输入搜索

国家

美国维权人士面临联邦向移民提供援助的指控

标志由No More Deaths在2005发布之间的路上这条路在Arivaca和亚利桑那州图森之间的路上。 (照片:benketaro)
标志由No More Deaths在2005发布之间的路上这条路在Arivaca和亚利桑那州图森之间的路上。 (照片:benketaro)

斯科特沃伦在2018被逮捕,因为据称在一个由No More Deaths经营的设施中“庇护”了两名致命弱化的无证移民。

(PeoplesDispatch与该组织No More Deaths有关的活动家斯科特沃伦正面临联邦指控的审判,该指控最高可判处20年监禁。 沃伦被指控犯有一项串谋将两名移民非法运入美国的罪名,以及两项窝藏“非法”移民的罪名。 沃伦对所有指控表示不认罪。 No More Deaths坚持认为,他和该组织只向那些试图通过非常恶劣的气候条件跨越国际边界的人们提供食物,水和药品等人道主义援助。

沃伦和两名无证移民在1月2018被美国边境巡逻队在亚利桑那州塔斯孔镇边缘的一所房子里称为“谷仓”被捕。沃伦的审判引起了全国的关注,因为它凸显了深层次的矛盾。在美国的政策中,它在国外取得了“人权”,同时它侵犯了移民的基本人权,甚至将试图提供人道主义援助的公民定为刑事犯罪。

墨西哥与美国的边界穿越北美一些最恶劣的地形,特别是与亚利桑那州接壤的地区。 平均温度通常高于50摄氏度。 来自中美洲的许多无证移民正在逃避暴力和大规模贫困的情况。 他们前往边境的旅程艰巨而且危及生命。 他们徒步走过150公里,一旦抵达就会有安全和工作的希望。

尽管边境过境占美国无证移民案件的一小部分,但唐纳德特朗普总统的现任政府一直致力于加强惩罚性措施,以结束跨境移民。 自从在2017上台以来,特朗普政府一直在采取非常强有力的惩罚措施,剥夺整个地区在正常人类居住之外的边境的Chihuahuan和Sonoran沙漠中的食物,水和其他基本资源。 虽然这项政策并不是特别新,但在特朗普政府的统治下,它已被强化,并被美国媒体称为“焦土政策”,将其与强烈的战争策略相提并论。

美国边境的人道主义援助组织

据估计,自2001以来,3,000人在试图过境时已经死亡,无论是在沙漠中的疲惫和脱水,还是在遭到动物和劫匪的袭击之后。 在距离美国边境不到100公里的亚利桑那州图森周边地区,当地社区已经采取措施减少死亡人数后,出现了一些人道主义援助组织,如Nomore Deaths,Humane Borders和Tucson Samaritans。区域。

但是,他们面临着政府的诸多问题。 图森是位于“100-mile(160 km)边境区”内的城市之一,边境巡逻队拥有巨大的权力,可以停止搜查,甚至无需认股权证调查房屋。 据报道,这个地区的“焦土”政策也是最激烈的地区,该地区的边境巡逻人员比例高于平均水平。 这通常是以援助工作人员没收和销毁边境地区的供应和资源为形式。

没有更多的死亡人员与边境巡逻队有过共同的冲突。 他们此前指责巡逻人员摧毁他们在沙漠中为过境人员留下的水壶,食品包和其他物资。

边境巡逻队有一个逮捕和起诉人们在沙漠中留下援助物资的历史,在“乱扔垃圾”和“破坏行为”的指控下。尽管没有更多的死亡者不断与边境巡逻队分享他们的行动议定书。保持自己在法律的右侧,并且在巡逻官员或多或少公开和默许的情况下进行操作。

在1月的2018中,巡逻队袭击了该组织使用的一个设施,在Ajo称为“The Barn”,该组织在沙漠中进行援助行动。 巡逻人员发现两名无证移民在遭受中暑和严重脱水的沙漠中被发现后正在该设施中康复。 沃伦因涉嫌窝藏和运送“非法”移民进入美国而被捕并被指控

解放新闻此次袭击发生在“不再死亡”的一个小时内,该视频显示巡逻人员倾倒了几十升的饮用水,而No More Deaths则遗漏了移民。 这促使人们指责突袭和对斯科特沃伦的指控是出于报复和政治动机。

审判

在5月26开始的试验中,在图森的美国地方法院,有数十人在法庭外聚集起来支持沃伦。 他在案件中的论点声称,他或该组织没有试图运送或窝藏任何移民,这与巡逻人员所指控的情况相反。 据报道,他的律师Greg Kuykendall告诉陪审员,“斯科特·沃伦从来没有做过任何事情,除了基本的善良之外。”

