输入搜索

警察/监狱 TRENDING警察/监狱

有争议的边境援助案件导致审判失败

斯科特沃伦,没有更多的死亡
斯科特沃伦被指控为两名非法进入美国的移民提供食物,水和住所三项重罪(图片:YouTube截图)

“你怎么能不这样做,生活在人们每年都会被你周围几十人死亡的地方。 你怎么能不回应?“

由于帮助亚利桑那州沙漠中的移民而被捕的人道主义援助工作人员的争议性和备受瞩目的案件已经结束,至少目前如此。 作为公民真理 以前写,“不再死亡”的志愿者斯科特·沃伦因涉嫌“窝藏”两名无证移民而在2018被捕。 根据边境巡逻队的特工,他被指控为两名非法进入美国的移民提供食物,水和住所三项重罪。 沃伦因其人道主义援助而面临20多年的监禁。

经过5月26开始的沃伦审判陪审团的审议,联邦法官于6月11周二宣布审判失败。

陪审团无法达成判决

沃伦被控两项“窝藏非法外国人”和一项串谋运送非法外国人罪名。 根据沃伦的律师格雷格库伊肯德尔的说法,陪审员们赞成每次指控无罪释放。

陪审团审理了三天,然后告诉美国地方法院法官拉纳柯林斯,他们无法达成判决。 位于亚利桑那州南部的人道主义组织Nomore Deaths的志愿者沃伦告诉记者,法官宣布审判后,需要继续开展帮助边境移民的人道主义工作。

“自从我在1月份2018被捕以来,至少有88尸体从亚利桑那沙漠​​的Ajo走廊中被发现。 据美国有线电视新闻网(CNN)报道,华伦在宣布审判失败后表示,我们知道这是一个最低数量,而且还有更多数字尚未被发现。 他继续说:“当地居民和人道主义援助志愿者必须像往常一样,与移民和难民团结一致。”

斯科特沃伦的父亲马克沃伦出席了审判。 他告诉记者:“这对我们来说不是最好的结果,但我们会接受它。”

检察官指控沃伦推进“组织目标”

检察官指控沃伦在一个名为谷仓的地方窝藏了两名移民,这个避难所位于美国 - 墨西哥边境以北40英里处。 包括No M​​ore Deaths在内的一些人道主义援助组织利用The Barn为移民提供食物和水,并进行搜救工作。

检察官之一安娜赖特说,沃伦“有兴趣进一步推动克里斯蒂安和何塞的非法旅行。”她继续说,他的目标“是推进他组织的目标。”

检察官进一步指控沃伦正在协助移民避开“边境巡逻检查站”。沃伦回答说,他只是帮助男人熟悉周围的沙漠,这样他们就不会迷路了。

亚利桑那大学前法学教授安迪·西尔弗曼(Andy Silverman)帮助制定了“不再死亡”的医疗和法律协议。 他作证说志愿者受过足够的训练。 他向陪审员保证 小组成员经常会见边境巡逻队的代理人,以确定“我们以适当和合法的方式做事,我们透明地做事”。

'没有更多的死亡'

在过去的20年中,在美墨边境附近发现了超过3,000人的遗骸。 就在今年,皮马县的体检医师报告发现58人的遗体可能是在亚利桑那州的沙漠中越过边界。

沃伦告诉陪审团,他在人道主义工作期间始终遵守法律。 他作证说 关于帮助移民:“你怎么能不这样做,生活在一个人们每年都会被你周围几十人死亡的地方。 你怎么能不回应?“

柯林斯法官为7月2举行听证会,尽管检察官拒绝透露沃伦是否会被重审。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Leighanna Shirey

Leighanna毕业于彭萨科拉基督教学院,获得英语学位。 在教授高中英语五年后,她决定追求写作和编辑的梦想。 不工作时,她喜欢和丈夫一起旅行,与狗共度时光,喝太多咖啡。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

POLICE/PRISON TRENDING-POLICE/PRISON

Controversial Border Aid Case Results in Mistrial

Scott Warren, No More Deaths
Scott Warren was charged with three felonies for providing food, water and shelter to two migrants who illegally entered the U.S. (Photo: YouTube screenshot)

“How could you not do it, living in a place where people are dying by the dozens around you every year. How could you not respond?”

The controversial and high-profile case of a humanitarian aid worker arrested for helping migrants in the Arizona desert has come to a close, at least for now. As Citizen Truth previously wrote, Scott Warren, a volunteer for No More Deaths, was arrested in 2018 for the alleged “harboring” of two undocumented migrants. He was charged with three felonies for providing food, water and shelter to two migrants who illegally entered the U.S., according to Border Patrol agents. Warren faced up to 20 years in prison for his humanitarian assistance.

After much deliberation from the jury in Warren’s trial that began on May 26, the federal judge declared a mistrial on Tuesday, June 11.

Jury Unable to Reach a Verdict

Warren was charged with two counts of “harboring illegal aliens” and one count of conspiracy to transport illegal aliens. According to Warren’s attorney Greg Kuykendall, the jurors were in favor of acquittal on every charge.

The jury deliberated for three days before telling U.S. District Court Judge Raner Collins that they could not reach a verdict. Warren, a volunteer for No More Deaths, a humanitarian group located in Southern Arizona, told reporters after the judge declared the mistrial that the humanitarian work to help migrants along the border needed to continue.

“Since my arrest in January 2018, at least 88 bodies were recovered from the Ajo corridor of the Arizona desert. We know that’s a minimum number and many more are out there and have not been found,” said Warren after the mistrial was declared, as reported by CNN. He continued that “it remains as necessary as ever for local residents and humanitarian aid volunteers to stand in solidarity with migrants and refugees.”

Scott Warren’s father, Mark Warren, was present at the trial. He told reporters: “It’s not the best outcome for us, but we’ll take it.”

Prosecutors Accused Warren of Furthering the ‘Goals of His Organization’

Prosecutors accused Warren of harboring the two migrant men at a place known as The Barn, a shelter about 40 miles north of the U.S.-Mexico border. Several humanitarian aid organizations, including No More Deaths, use The Barn to leave food and water for migrants and to stage search-and-rescue efforts.

Anna Wright, one of the prosecutors, said that Warren “had an interest in furthering Kristian and Jose’s illegal trip.” She continued that his goal “was the furtherance of the goals of his organization.”

The prosecutors further alleged that Warren was assisting the migrants to avoid a “Border Patrol checkpoint.” Warren responded that he had simply helped familiarize the men with the surrounding desert so they would not get lost.

Andy Silverman, a former professor of law at the University of Arizona, helped set medical and legal protocols for No More Deaths. He testified that volunteers were sufficiently trained. He assured the jurors that members of the group regularly met with Border Patrol agents to establish that “we do things in a proper and a legal way, we do things transparently.”

‘No More Deaths’

Over the past 20 years, the remains of more than 3,000 people have been found near the U.S.-Mexico border. Just this year, Pima County’s Medical Examiner reported finding the remains of 58 people who were presumably crossing the border in the deserts of Arizona.

Warren told the jury that he always obeyed the law during his humanitarian efforts. He testified about helping the migrants: “How could you not do it, living in a place where people are dying by the dozens around you every year. How could you not respond?”

Judge Collins set a hearing for July 2, although prosecutors refused to disclose whether Warren would be retried.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Leighanna Shirey

Leighanna graduated with a degree in English from Pensacola Christian College. After teaching high school English for five years, she decided to pursue her dream of writing and editing. When not working, she enjoys traveling with her husband, spending time with her dogs, and drinking way too much coffee.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.