输入搜索

亚太 TRENDING-ASIA

中国国家主席Xi Charms欧洲,但批评者警告特洛伊木马

中国国家主席习近平会见了弗拉基米尔·普京和蒙古国总统Tsakhiagiin Elbegdorj,7月2015。
中国国家主席习近平会见了弗拉基米尔·普京和蒙古国总统Tsakhiagiin Elbegdorj,7月2015。 (照片来自Kremlin.ru)

“中国的目标是以新发现的坚韧为欧洲的核心。”

法国总统伊曼纽尔·马克龙主持中国国家主席习近平3月25,2019的国事访问,两人出席了签字仪式。 数十亿美元 双边交易。

周一标志着中国领导人为期一周的欧洲之行结束,此前他曾在意大利首都与意大利总理朱塞佩·孔戴一起度过了几天。 在3月23rd,孔戴签署了一项双边协议,支持中国的一带一路倡议(BRI),这是G7国家支持大规模中国基础设施项目的第一个信号。

“一带一路”倡议是特洛伊木马吗?

欧洲和美国的官员对中国扩大其在欧洲大陆的影响力的努力表示不满。 德国外交部长Heiko Mass 警告,“如果一些国家认为他们可以与中国人做聪明的生意,当他们醒来并发现自己依赖时,他们会感到惊讶。”

批评者担心 “一带一路”倡议可能成为中国霸权扩张的特洛伊木马。 中国对其许多公司给予了大量补贴,外国公司往往需要提供行业机密以换取在中国境内开展业务。 这些担忧导致欧盟批评中国商业行为不公平,而美国则对中国电信业巨头表示不满 Huawei 在欧洲赢得合同,担心他们可以向中国政府提供数据。

根据 西尔维考夫曼“世界报”的编辑部主任说:“中国的目标是以新发现的坚韧为欧洲的核心。”

什么是一带一路倡议?

“一带一路”倡议(BRI)是历史上规模最大的基础设施项目,是一项全球经济计划,包括铁路,电网,港口和道路,将亚洲超级大国连接到整个非洲大陆的其他国家,以及非洲和欧洲。 BRI与马歇尔计划进行了比较,马歇尔计划是美国在第二次世界大战后重建欧洲的努力。 但随着中国和当地合作伙伴计划花费最多 $ 1.3 万亿 (其他估计数字 远远高于),BRI使二战后基础设施项目的规模相形见绌 一到十二.

BRI也被称为“丝绸之路项目”,涉及将中国置于第一个千年全球经济中心的历史贸易网络。 BRI不断发展的陆路和海上贸易航线网络至少已达到 国家76其中许多是陷入困境的贫穷国家,迫切需要外国投资。

在欧洲,中国通过购买35年租约来利用希腊的经济衰退 比雷埃夫斯希腊港口。 根据本 南华早报作为BRI协议合作的一部分,意大利可能将自己的四个港口开放给中国投资。

经济上苦苦挣扎的国家能否加强与中国的关系?

习主席在欧洲取得成功的一周,使中国在与美国的贸易战中获得了象征性和后勤性的胜利。 批评者担心经济困难的欧洲国家,如意大利和希腊,可能会继续加强与中国的关系。

欧盟预算专员GüntherOettinger对中国在非洲大陆日益增长的影响力表示不安, ,“在意大利和其他欧洲国家,具有战略意义的基础设施,如电力网络,快速铁路线或港口不再是欧洲人,而是中国人。”

随着中国人的扩张,俄罗斯人 资金 反欧盟和反建制团体,与华盛顿的关系越来越激烈,以及英国退欧的混乱局面,欧洲领导人将不得不解决他们的内部分歧,或冒险将外国国家的权力放在竞争影响他们的土地上。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC TRENDING-ASIA

Chinese President Xi Charms Europe, But Critics Warn of Trojan Horse

President Xi of China meets with Vladimir Putin and President of Mongolia Tsakhiagiin Elbegdorj, July 2015.
President Xi of China meets with Vladimir Putin and President of Mongolia Tsakhiagiin Elbegdorj, July 2015. (Photo via Kremlin.ru)

“China is aiming for the heart of Europe with newfound tenacity.”

France’s President Emmanuel Macron hosted China’s President Xi Jinping for a state visit March 25, 2019, as the two attended the signings of several multi-billion dollar bilateral deals.

Monday marked the end of a week-long European visit for the Chinese leader, having previously spent several days in the Italian capital with Italian Prime Minister Giuseppe Conte. On March 23rd, Conte signed a bilateral agreement endorsing China’s Belt and Road Initiative (BRI), the first signal of support for the massive Chinese infrastructure project from a G7 country.

Is the Belt and Road Initiative a Trojan Horse?

Officials in Europe and the U.S. have expressed discontent over China’s efforts to expand its influence in the European continent. German Foreign Minister Heiko Mass warned, “If some countries think they can do clever business with the Chinese, they will be surprised when they wake up and find themselves dependent.”

Critics fear the Belt and Road Initiative could be a Trojan Horse for Chinese hegemonic expansion. China heavily subsidizes many of its firms, and foreign companies are often required to give industry secrets in exchange for doing business within Chinese borders. These concerns have led the EU to criticize Chinese business practices as unfair, while the U.S. has expressed disapproval over Chinese telecom giant Huawei winning contracts in Europe, fearing they could give data to the Chinese government.

According to Sylvie Kauffman, the editorial director of Le Monde, “China is aiming for the heart of Europe with newfound tenacity.”

What Is the Belt and Road Initiative?

The Belt and Road Initiative (BRI) is the largest infrastructure project in history, a global economic plan including railways, power grids, ports and roads connecting the Asian superpower to other countries throughout the continent, as well as Africa and Europe. The BRI has been compared to the Marshall Plan, the U.S.-led effort to rebuild Europe after the Second World War. But with China and local partners planning to spend up to $1.3 trillion (other estimates put the figure far higher), the BRI dwarfs the post WWII infrastructure project by a scale of one to twelve.

The BRI is also referred to as the “Silk Road Project,” in reference to the historical trade network that put China at the epicenter of the global economy in the first millennium. The BRI’s growing network of overland and maritime trade routes now reaches at least 76 countries, many of which are struggling, poor nations in desperate need of foreign investment.

In Europe, China took advantage of Greece’s economic recession by purchasing a 35-year lease on the Greek port of Piraeus. According to the South China Morning Post, Italy could be opening four of its own ports to Chinese investment as part of its cooperation in the BRI deal.

Could Economically Struggling Countries Strengthen Ties with China?

President Xi’s successful week in Europe gives China a symbolic and logistical win in its trade war with the United States. Critics fear economically struggling European countries such as Italy and Greece could continue to strengthen their ties with China.

EU Budget Commissioner Günther Oettinger expressed unease regarding China’s growing influence in the continent, saying, “In Italy and other European countries, infrastructure of strategic importance like power networks, rapid rail lines or harbors are no longer in European but in Chinese hands.”

With expanding Chinese presence, Russian funding of anti-EU and anti-establishment groups, an increasingly antagonistic relationship with Washington, and the chaos of Brexit, Europe’s leaders will have to address their internal divisions or risk ceding power to the foreign nations competing for influence on their soil.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.