代表检察机关的美国助理检察官Nate Walters对此案提出异议,即该案件涉及“不再死亡”或人道主义援助,而是关于沃伦打算非法运送人员并“将非法外国人从执法部门中隔离几天”。

然而,在政府积极创造条件的时候,人们已经提出了人道主义是什么构成的问题。 辩方还提出了一个问题,即援助工作人员是否应该停止在沙漠中留下物资,或者是否能够接受并照顾那些因艰苦旅程而致死的人。

沃伦的支持者认为,联邦起诉人道主义援助将对全世界的援助工作者产生全国性的影响。 与美国有线电视新闻网的谈话沃伦的父亲马克沃伦说:“我确实认为他们正在为他做一个例子......他是他们发送信息的手段。”“这对人道主义工作者来说是一个艰难,可怕,深刻的时刻,”绿色山谷/ Sahuarita撒玛利亚人的援助工作人员Peg Bowden告诉CNN,Warren的支持者将参加审判。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. HugoAguileraº 六月28,2019

    Lo primero que se debe aclarar es si una persona justifica su activismo social cuando ayuda a un delincuente o si es un humanista solidario colaborador desuPAÍSACTUANDODENTRO DE LA LEGALIDAD SIN NINGUNA COMPLICIDAD QUE LO COMPROMETA COMO COMPLICE DE ALGUN DELITO PERMITE Y DA CONOCIMIENTO o asistencia humanitaria PARA QUE EL DELICUENTE RECIBA AYUDA SU NECESIDAD FISIOLOGICA Y DA PARTE A LAS AUTORIDADES PARA QUE INDAGUEN SI NO ES CULPABLE DE ALGUN DELITO。
    Un activistaqueactúaparaayudar a infligir la ley desupaísesun traidor que esta sirviendo a un grupo o un gobierno oaunagialiónqueno respeta asupaísyque esta provocando enelpaísdeorigen del delincuente,eléxododeSus ciudadanos por motivos inconfesables o por incacacidad o mala fe。
    Si ustedes Consideran que lo queestánhaciendoactualmente los activistas,es justificable,entonces ya no hay nada que aclarar,esta definida su militancia。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

US Activist Faces Federal Charges For Providing Aid to Migrants

Sign posted by No More Deaths in 2005 on the road between This one was on the road between Arivaca and Tucson, Arizona. (Photo: benketaro)
Sign posted by No More Deaths in 2005 on the road between This one was on the road between Arivaca and Tucson, Arizona. (Photo: benketaro)

Scott Warren was arrested in 2018 for allegedly having “harbored” two fatally weakened undocumented migrants in a facility run by No More Deaths.

(PeoplesDispatch) Scott Warren, an activist associated with the organization No More Deaths, is facing trial over federal charges that carry a total maximum jail sentence of 20 years. Warren stands accused of one count of conspiracy to transport and harbor two migrants illegally into the United States and two counts of harboring ‘illegal’ migrants. Warren pleaded not guilty to all charges. No More Deaths has maintained that he and the organization have only offered humanitarian aid like food, water and medicine to the people trying to cross the international border through very harsh climatic conditions.

Warren along with the two undocumented immigrants were arrested in January 2018, by the US Border Patrol at a house at the edge of the town of Tuscon in Arizona, called “The Barn.” Warren’s trial has attracted national attention as it highlights the deep contradictions in U.S. policy which triumphs “human rights” abroad, while it violates the basic human rights of migrants and even criminalizes citizens who attempt to provide humanitarian aid.

The Mexico-U.S. border traverses through some of the harshest terrains in North America, especially the segment that borders the state of Arizona. Average temperatures often rise upwards of 50 degrees Celsius. Many undocumented immigrants coming from Central America are escaping situations of violence and mass destitution. Their journey to the border is arduous and life-threatening. They walk over 150 kilometers on foot, with the hope of safety and jobs once they arrive.

Even though border crossings constitute a minority of the cases of undocumented immigration in the U.S., the incumbent administration of President Donald Trump has focused on intensifying punitive measures to bring an end to cross-border immigration. Ever since coming to power in 2017, the Trump administration has pushed for very strong punitive measures to deprive entire regions in the Chihuahuan and Sonoran deserts at the border, outside of normal human habitation, of food, water and other basic resources. Although this policy is not especially new, it has been intensified under the Trump administration and has been named “scorched-earth policy” by U.S. media, likening it with an intense war tactics.

