have a significant, negative, and long-term impact on American businesses, farmers, families, and the U.S. economy. An escalated trade war is not in the country’s best interest, and both sides will lose.”

On Sunday, India officially imposed higher tariffs on 28 U.S. products including almonds, apples, and walnuts in retaliation for Washington’s decision to strip India of trade privileges. New Delhi did not increase tariffs on similar products from other countries.

On June 5, President Donald Trump annulled India’s trade privileges under the General System of Preferences (GSP). According to Al Jazeera, India had been the biggest beneficiary of the GSP scheme, allowing the country to export $5.6 billion worth of goods duty-free to the U.S.

India is the U.S.’ biggest almond buyer, accounting for more than half of U.S. almond exports (worth an estimated $543 million). Data from the U.S. Department of Agriculture showed that India is the second biggest buyer of U.S.’ apples, worth $156 million in 2018.

The trade dispute started when Washington refused to exempt India from high tariffs on aluminum and steel. Then, India issued an order to increase taxes up to 120 percent on several U.S. products in June last year. However, India repeatedly postponed the increase of tariffs as both countries were involved in trade negotiations.

Trump has repeatedly imposed tariffs on India’s products, such as motorcycles and whiskey. The implementation of taxes on India’s products came after complaints from U.S. farmers and health device manufacturers stated that the Indian government tariffs had hurt U.S. exports.

The Trump administration has repeatedly used tariffs as a tool to force other countries to compromise with Trump’s “America First’ policies. Trump has been in a trade war with China and has threatened to slap 25% tariffs on $200 billion worth of Chinese products. Most recently Trump threatened a trade war with Mexico in order to force the country to devote more resources to stemming the flow of immigration to the U.S.

Trade Wars and the US Economy

Some analysts believe the trade war between the U.S. and China has harmed the U.S. economy. Global investment bank Goldman Sachs stated the tariffs imposed by the Trump administration has negatively affected U.S. businesses and households by forcing consumers to pay higher prices.

A Newsweek report commented on the perceived negative effects of Trump’s trade war, stating:

“Oxford Economics said that the Trump administration’s decision to raise tariffs from 10 percent to 25 percent on $200 billion of Chinese goods, which was announced last Friday, would cost the economy $62 billion in economic output.”

More than 600 companies and trade associations, including Target, Gap, Levi Strauss and Walmart sent a letter to Trump urging the Trump administration to end import tariffs on China and resolve the ongoing trade tension.

“We know firsthand that the additional tariffs will have a significant, negative, and long-term impact on American businesses, farmers, families, and the U.S. economy. An escalated trade war is not in the country’s best interest, and both sides will lose,” the letter said as CNN quoted on Friday.

If Trump slaps a new tariff on all remaining items from China, many analysts warn the impact will be severe. According to a report commissioned by the National Retail Federation, Americans would pay an extra $2.5 billion more for shoes and $1.6 billion more for household appliances and $ 4.4 billion for clothing a year.

“The U.S. economy will be flirting with recession later this year and early next,” Mark Zandi, chief economist at Moody’s Analytics, told Yahoo News.

Washington’s threat to slap a 5 percent tariff on goods from Mexico was seen as a threat to American jobs, especially in Texas. No less than 400,000 job opportunities in the U.S. would vanish if the trade war between the two neighboring countries starts, according to an economic forecast from The Perryman Group.

“To impose tariffs on all goods from our largest trading partner will cause significant cost increases and other harms to the economy,” Ray Perryman, the CEO of the Perryman Group, stated in the report. “The fallout could be much greater over time.”

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.