Humanitarian Aid Organizations at the US Border

It has been estimated that since 2001, over 3,000 people have died trying to cross the border, either out of exhaustion and dehydration in the desert or after getting attacked by animals and robbers. In the region around Tucson, Arizona, which lies just under 100 kilometers from the U.S. border, several humanitarian aid organizations like No More Deaths, Humane Borders and Tucson Samaritans have emerged after local communities have taken it upon themselves to bring down the deaths in the region.

However, they have been faced with numerous problems with the government. Tucson is one of the cities that lies within the “100-mile (160 km) border zone”, where the Border Patrol has an immense lease of power to stop and search and even investigate homes without warrants. It is also the place where the ‘scorched-earth’ policy has reportedly the most intense, with the region having a larger than average proportion of Border Patrol agents operating. This often comes in the form of confiscating and destroying supplies and resources put across the border region by aid workers.

No More Deaths have had their share of run-ins with the Border Patrol. They have previously accused the Patrol agents of destroying their water jugs, food packets and other supplies that they leave out in the desert for those crossing the border.

Border Patrol has a history of arresting and prosecuting people for leaving aid supplies in the desert, under charges of “littering” and “vandalism.” This is despite the fact that No More Deaths have constantly shared their protocol of action with the Border Patrol to keep themselves on the right side of the law, and have operated with more or less overt and tacit approval of the Patrol officers.

In 2018 January, the Patrol raided one of the facilities that the organization uses, called “The Barn” in Ajo where the organization conducts its aid operations in the desert. The Patrol agents found two undocumented migrants who were recuperating in the facility after being found in the desert suffering heat stroke and severe dehydration. Warren was arrested and charged for having harbored and transported “illegally” immigrants into the U.S.

According to the Liberation News, the raid came within hours of No More Deaths posting a video that showed Patrol agents dumping dozens of liters of drinking water, that No More Deaths had left out for migrants. This has prompted accusations of the raid and the charges against the Scott Warren as vindictive and politically motivated.

The Trial

In the trials that began on May 26, at the U.S. District Courthouse in Tucson, dozens had assembled outside the court in support of Warren. His argument in the case has asserted that there has been no attempt on the part of him or the organization to transport or harbor any immigrants, contrary to what has been accused by the Patrol agents. His attorney Greg Kuykendall reportedly told the jurors, “Scott Warren never committed anything but basic human kindness.”

The assistant U.S. attorney, Nate Walters, who represents the prosecution has disputed that the case is about No More Deaths or humanitarian aid, but about Warren’s intention of transporting people illegally and “to shield illegal aliens from law enforcement for several days.”

Nevertheless, the question of what constitutes humanitarianism, at a time when the government has actively created conditions at the border whereby any attempt at crossing it is now near-fatal, has been raised. The defense has also raised questions of whether aid workers should simply stop at leaving supplies in the desert or can take in and care for those that have been fatally weakened by the arduous journey.

Supporters of Warren believe that the federal prosecution against humanitarian aid is to have nationwide implications for aid workers everywhere. Talking to CNN Warren’s father Mark Warren said, “I do think they’re making an example of him… He’s the means by which they mean to send a message.” “It’s a difficult, frightening, profound moment for humanitarian workers,” said Peg Bowden, an aid worker with the Green Valley/Sahuarita Samaritans, among Warren’s supporters to be present in the trial, told CNN.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Hugo Aguileraº June 28, 2019

    Lo primero que se debe aclarar es si una persona justifica su activismo social cuando ayuda a un delincuente o si es un humanista solidario colaborador de su PAÍS ACTUANDO DENTRO DE LA LEGALIDAD SIN NINGUNA COMPLICIDAD QUE LO COMPROMETA COMO COMPLICE DE ALGUN DELITO PERMITE Y DA CONOCIMIENTO o asistencia humanitaria PARA QUE EL DELICUENTE RECIBA AYUDA A SU NECESIDAD FISIOLOGICA Y DA PARTE A LAS AUTORIDADES PARA QUE INDAGUEN SI NO ES CULPABLE DE ALGUN DELITO.
    Un activista que actúa para ayudar a infligir la ley de su país es un traidor que esta sirviendo a un grupo o un gobierno o a una religión que no respeta a su país y que esta provocando en el país de origen del delincuente, el éxodo de sus ciudadanos por motivos inconfesables o por incapacidad o mala fe.
    Si ustedes consideran que lo que están haciendo actualmente los activistas, es justificable, entonces ya no hay nada que aclarar, esta definida su militancia.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.